Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Russell's Quality Carpet & Tile Cleaning?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Russell's Quality Carpet & Tile Cleaning

Additional Locations

Phone: (916) 670-8857 3318 Lynne Way, Sacramento, CA 95821

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Russell's Quality Carpet & Tile Cleaning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Russell's Quality Carpet & Tile Cleaning include:

  • 8 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Russell's Quality Carpet & Tile Cleaning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Russell's Quality Carpet & Tile Cleaning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 20, 2012 Business started: 10/30/2008 in CA Business started locally: 10/30/2008
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Russell Alba, Owner Mrs. Renisha Alba, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Russell Alba, Owner
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Cleaners Air Duct Cleaning Tile & Grout Cleaning Upholstery & Carpet Cleaning

Alternate Business Names
Russell's Quality Carpet and Tile Cleaning
Products & Services

This company offers carpet, tile, and air duct cleaning services.


Additional Locations

  • 3057 Stanhope Way

    Sacramento, CA 95833 (916) 670-8857

  • 316 Saint Andrews Dr

    Roseville, CA 95678

  • 3318 Lynne Way

    Sacramento, CA 95821

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a groupon from Russell's Quality Carpet and it was the worst carpet cleaning experience I ever had. The technicians didn't seem to have much experience or want to provide good services. Before he started to pretreat the carpet with the chemical solution, I requested ******* (the tech) to concentrate cleaning the high traffic area. His immediate response was "it is a soiled area, there is not much I can do." I didn't appreciate his response. I am a meticulous person and keep my house and carpet very clean. My carpet is not that dirty nor soiled. The tech very quickly applied a thin layer of shampoo, didn't even allow enough time for it to breakdown the dirt before cleaning. The high traffic areas look no different than before the cleaning. He left the carpet supper damp and wet. It took 4 days for the carpet to dry with fans on and windows open all day long. Worst of all, the tech left brown stains throughout the carpet where it used to be perfectly clean and white (I have white carpet). It now has brown spots all around the area that was covered by furniture. I think the stains are from the rusted metal attached to the hose being water down and dripped on to my carpet. The tech also didn't give me a receipt. I had to call their office for it to be emailed to me. Regarding the stains, I called the office and requested they resend the tech to remove. At first, the women who answered the phone was friendly and apologetic. She promised to send a tech on Thursday Jan 8th 12:00-2:00 to cleanup the stains. On Jan 8th, the women called and told me the tech is running late but will be there between 3:00-3:30. THE TECH NEVER SHOWED UP! I tried calling their office but no one pick up because they close at 3:30, so I sent them an email. They responded to my email, apologized, and promised again to send a tech on Wednesday Jan 14th 2:30 to resolve the issue. Again, the tech didn't show up. I called their office from 2:45 through 3:30, left voice mail and subsequently sent an email, no answered

Desired Settlement: I would like the owner to send a trust worthy technician to remove the stains, refund the $59 I paid for the groupon as an reimbursement for the time (two days) we took off from work to wait for the technician who never showed up.I also would like the bureau investigate this business for its business ethics and whether or not they should be granted an "A" grade. There are many similar complaints already filed against this business.

Business Response: The technician went to the residence and completed the cleaning. Technician cleaned the carpets, and was requested  to get some stains out, and at no extra charge, be pre sprayed the areas. Ms. **** had a ******* coupon that does not include pre spray, so the technician went above and beyond in the service provided. Ms. **** called when stains did not come up, and requested another appointment but did not want the same technician that was sent previously, however our policy is that whoever originally services the appointment has to be the one to do the service. At that time, they were told to go ahead and refund their coupon with *******.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

The statement the owner made is inaccurate. I didn't ask the technician to remove any stains. My carpet is in very good condition and mostly needed cleaning in the high traffic area where there is normal wear and dirt. I asked the tech to concentrate cleaning the high traffic area. There was absolutely no stains on my carpets before the cleaning. Additionally in the fine print of the *******, it did not specify "pre-spray" is not included. The pre-spray the owner is referring to that the tech did is standard procedure for carpet cleaning (a standard service performed by any carpet cleaner). Unless the standard cleaning by this company is only to use plain water. If this is the case, I didn't see that in the fine print on the *******.

If you have a policy that the previous tech has to go back to fix the problem, I understand that. However, it was not explained to me when I called the first time. You only mentioned that in your email response when I emailed you about the tech didn't show up for the Jan 8th appointment. Furthermore, you didn't even have the decency to respond to my second email, voice message, and phone  calls when your tech didn't show up the second time. If you really want to provide good service, you'd have responded to my emails or answered my calls and sent a reliable tech to come out fix the problem.

Keep sending a non trust-worthy tech, keep making empty promises to your customers, and keep wasting your customers time waiting for your tech are not good services. You should not be in this business. Not to mention you made false statements to try to make your case or get out of this case and not own your responsibilities. You should come out to see it for yourself and assess before judging or listening to your tech's BS.

My husband called yesterday and *** (the person who answered the phone) did tell my husband to get a refund from *******. You should know that ******* only issue refund within 7 days of purchase. With that said, we will not be able to get a refund from *******. You should issue us a refund because your company has a hook with ******* and you're the one who provided the service and earned the business from your customers. If you really want to resolve this issue, why are you making your customer jump through hoops???

You're in bad business and provide bad services overall in my experience and opinion. Additionally, someone or the BBB should investigate you business practices and ethics to protect the consumers. I not trying to take advantage of you or your business. I simply just want you to remove the stains your tech left behind and reimburse us for the time we wasted waiting for the tech twice. Then we can move on. If you really want repeat customers or referring customers, you should look into improving your services and business ethics.



Business Response: Unfortunately the technician was spoken to, has a different story, and he is not willing to return. Once again, all I can offer is to get a refund.

Consumer Response: Customer states: I have not received my refund as of yet.

Consumer Response:

Yes, Russell emailed me to contact *******. I contacted *******, they agreed to issue a credit but they said it takes a week to be posted to my account. I am waiting for the credit to be posted. 
Thank you very much for your help!

12/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Scheduled carpet cleaning for Friday, November 28th at 12:00 pm. My son was moving out of his leased home and needed carpets cleaned so I purchased (it was a *******)and scheduled the appointment for him. He wasted precious moving time waiting for them for over 2 hours without a call back from the business even though he left two voice messages. It was after 2:00 pm when I tried to contact them and had to leave another voice message. I requested a call back and to be rescheduled the next day, Saturday November 29th due to my son needing to vacate the house by Sunday November 30th. We've never received a call back, I've already paid for the services and have requested that ******* refund me my money (outside it's normal refund policy) due to the circumstances. Then my son had to rent a carpet cleaner and do the carpet cleaning himself on Sunday which added a lot more stress, time, inconvenience and expense on his part for the machine and cleaning solutions. We are hoping that the landlord will be fair on the cleaning deposit but without a professional job he most likely will be docked some. My son asked me didn't you check on YELP there's a lot of bad reviews about this company? I hadn't but when I did I was shocked how often people received such bad service from them which included no shows, no call backs, bad service people and poor quality of service. I hope that you can check YELP to review some of the comments and the return comments from the owner. He was extremely rude. I'm requesting that an investigation is launched on this business and how they treat their customers as well as the quality of their work. It may seem trivial but it wasn't to us. Thank you.

Desired Settlement:

An investigation on how this company handles their clients which includes training material for the receiptionist/office staff, list of the training and qualifications of the staff who go out to clean the carpets and/or tile for their clients, and a list of maintenance logs for their trucks. I would like copies of this information to be provided to me or a reason why it's not required or an acceptable request.

Business Response: We have never worked on or the day after Thanksgiving. So I find this to be impossible. There is nothing on our books for an appointment for Friday the 28th. If that's a technical error, fine. But everyone here was given the day off as far as I'm concerned. I have spoke with the Secretary, and she can't seem to locate any information about Mrs. or her son. I will look further into it, however for the time being, they can refund their coupon through the company they bought it from, or we can offer extra services for free of charge at my time to either one of them. All I can do is apologize and continue to research what happened to the info for this appointment, as it must have been scheduled for all this to occur. Our scheduling software automatically blocks out our days off, so if there was an appointment that day, my guess is that it either got moved, or erased by the system.

7/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Living Social voucher for carpet cleaning. They tried cross-selling additional things, but I told them I only wanted what the voucher covered. The Technician asked for additional fees and seemed annoyed with the fact that I paid using a voucher. I called their office while the Technician was still in my home asking for additional fees and was told not to worry about and she would call him and take care of it and call me right back. She didn't call me and the guy wouldnt leave until I paid him the additional amount and the office "conveniently" stopped answering my calls and deposited the check!! I called numerous times and left several messages and they never called me back.

Desired Settlement: Full-refund

Business Response: A 75$ check has been sent.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  This response from the business is truly ridiculous.  Living Social contacted me last week stating they are still trying to resolve the issue and hope the business will refund me my $75.  They did give me a credit for all the hassel I have had to put up with, but they stated they hope they can get through to the business and they refund me my $75.  I called this business over 15 times and have been hung up on twice!!  He lied to Living Social twice and told them he gave me a refund when he never did.  I spoke with the owner personally who stated he would not give me a refund and to contact "whomever I wanted and hung up on me."  This business HAS NOT given me a refund.  They continuously lie and the owner initially stated he fired a receptionist and technician due to this issue and would give me a refund.  This is hard to believe considering after I read former complaints with BBB he told a different client the same thing.  Living Social gave me a credit for the hassel I have had to put up with since I purchased this from their website.  This business HOWEVER refuses to refund me.   

Business Response: According to the LivingSocial merchant center website, they have refunded **** ***** a full $99. We had agreed upon a $75 refund before we were aware that LivingSocial had already refunded her. We cannot refund her another $75 since the service WAS provided and there was no damage. **** *****'s reason for requesting a refund was simply because she felt she was overcharged $75 for additional services that she had done. She has now received a refund that exceeds the $75 she requested. We are sorry she feels her phone calls were ignored but we have no record of this.

 
From LivingSocial Merchant Center:
 
**** *****
Refunded on 06/20/2014 buy with confidence

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  I forwarded an email from Living Social yesterday that specially states they requested the owner provide a refund of $75 in which is owed and they have been unsuccesful.  I forwarded the email yesterday directly to BBB and believe it has been noted to this complaint.  Living Social provided a credit for the hassel I have had to go through by calling them several times since this owner continues to lie and stated he refunded me when in fact he didn't.  They provided a credit and that credit in no way excuses this business from their obligation to refund me.  He is continuing to lie so please check with Living Socail they have this noted on his account.  Customer Service provided a credit to not lose my business NOT to excuse them from refunding me money that they are NOT entitled to.  This business did not provide any additional services and my phone records are proof as to how many times I have called them.  In fact I spoke with the owner himself who hung up on me.  I called their office at the time the Technician was in my home asking for additional money and was told I would get a call right back from them and never did.  Phone records are proof they are lying.  I do not want to keep going back on fourth on emails.  I am requesting BBB to call Living Social directly and they can vouch this business is lying and they have been unncessul with getting this business to refund me.

Consumer Response: Consumer states they received a full refund from Living Social.

9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: they will not call me back to give me my reciept. they didnt show up the day my appointment was. We had an appointment July 30 to have our carpets cleaned. Our appointment window was between 10-12. By 12:00 no one had shown up. I called the office and she said she would call the tech and get back to me to see where he is. About 20 minutes later I still hadnt heard so I called again, no answer, I left a message. About 10 minutes after that I finally got a call stating that there was a hang up on the first job and the tech was running behind. The receptionist then told me the tech would be at my house in 20 minutes. About 15 minutes later the tech called and said he would be atleast an hour. So bottom line we did not get our carpets cleaned on the day of our appointment. I had missed 2 hours of work between 10 and 12 waiting for him to show up . So the tech came out the next day on July 31 @ 8 am. Got the work done and we asked for a receipt and he said he would email it to us. All that was emailed was a note stating carpets cleaned and treated $99.00. It was not on an invoice or even company letter head. I called the office and sent two emails on August 1st trying to get a real invoice/receipt and was not sucessfull to get through to anyone. I left messages and called about 6 times through out the day. I still have not heard back from anyone. This is the absoult worst service I have every had with a company. Not very professional at all.

Desired Settlement: At this point i just want my receipt. I will not use this company or recommend it to anyone.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We do apologize for the misunderstanding. I do have proof of an invoice being sent out on August 2nd, a day after your request. We would be happy to resend that invoice if needed. We work hard to please our customers to the best of our ability.

Business' Final Response
We do have record of the invoice we sent out on August 2nd to ***** ****** with our business letter head, much different than the one she described. There unfortunately was an issue with the truck that day but we made it out to her house as soon as possible to do the cleaning. I do not see any e-mails from her that were not responded to and we do are very best to return any missed calls.

7/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Provided payment in form of a Groupon and service provider requested additional payment in form of a check. Paid via both. We purchased a Groupon for this service for an up to 2500 square foot house (our home was 1850 sqft). We scheduled an appointment for 6/27 for standard carpet cleaning, no additional stains, just straight up cleaning that the Groupon covered. For some reason the man who cleaned the house not only accepted and kept our Groupon, but also asked for an additional $150 for payment of services. My husband not understanding that Groupon was a pre-paid service voucher, paid the additional $150. Now we've left numerous messages, and the owner will not return our calls.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the $150 paid via check.

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response
Was refunded money by ******* 7/19/13. Complaint resolved.

6/19/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lack of service on 2 separate dates. Money not returned upon agreement to do so. I purchased a treatment through an online coupon for $59 to treat 2 rooms. Scheduled appointment w/company on 4/9/2013 and they did not come until 1 hour after proposed scheduled time. When the technician came out to clean carpets of 2 rooms (far less square footage than online deal promoted) he charged an extra $50 for "special treatment" (pet odor) - and guaranteed the result. The tech spent less than 20 minutes on the whole process. The odor remained, I contacted the company, and the owner said he would come back for a "re-treatment" free of charge. When the tech showed up for the retreatment appointment he said he was "unaware" and was not told of a retreatment and could not provide the service as he needed to charge us the full amount ("since he has his own business and is just helping his cousin out"). He left without providing any service. I contacted the company again, spoke with Raneesha (not sure of spelling) and she agreed to refund my $50 but also said to contact the online company to make see if I could get my money back. This I was unable to do, but Russell Carpet cashed the ADDITIONAL $50 check when they said they would not. I have been unable to get an answer from them since. The problem still remains in my carpet.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $50 check for "guaranteed" service (not rendered) and $59 for coupon paid for for initial service that was delivered poorly and unprofessionally.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
I will be sending a 50$ refund check as desired by the customer.

6/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Insufficient cleaning of carpet and tile and damage to tile grout. Mr. Russell, The purpose of this e-mail is to inform you as the owner of Russell's Carpet cleaning establishment of the experience we had on January 9th. We used a Groupon coupon for this service and paid the extra money needed to complete the work. The men were to arrive between 8am and 10am on the 9th. I had told the receptionist that my husband had a doctor's appt. that afternoon and that we would need to leave here at around 2:45. She assured me that the work would be completed in time. I called the receptionist at one point and she told me that they should be here around 10 or a little after that. We received a call from one of the men who was scheduled to work here stating that they should be here shortly. They finally arrived around 12:30. They were to clean our entire carpeted area and a major portion of the tiled area. We agreed that they would also clean three of the area rugs. Two of the area rugs were not done when we returned home. During the process of the work, we were told that one of their trucks had broken down and therefore they couldn't begin cleaning the carpet in the main part of the house until the tile cleaning was completed. Due to all of these delays, my husband and I had to leave the house before the carpet and the tile were cleaned. This was around 2:45. Because of this, we had no opportunity to check out the work that was done until we arrived home that evening. What we found was that some of our grout had been damaged in four places; the tile grout was not consistently clean, especially in the kitchen,as compared to the adjacent areas; there were many dirty spots on the family room area rug that were not removed; and finally there were some heavy traffic areas between the carpet and the tile that weren't properly cleaned when compared to the rest of the carpet. My husband had hired two young men to help him get the furniture out of the way prior to cleaning. He did not move the larger pieces as we assumed that either plastic or foam protectors would be put under the legs as has been our experience in all of our past carpet cleaning to preclude staining the carpet. That was not done. We found sandwich bags under the legs of one of the sofas in our family room. If we were giving this a rating like many of the businesses show online, we might give one star. We feel that we should receive a refund so we can have the work done properly. One more thing, to accommodate your company, we paid by check. I didn't realize that your website said you would except credit cards. When I asked one of the men about it, he indicated that it would be a cost to your company if I used a credit card. So to go the extra mile, I wrote a check. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: Complete refund of $302 for money we paid directly to Russell's plus the amount paid to groupon for Russell's Services.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Let me begin by apologizing for the lateness of my response. On the date of service, the unit scheduled to arrive at Mrs. ******'s home, had broken down. I called to let them know we were having issues with the vehicle and that we could still come out, however it would be later. My technician Ray arrived and began cleaning the carpets with in an hour of the call. I had also arrived to help speed along the process since we were running behind on Mrs. Sellegren's appointment. At that time, there were then three technicians, including myself, working on the tile and carpets. All three of us are licensed and certified technicians, and did an excellent job. There was no damage that we had seen at all. We did exactly as Mrs. ****** had said to do. The request for the amount of 302.00$ is unreasonable, the job was already done correctly and does come guaranteed. So, Mrs.****** may contact me directly for a re-service at XXX-XXX-XXXX, or she may get a refund through Groupon for the paid amount on her coupon. Thank you, -****** ******

Consumer's Final Response
This is the first time I've seen Russell Alba's 2nd rebuttal. His contention about the floor measurement and the way my husband might or might not have felt about it has a absolutely nothing to do with the outcome of the work Russell did. If I were Russell, I'd be ashamed to say they inspected the carpet and tile before leaving and that all surfaces were fine. As to three men working nonstop for three hours -- as I stated before, one of their trucks broke down. They were working with only one truck and there weren't three men working for three hours. I phoned Russell, called the business line and sent e-mails. Until I contacted you folks, I never got any response from him. I don't believe I was rude but I was assertive about asking for a return call. The fact still remains that neither he nor his employees got back to me. As to his assertion that he saved hundreds of dollars for us -- it doesn't save hundreds of dollars for us if the job isn't done properly and damage ensues. We can send pictures of the damaged tile grout. We did have another technician out within two days of the Russell job to clean a different portion of our tlle. My husband asked him to look at both the carpet and tile to see the condition Russell's company left them in. We can ask him to tell you what he saw. We do not want Russell to come back out. This whole exchange with him as proved to us once again that he isn't trustworthy. He did not do us any favors in our estimation, We would like to have a refund, but this is not just about the money. It's about keeping him from doing the same to other customers. Thank you for your time

Business' Final Response
I have called these people personally for the third time. There is no further action I would like to take. I have done my all to try to please these people, and clearly we are not getting anywhere. I offered to come back out there to view the issues, however if you refuse the help, you won't get it. There is nothing left to do, nor say about this case.

3/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company never showed up for their appointment to clean my carpet. I made an appointment for company to clean my carpet on Saturday 2-16-13. After waiting for over 2 hours I called and was told the technician should already be there and that she would call him and call me right back. I never received a return call and left three messages requesting a return phone call. I called again Tuesday the 19th and was informed by the same woman that she assumed the technician had shown up. She promised the owner would return my call that evening. He did not. I have left three additional messages and sent an email to the company and have heard no response. I have now contacted Groupon to have the money I have already spent for this service refunded.

Desired Settlement: An explanation for their poor business practices.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Unfortunately, we do not have record of Ms. ******'s information in our schedule or emails. We have hired a replacement for our secretary, I'm thinking that Ms. ******'s information was lost in transition during that time. Also we had to reschedule about 40 other people that same week due to a major mechanical issue with one of the units. She simply fell through the cracks unfortunately, in the midst of the changes and issues. We do apologize as this is not the way we do business. We value each and every client we have.