Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Little Passenger Seats

Phone: (209) 544-6826 Fax: (209) 526-6445 View Additional Phone Numbers 1210 7th St, Modesto, CA 95354

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Little Passenger Seats offers automobile seating accessories. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Little Passenger Seats meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Little Passenger Seats include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Little Passenger Seats
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 09, 1992 Business started: 01/07/1992 Business started locally: 01/07/1992 Business incorporated 04/20/1994 in CA
Type of Entity


Business Management
Eric Edmundson, President Ms. Michelle Wells , Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Eric Edmundson, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Michelle Wells , Manager
Business Category

Auto Service - Specialty Parts Auto Services Manufacturers & Producers Auto Accessories

Alternate Business Names
Little Passengers, Inc
Products & Services

Little Passenger Seats sells custom auxiliary SUV 3rd/4th row seat for sport utility vehicles.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Aug. 28, 2015 Fedex picked up 2 little passenger seats ( which I had never opened and asked if they would accept them as a return) from my home and delivered them to Little Passenger Seats. Once LPS received the packages they called me and said they were both damaged. Fast forward a few phone calls and suddenly the seats shipped are not damaged and I should be receiving a refund. After a week, I had not received a check. I contacted LPS by email asking when would I receive payment, this is Sept. 15, 2015 now. LPS replied that it could take 30 days for a refund. Today I am still waiting to be paid for seats they have had for nearly 60 days and have likely already resold. LPS had agreed to refund me, by check, approximately $870. On Sept. 15 they have now changed that amount to about $700. This is after they received brand new seats never opened or used. Is this really a company you want to do business with?

Desired Settlement: The original amount of refund agreed upon prior to my allowing these seats to be picked up by Fedex of $870.

Business Response:

I contacted my FedEx representative to get verification that the customer did not file a claim with FedEx as well. I received a call from FedEx claim department asking about the customer and the transaction saying she was filing a FedEx claim as well as attempting to get a refund. As soon as I receive a verification letter from my Fedex representative stating she was not awarded any refund claim money through FedEx as she claims she has not, then I can complete the seat buy back process. I am expecting the letter to arrive with my representative weekly visit this week.


Business Response: The original purchase of the seats happened in April of 2012. The product sat in the customers garage for three years when she decided to call us and ask us to buy back the seats that she never took out of the boxes. We did not have to but reluctantly agreed. When the shipment arrived, the box edges were deteriorated and in turn caused damage to one of the seats. As a company, we will not resell damaged seats and retracted the offer to buy them, since we have no idea when the damage happened. The customer verbally refused to take them back and called FedEx to file a claim. FedEx called Little Passenger Seats asking about the situation, which they were only contacted by the customer, not by our company. With this added confusion we needed to make sure the customer did not file a claim with FedEx so that should would not get paid twice for the seats when we reserve the right to file a claim with FedEx to get paid for the damaged seat that we cannot resell. Again, this was supposed to be a goodwill service for the customer that has turned into a nightmare since the customers refusal of the return of the damaged seat, stating it is the fault of Little Passenger Seats that the seat was damaged. We were not negligent in any way. We will pay the customer for the seat that came back in good condition but want to return the damaged seat to the customer since FedEx will not pay us for the damaged seat since there is no way of telling when the damage to the seat happened. Instead of the customer being appreciative we were even willing to take the seats back, she has not been cooperative, and her actions feel like we are being bullied into taking back damaged product that we cannot resell. She has written a bad review on our Facebook page, which is the only one and she is continuing to bully us with continued threats of legal action. We still have the damaged seat and wish to return it to the customer with a check for the other seat so she can find a way to resell it on her own. We do not HAVE to buy her seats back. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: we have photos of the original boxes prior to leaving my residence by fedex pick up. The boxes and seats were not damaged or deteriorated. Little Passenger Seats would not forward me any photos of the seats or boxes when they arrived at their office, which I requested several times by phone and email. Because I felt LPS was unwilling to help explain these said damages which were originally to both seats, the following day I was told it was only minor damage and only on one seat. But still no photos would be provided, they would send out a check that day. I contacted Fedex to find out how to go about verifying the said damages and representative with Fedex told me to file a claim. A few days following I received an email from Fedex stating that my claim was invalid because I was not the paying customer ( because I did not pay for shipping).  I contacted LPS, once again, to find out when I would receive a check and this time was sent a return form with deductions for restocking fees and another deduction for more than 30 days after purchase return. So essentially, a lower amount would be paid to me than agreed upon when I let Fedex pick up my seats. I should have received this lower payment several weeks ago now and contact the BBB when I still had no check. Two weeks ago LPS's excuse was that they were waiting for FEDEX to arrive with paperwork proving no claim had been filed. I already have this paperwork and it shows no claim was filed from over a month ago. today LPS continues to make excuses why they have not mailed a check, they have stolen my property and have not held up their end of the arrangement. 

5/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our Little Passenger seat arrived damaged. Bent bracket on the main frame. Wrong parts pack to correctly install the seat. I received an initially pleasant and cooperative response. I also was told a refund in the amount of what it would cost to return it and send a new one would be provided. These were lies as nothing has come of it. I was told that keeping the seat would provide this refund, as I have. I was instructed to "bang the bend out with a hammer". I did so. I asked if this would modify the structures integrity. I was told no. After realizing proper hardware to install was not present, we needed to contact again. This time the customer service fell apart. The rep acted as we were a burden to her, and we were told "she would sleep fine, knowing what she did was right in her eyes". I still don't even know what they were talking about. $1149 dollars later. I have a seat that I needed to work on myself to make fit. Buy the hardware myself that I already bought through them since they sent the wrong stuff, and an attitude with no rectification from their service department. Billing was extremely fast as well, but the shipment of it was lack. We were asked if they could Bill us since they were done and ship it. We were billed the day of the request. It was shipped 12 days later. Certainly money is the primary focus of this company, not customer service.

Desired Settlement: $287.25. 25% of the cost of the product. We feel this is extremely fair, and appropriate for what we received from your company.

Business Response: The customer was offered a full replacement at no cost of the ordered product since the frame was damaged in shipping. Replacement of the product is the only offer we gave since the safety of a damaged frame is negotiated. The customer declined the offer.

10/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rude customer service. Request settlement for inconvenience. Purchase date: Aug 2, 2013. Verbally told 8-10 weeks. Fine print says 8-12 wks, okay. No contact so I contacted. They told me 1.5 weeks still. I emailed just simply asking about if they compensate for lost time when I am a paying customer, which includes customer service. A Ms. ******** emailed me stating no discounts even if product was really late. She insisted that a product I have yet to receive was "top notch" and therefore if "all you have bad to say in the end is it tool a little longer than expected, then we are ok with that, since the quality is top notch... We choose quality over efficient service". So she already admits they care not about customer service. I replied stating that it was rude and that it would have been acceptable to have just apologized for the inconvenience and for no notification on their part and to not be rude about it, and she responded stating "I will not apologize for time. Sorry you think i was rude". So along with poor grammar, I feel like I was communicating with a 12 year old who has no experience in customer service. She's not even a manufacturer, just a "customer service rep". Next she gave me their cancellation policy. No care in the world, I, a customer who had already paid a down payment, didn't matter to the company. Plus on top of that, I never got any updates from the company about my product. I had to ask. I have all related quotes and emails on hand.

Desired Settlement: An apology from management and ********, ******** to receive professional guidance on customer service and free shipping for my product in order (taken out of my cost).

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Little Passenger Seats will respectfully fill the order at the agreed price. If the customer wishes to cancel their order, Little Passenger Seats will give a 100% refund of the customers deposit. It is not Little Passenger Seats policy to give credit for customer service issues or not meeting delivery time frames. Our company structure does not allow for rushing orders nor are we in full control of vendors, which is why we offer a window time frame of estimated completion. Every customer is equally informed of the production period with a written letter of confirmation. There is no guarantee or promise to fill orders in the estimated time frame written in any policy. We provide a custom made product, which is made after the customer places the order. The only discount Little Passenger Seats does offer is a 7% Military discount which the customer is already getting. If the customer would like to wait for the product, Little Passenger Seats will send the product when it is finished, unless the customer responds with a full amount cancellation request to get the deposit back, which will be immediately credited to the customers provided credit card company. Due to staff privacy, Little Passenger Seats, Inc will determine how staff issues are handled. Email correspondence to the customer was reviewed by the business owner. Any further contact from the customer should be in writing or through this Better Business Bureau forum. If the customer decides to keep the order in place, Little Passenger Seats will accept that as permission to charge the second payment to the account provided upon completion of the seat as agreed upon on August 1, 2013. Federal Express will email tracking numbers to the customer upon shipment.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I say no, I am not satisfied with the response in part due to the company's arrogance in still not accepting that they were "rude" and lack in customer service. Yes, I do only still need to product because of a job that I need it for. So I do further give them permission to charge my card upon completion. However, I would like to make note to the public to warn them of this companies lack of customer service quality. A company's "quality" is not based on product alone, especially since this company's product is not made by the customer service representative. If I had known of the insulting manner they had, I would have preferred to seek elsewhere and if I had more time, I would definitely go a different route. This company is an arrogant company that insist that its "top notch" product allows for their rudeness to their customers and that customers mean nothing to them and are expendable, which is clearly stated in my email correspondence with a ********. I have had much bigger companies treat me with respect. Companies such as ***'s ********* ******* ******** **** all of which have millions of customers, yet they still serve me well and respectfully. Yes, they gave me a window, and they are now out of that window. They didn't even contact me or apologize for inconvenience and refused to do so. That was the least they could have done to avoid such aggravation. Maybe they should make it clear to customers that the "window" is not accurate and they could be more productive in being respectful to customers who invest their time and money into their "family company". Most would expect more from a family company. If you have other options, like buying an vehicle with a third row, I'd go that route if i had more time. But I've already waited over 11 weeks.

Final Business Response
Little Passenger Seats filled the order respectfully. We have no further comment.