Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

River City Brakes

Phone: (916) 944-1193 Fax: (916) 944-1521 7808 Fair Oaks Blvd # B, Carmichael, CA 95608 http://www.rivercitybrakes.net View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for River City Brakes include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on River City Brakes
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 11, 2008 Business started: 02/27/2008 Business started locally: 02/27/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 254910.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Mike Di Salvo, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Di Salvo, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

This company offers full auto repair services.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7808 Fair Oaks Blvd # B

    Carmichael, CA 95608 (916) 944-1193

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Changed my front brake pads without suggesting or offering to change or resurface my rotors. brakes are very squeaky. brought truck in with a coupon purchased off of groupon at a cost of 49.00, paid an additional 140.84 by credit card for brake service. after new brakes were put on there was a loud squeaking every time I stopped. I thought this could be simply because the pads where new so I gave it a couple of months but the noise only got worse. I called the shop and spoke to the manager **** who said its squeaking because they didn't change or resurface my rotors. I asked them why no body told me I needed to do my rotors and he said that I was given all of my options as required by law. that is not true. he said I could bring it back in for another 160 dollars and they would do my rotors. I took the vehicle to ************* who informed me that now I will have to get new pads again along with my rotors because the other pads are glazed to my bad rotors. cost to ************* was another 340.00.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the 189.84 wasted on this brake job. I know nothing about brakes and should have been informed about my rotors.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* PRESIDENT Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@comcast.net AT RIVER CITY BRAKES WE DO NOT RESURFACE ROTORS WE HAVE HAD THIS POLICY SINCE DAY ONE JUNE 1 2008. WE ALSO SUGGEST ON EVERY JOB THAT ROTORS ARE REPLACED IN ORDER TO CUT DOWN ON COMEBACKS SUCH AS SQUEAKING, RUBBING, GRINDING & OR PULSATION. ALSO ON THE ORIGINAL INVOICE SIGNED BY **** IT IS STATED UNDER THE ORIGINAL BRAKE INSPECTION.. "FRONT ROTORS ARE GLAZED, MAY STILL HAVE A NOISE WITH JUST REPLACING THE PADS. REAR SHOES ARE LOW. DRUMS ARE ALSO GLAZED. PERHAPS **** HAS HAD A BAD WEEK OR A ROUGH DAY OR YEAR AND OR IS LOOKING FOR A HAND OUT. THANK YOU *******

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Until this experience I had no knowledge of brakes. River City brakes did not explain or point out that after my new brakes pads and shoes were installed my truck would sound worse than before I came in. It makes sense that if they would have explained that to me I wouldn't have had them do the work. The tone of the last sentence in the response above from river city brakes seems as if the manager is Mocking me. Perhaps ******* is having a tough time managing the shop and explaining these things thoroughly to his customers or perhaps he just doesn't care.

5/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After they replaced my brakes, my care is now leaking coolant, loud metal snapping sound coming from brakes, and burning smell. Worst service ever...EVER! I went into River City Brakes to get my front and rear brake pads replaced. They performed a free inspection not at my request and said they found the radiator to be leaking and needs to be replaced. They printed an estimate and I told them I will think about it. On the drive back home, now there is a loud clicking/snapping sound when I slow down to a stop and a burning smell coming from the driver rear tire. When I called I spoke to ****** who is supposedly the owner and he acted as if this was impossible and said that we need to drive the 35 miles back to have them take a look. I understand that things can go wrong and said I will test drive it for the weekend and see how it goes. I left the car in our garage overnight. Today there is a huge puddle of anti-freeze and I took a video of the anti-freeze dripping in three spots at a rapid pace from the bottom of the car. Funny how this never happened before River City Brakes did their free insepection. When I called, ****** answered again and when I told him what was going on he responded with a "What does changing the brakes have to do with coolant". When I asked him "Doesn't your inspection involve the radiator and checking the coolant he said "no". Interesting because why would they tell me that my radiator was leaking and needs to be replaced if it wasn't part of the inspection. When I asked him then he looked up the work order and saw that. He then proceeds to tell me that they told us it was leaking, but like I said, it never leaked before today let alone a huge puddle and it dripping from the bottom. He refused to acknowlede my concerns. When I asked him for his business license number, he responds by saying "Do you hear yourself. Do you hear how your talking". This is the owner of the business. Really. Now he tells me to drive it back with no coolant, a clicking break, and a burning smell.

Desired Settlement: I want them to fix whatever clicking sound is coming from the car when i brake, fix the burning smell coming from the wheels, and fix or replace my radiator because there was no leaking or problems with it before they touched it with their "Free Inspection". If a tow is required then they need to pay for that as well.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Sorry to hear of this complaint. We actually took care of it along time ago I met with the owner of the vehicles boyfriend and explained and showed him everything on the car that was wrong and he understood. I believe the customer was just maybe having a bad week or was in a bad place in her life at that time. Or was perhaps looking for a hand out. We have serviced tens of thousands of customers and will keep doing so with the integrity and respect we always have. I have the same crew that I had 5 years ago when I opened and they are all great, smart and respectful employees that would never want to take advantage of someone. We are here to fix the cars not break them. Thank you.

9/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased $89 Living Social coupon for front/rear brakes and pads. They refused to complete the service w/o additional $450 estimate service repair my husband took car in 8/20 to have brakes done on my 1997 Toyota Camry. Car was looked at and then demanded $450 from my husband up front prior to working on brakes. My husband did not have the money and refused the service. River City did an oil change. Husband paid for filter. Brakes were not worked on. Living Social says they will not give me a refund of $89 and River City says they require $450 before they will do any brake work. Now I am out of $89. I demand a refund from someone.

Desired Settlement: I demand an $89 refund from River City Brakes or Living Social. Nothing was done to the car except an oil change. Why should I be out of $89. Living Social says refunds are given only if the company went out of business. This does not make sense.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Customer states: I was awarded %50 refund of my money. I am cancelling this complaint. Thank you.