BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

This Business is not BBB accredited

Meineke Car Care Center

Phone: (209) 879-9018 View Additional Phone Numbers 326 West Grant Line Road, Tracy, CA 95376 http://www.meineke.com/center/2130.aspx

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Meineke Car Care Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Failure to have a required competency license.
  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint filed against business
  • 1 serious complaint filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Meineke Car Care Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 11, 2011 Business started: 02/22/2010 Business started locally: 02/22/2010 Business incorporated: 04/08/2010 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
On BBB confirmed that Meineke Car Care Center had not obtained a necessary license from CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Mario Padilla, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mario Padilla, Manager
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Maintenance Brake Service Tire Repair Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Air Conditioning

Alternate Business Names
The Hungerford Group, LLC
Products & Services

Meineke Car Care Center specializes in auto full auto repair services.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    326 West Grant Line Road

    Tracy, CA 95376

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (209) 879-9030 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: MEINEKE DIDN'T DO A DIAGNOSTIC CHECK BEFORE DOING WORK, THEIR SUPOSED REPAIRS CAUSED MORE DAMAGE TO CAR, CAR STILL NOT FIXED NOT RUNNIN, IN RENT A CAR ON 12/1/12, I CALLED MEINEKE CARE CARE CNTR @ 326 GRANT LINE RD IN TRACY, SPOKW WITH A ******. I EXPLAINED TO HIM THAT MY CAR(2000 HONDA ACCORD, LX-4 CYLINDER) WAS OVER HEATING, WATER WAS LEAKING FROM UNDER CAR, I TOLD HIM THAT IT DIDN'T LOOK LIKE IT WAS COMING FROM RADIATOR(JUST BROUGHT NEW RADIATOR 8/2012), BUT THAT I THINK ITS THE WATER PUMP, I WASN'T SURE. I SAID , I'M TOLD BY HONDA(SERVICE DPT) THAT THE WATER PUMP AND TIMING CHAIN ARE IN THE SAME HOUSING AND THAT IF I GET ONE REPLACED , I SHOULD DO BOTH AT THE SAME TIME. MEINEKE HAS A COUPON IN THE PENNY SAVER FOR FREE TIMING CHAIN (CUSTOMER PAYS FOR LABOR.) IS THIS SOMETHING YOU CAN DO? IF SO, HOW MUCH WOULD YOU CHARGE? ****** SAID,"YES WE CAN DO IT, HE CALCULATED AND SAID FOR $450.00. I SAID DOES THAT INCLUDE NEW SERPENTINE BELTS(FAN & POWER STEERING)? HE SAID THAT'S EXTRA, BUT WE'LL THROW THOSE IN. I SAID OK, HOW LONG WILL TI TAKE? HE SAID ABOUT (4HRS). I SAID OK, I'LL BE THERE IN ABOUT (30-MINUTES) I BROUGHT MY CAR TO HIM. I ASKED HIM IF HE WOULD CHECK TO MAKE SURE WHAT WAS WRONG? HE SAID YES. HE GAVE ME AN ESTIMATE (INVOICE#XXXXXX):TIMIMG BELT-$47.14, BALANCE SHAFT BELT-$35.61, COOLANT-$14.99, SERPENTINE BELT-&28.10 & $23.99, SHOP LABOR-$297.50, WATER PUMP-&74.78=$529.61 ( DISCOUNT = TO = $450.32) I SAID OK, CALL ME WITH YOUR FINDINGS. HE SAID OK.THEY PROVIDED SHUTTLE SERVICE BCK HOME.THAT WAS AROUND 10:30AM-12/1/12. SOME 3-4 HOURS WENT BY AND I NEVER RECEIVED A PHONE CALL. I CALLED FOR STATUS, TALKED WITH ****** HE SAID "WE'RE ALMOST FINISH WITH YOUR CAR. I SAID ALMOST FINISH, WHAT DID YOU FIND? I THOUGHT YOU WE'RE GOING TO CALL ME BACK FIRST WITH YOUR FINDINGS BEFORE YOU STARTED REPAIRS? HE SAID, WELL IT IS YOUR WATER PUMP AND WE REPLACED THAT, A NEW TIMING CHAIN, BOTH YOUR BELTS, AND NEW COOLANT." I SAID YOU SHOULD HAVE CALLED ME FIRST. HE SAID WELL WE'VE ALMOST GOT IT ALL BACK TOGETHER. I SAID, IT SHOULDN'T HAVE BEEN. SO SINCE YOUR ALMOST DONE, AS LONG AS EVERYTHING IS DONE RIGHT OK. ****** SAID WE WILL CALL YOU BACK WHEN WE'RE DONE TO COME AND PICK YOU UP. I TOLD HIM ITS ALREADY 4:00PM, HE SAID IT'LL JUST BE A BIT LONGER. 30 MINUTES LATER, ******(OWNER CALLED) SAID CAR WAS DONE AND PICKED ME UP. GOT TO SHOP, I STILL HAD TO WAIT ANOTHER (1HR) THEY SAID THAT MY VALVE COVER WAS WARPED AND POURING OUT OIL. I SAID MY VALVE COVER NEVER LEAKED. THEY FINALLY SAID THEY WERE DONE. I PAID BILL($450.00-INVOICE#XXXXXX, RECEIPT#XXXXXX.) I LEFT, PICKED UP MY FAMILY AND HEADED ON VASCO RD TOWARDS BRENTWOOD AND THE PLANEL LIGHTS CAME ON AND CAR CUT OFF. MY FAMILY AND I WERE STUCK IN THE MIDDLE OF VASCO RD IN THE PIT DARK AND IT WAS STORMING RAINING FOR ALMOST 2 HRS WAITING FOR A TOW TRUCK. I PULLED TO THE SIDE , OPENED THE HOOD AND SAW BOTH BELTS HAD COME TOTALLY OFF. I HAD TO PAY &80.00 FOR THE TOWING. I CALLED AND LEFT NUMEROUS MESSAGE AT MEINEKE EXPLAING WHAT HAPPENED. I HAD TO MISS WORK ON MONDAY-12/3/12 BECAUSE THAT'S MY ONLY TRANSPORTATION. AT FIRST, MEINEKE SEEMED TO DO WHAT WAS RIGHT. I CALLED EXPLAINED WHAT HAPPENED, THEY SENT TOW TRUCK, TOWED CAR BCK TO THEIR SHOP, WHN THEIR MECHANIC TOOK OFF THE BOTTM PLASTIC GUARD THE WHOLE PULLEY FELL OFF.I SAID, ME AND MY FAMILY COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED OUT THERE. ****** SAID WE'LL FIX. HE CAME BACK AND SAID PARTS WON'T BE IN UNTIL NEXT DAY. I SAID I CAN'T MISS ANYMORE WORK, I NEED TO BE REIMBURST FOR DAY MISSED,RENT-A-CAR. HE WROTE-$100 CHECK FOR RENT-A-CAR. NEXT DAY I PICKED UP CAR, ASK IF FIXED, HE SAID YES ,BUT YOUR RADIATOR HAS A SEEM LEAK. I SAID YOU NEVER SAID THAT, WHY DIDN'T YOU TELL ME WHEN YOU FIRST DID WORK. HE SAID THEY WERE DOING ME A FAVOR TO DO THE PRESSURE CHECK NOW,DIDN'T HAVE TO DO IT ALL. WHEN I STARTED UP CAR TURNED WHEEL, I HEARD A LOUD SCRECHING NOISE WHEN I TURNED WHEEL, AND HEATER NOW IS NOT WORKING. I TLD ******, HE GOT MAD AND SAID NOT FIXING. I DROVE TO GAS STATION AND CAR OVERHEATED AGAIN. ****** WAS GONE. I HAD TO RE-RENT CAR. CALLED NEXT DAY, OWNER REFUSED TO FIX. CAR NOT RUNNING, IN RENT-A-CAR.

Desired Settlement: I WANT THE INTIAL $450.00 REFUNDED , PLUS THE COST OF THE RENT-A-CAR THUS FAR $189.00(WK) SINCE 12/03/12. ALSO, THE DAYS MISSED AT WORK AND TIME I HAD TO TAKE OFF FROM WORK TO GET RENT-A-CAR,ETC. AND THE PAIN AND SUFFERING THIS HAS COSTED ME AND MY FMAILY. MY FAMILY IS LITERALLY SACARED TO GET BACK IN CAR BECAUSE THEY DON'T TRUST THAT THE CAR WON'T BREAK DOWN AGAIN. FUTHERMORE, I DON'T TRUST MEINEKE SHOP TO TOUCH MY CAR AGAIN. THEY HAVE EITHER DELIBERATELY DAMAGEED MY CAR OR, BY THEIR GROSS NELEGENCE HAVE DAMAGED MY CAR. THANK YOU!

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

8/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my car run perfect zi took It to meineke in Tracy Ca to replace the timing belt they meineke causeed more Damage in my car. My car ran perfect I took it to the meineke on 326 west grant line Rd. ca to change the timing belt on my car they cause more Damge in my car each time I go to them they make me to pay more mony for the damage they made in my Car I took my car back to them 2 times to let them know that the car does not run normel and the engine does not sound normel on 07/05/2012 while I was driving my car with my family It stoped in the middle of the road after almost 2 weeks of since they chancged the timing belt they admmit that the job Thay did failed and the timing belt came off after all these funny engine sound but they want me to pay the anther $260.00 with out any waranty they talk to me prtty agrassive way. they sound like wants to picka fight with me . for these reason I call Tracy police deportment to meet me in meineke car Care center to pick up my Car after paying them $127.00 again without any waranty the reason I want the plice offecer to be there while I pick up my car the manager named ****** ****** talk to me very madly and agrassively he dose not seem friendly at all he told me that he dose not want hear from me any more he h.as very poor and scary customer service towerd me

Desired Settlement: Since my car not sound like before not run like before and meineke has no warany over there work and I lost 2.5 work Because of keeping my car in ther shop the secon time from 07/05/2012 to 07/10/2012 I want my full mony back.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Company states The customer was originally in on 6/9/2012, @ XXXXXX mi. The customer came in and requested the work that was performed on 6/9/2012. He was doing the work as part of his scheduled maintenance. The services were not as suggested by us. When the customer picked up the vehicle, the vehicle was running good and there was no check engine light on. That means the timing was set. The customer did indicate the vehicle sounded louder to him. We verified the work we performed was done correctly and there were no misfires and the timing was good. We then explained the vehicle sounds ok to us and we don't know what it sounded like prior. On 7/6/2012, the vehicle was towed in, @XXXXXX mi. The tech check the vehicle out. We found the vehicles timing had jump 4 teeth. The vehicle timing was perfect when the vehicle left on the initial visit. We were unable to find the cause of the timing belt jumping 4 teeth. We suggested the timing belt tensioner. I clearly explained we couldn't verify why the timing jump. The only cause we could think would cause this would be the tensioner. The tensioner has a preset amount of force. The tensioner is a hydraulic piston that has no way to be adjusted. There is only one way to install the tensioner. Since the tensioner was still in the proper position, we think the hydraulic piston possibly was loosing tension under load. After explaining this to the customer, I gave him two options. #1 we can reset the timing at no cost to him. #2 we can change the tensioner as a precaution. I explained he is only being charged fro the tensioner and the time it takes to install it. In other words he is not being charged twice, he is only going to pay the same amount he would have paid if we would have done the tensioner at the time of the original service. The customer elected to do option #2. He also felt the price of our tensioner was two expensive and opted to bring his own part. The customer brought in an aftermarket tensioner. I attempted to call the customer because the tensioner he brought in was not a complete unit. The one I was trying to provide was complete with the balance belt tensioner as well. The customer did not answer his phone. I had the technician install the part the customer provided as per the original agreement. When the customer called me back it was at the end of the day 4 hours after I called him. I explained the tensioner he brought was not the one I personally would have provided. At that point the customer started asking me why I did not see the tensioner was bad originally. I explained it had no physical or mechanical defects we could see. There is no way for us to verify how the pressure or the hydraulic part is working. He then started verbally abusing me and accusing me of negligence. He demanded a full refund. I explained all the work he requested was performed. He was not over charged for any of the services and I was not going to give him a full refund. At that point he continued to raise his voice and continued the verbal abuse. I interrupted him and my exact words were (this conversation is done, your not getting a refund please come and pick your vehicle up thank you). I ended the unproductive call at that point. I enclosed copies of the two invoices for the service that was performed. The customer signed both including the second invoice which has notes explaining the customer had options.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved