Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

The Auto Analyst

Phone: (530) 621-4591 Fax: (530) 621-1913 5850 B Mother Lode Dr., Placerville, CA 95667

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Auto Analyst meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Auto Analyst include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Auto Analyst
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 06, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1990 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1990
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 254072.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mrs. Darlene Phillis, Owner Mr. Craig Phillis, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Darlene Phillis, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations

  • 5850 B Mother Lode Dr.

    Placerville, CA 95667


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had repairs done 5/23/12 broke again 6/20/13. Was willing to waive labor cost because it should have lasted longer. Charged me $94.43 to say that. On 5/23/12 took my car in for #4 misfire was told valve gasket, spark plugs, and ignition wires needed to be replaced and were. They said I may need to replace the coil in the future but after the work it looked ok. One month and one thousand miles outside of their warranty everything that was fixed was now leaking worse than the first time. I took it back in where over the phone they said that they wanted to look at it. I asked if it was going to be covered over the warranty since it was just outside of it, she said she didn't know. I went to work and received a phone call from **** at 9:40am he expressed his concerns on investing any more money into my car. He said that he agreed that the seals should not have gone out as soon as they did, but he spoke with the parts dealers and they were not willing to cover the cost. He told me all the work they did last year went bad and needed to be done again. He said he spoke with the manager and they were willing to waive the labor cost and all I would have to pay is $250 plus the coil which was another $30. He said with the age and mileage on the car to fully fix all the problems would run me over $1000 and I should really think about what I would like to do. **** called back at 11:03am and his demeanor changed he was trying to push me into fixing the car saying parts and labor was only $505. I told him I did not want to fix it and I just want to get it. He was very persistent that I fix the car because it is barely running. I drove the car to their shop that morning and yes it did have a loss in power but it ran. He said that it's running really rough because when his tech went to look at the coil the tip broke off. I told him I just was going to get my car and he said that he hoped I lived close by because it might not make it. I said I was going to get the car and I didn't want them to fix it he said he would try and stabilize the coil so it will run as close to the way it did when I brought it in. I went to pick up my car on my lunch break I asked ***** if they were able to stabilize the coil. She said she didn't know what I was talking about so I told her what was said. **** jumped up from his desk and said "I didn't say that". I was very confused and irritated so I was saying what he said on the phone and he denied the whole thing. ***** then gave me the $94.43 bill for looking at the car and I asked her there was nothing they could do to help me with this bill since they were willing to waive labor cost. She said the manager said no he had to pay his tech. I told her if you guys are not willing to work with me on this bill when I think its your fault I'm going to log a complaint with the BBB. She was upset that I had said that and asked me why. I told her that I had heard that they were a "*******" shop but I thought I could trust them. She continued wanting to argue why I was so upset. At this point I was furious and I was crying. I told her look I am on my lunch break and I don't want to be here. She continued to question why I was upset. So I told her "just let me pay my ******* bill so I can ******* leave". She left the room, so I asked **** will you take my money for this bill you people want me to pay so I can leave I don't want to be here. He told me I had to wait a couple minutes. Then ***** came back in with a man arms crossed who only asked "why are you upset". I quickly went over it again asked him to put himself in my shoes warranty runs out car breaks, and then I said good customer service would at least help me with bill for looking at it but if I have to pay let me pay it so I can leave. ***** looked up at him for approval to take my card which had been sitting on the counter the entire time. With the industry the way it is customer service and quality is everything. They repaired my car and the same thing broke again just outside of the warranty. I feel that the shop scammed me, tried scare tactics to get me to fix the car, and took advantage of me.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see a full refund of $436.81 from invoice number XXXXXXXXX from the original job done, and a refund for the $94.43 invoice number XXXXXXXXX for the visual inspection.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* *******, Presiden Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******* On 5/17/2012 ******* ***** brought in her 2002 Mitsubishi Lancer complaining that the car feels like it is cutting out when going up a grade. At that time our technician inspected the vehicle for concerns. While on the initial test drive they did not notice any engine cutting out. They scanned the computer for trouble codes and found 2 codes in the system. One referred to the catalytic converter and the other referring to a miss-fire detected on cylinder #4. We checked for any obvious concerns/loose connections, but found none. At that time we informed ******* that we would require further time to inspect & diagnose the problems related to the stored faults (This was all done at NO CHARGE - Repair Order #XXXXXXXXX). On 5/22/2012 ******* returned with her vehicle requesting that we perform an engine diagnosis for the stored trouble codes in the system. We inspected the vehicle first for the miss-fire on #4 cylinder & found the #4 ignition coil boot was getting soaked in oi, due to the vehicles valve cover gasket leaking into the tube seals, causing the ignition system to miss-fire. We checked the spark plugs & found they were all worn, the ignition wires were old (possible original), & the ignition coil signal was very weak & maybe indicating the coils were breaking down. We recommended at that time replacing the spark plugs, ignition wire set, clean the ignition coils/boots, replace the valve cover gasket & tube seals. We informed ******* that the catalytic converter may have been saturated w/ oil & may need to be replaced. The mileage on the vehicle when checked in for this test was 164,860 & the charge for the diagnostic testing was $94.43 - Repair Order #XXXXXXXXX. On 5/23/12 ******* returned to have the valve cover gasket, ignition wire set, & spark plugs replaced. We removed the valve cover & replaced the vehicles valve cover gasket, spark plug tube seals, spark plugs, & ignition wire set. We cleared the trouble codes & test drove the vehicle which was performing well at that time. Our technician also noted that the radiator was leaking from the upper tank; the rear transmission mount was extremely worn & the front transmission mount was starting to crack; the front lower control arm, radius arm bushing were beginning to split; & the factory recommendation for timing belt replacement was due at 100,000 miles. The mileage on the vehicle when checked in for this repair was 165,077. The total charge for the repairs were $353.51 Repair Order #XXXXXXXXX. On 7/3/13 Repair Order ********* (13 months after the above repair) ******* brought in her vehicle stating that she has to add 1 quart of engine oil per week, the valve cover gasket is leaking, and she has a loss of power when driving up a hill. The mileage on the vehicle when brought is was 183,350 (18,273 miles since the above repair). Our warranty as stated on our repair order is 12 months/12,000 miles whichever occurs first. Since it was clearly over 12 months and 12,000 miles ******* was given a $94.43 estimate for testing and inspection. On the initial test drive the technician confirmed that the vehicle was performing very poorly and running rough. The technician noted that the vehicles check engine warning light was not illuminating but when scanned had the same trouble codes in the system as when tested on 5/17/12. The technician checked the spark plugs, ignition coil boots, & ignition coils & found the #4 ignition coil was damaged, the coil stem was broken at the base of the ignition coil and the tubes were getting filled with oil saturating the spark plugs. The technician recommended replacing the vehicles valve cover gasket with tube seals, spark plugs, & both ignition coils. Our service manager checked with our parts supplier to see if they would honor the warranty even though it was out of warranty by 1 month and 6,273 miles, they informed us that they could do nothing for us. The service manager informed ******* of this & also told her that the company, The Auto Analyst, would help some on the labor & at that time was quoted $505 to replace the valve cover gasket, spark plugs, & both ignition coils. At no time was ******* told that the labor cost would be "waived" & the coils do not cost $30 they are actually $104.27 each. For the above mentioned testing and repairs would normally cost $698. When ******* refused any repairs & stated that she was just going to come pick up the car our service manager informed her that the vehicle was still running poor & hoped that she would not drive it too far. ******* was charged $94.43 since she was not having any of the recommended repairs done. This charge was for the testing that was done, it was not just visually checked, the technician went into the computer system for the codes and also removed the spark plugs to inspect. When ******* came in to pick up her vehicle she was not a pleasant person and began using profanity. Our customer service rep was questioning ******* why she was so upset thinking that maybe she did not understand what was explained to her she was not trying to argue with her. Our employees are told that they do not have to be subject to any verbal abuse from anyone and to inform management when this happens. Our customer service rep came into the shop & brought one of the owners up front to help deal with this circumstance. He tried to ask ******* why she was so upset because we were willing to help out with some of the labor. At no time were "scare tactics" used, we like to make sure our clients are aware of everything their vehicle may be needing before making any decisions on repairs. At this time we will still honor the price to replace the valve cover gasket, spark plugs, & both ignition coils for $505 minus the $94.43 already paid plus sales tax as long as ******* is will to be respectful to my employees and leave the profanity at home. I would like to clarify that there still may be a problem with the catalytic converter & that the vehicle will not be 100% up to par due to the fact that there are many other items that need to be addressed.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As mentioned within my complaint, I took the advice from our first conversation on the phone and bought another car. Since I no longer have the vehicle the repairs are not necessary. I feel that even in the response by saying they were willing to help with the labor cost but when i went into the office they acted like I made up the conversations on the phone. Being fair I would still like my full refund but since i don't have the vehicle anymore and will not be getting it repaired again I am willing to accept just the inspection refund. They claim that they didn't charge me the first time they looked at the car but in reality if I had not agreed to have their shop fix it i would have been charged. You can call and ask them if they charge to look at your car and they will say yes for inspection and diagnosis. I don't believe they should have charged me to tell me their parts should have lasted longer and to basically call me a liar in their office.

Business' Final Response
*******, at no time did we call you a "liar". We were just questioning your behavior because it was throwing us back since we had discussed helping out with the labor charge. I apologize for any miscommunication and misunderstanding with this whole situation. Please stop by the front office and I will have a check for you for the inspection so we can put this all behind us. With the check will be a gift certificate for one (1) free oil change on the vehicle you just got.