BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Midas Auto Service Experts meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Midas Auto Service Experts include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Midas Auto Service Experts
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 18, 1991 Business started: 09/01/2003 Business started locally: 09/01/2003 Business incorporated: 06/05/1997 in AZ
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tim Washburn, President Mr. Jim Nave, Store Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tim Washburn, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Shocks Brake Service Transmissions - Automobile

Alternate Business Names
Midas, Auto Service Experts
Products & Services

Midas specializes in automotive service, including brake, maintenance, tires, steering, suspension, and exhaust services.


Additional Locations

  • 212 Harding Blvd

    Roseville, CA 95678 (916) 783-8600

  • 50 Montrose Dr

    Folsom, CA 95630 (916) 983-1663

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my suv to Midas in marysville CA in Jan of this year to look at a exhaust leak I thought I had. I was told by *** ******* the service advisor that the best guy was gonna work on my truck. I left and received a call from *** saying I need my rear axel clutch gears and gear wheel bearings and axel replaced that's the noise I herd when I thought it was my exhaust. Also needed other repairs which are fine. It took 7 days for the repairs to be done and almost 3k later it was supposed to be done. I go to pick my truck up and drive off very excited I have my truck back I start driving and what do I hear the same noise as before I felt sick I still hear the same noise as before I brought it in. I go back the next day to pick up my parts that were taking off and replaced and I tell *** it still sounds like **** it still sounds the same as before I brought it in. He says can you bring it in on Tues and will have the same guy "the best guy" working there look at it. I was so irritated that I won't have the truck for how many more days. I take it in and tell me its gonna cost another $1800-$4000 to fix the problem I was appalled that I have to put more $ out to fix the problem that was supposed to be fixed with the 3k I just forked out to get the noise fixed. I just need my truck fixed I don't believe that I should have to pay more $ to fix the problem that was to be fixed the 7 days n 3k later Product_Or_Service: repairs

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like my truck repaired without having to fork out anymore $. I spent 3k to fix the problem then to have it still sound the same as it did before its why I regret taking my suv in but needs to be fixed either by them or please refund me the cost of how much it would cost to get it fixed

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We are interested in helping Ms. ****** with her vehicle problems. She has written that her noise is the same noise as it was before. This is not the case. Four people witnessed the problems with the rear end (Ms. ******, her father, and two Midas persons) and pictures were taken. Ms. ****** has all of the parts that were replaced. This is an all-wheel drive vehicle and metal debris was found in the rear differential (the source of the noise). The rear bearings were pitting (creates noise) and there was over 30/1000 chewing of the shims by the ring and pinion (noise). This repair was made with justification. When she returned, the new noise she identified was in the front of the car in the front differential which she heard herself using a stethoscope with 2 people from Midas and me personally. She came back a few days later where she was charged 1.5 hours for 5 hours of inspection on the front differential where we found the bearings growling and c-clips broken and laying in the front differential. Importantly, there was no more noise in the rear of the vehicle. Recognizing that Ms. ****** had spent a lot of money on the rear end repair, we did not make her pay for an additional 3.5 hours of inspection and are interested in making the repair happen at her lowest expense. It is important for her to recognize that the problems in the rear differential may have caused the problem in her front differential. It is our interest to take care of our customers as best as we can. We did not create the problems on her vehicle. All the work that was performed was necessary and the pictures, witnesses and old parts will justify the repairs. We are sorry that she has additional problems and will try to help, but it will come at an expense. This is an involved repair. Please forward this to her so that she can contact the store and we can try to assemble the best priced repair.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Will never go back to that business and will be letting everyone know about how they rip off people I'm getting a second opinion and getting Midas work on my vehicle checked out due to my new automotive shop saying that the noise isn't coming from the front end axel. My truck now sounds like a pos due to Midas checking out the front end. So glad the bbb takes one side

Business' Final Response
As was stated before, we are interested in helping Ms. ****** with her vehicle problems but we will not accept her accusation that the current noise is the same noise as before. Ms. ******'s vehicle had an exhaust leak in the front of her vehicle and noise from the rear of her vehicle with leaking axle seals. She had multiple noises. Ms. ******'s vehicle has over 180,000 miles on it. Importantly, she spent $1200 on the rear differential repair. The remaining dollars were spent on brake repairs, exhaust manifold gasket repairs, a tire repair and the labor to extract a broken bolt in the exhaust manifold area. She has involved the Bureau of Automotive Repair who was able to look at the used parts taken off her vehicle and was able to immediately determine that the repair was necessary. I understand that it is costly to repair her vehicle. We are responsible for suggesting repairs that we know are necessary. We only do that when we can verify that need. Providing her with 3.5 hours of FREE labor to verify the exact problem for the additional repair was an example of how thorough we are before we suggest a repair. We maintain an excellent rating with the BBB and the Bureau of Automotive Repair. We take care of our customer's and we are doing our best to take care of her. After she hears from the Bureau of Automotive Repair that the repairs were necessary, she will understand she should be trying to work with us to repair the front differential instead of suggesting that the rear differential repair was unnecessary. She should call us to see if there is anything we can do to help get the cost of the repairs lower. We hope to hear from her.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

2/14/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They sold brake and CV replacement jobs that were not needed as verified by 3 other shops who I took the car to at my expense. Please see fax. The brake pads and all parts were completely taken off and fully inspected and the mechanic will testify in court as I was showed, there was no cracking on them...even a year or more after Midas said they needed to be replaced. More information is in the fax.

Desired Settlement: I want my money refunded and my time and hassle for trying to resolve this for over 5 months to be compensated. Plus, the gas and time it took to go to other shops and pay to have the true re evaluated twice, of which I was told NOTHING was wrong and no repairs were recommended. This equals $70.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Ms. ****** visited us on February 25, 2011, 2 years ago. She was never charged for any service while at our store. She has gone to the Bureau of Automotive Repair and registered a complaint. The Bureau representative invited her to our store with her car so that both he and Ms. ****** could witness a brake inspection and evaluate the concerns. She refused to meet with the Bureau representative at our shop to perform this inspection. She has gone to 3 other shops, according to the Bureau of Automotive Repair representative since our inspection, but refuses to do it with the Bureau or us. Importantly, we follow the M.A.P. Standards for brake inspections with some repairs being suggested and some required. Every member of our team has been trained in this evaluation process. As she did not pay anything with us and has been unwilling to allow the Bureau and us to evaluate the car, we do not feel that we owe her any compensation. A customer has the right to get a second opinion at their own expense if they are concerned with the first shop's assessment. Importantly, after two years it would be impossible to suggest that the brake pads on her car are in the same condition they were when we inspected it. We continue to offer our commitment to the Bureau and to her to inspect her car in their presence as we would to any of our customer's. We offer a FREE brake inspection.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am not sure what time this was submitted by ******, but we have talked and are in negotiations and I am awaiting an offer by mail and then I can respond to this reply accurately.

Business' Final Response
After speaking to the Bureau of Automotive Repair today, we were able to verify what was said to you regarding your allegations. It was determined that the brake inspections performed by these other facilities were done incorrectly. The BBB, Bureau of Automotive Repair and I have evaluated the 27 pages of documents you provided and we see incomplete work. It was also clear that you avoided your responsibility to bring the car to our facility with the Bureau of Automotive Repair present in ordered to try to validate your claim on brakes that were evaluated 2 years ago. You state that you avoided this because you did not trust us. You have chosen this position and we have not done anything to incite this distrust. You believe the information you received from the other shops was better than the information you received from us. This is your decision. The process that was put in place by the Bureau of Automotive Repair was to help you and our business. After speaking to the BBB, it is our desire to have you contact me at the store. If you want to resolve with matter without incurring additional costs, I would suggest that you do so. The Bureau of Automotive Repair and the BBB know that we maintain an excellent rating with them because of what we do for our customer's. I think you will find that we are genuinely interested in resolving this matter when you call. I am sorry that you feel as you do.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/3/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tail pipe breaks off at the weld every two years. Have had fixed twice before at Midas. Usually $50.00 or less because of needed hangers. Tail pipe breaks off at the weld every two years. Have had fixed twice before at Midas. Usually $50.00 or less because of needed hangers. Had originally fixed at Midas location on Monument Blvd. Concord, CA twice in four years. The Midas in Concord, CA says that since my truck is a disel engine that the vibration breaks it at the weld. They put a big piece of re-bar welded to tailpipe to hold it on. Broke again a week ago. Took to Folsom Blvd. Shop along with reciepts from previous work done and warranty information. Guy behind counter at Folsum Blvd. shop did not get off his stool, looked at paperwork and said it would be a $200.00 to repair. Did not even look at my car! Said that the repair would NOT be covered under warranty. Again, never even looked at my car! Pretty crummy costomer service. Doesn't even have to see what the problem is before he told me it would be $200.00 or so! Will not take to Midas again for anything. False advertising "Lifetime warranty" and I don't want my car worked on by someone who can quote me a price without even checking as to what the problem is.

Desired Settlement: For Midas to weld my tailpipe back on. Since I don't want them to have any access to my car, I would like for them to NOT be able to advertise that they offer "Lifetime Warranty" on their products and services. Want other people to know that Midas does not honor warranties at other locations and that they pad the bill and estimates. Terrible customer service and lazy employees.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We have received your correspondence regarding ****** ******. Importantly, Midas does not offer a Lifetime Warranty on tailpipes. Tailpipe warranties are 90 days parts and labor. We would be happy to assist Mr. ****** in welding back on his tailpipe if we could. The tailpipe has been damaged as if Mr. ****** backed into something and bent the pipe. The break in the tailpipe is not where the previous weld was by the Midas in Concord, CA. Putting this tailpipe back on the vehicle would restrict the flow of exhaust and cause drivability issues. At the counter, Mr. ****** was told that it may cost $100 to $200 to rebuild a tailpipe for his vehicle and weld it in. Mr. ****** left immediately upon receiving this information at the counter. He was unhappy. We did not draw up an invoice or put the car on the rack to see if this estimate was valid or not. We would be happy to further evaluate Mr. ******'s vehicle if he were to come back to the shop and allow us the opportunity to put it on the rack. As we said, on his first day of service, there will be some cost associated with the repair. We will not know the exact amount until it is evaluated. Please have Mr. ****** call the shop for an appointment XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Was told it would be "At least $200.00" will not be having any more business with Midas. Thanks. LIfetime warranty papers DO NOT specify that tailpipes are excluded. I did not back in to anything to break and it is broken along the weld where it was fixed before.

Business' Final Response
We would be happy to further evaluate Mr. ******'s vehicle if he were to come back to the shop and allow us the opportunity to put it on the rack. As we said, on his first day of service, there will be some cost associated with the repair. We will not know the exact amount until the vehicle is evaluated. Please call the shop at XXX-XXX-XXXX and schedule the appointment.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/20/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1