BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that River City Brakes meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for River City Brakes include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on River City Brakes
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 11, 2008 Business started: 02/27/2008 Business started locally: 02/27/2008
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Mike Di Salvo, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Di Salvo, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

This company offers full auto repair services.


Additional Locations

  • 7808 Fair Oaks Blvd # B

    Carmichael, CA 95608 (916) 944-1193

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Changed my front brake pads without suggesting or offering to change or resurface my rotors. brakes are very squeaky. brought truck in with a coupon purchased off of groupon at a cost of 49.00, paid an additional 140.84 by credit card for brake service. after new brakes were put on there was a loud squeaking every time I stopped. I thought this could be simply because the pads where new so I gave it a couple of months but the noise only got worse. I called the shop and spoke to the manager **** who said its squeaking because they didn't change or resurface my rotors. I asked them why no body told me I needed to do my rotors and he said that I was given all of my options as required by law. that is not true. he said I could bring it back in for another 160 dollars and they would do my rotors. I took the vehicle to ************* who informed me that now I will have to get new pads again along with my rotors because the other pads are glazed to my bad rotors. cost to ************* was another 340.00.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the 189.84 wasted on this brake job. I know nothing about brakes and should have been informed about my rotors.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* PRESIDENT Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@comcast.net AT RIVER CITY BRAKES WE DO NOT RESURFACE ROTORS WE HAVE HAD THIS POLICY SINCE DAY ONE JUNE 1 2008. WE ALSO SUGGEST ON EVERY JOB THAT ROTORS ARE REPLACED IN ORDER TO CUT DOWN ON COMEBACKS SUCH AS SQUEAKING, RUBBING, GRINDING & OR PULSATION. ALSO ON THE ORIGINAL INVOICE SIGNED BY **** IT IS STATED UNDER THE ORIGINAL BRAKE INSPECTION.. "FRONT ROTORS ARE GLAZED, MAY STILL HAVE A NOISE WITH JUST REPLACING THE PADS. REAR SHOES ARE LOW. DRUMS ARE ALSO GLAZED. PERHAPS **** HAS HAD A BAD WEEK OR A ROUGH DAY OR YEAR AND OR IS LOOKING FOR A HAND OUT. THANK YOU *******

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Until this experience I had no knowledge of brakes. River City brakes did not explain or point out that after my new brakes pads and shoes were installed my truck would sound worse than before I came in. It makes sense that if they would have explained that to me I wouldn't have had them do the work. The tone of the last sentence in the response above from river city brakes seems as if the manager is Mocking me. Perhaps ******* is having a tough time managing the shop and explaining these things thoroughly to his customers or perhaps he just doesn't care.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After they replaced my brakes, my care is now leaking coolant, loud metal snapping sound coming from brakes, and burning smell. Worst service ever...EVER! I went into River City Brakes to get my front and rear brake pads replaced. They performed a free inspection not at my request and said they found the radiator to be leaking and needs to be replaced. They printed an estimate and I told them I will think about it. On the drive back home, now there is a loud clicking/snapping sound when I slow down to a stop and a burning smell coming from the driver rear tire. When I called I spoke to ****** who is supposedly the owner and he acted as if this was impossible and said that we need to drive the 35 miles back to have them take a look. I understand that things can go wrong and said I will test drive it for the weekend and see how it goes. I left the car in our garage overnight. Today there is a huge puddle of anti-freeze and I took a video of the anti-freeze dripping in three spots at a rapid pace from the bottom of the car. Funny how this never happened before River City Brakes did their free insepection. When I called, ****** answered again and when I told him what was going on he responded with a "What does changing the brakes have to do with coolant". When I asked him "Doesn't your inspection involve the radiator and checking the coolant he said "no". Interesting because why would they tell me that my radiator was leaking and needs to be replaced if it wasn't part of the inspection. When I asked him then he looked up the work order and saw that. He then proceeds to tell me that they told us it was leaking, but like I said, it never leaked before today let alone a huge puddle and it dripping from the bottom. He refused to acknowlede my concerns. When I asked him for his business license number, he responds by saying "Do you hear yourself. Do you hear how your talking". This is the owner of the business. Really. Now he tells me to drive it back with no coolant, a clicking break, and a burning smell.

Desired Settlement: I want them to fix whatever clicking sound is coming from the car when i brake, fix the burning smell coming from the wheels, and fix or replace my radiator because there was no leaking or problems with it before they touched it with their "Free Inspection". If a tow is required then they need to pay for that as well.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Sorry to hear of this complaint. We actually took care of it along time ago I met with the owner of the vehicles boyfriend and explained and showed him everything on the car that was wrong and he understood. I believe the customer was just maybe having a bad week or was in a bad place in her life at that time. Or was perhaps looking for a hand out. We have serviced tens of thousands of customers and will keep doing so with the integrity and respect we always have. I have the same crew that I had 5 years ago when I opened and they are all great, smart and respectful employees that would never want to take advantage of someone. We are here to fix the cars not break them. Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased $89 Living Social coupon for front/rear brakes and pads. They refused to complete the service w/o additional $450 estimate service repair my husband took car in 8/20 to have brakes done on my 1997 Toyota Camry. Car was looked at and then demanded $450 from my husband up front prior to working on brakes. My husband did not have the money and refused the service. River City did an oil change. Husband paid for filter. Brakes were not worked on. Living Social says they will not give me a refund of $89 and River City says they require $450 before they will do any brake work. Now I am out of $89. I demand a refund from someone.

Desired Settlement: I demand an $89 refund from River City Brakes or Living Social. Nothing was done to the car except an oil change. Why should I be out of $89. Living Social says refunds are given only if the company went out of business. This does not make sense.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Customer states: I was awarded %50 refund of my money. I am cancelling this complaint. Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1