Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Awesome Carpets & Tile

View Additional Phone Numbers  

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Awesome Carpets & Tile offers professional carpet, upholstery, and tile cleaning.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Awesome Carpets & Tile meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Awesome Carpets & Tile include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Awesome Carpets & Tile
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 23, 2013 Business started: 10/11/2011
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jerry Mullen, Owner Ms. Sarah Mullen, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerry Mullen, Owner
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Cleaners Tile & Grout Cleaning Upholstery & Carpet Cleaning

Alternate Business Names
Awesome Carpets Awesome Carpets of Elk Grove

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: i was ineed of carpet cleaning and started to get qoutes via internet.I found several company that had lower qoutes than awesome carpets and tile cleaning but did like the on line reveiws so i was aksed the size of my home and how many rooms and hall ways there i eplained that i also had a second home that ialso wanted to take care so i would not have to miss any more days off work explained both homes were two story homes i also advised the person taking the information that i was just calling in for qoutes he then advise me that he would be abel to do both homes for $266. i then made up minde at that point to go ahead and go with his company. the carpet van showed up when they said they would the man started to look at my my home and started to count my stairs and said to me you never said anything about stairs then i said i explained both my homes were 2story then proceeded to say ill charges just a dollar a stair normaly there 2 dollars i figured i did not want to miss a other day of work for the extra 15dollars was not a big deal so he takes 2hrs and finishes we get to the next housed at this pont the bill went up from 266 to 281 because of the stairs as he looks around the 2nd home he starts to say ya i think this his is going to be a little more than the last house then i asked how much more well the firs house were at 213 thats when i said no you qouted me 266 then you jumped a dollar a stair which comes out to 281 and that was to be for both homes he started to say that due to how long it was going to take him it was going to cost 400 and change for both homes i then stopped him and felt i had to pay him for the first home not wanting any troubel with my cars or homes if didnt pay just did not know how he would have taken it so i payed him 213.for one home since he knew were i lived and could damage my car or homes i felt i had to pay. Product_Or_Service: steam cleainging

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund i just feel like was scammed right from the beging and could have went with some one else that would have kept there word i felt since he had finished my 1st home he then had me and was going to up the 2nd home figureing that i would just shut up and pay yes we all ripped off from time to time but this was despicabel that i fel like i had to do something so what i would like if possibel is to get my money back for services or get my second home done with no bill

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We pride ourselves in providing honest upfront pricing and quality service. We have several years of service without a single public complaint. I am the owner operator and spoke with this customer myself, and serviced his home. All statements are made from my personal experience, not from a 3rd party employee. This customer asked for a quote on 2 houses to be cleaned the same day. We offered a discount to clean BOTH houses the same day in the same neighborhood. They were NOT in the same neighborhood, and were actually quite far apart. I point this out because there is a pattern to this customer's communications. I asked him repeatedly to tell us about ALL carpeted areas that he wanted cleaned. After our phone quote, I asked again if we had discussed ALL carpeted areas that we were to service, as he was very concerned about accurate pricing. I told him as is our practice, that if the customer is completely accurate with us on the phone, our price will not change. The first house, he didn't tell us about the stairs, as he mentioned in his complaint, nor the carpeted hallway. Since he seemed confused, we gave him a 67% discount on the stairs and did the hallway for no charge. all stairs and the landing were only charged $15. The customer had moved only two pieces of furniture in the whole house. I point this out because each piece of furniture covered huge stains. Rather than charging extra to treat the hidden stains, we simply cleaned them and put the furniture back where it belonged. The second house he said he had 4 rooms to clean. ONLY 4 rooms. Again, we confirmed that we discussed ALL carpeted areas that he wanted serviced. Prior to heading to the 2nd house, he mentioned that he had stairs there that needed to be cleaned, and I offered again to do them at a deep disount. Upon arrival at the second house, he showed me a carpeted living room, dining room, and family room PLUS the stairs and 4 rooms and a carpeted hall upstairs. Before starting any work, I advised him that this house had DOUBLE the amount of carpet we discussed on the phone, and it would be the same price as the first house. I even charged a double sized room as a single room to keep the costs down. He declined and offered to pay for just the first house. I told the customer that we didnt want to leave him unhappy, and that even though the house had double the amount of carpet he told us, we would honor the price we discussed on the phone. He declined, saying that we just keep changing things, and complained that his rental has been empty for 2 months and the expense was causing issues. I repeated that we didn't want to leave him unhappy, but he said he would call someone else who would come out and quote the work after seeing the house. The customers contention that we should have assumed certain areas would be carpeted it not valid. I was specific in asking what carpeted areas needed to be cleaned, and there is certainly no reason that we would assume that he had additional rooms to be cleaned that we were not asked to quote. Customers often ask us to skip certain areas, stairs included, and we do not assume anything, rather take notes on what the customer has asked us to quote, then stand behind that quote.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I felt that I explained the sizes of both homes on while getting the quote when I explained the square footage of both homes and letting him know that they were both two story homes. I feel that he knew it was to late for me to call around for another provider due I had let him know that I need to take time off work. I never have made a complaint about any other companies but I just felt that I couldn't just lay down and take it.

Business' Final Response
Our company has a history of providing Awesome customer service, at fair and honest prices. Other than the customer who posted this complaint, we have years of 100% positive reviews on YELP, Angies List, and Best of Elk Grove. We are members in good standing with BNI (Business Networking International), a 100% referral based organization. We have had several YELP customers who mention his negative review posted on YELP as a new account, and have ordered services still because we have so many favorable reviews. As recognized by the BBB, we have an outstanding reputation in the community. Our upfront pricing promise can be seen on our website: Unfortunately, the customer who made this complaint did not disclose substantial information regarding his houses, though we asked several times if he had any other carpeted areas we needed to service. We quoted a price for one house, and a discounted price for doing two houses the same day. His complaint includes comments about the cost for cleaning his stairs, which were not discussed as an area he wished to have serviced and so were not quoted in the price agreed to. We discounted the stairs to only $15. When presented with the issue of leaving an unhappy customer, we offered ON THE SPOT to honor the prices we discussed, even including the extra service areas at no additional charge. The customer declined, stating that his rental had been vacant for two months, and the costs just keep going up. Prior to leaving, we offered one more time to finish the service at the price discussed. He declined saying he would call someone out who would look at the house, then quote him a price if they wanted to do the work. The regular service price on these two houses would have been nearly $500. With the discount offered for doing two houses, plus the areas we offered to service at no charge, the price would have been nearly half our regular rate for two large houses. The customer was presented with an invoice for the single house in the amount of $213. He showed me two $100 dollar bills, two $5 dollar bills, and two $1 dollar bills ($212 total). I told him that was close enough and accepted the folded up cash, trusting that it was the amount he showed me. In fact, he did not give me the two $5 bills, and I didn't want to go back and ask for the money he returned to his pocket, shorting us by a total of $11. In short, his stairs were cleaned for only $4, and the rest of the house was cleaned for exactly the price quoted for the first SINGLE house. Since we offered to solve the issue on the spot at the price we agreed, regardless of the extra service areas, we do not feel that we can offer further assistance to this customer. We have serviced hundreds of homes and businesses, and we hope that readers of this posting will let our other customers speak to our reputation. We appreciate your consideration.