Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Capitol Plaza Hall Catering, Inc.

Phone: (916) 443-4483 Fax: (916) 557-9648 1025 9th St Ste 201, Sacramento, CA 95814 http://www.capitolplazaballrooms.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Capitol Plaza Hall Catering, Inc. offers venue services for wedding receptions, cocktail parties, fundraisers, holiday gatherings, luncheons, seminars, conferences, and trade shows.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Capitol Plaza Hall Catering, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Capitol Plaza Hall Catering, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Capitol Plaza Hall Catering, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 26, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1985 in CA Business incorporated 03/03/1993 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Nasrin Mohanna, Associate Mr. Isaac Verhage, Marketing Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Nasrin Mohanna, Associate
Business Category

Ballrooms Wedding Chapels & Ceremonies Restaurants


Additional Locations

  • 1025 9th St Ste 201

    Sacramento, CA 95814

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A contract generated on the date of July 31st 2013 between Capitol Plaza Halls Catering, INC. and **** *******/*********** *****. The said contract dated on July 31, 2013 was only signed by **** ******* and not by *********** *****. After reading the contract that I (*********** *****) did not sign, states in the Cancellation states that "in the event of cancellation all monies paid to CPHC by Client are non refundable and shall be forfeited. Should cancellation occur less than thirty days after the date of this agreement all monies paid by Client to CPHC shall be forfeited. No further liability shall be considered. Should cancellation occur more than 30 days after the date of this agreement, and more than 6 months prior to the event all monies paid by Client to CPHC shall be forfeited. Should cancellation occur within 6 months prior to the event all monies paid by Client to CPHC shall be forfeited. Client shall be responsible for , and charged 100% of the total charges listed or those reasonably expected in this agreement. Here is my issue with this. Looking at this contract, no matter if or when the event happen to be cancelled they would keep the money anyway weather if was paid thirty days before or six months prior. Having a little contractual law background (I am no attorney) in school, I would have never signed such a contract. I believe that since my name was listed as one of the parties on this contract, I should have been able to review and also have a signature on it as well. Unless I gave **** ******* power of attorney. After speaking with ********* on March 26th 2014, she stated to me that I didn't need to sign the contract and that **** was signing for me. I feel that if my name is on any contract, that means that it has been explained to me and that I have signed off on it. She did tell me that she thinks I signed it. I have a copy of said contract and my signature is no where to be found.

Desired Settlement: The sum of $1,400.00 the payment that was made on July 31, 2013.

Business Response: Good morning, 

 
I did spoke to Mr. *********** ***** on March 26, 2014, and set an appointment to meet on Monday, March 31, 2014, to talk about this matter that he was disputing.  He asked me is his name was in the contract and I did mentioned to him that as the fiancee his name was in the contract t as well Miss **** *******, and that she is the one that comeback to sign the contract and put the deposit, and when I received her deposit, I gave her another receipt where it states about the cancellation policy again.
 
Miss ******* was the contact person that contracted our services, and she is the one that put the first deposit and signed a receipt as well were it states about our cancellation policy. I would really want to meet with them in person to talk about this concern of Mr ***** and resolve this matter in the best way possible to our consumer and to our business.  Keeping in mind the it was our loss as well because we were committed to our client and didn't rent the rooms to anybody else.
 
Sincerely,
********* **********
Capitol Plaza Halls 
###-###-#### Office
###-###-#### Cell 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: **** ******* and myself met with ********* ********** on Monday the 31st @ 10:00 am. I questioned the fact as to why was my name on the contract, but I did not acknowledge it with any kind of signature. Then I took the time to show her a contract from another vendor that had both of our signature on it acknowledging that we are in agreement. She did look at the contract , and agreed. She also stated that "this is something that I can learn from you". Again, the cancellation policy was not explained to me as I would have never accepted it. Ms. ********** did ask what she can do to resolve this issue. Since Ms. ********** did take the time to show us the place and had us sample the food, I proposed that she take $200.00 off the $1400.00 leaving a balance of $1200.00. I understand that they are committed to their client, but keep in mind that the rooms were cancelled in November. There was plenty of time for them to rent it out again. So why would they keep the room on the books? If I may add, she did give **** ******* a $125.00 refund on over payment in November. If there are no refunds, then why was that that portion was refunded back to her. Ms. ********* also added that she was going to have her attorney (William Smith) give me a call Wednesday morning(4/2/14). I explained that our dealing wasn't with their attorney, but with her. She did understand, and said that she would give me a call Wednesday morning (4/2/14)as she wanted to have this resolved as soon as possible. I have yet to receive a response from her. Sincerely, *********** ** *****

Business Response: Good morning, 

 
I did return the promised call to Mr. ***** on Wednesday, April 2, 2014 and left him a message to call me back to tell him what it was decided, he didn't call back so I call him back on Thursday afternoon, and set appointment for Saturday, April 5 to resolve this matter.
 
Thank you,
********* **********
###-###-####

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I am very satisfied and all matters have been handled. Sincerely, *********** *****