BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

This Business is not BBB accredited

Meineke of Sacramento

Phone: (916) 395-2277 6955 Stockton Blvd Ste H, Sacramento, CA 95823 http://www.meineke.com/oil-changes/california/sacramento/95823/2279.aspx

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Meineke of Sacramento include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • 1 complaint filed against business that was not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Meineke of Sacramento include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Meineke of Sacramento
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 03, 2012 Business started: 01/09/2012 Business started locally: 01/09/2012 Business incorporated: 01/09/2009 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Aiad Samuel, Owner Mrs. Hoda Samuel, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Aiad Samuel, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

The co-owner of Meineke of Sacramento, Hoda Samuel, is also the broker/owner of Liberty Real Estate & Investment Co of Broderick, CA. In connection with Liberty Real Estate & Investment Co, Samuel has been sentenced to 10 years in prison for a mortgage fraud scheme that caused over $5.5 million dollars in losses. For more information, please see the BBB Business Review for Liberty Real Estate & Investment Co.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Meineke of Sacramento has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6955 Stockton Blvd Ste H

    Sacramento, CA 95823 (916) 395-2277

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To make a long story short I went to this place of business on October 5,2013 for final repairs that needed to be corrected and had paid all.. of the money in full. I had expressed my concern still about the noise that I was hearing stating from my first visit. Nevertheless after going over the problem with the store clerks, and not being happy about the lack of proper direction and wasting over $700.00 I was very upset about the final work that was done. While I was talking the owner of the business was sitting behind a glass window bangning... on it very hard so that the clerk could stop helping me and assist another customer that was in the back side of the shop. The owner never came out to ask how he could help with my needs in no shape form or fashion, just sat there staring at me as to say go away man I got your money now.... I truly believe that I RIPPED OFF WITH OUT A DOUBT!!!! Product_Or_Service: Serpentine Belt Tensioner/ Timing Belt Kit Order_Number: ? Account_Number: Invoice ***** / Esti

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like to be paid back in a check form, I do not denied that there is still another problem that is aiding to the current issues with my car, but... I would not have spend $700 just to give it away that's absurd. Thank you for your ********** ******

Business Response: Initial Business Response
The sent the work order. (2 pages) when we got the care we discovered a couple of problems and the man said ok. The car was still on truck. We told him there was still a problem w/ engine. He sad don't worry and left. he refused to finish the job not use. The proof are the two pages. I never kicked the glass. I was not even here. *We told him about engine after we got into looking at the engine. Called customer to do the motor mount as part of initial complaint. Discovered while replacing timing belt & after pump. Customer declined replacing motor mount. Explained to customer several times about motor mount & being part of noise.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) To Whom it May Concern, according to this response Meineke did not read my request, nor do I believe is taking this matter seriously. Per their answer Company states that they gave the customer a new mirror and she is happy. First of all I am not a Company, secondly which is an (Insult) this letter written to a Female not a Male... the statement say's she, and last but not lease I have not received nor do I want a mirror. My request was a refund, If they where being a honest and upright company they would have taken the time really evaluate my complaint.. and responded with a professional reply. Again I stand by my first answer to Meineke, real businesses support not only their work but strive to satisfied the customer and I am not.... Happy with these email games.

Final Business Response
Company states that they gave the customer a new mirror and she is happy.

Consumer Response
The Bible says in Proverbs 19:9 : A false witness will not go unpunished, and he who breathes out lies will perish... so now Mr. Meineke you can deal with God himself and I will move out of his way and let him handle you for your deceitful ways.

BBB's Final Determination: The business failed to resolve the complaint issues.

11/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dropped off car at 0800 in the morning on Friday 02/22 and wasn't able to pick it up until 2/23. Was told it would be done the same day. Pre-paid Meineke for an O2 Sensor replacement. Brought car in on 2/22 @ 0800. In addition to repairing my O2 sensor a tune-up w/ spark plug replacement, timing belt replacement and coolant drain were to be done. Was told it wold be complete by the end of the day. Called around 5pm on 2/22 to see if car was complete. Was told that I could come up to the shop. Arranged for a ride and made it to the shop around 5:30pm. Once there I was told that my car would be a little while longer. Waited in the waiting room and then was told by ** that my car wouldn't be complete till tomorrow. The reason given by ** was because his mechanic was leaving.

Desired Settlement: Would just like for company to keep word and not inconveince customers. I would settle for the company to implement a policy for untimely services that inconveince the customers. It could be as simple as advising customers that time frame could be off by a couple of hours. The customer should be aware of delayed time before 2hrs of pick up.

Business Response: Business Response
Company owner states that the manager that he hired was not performing customer service to his expectations. He has since taken over the running of the shop and fired the former manager. In the future customers will be given accurate time frames for completion and pick up of their vehicles.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was cursed at, threatened, and refused service that I had pre-paid for. On prior occasion they used incorrect viscosity of oil during an oil change On Wednesday, February 28th, 2013 I entered the Meineke shop on Stockton Blvd in Sacramento, in order to get the oil changed on my 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. I had previously purchased a Groupon that entitled me to 8 oil changes. After a prior oil change (months earlier) I noticed my Jeep's engine making a ticking sound. I took the Jeep to another mechanic who informed me they thought Meineke had used a lesser viscosity oil when they changed my oil in order to save money. When I walked in to Meineke this time, and informed the manager at the front desk that I was a Groupon customer and I wanted and oil change, he said "Oh sh**, another Groupon customer. I hate Groupons, we don't make sh** on them". I was shocked at the language used, as well as wondering why he was telling me this. As the mechanic was walking toward my Jeep so that he could bring it into a bay for an oil change, I reminded him to use the 10w40 oil that the manufacturer recommended as per the listing on the oil filler in on the engine. The mechanic said no, we always use 5w30! I told him he cannot just put in whatever oil he feels like, he needs to follow the manufacturer's recommendation or he risks damaging the engine. He said I can talk to the manager about it. I told the manager I was shocked that they had used before, and intended to use now, oil that was not of the required viscosity for the engine. He told me that if I wanted "special high mileage oil" that I would have to pay extra. I told him that 10w40 oil is not special high mileage oil, it is a standard oil. I also showed him the terms and conditions of the offer I had paid for that stated if I wanted "synthetic oil" I would have to pay extra, but it stated nothing about paying extra for regular oil of the correct viscosity. He said "I don't give a sh**, if you don't pay extra then you're getting 5w30 oil!" I told him sir, don't make me out to be a bad guy, I just want you to put the correct oil in my vehicle as per the manufacturers recommendation, and I have prepaid for you to do this. He said I should just contact Groupon for a refund, and at this point he wouldn't do an oil change on my car even if I offered to pay extra! I told him I would seek a refund, and I would contact the BBB. He told me "You better get out of here and stop pushing my f***ing buttons if you know what's good for you". I left shocked. I have never been treated this way in my entire life. I will also be contacting the Bureau of Automotive Repair, and Meineke's corporate office.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of the purchase price of the car care package, $59. I would also like others to know of this businesses practice of using incorrect oil on oil changes in order to increase the business's profit margin.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** r **** Contact Phone: ********** Contact Email: *********r@aol.com im jr **** mgr /owner we do not offer and we have not offer any special oil on groupon . we have alway used our daily special . which is a basic oil change only .any thing out siude of that .there will be a charge it very simply. and it is on the groupon card just because they show a picture with 10/40 oil / or syn that does not mean we give it to comsumers.we honor all groupon with out address on them we except 4 appoints a day .this customer thinks he yell and scream loud tak us .and use volguare words to us . we said know .we offered the lof he would have to pay the difference. he said no .we are not in the position to give away any and all oils. jr **** mgr.we told customer return to groupon for a refund he thinks we sold coupon jr ****

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Again, I did not ask for special oil, nor did I yell or scream (how ridiculous!). I asked for the oil that the manufacturer recommends for my vehicle. My vehicle manufacturer recommends the same oil Meineke shows in their picture on the service plan they sold me. Meineke refused to honor the service plan.

Business' Final Response
They want us to give the customers what they want as long as it isn't synthetic or unreasonable. There are women in here who were witness to him threatening me with bodily harm. That is when I had him leave. He is wrong and out of line and lying. BAR pulled his file and he received the correct oil on the first oil change. On his return service we didn't provide him with any services because of his language and behavior in front other customers.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

7/12/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Advertising Issues: They advertise as BBB Accredited on their website, however it clearly states on BBB they are not accredited.Customer Service Issues: I called to schedule an appointment for their care care club package I purchased they say they are busy and I paid for this package when I try to pay cash they will accept me. I asked the manager and he said "Because we dont make money off those packages" yet they advertise them to bring in customers and I pay for this package thinking I am getting the same services 8 oil changes at a discounted price, however i really dont get this service. Contract Issues: They refuse to honor their own care care package. Product_Or_Service: Car Care Package to include 8 oil changes

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like the issues above addressed, keeping my contact information confidential as this shop appears to be very shady and I dont want to have those people calling me or threatning me.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response Company states that to take advantage of the groupon price, the customer must make an appointment. This is clearly disclosed in the offer. When the customer called, she was told this. Customer did not accept this answer and began using foul language. The customer wanted to come immediately. However,the company did not have time to service the customer's car immediately. Company offered to squeeze the customer in the same day of the call which was also unacceptable to the customer. Company states that the customer can go back to Groupon to receive a refund.

Consumer's Final Response (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is not true, I do understand that an appointment is needed the issue is: they were very rude, stating they do not make money off these groupon offers, 2) they advertise as a BBB Company on their website which is clearly not the case. I never use foul language, it is not in my vocabulary, and I believe this company is looking for excuses.

Business' Final Response Company states the customer has come into the shop and used the coupon.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.