Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mazda's Plus

Phone: (209) 571-8664 Fax: (209) 571-1392 1400 N 9th Street Suite #21, Modesto, CA 95350 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.mazdasplus.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mazda's Plus meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mazda's Plus include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Mazda's Plus
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 12, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1994 Business started locally: 01/01/1994
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 240311.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
John Carvalho, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: John Carvalho, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

Mazda's Plus provides automotive repair and service.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mazda's Plus has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1400 N 9th Street Suite #21

    Modesto, CA 95350 (209) 571-8664

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took my car in, had oil change done. Picked up car and after driving a block, realized the car made a horrible sound, immediately brought it back. They checked it and said that they should have put a thicker oil in it. (what??) I believe that they did not put oil in the car. The car was there in Nov. as well. Said that it needed a ECM and Throttle body because they said it was throwing off codes. They looked into more, found the tensioner chain broke. I believe this was wrong with it at first. That the first parts were not necessary. They were just throwing parts on it. Now they are saying that they found a bulletin that could be part of the problem. I believe it was no oil is part of the problem. I have not authorized no more work. Please advise.

Desired Settlement: To put my car in order like it was when I drove in. I believe there is major problems now with the car because of no oil being in the car.

Business Response: ******* **** has been a customer of ours since 2005. We have done many repairs on her hhr and the recent two are being called into question. On November 13th 2013 she brought her vehicle in complaining of no power and hard shifting. The check engine light was on and there were a multitude of codes in the system. When the technician was monitoring engine data, numbers would go positive and then negative and fluctuate profusely. Normally data on a vehicle stays positive and never hits negative integers. The technician recommend replacing the ecm and the data was inconsistent and indicated ecm failure. After replacing the ecm, the data responded back to positive integers, but the vehicle would still not accelerate. The technican checked throttle body angle and compared it to the throttle pedal position sensor and found the throttle body was not opening all the way. The technician then recommended replacing the throttle body. After replacing the throttle body the vehicle still lacked power, but the data on the scanner showed everything as positive and no codes were being thrown. The technician removed the valve cover to check timing and round the timing chain tensioner had broke and the timing had jumped. I am enclosing picture of the jumped chain, and valve cover and cylinder head. In the pictures you can see the the sludge build up. The customer was shown these pictures via text message and in person. We had to remove the oil pan to get pieces of the broken tensioner out to prevent engine damage. Technician remarked about how much sludge was in the bottom of the pan and in the pickup. We cleaned the valve cover, oil pan, and oil pump pickup and re-installed the new pieces and started the vehicle and everything ran smoothly with no check engine lights. Vehicle had proper power and all numbers were in spec on the scanner. Customer was told that they needed to stay on top of the oil changes, because it can cause damage to engine. The sludge buildup causes oil passage ways to get plugged up and causes the engine to starve for oil This week customer brought vehicle for a charging system problem, Customer asked for free promo oil change and technician completed both jobs of replacing alternator and completing oil change. Test drove vehicle and vehicle was charging and engine sounded normal. Customer picked vehicle up and drove off and came back withing 5-10 minutes claiming to hear a noise. Tech Checked oil on dipstick witch was topped off and wondered if the vehicle needed 20/50 instead of 10/30 because lifters sounded noisy, on some vehicles when they are not maintained dirt and deposits and get in the lifters and make noise, usually a thicker oil will help to pump the lifter back up and quite noise. Told customer to leave vehicle overnight and they could pick up in the morning. Technician checked vehicle for bulletins and found a bulletin from gm that this model vehicle has a oiling port in the cylinder head that can get blockages which will cause vehicle to make noise. The bulletin describes exact problem with this vehicle. I will enclose a copy of the bulletin as well. Service writer called customer to inform them that this was a possible problem, and that further diagnosis would be needed to check if cylinder head was reviving oil. Customer immediately declined and told service manager not to touch vehicle and someone would be down to talk to them. Her children came and vehicle was towed out. Her kids were given a copy of the bulletin and shown the same pictures that I am enclosing in this email. I have checked her service records within our data base and the vehicle has a 123701 miles on it, and I show 16 oil changes in the course of those miles, which is an average of 7731.31 miles in between oil changes done at our shop. We recommend doing oil changes every 3,000 miles, which is the mileage amount we put in the window sticker after each service. If the customer had done the oil changes we recommend  she would have completed 41 oil changes. I feel that the difference of missing 25 oil changes in the cause of the blockage in the cylinder head. As the pictures show the vehicle is heavily sludgged up due to lack of maintenance and is more then likely the cause of the blockage and noise the vehicle is making now. I can also provide all maintenance records we have on file if needed. I do not feel like we should be held responsible for the customers lack of maintenance on the vehicle. Please do not hesitate to call if you have any questions. Thank you for your time.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

I wish to clarify in response to driving for 5-10 min after picking up vehicle.  After driving down parking lot, I realized it was making noise, I immediately came back to see why is was making noise.  Also This vehicle has an oil monitoring system that bases its oil changes on vehicle driving condition with in specification through GM.
 
The vehicle was towed to ******** ********* and I  asked them to check the vehicle based on the bulletin. The lower oil pressure was at 90lbs at the oil pump and the upper by the cylinder head was at 0.  Indicating that the was an oil block similar to the attached bulletin. 
******** ********* removed the cylinder head at my request and found excessive (GMS) Gasket Sealant had been used in the repair of the timing chain repair.  The sealant broke loose and plugged up return hole in the upper oil system for the valve lifters.  I have pictures and technicians comments verifying this condition.  The also found excessive use of (GMS) sealant around timing cover where a gasket should have been used, not sealant. 
 
I feel Mazda's Plus is totally responsible for this latest condition of my car as verified by the technician at American Chevrolet.  Due to these repairs that I had to pay, based on the evidence, they were totally the negligence of the technician at Mazda's Plus.  
 
You may contact Carl Weigand, service adviser at ******** ********* at*********   He will verify the condition and the necessary repairs.  After I receive my vehicle, my expectation is for Mazda's Plus to reimburse me for these repairs
  
 
Thank you

Business Response: We reimbursed the customer for the repairs and settled the claim with the BAR. Thank you for your time.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.