Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Midas Auto Service

Phone: (916) 446-7808 431 16th St, Sacramento, CA 95814 http://www.midassacramento.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Midas Auto Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Midas Auto Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 21, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1958 Business started locally: 01/01/1958 Business incorporated 11/14/1958 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 22891.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Tannenbaum, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Tannenbaum, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Tire Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Midas Sacramento
Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/18/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 06/15/15 I went to Midas on 16th St. Sac, CA/ I initially went in to have the muffler re-welded. After they inspected the car: the man I was working with went in and made some phone calls. He then advised me that the muffler could not be repaired because it had been re-welded before and didn't hold. (True) however the previous weld lasted 2 years. He said that Nissan didn't sell the bracket I needed individually AND I would have to purchase a NEW Nissan muffler for approx. $900. I asked if I had to have a "Nissan muffler" to which he said Yes, I said I cant get an aftermarket part, he said I could but it would be louder (sporty) and cost more. He then offered to get a used part, which I accepted: based on the information provided. On 06/16/15 I called 2 Nissan dealerships and specifically asked questions related to the muffler and the parts and brackets. BOTH times I was advised that YES the brackets could be sold individually from the muffler. Not only could they sell the brackets I needed for ($12-15 each) A NEW muffler was approx. $350.00 not $900. While the employees were very polite and friendly, it does not negate the fact that I was deliberately given false information. Had I had the correct information at the time, I could have chosen to go elsewhere to see if another place could repair it for less. Had I been able to have the bracket replaced or repaired it would not have cost anywhere near the $379.99 I spent at Midas on muffler expenses. And where did my used muffler go? Is it going to be repaired and resold to the next person? I didn't authorize for the used parts to be discarded, but my paperwork says I did: that wasn't a discussion I had with anyone at Midas.

Desired Settlement: At this time I would like to request a partial refund of my "muffler related expenses".(option1) I would like a refund for the cost of the muffler. I will pay for the labor expenses $100.00.(option 2) refund of half of all muffler related expenses $379.99/2 (approx. $190.00)

Business Response: Muffler was hanging from car when came to Midas and had scapes from dragging on ground or speed bumps. The broken mount/hanger had been welded before and broke off again. the other repair shop had welded the bracket on the muffler and it could not be removed without damaging the mufffler more. the customer was given an option to buy a used muffler with an existing hanger on it. The customer agreed to the repairs, the work was done.
I have explained the repair again to the customer and I have another call into her to discuss a resolution with her. I am sorry for any communication issues and hope to keep her as a Midas customer.

I will let BBB know once we have settled this complaint.

Thanks, **** **********

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I was able to speak with the owner/**** this morning 06/18/15 and he has agreed to mail a check for half of the cost of the used muffler ($149.00). While it is less than I would like under the circumstances I accepted it, so this issue can be closed. I would like suggest that Midas take extra steps to make sure they explain in detail and honestly the circumstances surrounding their recommended repairs. Especially to those that have little to no auto experience. Their customers (including myself) are very trusting and expect to be told all the information so that we can decide and make informed decisions. Poor communication or miscommunication are never good enough reasons when the information being told to the client is "exact", repeated, and restated and confirmed. Thank you and I hope to give this business another chance to service my vehicle. They were a very nice group of guys.

7/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 27, 2014, I brought my Honda Odyssey to Midas on 16th Street in Sacramento. My car didnt pass smog but only by a few points and the engine wasn't running as smoothly as usual.. I asked **** ** (the manager) to make the necessary repairs in order for the car to pass smog. I mentioned I had a small budget , that I wasn't sure if I was going to sell the car or not.I JUST NEEDED a Repair to SMOG THE CAR .I dropped off the car , The manager said he would run a diagnostic test and call me to discuss the diagnosis. Later on he called back and said he had to perform a tune up and it'd cost over $ 700.00, and assured me the car would PASS the smog test. Since I only had a $350 budget, he said he'd help me out and put the balance on a payment plan. . I told him my girlfriend would pick up the car since id be at work and , id be responsible for the bill. When she picked up the car the manager made her sign a hand written agreement that she'd pay 110$ per month for the balance of the bill or she could not pick up the car.. She felt coerced and uneasy. We have a joint checking account. But still it wasnt what I asked for.On May 30 th, I brought the car to be smogged and it failed miserably, black smoke came out the tailpipe and this time failed by 30 points). My girlfriend brought the car back to Midas, and told the manager the car didn't smog and was running badly. HE asked her to leave it and he will call after he looked at it. After a few hours he calls and says we need a catalytic converter for over $500 , which he'd gladly finance. OK, now the bill is over 1200$. She asked him if he had run another diagnostic test and how did he come to this conclusion. The first diagnostic test showed nothing of a problem with the catalytic converter.He didn't run another test and was just judging by the results on the smog report. They offered no other option and said the car is running great! She left immediately, knowing something was very wrong. The hood was left unlatched by the mechanic, unlatched by the mechanic, unnoticed till she started to drive. She felt like she was treated quite badly by manager and staff. The next few days, I drove the car and it was running poorly, fumes from the engine coming into the car and black smoke coming out of the tailpipe. The engine is running unevenly, stalling out at stop lights. The car has never ran this badly. This car is maintained regulary. I'll have t have it towed to the next mechanic.Then,I dug out my service records, keep in mind I used the same mechanic for repairs since ive owned the car in 2006. He is a HONDA specialist. here are the discrepancies.... The same MAJOR service was performed only 12,000 miles before (evidence c) at half the price by my HONDA CERTIFIED mechanic. Evidence CThe distributor wires were not the original as the bill states(evidence d ) The wires were replaced at 88,000 miles at the Honda dealership in Berkeley. The manager and mechanic swore up and down that the wires were 164, 000 miles old and terribly worn. ( Note how much IM overcharged for parts, charged double for everything.. ie $10 a spark plug.)All the work they did was unnecessary and did not fix the problem i asked to be fixed in the first place. Evidence D**** said a gasket leak caused the need for this untimely major service but i didnt see any oil on the ground in my parking space. ????????I DID NOT ASK FOR A FUEL INJECTION TREATMENT.BUT....... I was charged for one. AND charged $30 labor for pouring a can of 29.95 fuel injection treatment into my gas tank. ????????? A total of 59.95 plus tax.Now after reading all the terrible reviews on Yelp (evidence ) I fear my car is really messed up now. I feel like a fool that i trusted them.But I was use to dealing with my honest mechanic in Berkeley.Unfortunutely the car is parked since it failed smog and isnt running well at all and now i will have to tow it to another mechanic.I have been grossly overcharged. Smog test failed again after i paid for another 54.95.In addition, after researching what the symptoms are of a failed catalytic converter, my check engine light is not on and the exhaust has NO odor. I feel cheated.I intend on taking Midas to court. I filed with the Better Business bureau. I refuse to pay this Cheat anything.Read the Yelp reviews and see I'm not the only one ripped off by these guys by the exact method. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Desired Settlement: Im not paying anything and if my car has been compromised Im suing for damages.

Business Response: called customer on 6-5-14, customer does not want to talk to Midas or bring car in to have rechecked.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
**** * called and spoke to my girlfriend. I called back the next day, he did not return my call, the person who answered the phone said he was away for the weekend and was texting him to let him know i called . I do not want them to touch my car, since they messed it up and did not close the hood allowing my girlfriend to drive away with the hood open. I am waiting for the funds i used to free up with my credit card company so i can take the car to another mechanic.  This has been an absolute nightmare. My car still sits there not running very well and unsmogged.

Business Response: ******* , please feel free to call me at ###-###-####. Your girlfriend told me you did not want to talk with me and said you were going to sue me. I would like to talk with you and have you take your car to another shop to be diagnosis, once they tell you what the repairs are needed for your car, please call me first to discuss before doing anymore repairs. Thanks, ****

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
First off, I told **** that this transaction is my responsibility not my girlfriends. That she'd pick up the car since I work alot and Im not available.
 When she brought the car back after trying to smog it the second time, you sent her away for 2 hours and then called her telling her we need a catalytic converter for an additional $500 that you'd be happy to finance. You stated you did not run a diagnostic and you came to the conclusion that the car needed a catalytic converter as per the smog report.
Why didnt you see that when you ran the first diagnostic?   All the was done was a replacement of parts , just replaced 12, 000 miles ago. After a $700 tuneup the car should run like a top.
IN FACT, I called you back the following day, spoke to *****, he said he would text you and let you know I called.
What kind of run around is this ****?
I am use to my car running well after a major service, not failing smog another 30 points for the worse.
I am very busy and when i have the time to bring the car to my honda mechanic in Berkeley, he will know exactly what the problem is, and what was actually replaced or just cleaned..
I have NO trust in your JUDGEMENT. I have no more $$$ to be tied up in this repair, until this is cleared up.
Thank You,

4/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought vehicle in to have spark plugs and coils replaced. Truck sputters intermittently. They told me a sensor was bad and causing problem. WRONG I brought vehicle in to have spark plugs and coils replaced. The same problem was occurring last summer due to cylinder 6 misfiring intermittently due to worn out coil. I told them the truck is sputtering again, but more frequently. The check engine light came on for a week then went off. It came back on that week again. The manager ****** said OK, we will check it out and pull the codes. When i told him about this problem that has been typical for these engines, with the coils going bad one at a time, ****** just said OK. When I received a call from ****** a few hours later, he said the code was for a "bad knock sensor". He explained what it was, where it was located and what it did and how its because of what older cars would do when it got bad gas, and the engine would knock. ****** said it would be about $1050 to fix if nothing else was wrong when they get the intake manifold off, but he wouldn't be sure until they get into the repair and "get into it" I was hesitant to have them replaced, but ****** was confident that this is what was causing my problem. I decided to go with it because I trusted them, I am not a mechanic and I have been having both of my vehicles serviced there for awhile. When I picked it up "repaired" it was sputtering again when I was entering the Capital City Freeway. I stopped at the next off-ramp and called them but there was no answer, due to closing at 5pm. I called the next day and ****** told me to bring it back in, which I did the next business day. I took an employee on a ride with me for 10-15 minutes to show him what is does. When we returned, he told ****** that it "misfires a bit for a second" and then ****** said to leave it with him and we will "see what we can do." The following afternoon, ****** called me and said they "didn't find a code", and they did a diagnostic but they "can't find anything wrong with it." I picked it up that day. The following week while driving from ********** to ******, ** it was sputtering frequently. While at the ****** Brake and Front End shop, on April 11,2013 that is in ******, the desk guy Kenneth checked my truck out, and came back within 5 minutes and said there was a stored code saying cylinder 7 misfired. This is the same as what I told them as the previous summer, cylinder 6 was doing the same thing.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of the amount that I paid already, which was one third of my repair total.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
****** ****** and I, ****** ******, have been discussing his truck repair complaint issues and are not quite done with the final resolution to his complaint. I hope to have this complaint resolved by the end of this week.