BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Budget Blinds of the Sierra Foothills?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Budget Blinds of the Sierra Foothills meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Budget Blinds of the Sierra Foothills include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Budget Blinds of the Sierra Foothills
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 29, 2006 Business started: 12/01/2005 in CA Business started locally: 12/01/2005 Business incorporated: 10/05/1992 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Colby Black, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Colby Black, Owner
Business Category

Blinds Window Shades Draperies & Curtains - Retail & Custom Shutters

Products & Services

Budget Blinds of Rancho Cordova is a traveling show room that provides custom window covering services.


Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (209) 223-9090(Phone)
  • (530) 677-4567(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We called "Budget Blinds". They sent us ***** *****. ***** told us that he needed a check for the entire amount $6500. Two months+ delays and promises 8/21/2013 ***** gave us an estimate for $1122. for Norman wood louvered shutters and Hunter Douglas blinds. 8/22/2013 ***** gave us a new estimate for$5211. including the louvered shutters and blinds but adding a sheer blind. 8/27/2013 ***** gave us yet another estimate for $6500. including all the above plus a vertical glide blind with a sheer backing. This all included install to be done within six to eight weeks. ***** insisted on payment in full and held the check at my request for a two weeks. When I asked for an update I was told that everything was on schedule and should be installed by the beginning of November. After that time frame came and went, I tried calling all three phone numbers at their office but got no answer. I left several messages and ******* ***** finally returned my call and said that all was well. That my order was partially in and can be installed or we could wait for the rest of the order. I said wait and do it all at once. I was told that the rest of my order was to be in within two weeks. That didn't happen and again I could not reach anyone on their office phone. I finally reach ***** on his cell phone and he said that although he was driving that he remembered seeing my order in om his invoice. We set up a time for the following friday to install. That date of November eighth was moved to Saturday the ninth. My conversation with ***** took place on Tuesday November the fifth in the evening. Friday ***** says that he needs to reschedule due to a family emergency. He said that he had to attend a funeral of his wife's best friends father. That he could come by after the funeral and bring documentation of the funeral then install what he had. At this point I realized that he did not have my entire order as I was previously told so i asked for my money back in full. I was tired of waiting and playing games at my expense. I wanted to go to someone that I had some trust in. ***** told me that I didn't need trust that he simply needed to do the install and be done. I told him that the install was not necessarily the end of the interactions between us. I again asked for a full refund and was told by ***** that he was able to refund the part of the order that has not yet been ordered. He would not say how much that was. Later ***** told me that he was "able to stop production" on the vertical glider. All of these kept adding up to my being lied to about what was ready to be installed when clearly some haven't even been ordered.

Desired Settlement: A FULL REFUND $6500.00 If this goes to court, which I suspect that it will, I will be seeking damages right around the $10,000.00 plus atty's and court fees.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ***** *****
Contact Phone: 916/764/0953
Contact Email: Cblack@budgetblinds.com
This complaint has been settled between Budget Blinds and Mr. *****. Please remove complaint, Mr. ***** has agreed to remove complaint as well.