BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

This Business is not BBB accredited

Little's Automotive

Phone: (916) 332-9237 5916 Auburn Blvd, Citrus Heights, CA 95621 http://www.littlesautomotive.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Little's Automotive include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Little's Automotive
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 24, 2007 Business started: 10/01/1989 Business started locally: 10/01/1989 Business incorporated: 09/13/2005 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 242597.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jack Cunningham , General Manager Mr. Jerry Lipp, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jack Cunningham , General Manager
Customer Contact: Mr. Jerry Lipp, Office Manager
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Tune-Up Brake Service Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto

Alternate Business Names
JJDC, Inc.
Products & Services

Little's Automotive is a full service auto repair shop specializing in domestic cars and imports and light duty trucks.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5916 Auburn Blvd

    Citrus Heights, CA 95621 (916) 332-9237

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

  • https://plus.google.com/110500745478706270400/about?hl=en&review=1
  • https://www.facebook.com/pages/Littles-Automotive-Care-Repair/143207415880547
  • http://www.littlesautomotive.net/
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were charged for unnecessary work, that was done to our vehicle. 11/25/2013 My car was towed into Littles Automotive because it completely died as I was getting off the freeway.The receptionist said she would like to do a 2 hour diagnostic to be safe and thourough, and I said okay. she told me if the work was done there, one of the tests would be free. I told her, "as I got off the freeway, my car just died and all the dash lights came on". She said that was helpful, and told a gentleman what I had said. He went out and looked at my car and came back in and told me he was pretty sure it was the drive belt. He wanted to let me know ahead of time, that sometimes when this belt comes off or breaks, depending on the engine type, it can possibly ruin the engine. He said,"Just in Case, I wanted to give you the possible bad news". I said "Okay". I told them to call my husband the next day with what was wrong with the car because I was at work. They called him and gave him a list of things that needed to be replaced due to the belt coming off, and if they did the work, the car would be "up and running" by the end of the day, and the total would be no more than $916.00. The receptionist called 11/26/13 and said they needed the car overnight because the didn't get a part they needed. They said it would be ready early morning 11/27/13. The receptionist called my husband this morning 11/27/13 and said the valves were bent on the motor, and the motor was bad. They knew in the beginning there was a possibility that the engine was bad because they told me. I was told by the receptionist that all this work had to be done before they could determine that the engine was bad. Before any work was done, they should have checked the valves! We spent $728.65 for a car that no longer runs. Our invoice # is XXXXX XXXX red Hyundai Accent. Paid with Visa $728.65. Sincerely, ******* ********

Desired Settlement: We would like to be refunded the full amount that we were charged. $728.65

Business Response: Initial Business Response
This complaint has been dealt with already. We contacted the customer and apologized, as well as refunding the money in full.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

8/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took truck in for tuneup and brake inspection 7/3/2013 was told front brakes needed to be serviced back brakes were fine. I received a call stating I needed wheel bearings packed and calipers and front brakes needed to be replaced. When repair completed took truck home and parked it. charged me $566.97. Took truck out on 7/4/2013 drove 12 miles and right tire started smoking. Took truck back on 7/5/2013 since they were closed 7/4/2013. They state that brakes exploded and were in pieces on the ground when I arrived. Told me that now I needed drums/back brakes, and that emergency brake had locked up causing the damage and charged an additional $377.54. Took truck out again on 7/6/2013 drove 10 miles and left rear tire smoking, returned again to shop and now told that brakes locked and they were unable to bleed the brakes and that wheel cylinders were now bad and diagnosed problem to be skid control proportioning valve bad and needed to be replaced and keep truck until part was available. On 7/9/2013 charged me an additonal $183.50. Gave me my key to take the truck and it wouldn't start, they jumped it and I drove it home waited 5-10 minutes to check truck again and now will not start. I've paid for the service and still do not have a truck that is working. The battery is not dead lights/radio working fine. I was constantly told by the employees and the owner (*****) that it was an old truck and things happen and it is not their fault. The truck went in running fine, this was a maintenance check. I am requesting a refund of my labor fees of $862.00 on services not performed correctly and truck coming back unusable.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund of $862.00 for labor cost so that I can take the truck to a location that knows how to work on 91 Ford Explorers correctly.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The customer states that the vehicle was brought to us originally for a tune-up and brake inspection, and that in the course of this and subsequent repairs her battery died. She states that therefore we should refund all the money paid for "...my labor fees of $862..." (labor charges were actually $852 before the $220.72 discount we gave her making the actual labor charges $631.28) because NOW the vehicle is "unusable". Though the facts stated are correct, essentially this is tantamount as to being asked to refund customers money because the vehicle ran out of gas on the way home! This complaint is very disappointing. We bent over backwards for this customer, and we discounted her bill by around 20% AFTER performing several repairs for FREE (As well as supplying some parts at our cost, ie - the proportioning valve was $485.45 oem. We found a used one and charged below our cost, $90.00 . Also we supplied some parts and labor for FREE, ie - the rear wheel cylinders were done at NO expense to the customer). Now the customer requests we refund most of the charges for the discounted, free, extra work we did on this vehicle because we had to keep her vehicle in our shop while waiting for the part we charged below our cost on after performing free work for her because her battery died all while it tied up one of our lifts while we waited without charging her for any of this? We are a straight shop, honest and transparent. Ms. ******'s opening line in her complaint attest to this "Took truck in for tuneup and brake inspection...", as we explained to her, this vehicle did not need a full tune-up, just plugs, we charged $87.48 for this, a full tune-up costs in excess of $400! We suppose though that part of the refund this customer seeks is leaving us with this $87.48... that's fair. We are sorry Ms. ****** is unhappy. At this time all we can do is wish her luck finding an honest shop!

6/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I feel that Little's Automotive is using bait-and-switch methods when dealing with their clients. On January 24, 2013 I went to Little's Automotive to have the oil and filter changed on my 2005 Honda CRV. Although the service was a little more expensive than other local vendors, the experience was pleasant overall. At that time, I was told by the mechanic that the brakes on my car were worn nearly to the point that they needed to be replaced. Keeping that in mind, several months later I thought about replacing my brakes. I did some reseach on vendor pricing for this service. I found the going rate for this service was advertised by several local vendors for $49 per axle and Little's was one of these vendors. I made an appointment on May 1, 2013 and returned to Little's to see if the brakes were at the point where they needed to be replaced. I was told it would cost $55 to have the brakes inspected. When I questioned this fee, I was told the fee would be waived if I opted to have the brake service performed. So, armed with their initial assessment from January, the passage of time and assumed wear, and the knowledge that the fee was per axle was $49, I okayed the inspection. Their inspection yielded a recommendation to replace the brakes. They worked up a cost for the job. It turned out to be $350.00 for all four brakes(two axles). When I asked how the cost went from $100($49 per axle, rounded up) to $350, I was told the $49 each was only labor and did not include the cost of brake pads, resurfacing the rotors, etc. I requested a detailed breakdown of these costs and was not given one. In trying to mitigate some of the costs, I asked how much the job would cost without resurfacing the rotors. I was told that would be $300 and they would not warranty the work. Since I could not get a detailed accounting of the fees, I opted not to have the work done therefore I was stuck with the $55 inspection fee. Next I went to Brake Masters and made an appointment for May 2, 2013. They offered to do a complete brake inspection for free. Upon completion, the findings were different than that of Little's. The remaining thickness of the brake pads were several thousandths of an inch greater than reported by Little's. Brake Masters said I did not need a brake job at that time and further, I could go for another 10,000 miles before needing one. They said when I needed the brake job, it would cost $190 for all four brakes including all parts, labor and any associated services needed, such as packing wheel bearings

Desired Settlement: A refund of the $55 for the inspection fee.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We would like to offer our apologies to this customer, though we did not know until this complaint that he was not satisfied at the conclusion of this transaction, it is always our goal to satisfy 100% of our customers 100% of the time. The special the customer is referring to is advertised as $49 per axle Labor plus parts, we explained that the price did NOT include anything other than the installation of pads - that we are unable, as all other repair facilities are as well, to estimate what else his vehicle might need without a full inspection - the reason for this is the need to visually and physically access the entire wheel / brake assembly to measure and examine / inspect each assembly completely. We offered to move forward with the $49 special and once we got it apart for the customer to look at the measurements and examine (with us to show, explain and educate) what else he may need - or - to do the $55 inspection (rack charge) which would then be applied to the labor of the actual job. We do this for folks all the time, some choose to go one way and others the other. He chose the latter. Upon inspection we discovered the need to resurface the rotors, on this vehicle this is rather straightforward but does require more than simply popping the rotors off and back on, so we referred to Mitchells Labor Guide (an industry standard) and priced the job accordingly. What Brakemasters may or may not charge is important to us, they are neighbors and we are in direct competition with them, therefore we have very detailed information regarding their pricing and policies. We will not impugn their store nor the pricing policies they employ, we will say that from the information provided the customer is quoting the pricing Brakemasters provides when ASKED by phone or in person, however, in reality their brake jobs are routinely higher and much higher in price than ours, and they don't offer the various quality options we do. We offer a lowest price guarantee, if someone finds they can get a competent job done for less we will meet the price. There are advantages to doing this beyond price for the customer - we offer a NATIONWIDE 2 year / 24,000 mile warranty as standard on all repairs (no one else has this standard available). We only employ ASE certified techs, been in business for 6 decades, are a Full State of California Star Certified CAP Program Test Only/Repair & Gross polluter test station and on and on we can go - so why does this matter? We only employ the best practices in the industry, are completely straight, transparent and honest with all our customers. This level of work ability, effort, equipment, quality, integrity all cost money, lots of it, yet we still will meet the price of any licensed station. As our staff motto goes "we are NOT here to make money, we are here to make customers... the money takes care of itself!" Our object is to offer the absolute best practices, complete transparency, honesty and the lowest possible price! With this in mind, if this customer would like the brakes done on the subject vehicle, we are positive he does in fact need the work, we would invite him back and we will reinspect (at no charge) the brakes in front of him, if in fact we find that his statement that his brakes are fine, we will happily refund his original $55 and give him a $55 off certificate for this vehicles brake job in future.We are also willing to still honor the $55 off the job (we give a 30 day window normally) off the job as originally offered. If he can document that this job can be done elsewhere we will price match as we always do. We are happy to offer third party intervention if this will help, perhaps mitigation through the BBB will further the resolution of this complaint. We are open to any reasonable resolution. Thank you.

9/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have taken my vehicle in to get the same issue repaired several times.They have cost me about $900 and never fixed anything. X-XX-XX-Took my vehicle in because of a failed smog.They said they would have to perform a smog check for $50.THey called me later and said it failed that they are going to have to do a diagnostics at $105.They diagnosed it as a carburetor problem and said it needs to be rebuilt for $371.I told them that it was just rebuilt and they said there carb expert will fix it.They rebuilt it ,resmogged it still didnt pass.Now they said parts inside the carb are bad and they dont make them anymore.They should check to see if they can get parts before charging customers to tear something apart.I told them I have a used one at home and they said bring it in and they will try to use parts off of that.They swapped parts, readjusted,resmogged with no success.Now they said they need buy a rebuit carb and put it on for $500 some dollars.I decided to buy one and put it on myself for $360 to save some money.Instead of $371 they charged me $258 and said they would give me a free resmog.I bought one put it on did some adjustments and other troubleshooting in my spare time. 7-6-12- Took it back to get my free resmog.They said the idle was too high that they will have to charge me $97 to adjust the carb and do another smog.I agreed.They adjusted it and smogged it and and it failed worse than before.They wanted more money to diagnose it more,and I said no way.So the carb was never the problem .From the first time I drove into thier buisiness till the the last time I drove out they have cost me about $900 and my car is worst than ever,they accomplished nothing.If they didnt know how to troublshoot this problem they should have told me and I would of went somewhere else.There just guessing at my expense.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $105 on X-XX-XX they charged me to misdiagnosed it. I would like my $258 they charged me on X-XX-XX to tear down my carb with no success after convincing me that thier "carb expert" could fix it. I also would like the $360 that I had to pay for a rebuilt carb Because they said that would fix it. I also want the $97 back I paid on 7-6-12 because they ended up charging me for another smog and adjustment so I never got my free resmog. I am not going to charge them for the original smog and all the stress I had to deal with dealing with this place.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Upon receiving the complaint from BBB we asked the Tech who worked on the subject vehicle to review and put in writing an explanation of what had occurred, he also happens to be our Gold Shield qualified Smog Tech and Chief Diagnostician at our facility. Turns out he is pretty good at writing and his response was so well put that I will include it below, after this we will concluded with a few comments: Stated vehicle (1983 Chevrolet K10 Blazer) was brought in for State emissions inspection (Smog Check). At which time vehicle failed emissions inspection for untestable ignition timing due to an elevated idle speed, that was above manufacturers specification of 650 revolutions per minute. Vehicle's base idle speed was at approximately 1200 revolutions per minute during emissions test. This creates a condition where the mechanical advance in the distributor will be activated not allowing a proper test of ignition timing due to mechanical advance thereby constituting the state to not allow ignition timing to be checked during elevated base idle speeds. After vehicle emissions test was completed and had failed for the untestable timing, an estimate of diagnosis was drawn to attempt to remedy the high idle speed. Upon initial diagnosis during the first hour (at 105 dollars) it was found that the carburetor on the vehicle had an internal fault causing the idle to have to be set at 1200 because the internal defect of the carburetor would not allow the idle to be set any lower. (Customers said "rebuilder" would have known this and set the idle high to allow the engine to idle without the accelerator pedal having to be held down) At this time we began to advise customer that the carburetor would need to be removed, disassembled and inspected to determine cause of fuel bleed over (internal defect). It is a possibility in these situations that an incorrect carburetor float setting can cause this condition and the disassembly included a check of float level setting. Float level was in fact found to be incorrectly set, this was corrected and after no other visible defects were found during tear down and inspection, it was concluded that carburetor should be reassembled, re installed and rechecked for fuel bleed over. After reinstallation, it was determined that the float setting had not been the issue causing fuel bleed over. There were then two options presented to the customer. The first option was to entirely replace carburetor with a remanufactured unit (which was the shops highly recommend choice) or the second option, which was never guaranteed to resolve the fuel bleed over) to attempt to install new metering rods and jets (which are what control of fuel flow and may have been the cause of the bleed over). Due to the age of this vehicle parts for the carburetor (and of almost any carburetor for that fact, are largely unavailable being outdated technology) General Motors is now discontinuing parts for any vehicle older than 10 years of age (this would be 2002 model year or older at this point). We attempted to source the metering rods and jets and they were, as the customer stated, unavailable. At this time customer supplied another carburetor for us to attempt to use the metering rods and jets from it. After a second carburetor removal and teardown (at no extra cost to the customer) then installation of metering rods and jets from donor carburetor. The carburetor was then reinstalled and checked for fuel bleed over. Carburetor was still exhibiting fuel bleed over, not allowing idle to be set to manufacturer specification. At this time customer was informed only way to remedy the bleed over was to entirely replace carburetor with a remanufactured unit. Customer declined and paid for services rendered to that point, then took vehicle from shop. To our knowledge customer was aware of what had taken place, understood completely what repairs had been done to his vehicle and showed no dissatisfaction with services provided at this point. Customer then returned on stated date for free retest; after customer had purchased and installed his own carburetor. Free retest was provided as promised. Vehicle then failed emissions test for high base idle speed again not allowing timing to be tested. At that time customer was advised of the failure and that we suspected new carburetor was not properly adjusted after installation. Customer agreed to have shop make manufacturers specified adjustments for base idle, fast idle and idle mixture settings. Adjustment was performed successfully and new carburetor exhibited no fuel bleed over and base idle was successfully set to manufacturer specification of 650 revolutions per minute. Timing was then tested as would be during emissions test and was found to be set to within manufacturers specifications. Emissions retest was then preformed. Vehicle presented drivability issues during emissions test as well as "check engine" light illuminating. Emissions test was completed and vehicle had then failed for tailpipe emissions. Tailpipe emissions failure was never a foreseeable issue with vehicle at the beginning of customers visit to shop. All diagnosis, recommended repairs and repairs performed were to resolve base idle problem vehicle had during first test. After a correctly functioning carburetor was installed on vehicle, other problems that had been masked by ill functioning carburetor displayed themselves during last emissions test performed. There are 3 parts to a California State Emissions inspection (Smog Check). A visual inspection of all required mechanical emissions components, a functional test of some of these components (functional tests differ from vehicle depending on regulations set forth by the State of California's, Bureau of Automotive repair) and a Dynamometer vehicle loaded tailpipe emissions measurement of vehicles actual exhaust emissions. Vehicles first test failed the functional portion of the test for the timing issue described previously. Vehicles second full (and last) last test failed the tailpipe exhaust emissions measurement. These tailpipe emissions issues were not predictable in this scenario and the shop had never made any guarantees that there would not be other emissions problems after carburetor trouble was corrected. That concludes the techs response, we hope this clarifies the situation but would like to add that the original problem was diagnosed properly (not that we guarantee or warranty this), the carb was causing an idle that was too high to test, the problem we found with the carb also was correct but could not be corrected because these specific parts (not part of a rebuild kit) were and are not available. Beyond this ,we never guarantee a result - the nature of automotive repair makes guarantee of any single repair impossible - to many parts will fail from the reaction another part causes upon the seeming failure - and once you cure the first problem many times this repair will change conditions for another part up or down stream from the original 'offending' part which previously impossible to test in the new corrected condition; therefore no guarantees. We try to accommodate our customers completely, even when we feel we've done no wrong, here we went so far beyond what we were actually paid to do that we feel we have done enough, besides this please take a look at what we actually charged and discounted already. Below please review the actual billings and the discounts we applied: 5-11-12 Original Bill $169.95 Smog Test (failed) & Diagnosis DiscountREDACT37 201237REDACT$0 Total Paid This Date $169.95 5-15-12 Original Bill $363.49 R&R Carb., Rebuild Carb. Discount $105.00 Took off original Diag. Total Paid This Date $258.49 7-6-12 Original Bill $182.45 Smog Test (failed), Adjust Carb that customer installed with same apparent problem as original, Re-Smogged (failed) Discount $84.95 Took off 1 of the Smog test (as customer noted we agreed to) Total Paid This Date $97.45 Totals Actual Original Bills $715.89 Total Disc. Applied $189.95 Total Actual Paid $525.89 As noted above, we have already discounted this by more than 25% - and though the customer noted we charged almost twice what we did, we have done all we can do to keep this as inexpensive as possible and tp try to make this customer happy, we are sorry that we couldn't seem to do so.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) In your above statement you said that during your diagnostics you tore the carb off and tore it apart and attempted to adjust the float with no success.Then after that you gave me two options.Is tearing stuff apart and trying to fix things during the diagnostics faze normal? No.Let me tell you what really happened and the receipts I have reflect this.On 5-11 you first smogged and diagnosed it as something internal in the carb.You then told me that the carb would have to be rebuilt.I then informed you that I already rebuilt the carb.You then said that you have a guy who is an expert on carburetors and that he can fix it.You sounded very confident so on 5-14 I brought it in to get it fixed.You never gave me two options! Only after you tore it apart multiple times and couldn't fix it you said the only thing to do was buy a new one.You never made any statement like "we are not promising that this is going to fix it" or "they don't make parts for these any more ".Why would I authorize you to tear my car apart and charge me hundreds of dollars if I knew that they don't sell parts to fix it or that you weren't sure you even could fix it.What you charged me to mess with this on 5-14 was almost as much as a new carb.I would of deffiently went with that option.Then after I put a new carb on you adjusted it the smog readings were way worst.That is what this whole thing is about.You guy convinced me that you had the knowledge and skills to get this done and after I paid out this money and time my car is worst then when I first drove it in You know what the irony of this whole mess is.I originally didn't have the time to mess with this car so I thought I'll just take it to the "experts" and get it fixed.Now I'm going to probably have to research it and fix it my self anyway,because just like 80% of consumers (real statistic) I think garages are overpriced and a ripoff and you guys confirmed that.

Business' Final Response
We apologize in advance for the absence of any new information in this response - there is simply nothing more we can offer, the claimant essentially repeated his original assertions from the original complaint. Factual truths are stubborn things, no matter from what direction one may approach or what point one is attempting to drive; in the end we only have these same stubborn truths upon which to lean; in the end, this is where, hopefully, we let the matter rest. We do need to answer somehow so we'll try this; we will deconstruct each point in the claimants rebuttal exactly and use the exact language from the original text of our answer to reconstruct: Below is the exact words used by complainant in his response- " In your above statement you said that during your diagnostics you tore the carb off and tore it apart and attempted to adjust the float with no success." Above is the very first sentence of the complainants rebuttal and a perfect example of how this has gotten to where it is, not only is his assertion incorrect, it is exactly opposite of what we actually did and of what we wrote in the response he is citing. REALLY! The very beginning - his first point and already those darn stubborn facts are hitting us over our heads. In the very first sentence of complainants response is this unfortunate and great example of this entire interaction. Below is an excerpt from the statement to which the complainant was responding- ..."that an incorrect carburetor float setting can cause this condition and the disassembly included a check of float level setting. Float level was in fact found to be incorrectly set, this was corrected"... Claimant goes on to say- "... you said that during your diagnostics you tore the carb off and tore it apart and attempted to adjust the float with no success.Then after that you gave me two options.Is tearing stuff apart and trying to fix things during the diagnostics faze normal? No". This illustrates how with some creative revisionist histrionics you can yield contradictions to oneself. In our statement (we are aware this is repeated - it goes to more than on point): ..."that an incorrect carburetor float setting can cause this condition and the disassembly included a check of float level setting. Float level was in fact found to be incorrectly set, this was corrected"... This work was done after the customer approved it showing that YES, it is normal to do adjustments and repairs once a tear down inspection produces results. Otherwise we would tear down - inspect - get results - close up (reassemble) - report - get approval - tear down - repair - close up & retest. Obviously this would be a lot of un-needed work. We do want to address the assertion that during diagnosis 'tearing stuff apart' & 'fix things' is not normal. In fact this is quite normal, we do it every day, in fact we do it several times every day - we'd venture a guess and say as we answer this someone on our staff is on our floor doing just that, as we wrote a few weeks back "...carburetor would need to be removed, disassembled and inspected to determine cause of fuel bleed over (internal defect). It is a possibility in these situations that an incorrect carburetor float setting can cause this condition and the disassembly included a check of float level setting. Float level was in fact found to be incorrectly set, this was corrected and after no other visible defects were found during tear down and inspection, it was concluded that carburetor should be reassembled, re installed and rechecked for fuel bleed over..." Tear down and inspect by nature means you take it apart and see if the offending part may be bad or maladjusted, in this particular circumstance the fuel bleed over could be caused by several different components inside the carburetor of which two, the float and the MC (mixture control) solenoid were of dominant suspicion. We in fact found the float was adjusted improperly, we corrected this, the MC solenoid was tested and found negative for improper operation - important note, both are internal components & neither are accessible without teardown. Complainants next assertion: " You never gave me two options! Only after you tore it apart multiple times and couldn't fix it you said the only thing to do was buy a new one." Somehow someone said something that brought this additional carburetor to light, we bring this up to illuminate the obvious, discussion of replacement versus rebuild was discussed. Forgetting for a moment that it is common knowledge that a part could be replaced or rebuilt in almost every circumstance in this particular circumstance with this particular vehicle and by this particular customer knew that he had the option to get a new carburetor (refered to as 'carb' here forward) and have it installed, we don't think it much of a reach to suggest this is exactly what had happened prior to this vehicle coming in to us. At the very least this illustrates the complainant had prior knowledge that a replacement could be had... in his case he needn't go any further than his own garage! We are not suggesting that the complainant is wrong, just that perhaps he has a few facts, there they are again, those darn facts getting mixed up again! The next statement is " What you charged me to mess with this on 5-14 was almost as much as a new carb.I would of deffiently went with that option". On X-XX-XXXX the complainant authorized us to rebuild his carburetor(a 3 houir job equalling $315.00, we credited back a third, $105.00, only to be nice and to soften the cost), at this time he already possessed a second carburetor for this vehicle, this proved not only that he knew he could get another but that he also knew that a 29 year old cars carburetor is no longer available new (they stopped making it 26 years ago) and that he could go get another re-manufactured carb anytime he'd like and in fact at some point prior to us being involved had done just that... got a 'new' carb. He opted to have us do the rebuild because his last attempt at replacement (prior to our involvement) unfortunately landed him and his vehicle back to square one You never made any statement like "...we are not promising that this is going to fix it" We also did not promise him that it would. The only way to describe our response to this is that it's just silly. Who would say anything like this, if we went through life stating what we are '...not promising...' there would be nothing to life except making negative assertions for any and all possible outcomes & results. In our earlier response we stand by: Beyond this ,we never guarantee a result - the nature of automotive repair makes guarantee of any single repair impossible - to many parts will fail from the reaction another part causes upon the seeming failure - and once you cure the first problem many times this repair will change conditions for another part up or down stream from the original 'offending' part which previously impossible to test in the new corrected condition; therefore no guarantees. Beyond this all being said in rebuttal, we also told him at time of approval as we tell everyone that we can't and don't guarantee any result, we also prepped him for what may come next... in this case that his carb may need to be replaced if this attempt (actually several attempts) does not correct the offensive condition - (we charged for this once but in reality we tried to make his carb work, than we crossed components from and then to his extra carb a couple times requiring us to essentially do this three and a half times). In closing we'd like to comment on the following assertion: "I think garages are overpriced and a ripoff and you guys confirmed that." Unfortunately our industry is rife with plenty of examples that support this comment, as for us, we run the straightest most transparent honest shop there is. We've been in business for 6 decades and counting. From our stand point we could do nothing more to make this customer feel differently, perhaps it is the industry that causes this - perhaps it is the combination of perception and reality that conspire to create such a lack of trust. However, from his own words, one can easily see that he is "I think garages are overpriced and a ripoff " and was " and you guys confirmed that" predisposed to believe that he was going to get screwed no matter what outcome mitght of been reached. I do find it interesting that if one goes to see a doctor, the doctor does his utmost to satisfactorily diagnose and treat a condition, illness, injury and at times they get it wrong, and this is about life or at least quality of life - however it is understood that this is NOT an exact science, and though sometimes at cost of life they do get it wrong. Here we have a customer who not only did we get the diagnosis correct but we serviced him at about 50% of what we could have charged and still we "ripped him off" and "got it wrong", this really is depressing, even when we do all we can and then some... and here we are! We hope only the best for this customer, all we have left for him is to offer a referral to another shop that we know does as we do, best practices, honest - fair and straight, however, we're not sure this will not end up exactly as this has, we just don't know of anything we could have or could still do to satisfy this customer, and this just feels terrible... good luck, and we are sorry we could not turn this around. ****** ****** XXX-XXX-XXXX