BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cell Energy, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cell Energy, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cell Energy, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 08, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1979 Business started locally: 01/01/1979 Business incorporated: 10/23/1979 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tony Reyes, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tony Reyes, President
Business Category

Battery Supplies Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Manufacturing & Distribution Battery Charging Equipment Batteries - Storage-Wholesale & Manufacturers

Alternate Business Names
Batteries4everything.com Energy Masters - Redding
Products & Services

Cell Energy Inc. provides batteries for all types of products.


Additional Locations

  • 2521 Hilltop Dr

    Redding, CA 96002

  • 3904 Winters St

    Sacramento, CA 95838 (916) 484-7974

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (530) 222-6775(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Told to cancel but shipped anyway An order was placed with them for two 35amph/hr batteries. There was something about card information causing payment to not be sent. They called me several days later and said payment was still being declined. I was also asked if there is another card I would like to use. To that they were told no. Therefore to cancel the order. However when I check my message account. Information from them said the order was sent. What is making the issue more confusing is the paying account has no information on paying them. Peerson spoke to is *******.

Desired Settlement: I am not sure what to request. Explanation for reason notice payment seems made yes.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Customer placed an online order, and credit card was declined. I called customer multiple times to obtain new card information. Customer said there was not another card they would like to use, and that they would call their bank. Customer then advised that they would like to cancel the order. The order was accidentally updated to shipped on our system; even though nothing was shipped, and no payment was collected. This was simply human error. Apologies for any confusion Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5-10-13, I went into Energy Masters to talk to a qualified individual about batteries to operate a house. I talked to the manager, a blonde girl with the name that starts with *** can't remember the hole name anyway. I started by telling her my story about living on a generator for more than sixteen years. When we first lived on the generator fuel costs were much cheaper than now, we're averaging about 12-14 hundred dollars a month on diesel to run the generator for lights, TV, A/C & to run our well. So, I told the store manager that I wanted to run a few lights operate a TV & use the A/C at night time when the generator is always off. And if we couldn't run the A/C at least two oscillating fans. She said not a problem, she told me to purchase 4 golf cart size batteries from them and buy an inverter from ****** ******* because she couldn't match the price at Energy Masters. So on 5-11-13, my son and I went to Energy Masters to purchase the batteries from them. Both employees we talked to and purchased the batteries from said that four batteries would take 2 hours to charge the batteries, and after that we would be able to run our house off the batteries for 8-10 hours without using the generator. The two employees told us how to set up the batteries and install the inverter and to make the system work. So, after purchasing the batteries and inverter and other items that came to about $300 dollars that I can't use like wire, wire nuts, 02 cable at $3.00 a ft and I need 60 ft. Well, anyway the next day my son and I started out to install everything, made all the modifications to house wiring to except the battery system. My son knows more about electricity than I do and I have been building for over 20 years. We had looked into these battery systems in the past but the cost always stopped us, so when I was told that for an investment of 11 hundred dollars that I could get away from paying that monthly diesel bill of 11-12 hundred dollars a month. We were told by both employees that to charge the batteries we needed to run a wire from the negative side of the batteries and also a wire to the positive side of the batteries and the plug it into a 110 household circuit, this could explode if done. This will not work because the generator puts out AC current and the batteries are DC current, in order for this to work we would have to put a battery charger in line and by doing this it would take 10-12 hours to charge the batteries, back to where I was in the start. I go back to talk to the manager about our little problem and now she tells me that my generator will not charge the new batteries that I now have to buy 12 hundred dollars worth of solar panels to charge the batteries we purchased from them. She knew all I had for power was a generator and this wouldn't work. I then call the main office in Sacramento to tell them of this problem, the young lady who answered the phone knew more about batteries and solar than the Redding manager. I was told I was sold the wrong batteries for my situation by the lady at the main office. The manager spoke to me and just tried to smooth things over and go and return merchandise at the store, he didn't want any responsibility of the situation or his employees. I did return the merchandise and was fully refunded. The major problem I have here is that I was told to connect the battery system to a 100 house circuit, if I would have plugged the system in the batteries would have exploded. The batteries contain acid, if anybody would have been near the batteries it would have been really BAD! I don't know if it was just stupidity or ignorance or they just didn't care but somebody could have been seriously injured. I think this should be turned into the district attorney. I was told buying their batteries and installing the product as we were advised that I could use my generator to recharge batteries, that was a LIE! Then when confronted about the situation all of a sudden I need 12 hundred dollars in solar panels, and that still wouldn't work like I was told at the very start. Sounds like bait & switch to me or whatever term you have for being lied and deceived. Whatever you want to call it, it certainly isn't ethical or what good business is about. This is a specialized company in a specialized field, you would think there information would be rock solid.

Desired Settlement: At the least, I am out 3-4 hundred dollars on misc parts for battery install. Which I think they should pay besides damages due to negligence on information to install batteries somebody could have been really hurt. I believe there is a responsibility when you give your advice, you are expected to give the correct information. I have been a general contractor for 26 years and what I say and do has to be written in stone. My advice, my opinion has to be correct there is no room for false information in my business. If I did to somebody what they did to me I would be held financially responsible but they just blew it under the rug. Just so you know, my financial responsibility would have been to correct the situation to the clients satisfaction no matter what the cost would be to me, that's just good business. If I had screwed up as bad as they did, if I was the owner of Energy Masters I would think he should feel the same thing about customer satisfaction as I do!

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ***** president Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@cellenergy.com this customer went to our Redding Store Energy masters, wanted to buy some batteries to run things, in house, he was told those 4 batteries he purchased would do that, but you need to know how to hook them up, and when you discharge them you have to charge them back up, we did not give him any advice on how to hook anything up, he brought an ad from ****** ***** on an inverter which is very cheap, price and quality wise, we sell products, we recommed you have a person that knows what he is doing hook things up. He called the Sacramento store to complain,that store knew nothing of what went on. and he was told if not happy with what he bought to take back for a full refund,

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Awful customer service and bad business practices. The owner was just rude and took advantage of my mother's illiteracy and was not helpful or willing to help whatsoever. He was a very rude and unthoughtful man. My mother was sold a defective battery for her phone and he would not let us return it or exchange it. He ordered it from his vendor online and It was mailed directly to my mother. It arrived in bad shape and looked like someone had owned it for years and it didn't even work! He said because she took some of the sticker off the battery that we couldn't return it. I was advised by the owner that the sticker should not affect the battery and that it was the wrong battery for the phone. He was the one who ordered the battery for my mother! This takes advantage of the poor and elderly and should not own a business!

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund We want our money back or the correct battery for my mothers cell phone.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, Owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@att.net Customer purchased a cell phone battery from ****** *******. ******* was drop shipped to their home. Customer brought the battery back for a return, which I would have no problem doing; however the battery was too damaged to refund their money. The Customer (daughter) began swearing,and called me a "****", I then asked her to leave my store. Upon leaving my store, I said have a good day, and she turned around and flipped me off.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) How could the battery be extremely damaged when only owning it for 2 days?! Wow. What kind of business practice is he running? All I have to say is that I will never do business with such an awful business man.

Business' Final Response
*******-*** is the name of the company I do business with regarding my cell phone batteries. The are a very reputable business, and I have NEVER received any damaged product from them. My manager was standing right next to me when miss ****** came in swearing, and with her verbally assaults. For her to say she never once called me names is beyond me? I have a witness that was standing right there. That's is why she was asked to leave. Again, I wouldn't have a problem refunding any product that was sold here, but not when the product was damaged. Her mothers battery was extremely damaged, and that is why I was not able to refund her money.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/31/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1