This business is not BBB accredited.

Standard Auto Care

Phone: (916) 924-8040 View Additional Phone Numbers 2240 Colfax St, Sacramento, CA 95815 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Standard Auto Care include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Standard Auto Care include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Standard Auto Care
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 04, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1997 Business started locally: 01/01/1997 Business incorporated 12/26/2006 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 249402.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Tom Hipp, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Hipp, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

Standard Auto Care provides a full range of general auto repair. Standard Auto Care will also pick up your vehicle and provide you with a loaner vehicle as well.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations


    2240 Colfax St

    Sacramento, CA 95815 (916) 273-4909


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 2002 saturn, L300 series with 85,000 in to Standard Auto Care on May 6th because of a check engine light problem, idling, and surging problem. I received a call from *** who is ***'s office assistant and was told it would cost me $283 for a computer diagnosis and maintenance check on car's computer system. I stated that would be fine. But I asked him very specificially with that check would you be able to tell me what is wrong with my car and his answer was yes. picked the car up on may 8th and was told by *** that it is still surging but he think the problem is the exhaust system which he wrote me a estimate of $169. I told him no. I had paid him $1339.00 for his work. I took my car to Goodyear saturday 8th they installed a Map Sensor and EGR Sensor, My car runs perfectly. I paid them $404, I am asking *** for a refund because He incorrectly diagnosed my car.

Desired Settlement: I drove my Car to ******** may 8th and car was diagnosed and found that the Map Sensor and EGR Sensor were bad. Repairs were made by ******** and my car runs perfectly. I am asking for a refund of $404 the amount I paid to ******** for Repairing my car. I paid a total of $1339.00 but Standard Auto Care did not repair my car. I sent the shop a letter but received no response.

Business Response:

I've included a copy of Mr. *******'s original repair order #*****. As you can see we found multiple problems and addressed them individually. Mr. ******* claims that we missed the MAP sensor. As you can see at the bottom of the invoice under heading "Recommendations" we advised him to replace the MAP sensor also. Mr. ******* is lying about that. He claimed that he ran out of money and actually wrote me a postdated check for a small portion of his bill. I have provided a copy of the check. Compare the date to the date of repair on RO #*****. I have provided a copy of  the estimate I gave him for the MAP sensor. His initial diagnostic estimate was quoted to diagnose the fires set of codes, not the second set from RO #*****
He brought his car back again on 5/9/14 repair order #***** with a check engine light on again and had a new set of trouble codes present. I have documented those also with an explanation of what may be happening. He claimed Goodyear only found two of the codes but here they are. Documented!
He also claims that he wrote me a letter and that I did not respond. Again he is lying. I have provided a copy of the letter I sent him.
Mr. ******* had multiple problems fixed on his car and declined the repair he is accusing us of missing. He also lied to us about being out of money. Hence the Goodyear spending. A lack of integrity is what I call that.
It is a shame that customers will lie and cheat to try to get something for free. We have a good reputation for being highly skilled and our customer service is impeccable.
Feel free to contact me if you have any further questions

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:    I  paid $1338 to Car Care Centers to repair my car.   They charged me for parts they replaced but failed to diagnose the real problem.   I took my car back twice and car was running the same.  I am asking for Car Care Center to refund the amount of $404 that I paid to Goodyear for repairing my car.

But if Car Care Centers do not refund the $404, my next move it to take the matter to Small Claims court to let a Judge decide.  I did not mind paying the money to have my car repaired but I wanted it done correctly.   They charged me a huge amount but the car was not repaired.

Business Response: On the original repair order we recommended the exact part (MAP sensor) that was replaced by Goodyear and recommended testing to confirm the EGR problem. Mr. ******* declined further repairs at that time due to lack of funds. He then went to Goodyear and paid for the same repair that we recommended and he denied. 

We therefore refuse to pay for those repairs on the grounds that his his demands are unreasonable. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  I am going to take this problem to Small Claims Court.   This way the Judge will decide the merits of this case.   Car Care Center is refusing to refund the money I paid to Goodyear for repairing my automobile.   $1338 the money I paid  was ample enough to repair my car.  But they stated it would cost me an extra $169 to further diagnose my car.   So at this time I will be taking my Complaint to Small Claims

4/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my car in to be diagnosed on 06/07/2013. Mechanic found that the Idle Control Motor had burned out which caused the Electronic Control Module (ECM) to burn out. A couple weeks later the Service Engine Soon Light came on, but went off after a few days so I didn't think much of it. The car slowly over the remaining few months started to drive bad. I would press on the accelerator and the tachometer would rev up but the car wouldn't go. I finally took it to the Infiniti dealership on 02/03/2014. They found that the Mass Air Flow sensor needed to be replaced and a further issue of the incorrect ECM had been installed in my vehicle. They explained to me that there are two different ECM's for the vehicle. One with a Traction Control System (TCS) and one without. The ECM that was installed by Standard Auto Care was equipped with TCS, but my vehicle does not have that option. Infiniti replaced the ECM with the correct part.I then went to Standard Auto Care about the fact that they installed the wrong part. The owner and a mechanic then told me that there is only one ECM for the vehicle and you simply re-flash it to work with the car, and that multiple other companies like Dodge and Ford are this way. They told me that Infiniti lied to me to up-sell an unnecessary part. Which I verified by looking on-line at three different sites that for my make and model and years before and later they all have two options; ECM's with TCS and ECM's without TCS. The owner then went on to say that I didn't give his shop the chance to check it out and that it was under their warranty still. To which I explained that the part I requested they get when they supplied my options, was a used part, and used parts and customer provided parts are not covered under their warranty. I then went on to explain that I as a consumer are not required to come back and give them a chance if I feel they did an inadequate job initially and I needed a second opinion. The owner finished the conversation repeating the fact that it was under warranty, I didn't give them a chance to look at it, Infiniti was wrong, and that Standard Auto Care would not refund my money.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $819.60: Labor- $226.00 Part- $312.50 which I have to give back. Reflash of ECM- $175.00 Towing charge to dealership- $65.00 Taxes- $41.10