BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

Prestige Auto Works

Phone: (916) 422-5522 5681 Franklin Blvd Ste C, Sacramento, CA 95824 http://www.sacprestigeautoworks.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Welcome to Prestige Auto Works of Sacramento. We are a full service, automotive repair and maintenance shop serving the Sacramento area with decades of consistent and friendly service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Prestige Auto Works meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Prestige Auto Works include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Prestige Auto Works
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 07, 2009 Business started: 04/01/2009 in CA Business started locally: 04/01/2009 Business incorporated: 01/01/2014 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Andre Kamel, Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Andre Kamel, Manager
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign

Method(s) of Payment
Major credit cards, Debit and Cash
Refund and Exchange Policy
12,000 mile or one year warranty on parts and labor.
Service Area
Sacramento County
Products & Services

ASE master technician, BMW and Volvo Certified, SMOG test and repair certified. ACDelco.


Additional Locations

  • 5681 Franklin Blvd Ste C

    Sacramento, CA 95824 (916) 422-5522

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 9th of the year 2013, I ******** ******* ****** ** went to Prestige Auto Works located in Sacramento, California. I was experiencing a problem with my 2002 Mercedes-Benz C240, where the car had entered a safe mode and would not accelerate above 15-25 miles per hours. All of the lights on the dash were on including abs brake light, srs, check engine, and esp. Once I arrived at Prestige Auto Works I spoke with *****, who had assured me that he was able to diagnose the problem and fix the problem. After checking in, ***** diagnosed my car for $94.00 dollars and concluded that I had an issue with the transmission module, and he quoted me a price of $1036.38. This $1036.38 was to replace the Shift Control Module. ***** also promised he would have the car done in a day or two. ***** also stated, I have replaced the transmission to my own S-500 two times. Based on trusting the A given to this business by the BBB, and trusting ***** as a professional with experience, me and my father decided to go through with getting the repair done. The next day ***** called and told me that was my car was ready. When I showed up to retrieve the car, it was showing exactly the same symptoms that it had been before. The car was still malfunctioning and still could not accelerate above 15-25 miles per hour. I questioned if ***** had done anything to the car, and how he didnt have the decency or piece of mind to check and see what the car was doing or know that the car was not ready to be picked up. At this point my level of skepticism of *****s ability to diagnose my vehicle and how to fix my vehicle was beginning to raise, but since I already have money invested in it, and I need it to be fixed I proceeded with allowing ***** to fix the car, although I lost about 3 hours in this ordeal, in which I still did not receive the services I paid for which were a diagnosis and fix of the problem. After about a week of not knowing anything about the status of my car, and unfriendly customer service when checking on my car, ***** proposed that the car needed a new DME Control Unit, which cost an additional $1600 dollars. After waiting for ***** to receive the part because he or someone in his shop ordered the wrong part two consecutive times, I finally received my car on December 21st of 2013. I was extremely irate about the lack of customer service, the lack of actual quote on quote diagnosis, and the time that it took to receive my car back.Two thousand miles later my car needed to return back to the shop for very similar circumstances. The abs, srs, check engine, and all other lights on the dash were lit up very similarly to how things happened in December. The only difference was that now it was March 3rd. Due to the fact that the previous work done on the car was under warranty with Prestige Auto Works and the symptoms were the same we brought the car back to Prestige Auto rather than take it to a different mechanic. I had to have the car dropped off because when the car malfunctioned I was on my way to work and I did not get a quote for how much it would cost to fix. When I called ***** day after day to determine what was wrong with it for the first week ***** kept saying that he didnt know. After a week of calling the repair shop and the secretary saying that he was not in for days at a time, and not retuning my phone calls, ***** called and said the car needed a $600 dollar passenger seat transmission. After Prestige Auto ordered the wrong part for my vehicle twice, ***** discovered that the passenger seat transmission was in fact not malfunctioning and that the problem was coming from a different part of the car. After two more weeks of ***** not knowing what was wrong with the car, not returning my phone calls, and not keeping me informed, ***** called and said that the transmission motherboard was malfunctioning and that the entire transmission had to be replaced. The transmission that ***** wanted to put into the Mercedes cost $2129.18. We respectfully declined to have ***** put in the part due to his multiple times failing on the diagnosis of the car. ***** had the car over 6 weeks and made over 2-3 formalized diagnosiss of the car and they all turned out to be wrong and cost double to four times the original price that ***** quoted me. Even if the parts are hard to find, or the diagnosiss were wrong, ***** could have communicated that to me, but instead he hid, and avoided me. ***** did not hold up his end of the deal which was to diagnose the car, figure out a plan to fix it and fix it. Whereas ***** guessed what was wrong with it, made an assumption about which part the car, and hoped he made the right choice, rather than knowing.

Desired Settlement: I seek to either get the repair done for free based on the lack of service, lack of diagnosis, and lack of completion of the task. I seek to get full compensation for costs and fees of accommodations that had to be made to continue working and handling daily tasks due to my car sitting at Prestige Auto Works based on false diagnosis. The new part cost $2129.28, and the compensation for other costs would total If compensation for that is not met I would like to receive compensation for the cost of the transmission part that was put in under the diagnosis of ***** the first-time which was a cost of $2600.

Business Response: PRIOR ELECTRICAL COMMUNICATION FAULTS WERE CORRECTED BY REPLACING CONTROL MODULES AND CAR DROVE NORMAL. COMMUNICATION TO MODULES IS STILL GOOD AT THIS TIME. PREVIOUS REPAIR IS NOT RELATED TO CURRENT TRANSMISSION FAILURE. AT THIS TIME THE VEHICLE HAS A HARD FAULT IN THE TRANSMISSION, ATF DARK AND BURNT SMELLING INDICATING THE CLUTCHES MAY BE BURNT INTERNALLY. WE HAVE COMPLETED THE DIAGNOSTICS AND RECOMMENDED THE REPLACEMENT OF THE TRANSMISSION. CUSTOMER CAME BY AND PICKED UP ESTIMATE FOR REPAIR. CUSTOMER HAS NOT RETURNED OUR PHONE CALLS OR COMMUNICATED WHETHER OR NOT HE WOULD LIKE TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. WE HAVE KEPT HIS CAR GARAGED FOR HIM SINCE IT'S ARRIVAL, WAITING FOR A DECISION. THE CUSTOMER HAS ABONDONED THE VEHICLE AND EITHER NEEDS TO REPAIR OR REMOVE VEHICLE.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had our vehicle repaired based on ******'s (Owner) recommendations. However, the problem still exist. We placed our 2001 Chevy Tahoe SUV in the shop 5/2012 due to a noise in the rear when you go from braking to accelerating. ****** told us it was the transfer case and we paid him over $2000.00 to repair it. The noise can still be heard as of 7/2012. This car is a secondary car for us and isn't driven very often. We took the car back in to the shop in 2/2013 and was told to leave it, which wasn't a problem. ****** called my husband within a 3 days and said it was another problem going on with the car, possibly the rear end was going out. My husband (******* ******) explained to ****** we paid him based on his recommendations for the same exact problem. ******* my husband went on to ask why did he (******) diagnose the car with one problem if there was another issued going on. By Thursday of that week we get the car and it still has the noise. We were told the owner had to go out of town and to call him when he was back after the weekend. I called the shop and the owner was out. He never returned my call. I most recently called the shop again to follow up on 4/22/2013 and as of today I still have not heard any word back. We paid for the repair in cash. We do have receipts.

Desired Settlement: We would like a refund. We still need to fix the problem on the truck. We are not very trusting of this shop and do not feel comfortable letting them repair my vehicle in the future. I thought we had a fair shake, but we are feeling like we were taken advantage of. We do understand mistakes happen but ownership of the mistake should be taken with a wholehearted effort to make things right. We are not sure if this is possible with Prestige Auto Works.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
On 4/22/13 Customer called and left a message because they wanted to talk to ****** before bringing in their vehicle. ****** was out of the office that day and I did leave a message for him, but he had not had a chance to return their call (before receiving this complaint). Due to meetings and classes the week of April 22-26, ****** was not in the office much at all. Customer last visited the shop on 2/11/13 and it was recommended at that time to drive the vehicle about a week and return. Customer has not returned. Also, From what we recall their current problem is not related to the repairs previously performed on their vehicle. There will be no refund. They can bring their vehicle for inspection and recommendations if they choose, at their convenience.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As I stated before I took my car to this shop for the same exact problem I initially had taken it in for . The paperwork states the same problem upon my return visit. So why would it be something different when Prestige diagnosed my car when I first took it in. This is a scandal times 10. I am not going to accept a new diagnosis and I am not going to pay them not one more dime. I am taking all my paperwork and my car to another shop and I will pursue legal actions once its deemed I have been scammed.

Business' Final Response
They are more than welcome to make an appointment to drop off their vehicle for inspection and ****** will still warranty the repair or make a new recommendations if necessary. The multiple times that the customer has attempted to contact us, they randomly called or stopped in when ****** was not available. The customer has not actually scheduled a time when it's convenient for both of us to service the vehicle. There is no refund on this repair.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car was dropped off 4/21/12 for transaxle mount repair, get AC working and get seat motor working. None done and car is now worse then when left. I dropped my car off to this shop as of 4/21/12 for the second time because, after my first visit, the manager, ******, said I needed to get a transmission mount put on and he could fix my AC to get it working again. I then asked to have him repair my seat motor as well and he said he could and would. It has now been close to 4 months since I have had my car towed into this shop and they have attached A motor mount, done no repairs to the AC, could not fix the seat (as specified that they could prior to the tow into the shop) and when i was asked to come look at my car to check on the "repairs" 3 months after I had dropped it off, there was a horrendous noise coming from the engine that was never there before and no concern to the manager, ******, when it was there a few weeks prior to this visit. The manager is now telling me he will do no more repairs and that the car would have had the same problem when it was at my house or his shop. I did not take my car to shop to have it come out worse then it when it and to then be told, by the manager, to take my car home and drive it around for bit and if the sound doesn't go away or 'I BREAKS DOWN" they will tow it back to their shop. That is in no way a good/proper way to service a vehicle or a paying customer.

Desired Settlement: I would like the engine fixed of the noises that have now developed from this shop and if they do not want to do it them self, then they pay for the repairs from another shop. Having a car in the shop for almost 4 months to attach 1 motor mount and have my car far worse then when it came into the shop is uncalled for and unprofessional and I will not be held liable for their poor ability and lack of car for my car, in which I was paying for. I also do not want to pay for the amount of labor not done and a refund for the part I paid for that was never attached.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The manager refunded my money and didn't charge for extra anything.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: charged for damage to car i beleive was shops fault In Feb 2012 took car in to get oil changed, when informed that the shop could not get the oil plig out. shop wanted to charge over 400 dollars to replace the oil plan. no other shop has worked on, or changed the oil for the last 2-3 oil changes. not once was there any inidcation on any paperwork or technicans that there was a problem with the oil pan, or oil plug. the shop manager offered to to the work for 1/2 the cost, around 210. I argued that , upon further research , the oil plug is not normal to strpping or wear and tear, which was the explnation the shop gave my wife when she inquired as to what the problem was. I am requesting a full refund of money paid to get the car back to working order, and i have the affected part avaiuble for inspection. I did call the BAR regrding this issue, and their conclusing agreed with me. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a full refund of money paid to get the car back to working order, and i have the affected part avaiuble for inspection. I did call the BAR regrding this issue, and their conclusing agreed with me. Thank you.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response Please Note: this is in reference to customer recorded as: Ms. ******* ****** for a 2007 Mitsubishi Galant. (complaint filed by W.B. ****** 7/17/2012). Her history records indicate the last oil change performed prior to the oil plug issue was on 09/24/2011. No recommendations indicated at time of service. This is five (5) months and 9,000 miles prior to returing because of an oil leak, when we found the drain plug and pan stripped and damaged. According to the manufacture recommendations the oil should be changed at every 3,750 miles. We can only assume the vehicle had been service elsewhere in the meantime. Despite the claims by the customer saying it was only serviced at Prestige Auto Works. The repair for the damage would typically cost around $444 at our labor rate of $85/hr. We settled on 03/05/2012 with the customer on the authorized repair for the oil pan, plug, oil and filter totallying only $212.55. It is unclear the intensions of Mr. W.B. ****** now trying to RE-settle this issue on behalf of or seperate from Ms. ******* ******, 4 months later. We have already settled.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service