BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

Bath Fitter Northern California

Phone: (916) 231-6261 View Additional Phone Numbers 1313 N Market Blvd Ste 100, Sacramento, CA 95834 http://www.bathfittersacramento.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bath Fitter Northern California meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bath Fitter Northern California include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bath Fitter Northern California
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 05, 2008 Business started: 01/31/1984 Business started locally: 01/31/1984
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mia Marshall, Marketing Coordinator Mr. Rob Plannette, Branch Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mia Marshall, Marketing Coordinator
Customer Contact: Mr. Rob Plannette, Branch Manager
Business Category

Bathtub Refinishing Shower Doors & Enclosures Masonry Panels - Prefabricated Home Improvements Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs

Products & Services

Bath Fitter Northern California provides bathtub refinishing & remodeling services.


Additional Locations

  • 1313 N Market Blvd Ste 100

    Sacramento, CA 95834 (916) 231-6261 (877) 748-2284 (916) 231-6284

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 748-2284(Phone)
  • (916) 231-6284(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bath Fitters was not honest with me and used false information to gain my confidence setting me up for misrepresentation of contract and agreement. Bath Fitter's Rep ***** Contacted me by Phone July 12, 2013. Sales Rep *** Came to my house July-16-2013. Paid $1040. Deposit Went to Bath Fitter office July 18, ******** verified to me that service techs would not Tile or finish bath room floor but would repair sub floor. Paid 2nd deposit $2082. The first service tech **** came to my house on August 8 2013, indicated to me that their techs Could not do any additional work due to liability reasons. No work done. Contacted ******** same day. I decided I must do the sub floor. But I was still willing to try to Work with Bath Fitters. Second service tech came to my house on August 15. He completed tub and surround installation. My Bath room is in complete; my water is shut down due to bathroom work. At this point I do NOT want Bath Fitters to work on my second bath room, and I want my deposit Refunded. I was contacted by bath fitters via my online web search I think through Home Advisors, for bath rooms and kitchen repair and remolding. I ask ***** from Bath Fitters about remodeling my complete bath room. He said he would send a represented out to my house to answer my questions. I ask the represented *** about having my bath room remodeled. He said it would be no problem, and to ask the service installer. I went forward with the contact under the condition that Bath Fitter was the solution to remodeling and repairing my bath room. During the first 72 hours I tried contacting Bath Fitters to review details. I drove to the Bath Fitter's office to review the details. ******** went over some details, including that Bath fitters would repair the bath room sub floor. When the Technicians' arrived they contradicted what the Sales people had told me concerning doing any repair. I was willing to work with Bath Fitters on this issue as long as they stayed within reason. But there was much inconsistency and confusion The work Bath Fitters did on my first bath room was not adequate. So I did not want them to do the work on my second Bath Room. I want to cancel the second bath room contract, and I want my full refund for the deposit for the second bath room.

Desired Settlement: I would like my deposit back of $1608.00 from Bath Fitter. This is from the 2nd agreement.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ********* Branch Mana Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **********@bathfitter.com I received Mr. ********'s case from the Better Business Bureau. I had been in contact with Mr. ******** prior to receiving his case and thought we had come to an agreement. I personally spoke with him and let him know how we were going to resolve his issue. I believed we had satisfied his needs and we were in the process of refunding him. After receiving his case I have attempted to contact him via phone but we have both been missing each other when we try to call. I left a message with him advising him I had received his case and I will put together a letter releasing him from his contract with us and we will be refunding him his full deposit on his second bath.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Bath Fitter Branch Manager *** ********* was very concerned about my matter. Mr ********* agreed to my terms and to refund me my full deposit. The hall bath already completed will be under the full Limited Lifetime Warranty. Thank you. It would look like this You owe Bath Fitter for the first Bath Fitter $3,780 We owe you a returned deposit of $1,504 Brings the total you own Bath Fitter to $2,276 end

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: they havent finish the job yet.they already received their money MOVED TO GEORGETOWN, CA JUNE 2012 HOUSE I PURCHASE WAS HALF FINISH. MASTER BATH WAS PART OF NOT BEING FINISHED. CALLED BATHFITERS TO DO TO DO THE MASTER SHOWER AND TUB. SIGNED CONTRACT WITH BATHFITTERS NOV. 14,2012 PAID THE WHOLE AMOUNT $7,852 ANDWE STILL CAN'TUSE SHOWER, DOE TO THE FACT THAT THEY HAVE NOT INSTALLED THE SHOWER HEADS AND TRIM KITS FOR THE VALUES. JAN 14, WILL BE TWO MONTHS. I JUST WANT THIS FINISHED. P.S. CALL ME FOR MORE DETAILS. THANKS

Desired Settlement: FINISH THE JOB. SOME SORT OF REFUND SINCE I HAD TO HIRE A PLUMBER TO FINISH THE TUB.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We were out at to see this customer three days after the date of the letter (but prior to us receiving it). I am in contact with the customer to ensure they are satisfied with everything.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) no one from their office contacted us on the phone to see if we were satisfied with the work. only the installer at the time ask my wife if she was satisfied withe the job at the time. and had her sign some receipt. they should of had me sign it since i origional ok the contract in the first place. any how theinstaller said we could not use the shower for at least 4 or 5 days because the caucking needs to dry.so how can we be satisfied with the job if we didnt know if everything was working properly or their were know leaks. anyway when we finally got to use our shower the three way shower heads do not come on all at once only 2 at one time the adjustable value they installed is a two way value not three like the origional also i ask the installer prior at the time of installlation if they were going to charge us anymore money. he said absoulutly not. then we get another bill saying we owe another $988.00 dollars for the shower door which origional 879.00 two sum this up we payed way to much to begin with it took 2 and half months to complete we suffered alot because of this company. i will not pay them another penny for this white elephant.i figured they owe me money back since we had two hire another plumber to do some of their work. have them wavied the bill that they sent me and we consider not pursuing this matter further regards and perturbed ****** ******

Business' Final Response
We've attempted several times to make contact with this customer but they are not answering their phone or replying to our e-mails. We would like to get this taken care of but we are unable to speak with the customer. If the customer is reading this please call me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX. ****** ******, Branch Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Consumer states : After Bath Fitters completed the installation of our tub and wall system, I asked the installer why the panel at the rear of the tub is not straight where it meets the ceiling. A gap about 1/4" exists. The installer told me my ceiling is not level. My other complaints are as follows: 2. When you press on different areas of wall panel, it makes noise. 3. The window trim makes noise when you press on it. 4. No sheetrock placed on the lower wall by tub to cover open area before tub trim was installed. 5. Four six inch areas in wall panel has scratches. 6. Tub insert makes noise when you press on it - on window side and rear of tub. Mr. ****** with Bath Fitters came out on the issues I had and asked him if they can replace the entire unit because of the problems. He told me he ****** not replace it because the entire job meets his specifications. Also, ****** charge me half for a ceiling panel of $150.00 for a problem they caused.

Desired Settlement: Consumer states : If Bath Fitters installs a new ceiling panel at no charge to me To make repairs as listed on numbers #3, #4, #5, #6 Advise Mr. ****** that the ceiling area panel that is bothersome to me was caused by them

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
****** ****** Subject: RE: Case # XXXXXXXX: ****** S. ****** Dear ***** I have personally inspected the work performed at the Residence of ****** and ****** ******. This unit has been installed well within the quality expectations of the Bath Fitter Promise. It is quite beautiful and ****** perform for the promised lifetime of their home. This Customer, I believe is expecting our product to behave and/or appear in a way consistent with other materials they have experienced. The nature of the material, and the engineering involved in the Bath Fitter Systems provide for movement. This is intentional and is part of why the Bath Fitter system sustains time where rigid materials fail, crack and eventually leak. I ****** address the items that Mr. ****** mentions individually here. 1. Where the pan meets the rear of ceiling it is not straight. a. The one piece wall system must be cut to the smallest dimension that exists. The wall system is cut straight, however due to settling the home and ceiling are not. This resulted in a small (less than 1/4 inch) gap that appears on one side and not the other. This is consistent with our installation process and the gap has been filled with silicone sealant and upon inspection is well within our quality standards. i. Since this was of issue for the customer I offered to trim the wall out with our "Wall Top" trim, named such as this is its intended purpose but this was refused. ii. Mr. ****** said it was the "Perfectionist in him" that this bothered, I suggested that if this was going to be the kind of thing that continuously bothered him that the addition of a Flat ceiling panel would help correct the fact that his ceiling is out of level. I offered to split the cost of that upgrade with him in an effort to ensure his satisfaction. 2. When you press on different areas of the shower panel, you can move it like nothing is holding it from behind. a. The Seamless wall surround is installed using a series of strips of an adhesive butyl ranging in thickness between 1/4" and 3/8" inch thick. In this case the strips are arranged in a pattern designed to support the 6" tile pattern selected by the customer. There is on average a 2" gap between these strips. If you press on the wall between these strips you can move our wall system, this is a characteristic of our product and is consistent with a quality installation. i. There is no remedy here as the wall system has been installed exactly as designed. I suggested that he visit our showroom as he would find the same thing here. 3. The trim around the window makes noise when you press on it. a. The trim around the windows are mounted utilizing both butyl and silicone sealants, both of which are engineered to never harden. The modular nature of the trim and the fact that they are mounted with very small tolerance for gaps can lead to rubbing of edges and when pressed on can create noise. This is again characteristic of our products and materials. i. We offered to add additional sealants and adhesives which can provide, in some cases a reduction or elimination of these noises. The trim has been installed in a water and air tight configuration per our installation process and has a high quality visual appearance. 4. No sheetrock was installed on the lower wall by tub to cover an open area before the tub trim was installed. On the faucet side of the tub. a. There is a small opening along the base of the wall (the area commonly referred to as dog legs) the left side damage required sheet rock be installed to ensure that both the dog leg trim and baseboard would be able to be installed and secure. On the left hand side the area was small enough (less than 2 inches) that no sheet rock is required and once the base board is installed the area would be covered. i. We would be happy to remove the trim and add a small patch of sheetrock and re-apply the trim based on the customer request. 5. Panel has scratches on left side front on faucet side. Scratches are in four six inch squares. a. This is easily remedied and requires only a small amount of rubbing compound and time for our technician to resolve. We only need the opportunity to affect the repair. 6. Tub Enclosure not secure when you press on it on rear tip side. Makes noise. a. Upon inspection I found that the Tub liner is installed to a very high standard and is very secure. As mentioned in item 3 above all of the adhesives and sealants utilized in the installation process are engineered to never harden. If you press hard you can make the product move and when one piece rubs against another they can squeak. i. I offered to break the seal and trim the edge of the tub opening the gap between wall and liner slightly and inject some additional sealants to provide a more rigid feel and eliminate the noise based on the customer's request. 7. When you shower, water runs along the back of tub wall and onto the floor. a. I tested all sides of the tub liner to ensure that there was positive drain on all sides of tub including the rail. This liner is installed correctly water drains into the tub when poured on to all sides. i. When transitioning from a tub with doors to a tub with a shower curtain it is common for customers to have to re-learn some forgotten bathing habits. 1. Ensure that the curtain you select is larger than the space you are covering. A 60" wide curtain in a 60" wide opening ****** not allow you to ensure that you seal the curtain against the walls. 2. With a door in place you can let the water from the shower strike the wall in high volume and not worry about it. When using a shower curtain, if you do not take care to point the showerhead down into the bathing area you risk overwhelming the rail and forcing water out of the tub area, this can be managed somewhat by making sure you have an appropriate amount of curtain stuck to the back wall and tucked closely against the tub rail. 8. Window side of tub looks uneven a. Upon inspection of the tub liner the rail has been installed in a manner such as to provide positive drain back into the tub. This is by design and is the nature of our product. This has been done with intention and should not be modified especially given the customers other concerns. We sincerely want Mr. & Mrs. ****** to be happy with their installation, and would be delighted to provide all of the remedy as detailed above. I believe that their dispute of charges to be unfounded and request that you direct them back to Bath Fitter so that we can take care of the minor issues detailed in items above. Sincerely, ****** ****** Branch Manager

Consumer's Final Response
Consumer states (JLS): First, this was an issue for my wife and myself as we expected a quality job and did not receive it. Mr. ****** continues on that I stated it was the perfectionism in me that this bothered. I did not say I was a perfectionist. My wife and I wanted what every customer would want and that is good quality job. I believe that when companies do installations, the job should be done with the customers satisfaction, not just that it meets company standards. I refused the trim kit, because it does not remedy the fact that they did not cut the wall board for a good fit at the ceiling. Mr. ****** offered me an option with the remark that if this ceiling was bothering me they could install a ceiling panel. After in which he then advised me they would pay half and I would pay half for the ceiling panel. First, I don't believe I should be paying out more money to cover up a problem area that they created. Mr. ****** mentioned that customers have to re-learn bathing habits. First, I have taken showers for many years without shower doors. This is not mine or my wife's first shower without doors. When my wife or I take a shower, the water does not all drain into the tub like Mr. ****** states. When Mr. ****** tested the tub for drainage, he just took his hand and splashed some water on the backside of the tub. In order to observe the drainage of the water into the tub area, you have to place enough water onto the tub or take a shower. Each time, my wife and I shower, we have to wipe the entire top surface of the tub down due to the water puddles that do not drain into the tub, as Mr. ****** states it does. I noticed on Monday, November 12, 2012 after showering that facing the tub and looking at the rear of the tub, it looks like a definite flaw in the acrylic. I checked it closely and it definitely appears to be a defect in the material or it happened during the installation. I did not notice this before due to all of the other issues. The area that is flawed is a white line that goes from the rear of the tub about half way down, and goes into the flat part of tub. I ran my finger across it and it is indented. This is not consistent with the original acrylic material design installed, which is white marble. When Mr. ****** first came out to my residence, I asked him if he could take the tub and the wall panel out and replace them, due to the problems I was experiencing. Mr. ****** at the time replied to me and said he would not replace them, because the installation was good in his judgment and met his company standards. At this time, I would like to inform Mr. ****** that with this flaw in the material on the tub and the way the water ****** not drain into the tub, I would like to have the tub replaced. I ****** not have Bath Fitters try and correct a material flaw that originated in production or by the installation. I also believe that Bath Fitters should also replace my tub panel enclosure. I believe that Bath Fitters need to address the needs of my wife and I in an effort to resolve this complaint as indicated and to keep an ongoing good customer relation with Bath Fitters. I do not believe that I am asking for too much. All my wife and I would like is to have a nice bath tub and wall system that looks good and can be proud of. This has not yet happened. I would also like to state that my wife and I have to live with this bathroom every day. And would like to be able to love it as well as enjoy it for years to come. At this time, I would like for Bath Fitters to remove the entire tub and wall panel system and replace it with a new one. If it can be installed correctly and no defects in materials. My wife and I ****** be very happy and ****** also be satisfied customers. I would appreciate it if these demands can be met, as I believe we have been more than patient with this company.

Business' Final Response
Mr. ****** does not appear to want to resolve this issue rather than working with us to find compromise to resolve his issues he continues to escalate. I believe we have provided a positive way to resolve their dissatisfaction and because I am unwilling to simply give them an expensive item for free they ****** not accept our offer. * I have inspected the tub and shower installation, the workmanship is of high quality, the materials used are beautiful, and have been installed consistent with our installation process. * There is positive drainage on all 4 ledges of the tub and water does in fact run back into the tub cavity, it is completely normal for there to be remnants of water in a shower area after water has run. * The back ledge of any tub enclosure ****** be overwhelmed if water is sprayed directly on it, it is important that while showering that the shower head be pointed into the cavity and not toward the back wall. * The wall surround is installed correctly and in accordance with our installation process, the surround must be cut to the shortest dimension of the space as it is folded up and place on the wet wall first then unfolded along the longer wall then finally the slope or back of tub wall. In this case due to the settling of the ****** home this results in a very small gap that appears on the slope side of the wall at the junction this gap is small enough to be covered with the Silicone sealant. This is the customary method for most of our customers, I have offered to trim the wall with either our ''wall Top'' or ''Bull Nose'' molding at no cost and have offered to sell them a flat ceiling panel at 50% off if they are interested in that as an alternative. This is not an error in installation it is a function of the shape of the hope (the space between tub and ceiling is not a consistent measurement. * The noises reported by Mr. ****** are typical of our product but we can take some additional measures to help minimize these and are willing to do so at any time. * The newest item brought forward is a suspected Color defect described as a white line which has an indent, BATH FITTER warranties its acrylic material and if upon inspection a defect is found we would certainly replace any defective material. Please note: Item 12. Of the Terms on our contract states Colors: Marbled colors or patterns may vary. Bath Fitter cannot guarantee the consistency of the color or patterns throughout the tub, walls or accessories. I ****** have our production manager make an appointment to inspect the liner for defects and initiate any claim for replacement product as needed. The tub liner can and would be replaced without disturbing the wall surround. Bath fitter has provided a high quality product and installation service for Mr. ****** and I am confident that this remodel ****** perform as promised for the life of their home.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1