BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Selig Construction Corporation?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Selig Construction Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Selig Construction Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Selig Construction Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 05, 1995 Business started: 07/01/1995 Business started locally: 07/01/1995 Business incorporated: 06/02/1995 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 711042.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott Selig, President Ms. Kendra Hudson, Manager Mr. Erik Palo, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Selig, President
Business Category

Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs Doors Windows Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling

Products & Services

Selig construction Corporation specializes in bathroom remodeling, walk in tubs, home improvements,and home addition services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 337 Huss Dr

    Chico, CA 95928 (866) 735-4499 (530) 893-5898 (800) 866-5895

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (530) 893-5898(Phone)
  • (800) 866-5895(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Telemarketing call to a number on the do not call list.

Desired Settlement: Quit the calls.

Business Response: We have been unsuccessful at locating your information provided. We will remove your number from our database but we need the number that was called. Your name and address search came back no match. We apologize for any inconvenience. We purchase numbers from list companies. These numbers are supposed to be scrubbed with the dnc registry.

4/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company took advantage of my 81year old mother who has been diagnosed with vascular dementia by selling her a ridiculously expensive tub that she does not have the means to pay as she is on SSI. They sold her a one year interest free loan and had her sign a contract she didn't understand.i am her POA and did not learn of this transaction until after it was installed on the 1st upon getting home fr work. Contract date 6/26/13 and shower was torn out and tub installed 7/01. My brother happened to be there on the 1st when they showed up for install. He tried to call to cancel but was told we would be responsible for $2k if we cancel. He called to ask me if I knew about this when I got home fr work, of which I knew nothing. As I am now out of work, I am trying to get some resolution to this matter. The tub has had to have several svc calls with one having to do with the electrical part of the install. When Selig was called, they could not send out an electrician at that time and were told to get an electrician to come in and figure out the problem and send them the bill. The only electrician that would agree to come out and bill the Co, didn't do something right as he blew the motherboard on her dishwasher. They also sent loan papers including the $2k discount that they were giving her for purchasing that day. My mother's name/address: ****** ******, **** *** ***** Way, *******, CA *****. I do not understand how she even qualified for the loan! Product_Or_Service: Selig Therapeutic Walk in tub Account_Number: **********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement Removal of walk in tub and reconstruction of shower area back to its original state.

Business Response:

This is our response to the complaint for "Case ID" ********
 
****** ****** contacted our company and said she was interested in the walk-in bathtubs that we advertise. After answering some survey questions about what she was interested in, about herself, her home (whether or not she owns or rents) etc... Ms. ****** scheduled an appointment for us to see her at her home to show her our products and to do a site spec. to see if our product would fit in her bathroom. This appointment was set for 6/26/13. Ms. ****** decided at this time to purchase a walk-in bathtub including a new surround and all installation from us and that she would like to finance the purchase. We submitted the finance application that she filled out and she was approved (we have no control on whether she is approved or declined). She scheduled her installation for the following Tues. 7/2/13. When our crew arrived, Ms. ******'s son "****" was there and told our installers to cancel the job. I explained to **** that his mother had purchased the tub a week prior (which he was aware of) and that we had incurred costs for the set-up and delivery of her tub, purchasing materials, and the cost of our crew to drive 4hrs for the install. At this time **** and Ms. ****** agreed to proceed with the install. As for the service calls mentioned, all of them have to do with her existing circuit breaker panel. In order to facilitate the service call, we hired an electrician to fix her problem that day which we paid for even though it had nothing to do with the work we performed. We have no knowledge of the dishwasher issue mentioned in the complaint.
We have a signed certificate of completion for the job, and a signed customer survey showing Ms. ****** was "very satisfied" with her walk-in tub, workmanship, installation, etc...
Ms. ******'s walk-in bath project has been installed for 6+ months with never a mention from ******** ****** about POA along with the fact that her family members were present during the entire installation process. Our company has NEVER taken advantage of anyone which is backed up by our 18+ yrs in business with an A+ rating in the BBB.


This is our response to the complaint for "Case ID" ********
 
****** ****** contacted our company and said she was interested in the walk-in bathtubs that we advertise. After answering some survey questions about what she was interested in, about herself, her home (whether or not she owns or rents) etc... Ms. ****** scheduled an appointment for us to see her at her home to show her our products and to do a site spec. to see if our product would fit in her bathroom. This appointment was set for 6/26/13. Ms. ****** decided at this time to purchase a walk-in bathtub including a new surround and all installation from us and that she would like to finance the purchase. We submitted the finance application that she filled out and she was approved (we have no control on whether she is approved or declined). She scheduled her installation for the following Tues. 7/2/13. When our crew arrived, Ms. ******'s son "****" was there and told our installers to cancel the job. I explained to **** that his mother had purchased the tub a week prior (which he was aware of) and that we had incurred costs for the set-up and delivery of her tub, purchasing materials, and the cost of our crew to drive 4hrs for the install. At this time **** and Ms. ****** agreed to proceed with the install. As for the service calls mentioned, all of them have to do with her existing circuit breaker panel. In order to facilitate the service call, we hired an electrician to fix her problem that day which we paid for even though it had nothing to do with the work we performed. We have no knowledge of the dishwasher issue mentioned in the complaint.
We have a signed certificate of completion for the job, and a signed customer survey showing Ms. ****** was "very satisfied" with her walk-in tub, workmanship, installation, etc...
Ms. ******'s walk-in bath project has been installed for 6+ months with never a mention from ******** ****** about POA along with the fact that her family members were present during the entire installation process. Our company has NEVER taken advantage of anyone which is backed up by our 18+ yrs in business with an A+ rating in the BBB.
This is our response to the complaint for "Case ID" ********
 
****** ****** contacted our company and said she was interested in the walk-in bathtubs that we advertise. After answering some survey questions about what she was interested in, about herself, her home (whether or not she owns or rents) etc... Ms. ****** scheduled an appointment for us to see her at her home to show her our products and to do a site spec. to see if our product would fit in her bathroom. This appointment was set for 6/26/13. Ms. ****** decided at this time to purchase a walk-in bathtub including a new surround and all installation from us and that she would like to finance the purchase. We submitted the finance application that she filled out and she was approved (we have no control on whether she is approved or declined). She scheduled her installation for the following Tues. 7/2/13. When our crew arrived, Ms. ******'s son "****" was there and told our installers to cancel the job. I explained to **** that his mother had purchased the tub a week prior (which he was aware of) and that we had incurred costs for the set-up and delivery of her tub, purchasing materials, and the cost of our crew to drive 4hrs for the install. At this time **** and Ms. ****** agreed to proceed with the install. As for the service calls mentioned, all of them have to do with her existing circuit breaker panel. In order to facilitate the service call, we hired an electrician to fix her problem that day which we paid for even though it had nothing to do with the work we performed. We have no knowledge of the dishwasher issue mentioned in the complaint.
We have a signed certificate of completion for the job, and a signed customer survey showing Ms. ****** was "very satisfied" with her walk-in tub, workmanship, installation, etc...
Ms. ******'s walk-in bath project has been installed for 6+ months with never a mention from ******** ****** about POA along with the fact that her family members were present during the entire installation process. Our company has NEVER taken advantage of anyone which is backed up by our 18+ yrs in business with an A+ rating in the BBB.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

My mother (Ms ******) did not contact Selig Construction Corp about the
advertised walk-in tub.  Two young ladies came to her door saying they were
working the neighborhood and they convinced her to let them in in order to
show her their product.  They then convinced her to let someone come to her
home and give her more detailed information at which time they called and
the appointment was set up for Wednesday, 6/26/13.  THE GIRLS are the ones
that INITIATED any interest on my mother's behalf and then the salesman that
went out to her house on 6/26/13 sealed the deal by convincing her that she
would greatly benefit from this walk-in tub.  I am not disputing the fact
that she agreed to the purchase of this product, I am upset that HE took
advantage of an 81 year old woman.  How many elderly people can afford to
pay $12,000 plus for a walk-in tub while on a fixed income!  My nephew, ****
Jr advised that he learned of the situation the night before the install
(which would have been the third day in which the contract said she had to
cancel).  He called and spoke to the salesman who convinced them to just let
the crew come out and that mom would not be obligated to anything as no work
had begun.   The salesman knew that that the contract would be binding the
next day!  The morning of the install my brother, **** Sr called the office
and spoke with a woman that was in touch with the boss who told her that the
contract could not be cancelled and that mom would be responsible for $2,000
in order to cancel.  My brother offered to pay for the crews' drive time and
gas and was told no.   He wasn't sure what to do at that point and the
install was started and completed.  He knew NOTHING of the tub purchase
until the install date.  I knew NOTHING until he called me that night to ask
if I knew about it and gave me the details.  Unfortunately with my work and
commute hours I did not have time to do anything about this issue until now.
My brother also had to argue the fact that the final amount due on the
contract was $2,000 more than the salesman agreed to with my mom and an
adjustment was finally made.    As to the service calls mentioned, this
company is supposed to be the EXPERT; when they went out to do the site
spec. to see if their product would fit in her bathroom, they should have
determined if the tub would be working properly once installed, which would
include any possible electrical issues.  There is no mention in the contract
that she would have to be sure her breaker panel would be efficient to run
the tub.  How are they going to install a jet tub that does not operate if
the electricity isn't appropriate to handle it?   Appears there are still issues with the
electrical as she recently had to have another service call.  How many
service calls is it going to take to get it right?
As I indicated in my initial compliant, my mother has been diagnosed with
vascular dementia and thinks she can still handle her affairs.  I pay her
bills and handle any major purchases she needs as she can be easily
convinced to make purchases she cannot afford.
To reiterate, the salesman was there on Wednesday 6/26 in the afternoon, my
mom had 3 business days to cancel, which my nephew tried to do on the third
evening, Monday, 7/01/13 through the salesman and was convinced to just let
the crew come out the next day.  My brother just happened to be there
Tuesday 7/2/13 morning and learning of the transaction tried to cancel
before the project was started.   The step up in this walk-in-tub is higher
than her shower pan and creates more hazard for her to get into the tub
versus her shower and then she cannot sit down in the now constricted shower
area as she needs someone to help her get up once she sits.   This
walk-in-tub has not benefited her in any way and now I have to figure out
how to pay for an expensive purchase that may end up being her demise should
she fall.
Sincerely,

******** ******

Business Response: Ms. ******'s statements are just simply not true, and/or she may have us confused with another company. Ms. ****** contacted our company inquiring about our walk-in bathtubs (she explained she had seen them in magazine adverts and tv commercials). We did not have "door to door canvassers" male nor female employed by our company which makes Ms. ******'s claim impossible. Again, we DID NOT take advantage of Ms. ****** as stated. We sold her one of our products that she was interested in for a fair, low to mid market price. We cannot exclude elderly customers. 
As stated before, the contract is dated 6/26/13 and the installation date that Ms. ****** requested was set for the following Tues 7/2/13. Ms. ****** and family had 6+ days to call and postpone or cancel the project in which case they did not. Ms. ******'s son **** called our office to cancel the project the day it was scheduled to install when our installation crew arrived to their home. It was explained to him that we had incurred many costs by this time so he and Ms. ****** agreed to proceed with the project. Ms. ****** and members of her family were present throughout the entire installation process. 
There was never any argument about the amount due at completion of the project as it was financed and no payment was due. The financing for the project was already in place and all that was needed was a signature on the completion certificate for the financing stating that the project was finished to her satisfaction.
Also as stated earlier, we paid an electrician to address the existing problems in her breaker panel in good faith. The issues were existing and not openly apparent at the site spec.. We did not bill her for the extra work or do a change order to cover the cost to address these unforeseen existing issues, we absorbed the cost in good faith. If there are any issues with the work we completed, we advise the customer to contact us. We do not show any "open" service calls for this customer at this time.

We are sorry to hear that Ms. ******'s daughter is not pleased with her mother's purchase but we have done nothing wrong in any aspect of doing business with Ms. ******. We stand behind our products, installation and workmanship. As stated before, Ms. ****** waited 6+ months to file this complaint with no previous contact. At this point, what is it that Ms. ****** wants?

 


Ms. ******'s statements are just simply not true, and/or she may have us confused with another company. Ms. ****** contacted our company inquiring about our walk-in bathtubs (she explained she had seen them in magazine adverts and tv commercials). We did not have "door to door canvassers" male nor female employed by our company which makes Ms. ******'s claim impossible. Again, we DID NOT take advantage of Ms. ****** as stated. We sold her one of our products that she was interested in for a fair, low to mid market price. We cannot exclude elderly customers. 
As stated before, the contract is dated 6/26/13 and the installation date that Ms. ****** requested was set for the following Tues 7/2/13. Ms. ****** and family had 6+ days to call and postpone or cancel the project in which case they did not. Ms. ******'s son **** called our office to cancel the project the day it was scheduled to install when our installation crew arrived to their home. It was explained to him that we had incurred many costs by this time so he and Ms. ****** agreed to proceed with the project. Ms. ****** and members of her family were present throughout the entire installation process. 
There was never any argument about the amount due at completion of the project as it was financed and no payment was due. The financing for the project was already in place and all that was needed was a signature on the completion certificate for the financing stating that the project was finished to her satisfaction.
Also as stated earlier, we paid an electrician to address the existing problems in her breaker panel in good faith. The issues were existing and not openly apparent at the site spec.. We did not bill her for the extra work or do a change order to cover the cost to address these unforeseen existing issues, we absorbed the cost in good faith. If there are any issues with the work we completed, we advise the customer to contact us. We do not show any "open" service calls for this customer at this time.
 
We are sorry to hear that Ms. ******'s daughter is not pleased with her mother's purchase but we have done nothing wrong in any aspect of doing business with Ms. ******. We stand behind our products, installation and workmanship. As stated before, Ms. ****** waited 6+ months to file this complaint with no previous contact. At this point, what is it that Ms. ****** wants?
 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

None of my previous issues of complaint have been addressed.  My mother should not have been bound to this contract regardless of how much she put down.  As I indicated, she is an 81 year old woman on SSI income, diagnosed with dementia.  She did not understand the contract and when my nephew called the salesman the night before installation, he was told to just let the crew go out and that mom would not be obligated as no work had been started.   The $2000 referenced adjustment made by Selig Construction was supposed to have been an agreement between the salesman and my mom.  My brother only got involved when the contract was given to my mom with a higher final amount due and after being told that the contract could not be broken without a $2000 penalty on the installation date.  Initial response from Selig Construction, they stated "As for the service calls mentioned, all of them have to do with her existing circuit breaker panel. In order to facilitate the service call, we hired an electrician to fix her problem that day which we paid for even though it had nothing to do with the work we performed."  This company being the expert should have confirmed that the circuit breaker panel was capable of carrying this new equipment load!  The contract which they provided as an attachment to their minimal response clearly states "includes all plumbing and electrical".  Furthermore the contract and documents left with my mother do not reflect that a permit was obtained for this installation from the city.  If one was obtained I would like a copy.  I do not believe they obtained one, as the walk-in tub would have then been properly installed, electrical and all and then maybe there wouldn't be so many service calls.  

Sincerely,

* ******

Business Response:

to respond to Ms. ******'s complaint other than that her statements and/or accusations are not true or accurate. As stated before, there was never any argument with Ms. ****** or her family about $2000. We did not receive a call from Ms. ******, her nephew, or any of her family prior to our crew arriving at her home on the installation day that she scheduled. There have been 3 service calls since installation on 7/2/13, all of which were responded to immediately, the most recent one being 11/7/13 at which time all tub functions were tested and in working order. We will call Ms. ****** tomorrow to check if there are any outstanding issues with her tub as we have not had any calls from her or any of her family since 11/7/13. Added, to date we have NEVER received a call from Ms. ****** whom is the person filing this complaint and making accusations toward us, nor have we ever been referred to Ms. ****** by Ms. ****** and/or any of her family that we have been in contact with.
As always, we stand behind all of our products and workmanship and encourage our customers to call ANY time they may have questions or concerns.
 
Sincerely
Erik Palo

Consumer Response: There are 13 pages to the POA. I have tried to figure out how to send all 13 all day!  I am  sending page 1&13 to see if these 2 pages will go through.  


 Please let me know how I can send the remaining 11 pages.  It appears that Selig Const did not provide a copy of the City Permit requested?  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I would like to reject the offer of Arbitration for complaint ID *******. I am still investigating and looking for additional documentation.

Sincerely,

******** ******

3/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A phone number associated with Selig Construction has been calling us every day for almost two months now. We only answer phone calls that we recognize from our caller ID, so we do not pick up their calls; they never leave a message. Sometimes they call multiple times per day. We have also filed a complaint with the FCC. Our number is on the National Do Not Call registry, and we have no business relationship with this company. This is harassment.

Desired Settlement: I want them to stop calling me!!!! I want them to take my phone number off their telemarketing list.

Business Response:

We received complaint ID ******* in response to unwanted phone calls from our company.  We have reviewed our files and find that we had prior contact with ******* ****** ***** **** ***** **** ******* ** ***** ************ and a request for an estimate for windows and siding.  The information was listed in our database as of 2006.  We continuously monitor and revalidate our numbers and remove any DNC customer contact information.  It appears yours was overlooked or a non match to current record. We apologize for this inconvenience of unwanted calls.  We have removed your information from our database and will not call you again unless you request an estimate again.
Thank you for your understanding in this matter.  

Business Response:

We received complaint ID ******* in response to unwanted phone calls from our company.  We have reviewed our files and find that we had prior contact with ******* ****** ***** **** ***** **** ******* ** ***** ************ and a request for an estimate for windows and siding.  The information was listed in our database as of 2006.  We continuously monitor and revalidate our numbers and remove any DNC customer contact information.  It appears yours was overlooked or a non match to current record. We apologize for this inconvenience of unwanted calls.  We have removed your information from our database and will not call you again unless you request an estimate again.
Thank you for your understanding in this matter.  

10/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Getting multiple calls from company robo caller that hangs up when we answer. Internet review of phone No. reveals numerous complaints. On DNC list. If this company will not follow the law on Do Not Call registry, I would not trust them to obey other laws.

Desired Settlement: Take our number off their list.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Customers number is removed from our calling database. It was removed immediately upon request at time of call. Selig receives numbers from multiple sources, including but not limited to : purchased lists, fairs, internet leads and publication. We apologizes for any inconvenience.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Since I made the complaint, I have received no further calls. This was my request, so I am satisfied that problem is resolved. Thank you.