BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

View BBB Rating for Coit Cleaning and Restoration of Sacramento's headquarters.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Coit Cleaning and Restoration of Sacramento meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for Coit Cleaning and Restoration of Sacramento. BBB of the Golden Gate & Northern California has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for Coit Cleaning and Restoration of Sacramento.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 11, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1950 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1950 Business incorporated: 07/20/2005 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kirk Howard, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kirk Howard, Manager
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Cleaners Air Duct Cleaning

Alternate Business Names
COIT Carpet Cleaning Sacramento COIT- Sacramento
Products & Services

This company offers carpet and tile cleaning services.


Additional Locations

  • 3499 Business Dr

    Sacramento, CA 95820

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Coit's do duct cleaning after I had water damage in my home in Feb. Since then, I have heavy dust coming from the vents that I didn't have before they were cleaned. I have a cleaning lady clean and the day after she is here, I have to dust everything again. Today I called and talked to a manager and he gave me a bunch of bull about every home has a lot of dust and I would have to live with it. I said "then, you are not going to check it out and see why there is so much dust?" and his reply was "No, I'm not doing anything"

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like a refund so I could have another company find out what is wrong. I don't trust Coit's. I even mentioned that the filter they gave me had no tabs on so it is a real problem getting it out. The old one had a tab on it to get it out easier- he didn't even mention that they would put a tab on it.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Mrs. ****** did recently inform us she was not happy with the air duct cleaning job we did for her last year. The job was completed January 27th 2012. She did call and complain about the dust after the initial cleaning on February 10th 2012 in which I went to inspect the cleaning that we did. I did dispatch a technician to re-clean different aspects of her system that we had missed. We also did replace her filter with the exact same kind that was there that she said we ruined. After re-cleaning her system on February 24th 2012 I haven't heard from her. This week (1/15/13) she phoned in again complaining about dust in the home still. I informed her that there is nothing more I can do as it has been a year since her cleaning and that we only have a 30 day warrantee for our work that we do. There is nothing more I can do for her as it has been a year since the work was completed.

Consumer's Final Response
I just checked Yelp and should have done that before I hired Coit. 90% of the reviews are negative reviews. Coit states that ducts should be cleaned every 2 or 3 years to prevent dust in the house. They also give a full guarantee with money back so how is it that I had so much dust after they cleaned and still have to dust every day since they left. If they state that ducts should be cleaned every two years why were they clean after a few days.

Business' Final Response
We are working with the customer directly to get this issue resolved as quickly as possible. We inspected the duct work to make sure there was no damage or gaps to draw dust in, on Feb 9th 2013. There was no damage or gaps. We are going to get a different style replacement filter with tabs as well

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/7/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to honor written guarantee of maintaining the polished finish on my travertine Five years ago Coit sent a salesman to my home upon my request to clean my Travertine floor....The salesman told me my floor was polished travertine...I said no it was matted....he again told me it was polished....he was the expert....ok....so I had them polishe my floor....it looked great....then I had Mr. Phillip Baker come over to my home....he was the On Location Manager of Coit....I told him if my floor was polished prior to Coit polishing them .....then why ... when showing him the tile behind the refrig...wasn't this polished... He agreeded that my floor was not polished ....that indeed it was matted and by polishing floor would require more maintence.... He drafted up a letter .... Dear Don, July 13, 2007 Coit Services would like to apolgize for polishing your travertine flooring when it was ot needed for this type of natural stone...At this time, I would like to extend Coit's guarantee to you, we will help to maintain the polished finish on your travertine for its projected life time of three to five years...If you have questions or concerns please feel to contact me at (916) 731-7090 Sincerely, Phillip Baker On Locations Manager Coit Services.... Well that seemed to protect me and my floor for up to five years... Last May 2012 or there abouts ....I contacted Coit .... Mr. Andrew Rodgers..General Manager came out to my house and reviewed letter ...said he would reclean floor....I also said that I wanted to wait till I finished reflooring another room.and that it may go past the expiration of the written guarantee a little...(July 13,2012) ..He said no problem.... Well it took just a little longer than I planned I called for an appointment on the third week of july 2012... Coit showed up on 25 July 2012....they used a spray and vacuum cleaning type of method to "Clean" the stone.... BUT...the polish was not there...there is dull spots on the stone and some of the grout didn't come out clean.... I called Mr. Andrew Rodgers at Coit....He said he never told me he would "polish" the stone....just clean it....after all its been five years...What does five years have to do with it ... I explained that was not the intent/spirit of the letter ...The intent/spirit of the letter as it states is...."maintain the polish...." He disagreed with me.....I did not agrue with him... I did not call coit every year to maintain my floor....I did not abuse this service or guarantee....I waited till the last of the five years a promished to have floors cleaned and polished for one last time..... When the extended guarantee was made with Mr. Baker... this issued was covered and he assured that Coit being a leader in the industry would take care of me....and my floor....

Desired Settlement: I would like to have floors re=polished....as per agreement....

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We did recieve Mr. Chastain's request for the maintenance of his floor. We orginally offered to do regualr maintenance cleaning for the time period of 3 to 5 years. We did only one cleaning at the end of the 5 years at his only request to do so. Regular maintenance cleaning for this type floor we would recomend every 12-18 months. Because Mr. Chastain waited 5 years before he contacted us he went beyond the normal cycle of maintenance.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I filed a complaint in Aug. 2012 and Coil just not got back to answering the BBB....Nov.7th....3months???? I filed a complaint with the State License Contractors Board and "Currently"....case is being being reopened and reexamined......... Coil ....while working with the SLCB rep....Ms. Heard... suggested/agreeded "after talking with Mr. Peter Bakker from Coil" that I get an estimate of cost of polishing the floor ...from another company...I did and the cost of polishing $3200.00......waste of time and a stall....why would they agree to this if they we're not considering this ???? They stated in their response to the BBB that this type of floor was recomenned cleaning every 12-18j months... It was not stated in my Personal warranty / guarantee from them for I would have followed their recommendation.....nothing ever said about this.... just another lie.... I ask Coil to prove it to me that it states in "MY Personal Warranty / Letter " that this is required/recommended..... Coil gave me a personal letter apologiseing for this polishing and promishing to maintain my floor and polish ...again...for which I did not abuse.... Bottom line....Coil polished my floor for a extra profit... Coil failed to honor personal promish / warranty in lew of me sueing them for ruining my matted finished with a polish finish....as you can see...requires much more maintence....which is why Coil promished to clean and repolish my floor for a "period of 5 years."...in a written personal letter to me from them. I felt I was resonable with Coil....not abusing the agreement.... and the spirit of the agreement... I'm in contact with CSLB...Ms. Heard....what ever anyone thinks this case "IS" not over....they are reexaming the issues.... then I guess my next level would be Placer County Small Claims....$3200.00 at least.... I'm sadden that a company of Coil's nature would not honor and looks for every "out'' they can find....

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer accepted

11/12/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Came out 3 times to clean tile, then sent out supervisor, said they would get back to me- no communication. Tile was not cleaned properly. Coit has changed the way they clean tile. They no longer do it on their hands and knees and scrub with a brush. Now they use a long brush on a stick. They only go over it with one stroke and can not reach the edges. After 3 attempts at cleaning all cleaning it the new way and not the way they did 2 years ago, they sent a supervisor out who looked at it. He said cloudiness is not covered. I said if it's cloudy then when I clean it with a brush it won't come out- he agreed. I cleaned it and it came out- he agreed it was not clean. He said I would be getting a call back from the supervisor. No call received. They are not scrubbing the tile like they used to nor are they able to get the edges with their new brush. They need to go back to the way they used to do it. It used to take them 3 hours- now under 1 hour and they are done. I am not complaining about cloudiness- I am talking about obvious dirt that was not scrubbed with a good ole fashion brush. Job was not done well. Very poor customer service.

Desired Settlement: They guarantee their work- I am not satisfied and they are doing nothing about it.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We sent a manager to Mrs. ******'s house to inspect her tile. AFter our inspection she is correct in that it does need to be recleaned. We will be recleaning her tild on November 13th.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service