Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Glass Doctor of the Gold Country

Additional Locations

Phone: (209) 223-1785 View Additional Phone Numbers 11940A Hwy 88, Jackson, CA 95642 http://www.glassdoctor.com/jackson-ca



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Glass Doctor of the Gold Country meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Glass Doctor of the Gold Country include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Glass Doctor of the Gold Country
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 31, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1987 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1987 Business incorporated 01/15/1999 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 212057.

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 898911.

Type of Entity

Franchisee

Business Management
Mark Borchin, Owner Josh Quick, Assistant Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mark Borchin, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Glaziers Glass - Beveled, Carved, Ornamental Mirrors Shower Doors & Enclosures Windows & Doors - Installation & Service Windows Windows - Wells & Covers Windows - Wood Windows - Vinyl Windows - Egress Windows - Repairing

Products & Services

Glass Doctor of the Gold Country sells the following brand(s): PPG, Pilkington, Jeld-Wen, IWC, Milgard, Cardinal, Old Castle, WBS

Glass Doctor of the Gold Country offers the following product(s): Shower & Bath Enclosures, Windows, Mirrors, Beveled Glass, Commercial door closers, panic bars,pivots,locks,metal & glass, automotive glass,windshields,door glass, motors,regulators,backglass,heavy equipment glass,motor home glass

Products & Services

This business provides a full services glass repair for both residential and commercial customers.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 11940 California State Highway 88

    Jackson, CA 95642

  • 11940A Hwy 88

    Jackson, CA 95642

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had an appt set through my insurance co. for window chip repair on 5/21/14.After arriving the man doing the repair said it would be 20min. They told me before repair can be done I had to sign a paper saying there is a one percent chance it could crack. But would not do work until I signed before and after the repair. I thought it was safe because my insurance refered them and they told me this usually never happens but they have to tell me. I didn't get out of the drive way to walk across to the next door shopping center 10min. When they called my cell and told me your windshield is cracked and had a quote on the cost of a new one. 300.00. I told them my deductible was 500.00. By time I got to the shop they had changed it to 200.00. I stood there while they helped others. No remorse. I told them im on disability a single woman and did not have the money. Now where there was a surface chip. I have a crack across my windshield and it grew as I was driving off. I had to ask the girl for my keys as they left me standing. I checked on yelp and saw complaints from others. They told me you signed the paper. No one is at fault. Not them or insurance. I think I have been taking advantage of. Now I have an unsafe window and no way to repair it. I think one percent is crazy. I happened to be the one. I was hoping for a replacement before I get a ticket. Don't think that will happen. Not sure what to do. Just sick over the whole matter.

Desired Settlement: replacement of windshield

Business Response: **** ****** *******,

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. I do appreciate how you feel.
In fact- At Glass Doctors, we strive to live our "Code of Values" by operating in a responsible manner: "above the line" & looking to the system for correction and proposing all possible solutions if something is not working.
We put systems in place to educate & inform clients using the pre-inspection sheet & rock chip repair disclaimer and warranty. (see attached) to acknowledging the risk using the insurance industry verbiage. 
In this instance-nobody feels good. So, to show that our heart is in the right place - We will install our OEM replacement glass by PPG & include Glass Doctors Exclusive (G-12) twelve month road hazard Guaranty Certificate for $193.20 including tax. Thats more than 50% off of our retail price of 389.35.
Please call me directly any time. See my cell number below.
 
Sincerely,

**** *******
Glass Doctor of the Gold Country
Cell ###-###-####
Office ###-###-####
glassdoctorgold.com
We live our Code of Values by……
making our best effort to understand and appreciate the customer’s needs in every situation.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
I had a warning to get it fixed. A fix it ticket was 300.00 and I could not do that. I had it repaired for 250.00. They came to the house and did it in the driveway because it was a safety issue I had to fix it. They told me it was pressed on too hard and he would do any future chips without signing a form. It should not of happened I was told. **** *******