Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

John's Auto Care

Phone: (916) 791-2886 Fax: (916) 791-4335 201 Derek Pl, Roseville, CA 95678 http://www.johnsautocareroseville.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for John's Auto Care include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on John's Auto Care
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 22, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1990 Business started locally: 01/01/1990 Business incorporated 01/01/2009 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 270664.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Whitworth, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Whitworth, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Tune-Up Recreational Vehicles - Repair & Service Transmissions - Automobile

Alternate Business Names
John's Auto Care, Inc
Products & Services

This company provides full services on auto repairs.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

John's Auto Care has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    201 Derek Pl

    Roseville, CA 95678

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 7-02-2015 called John's Auto Care when the engine light on my 2002 PT Cruiser, 47,025 miles, came on. Took car in for diagnostics. They called to say that the CRANKSHAFT POSITION SENSOR needed replacing and it would be a good idea to replace the CAMSHAFT POSITION SENSOR at the same time. I agreed to the work, cost $441.38. Later that day, I received a call that my car was ready. I got my car, paid my bill, stopped for gas and a beverage and went home - maybe 4 miles. Driving home the temperature gauge was rising quickly. As I pulled into my garage the temperature light starting pinging. I called John's back. The first words out of his mouth were "nothing we did" but let it cool and bring it back. A few words were exchanged, telling me it probably overheated and could be a head gasket. My car had NEVER over heated -I know the telltale signs. I mentioned that the invoice stated ALL systems were checked and found OK. That included the COOLING SYSTEM which obviously was not checked and the tech agreed. On the 6th, ***** informed me the radiator needed flushing, coolant replaced and a new thermostat, cost $313.02. Again I agreed to repairs. At 4:30 I called and was told the car was ready. I got there and ***** said it was NOT ready, it was still overheating and he needed to go over it AGAIN. On the 7th I was told that it was, indeed, the head gasket, this time with an estimate of nearly $1700.00. After a few heated words I DID agree to the repairs. My son was livid, said a few words re: the PT, the shop and service. At this time, I was told point blank to pick up my car. The invoice says I refused service. Not true. THEY refused to repair my PT. John's Auto wrote off the $313.02 for the last work done. BUT if they had gone ahead with the head gasket, I would have almost $2500.00 invested in a car that still overheats.I hand delivered documentation to John's Auto on 7-13 with all my concerns and observations. It was the radiator. Simple. Cost, $418.33!

Desired Settlement: My PT was returned completely covered in coolant and greasy grime. The radiator cap exploded while being driven by a tech and coolant all blew over the engine. I paid $50.00 to have the PT towed to another shop. My PT is in excellent shape and obviously well cared for and maintained. They showed no respect and had total disregard towards my car. Towing, steam cleaning the engine, detail hand washing (never machine washed), new radiator cap. I believe $150.00 more than fair.

Business Response:                                                                                     Thursday    July 16, 2015

Dear Mrs. *******,

Let me start by saying I am very sorry your experience at John’s Auto Care was less than satisfactory.  We are a Christian Family Facility and always
want our customers to be completely satisfied.

After consulting with the Technician who performed service on your car, I did learn that the Check-Out Inspection portion of your car’s
diagnostic was not completed.  However, repairs made to your car’s computer system were successful, in that your check
engine light was no longer ON and your vehicle doesn’t stall anymore.

The reason for the No Charge for cooling system repairs is due to the fact that we did not fix your problem.  This is a John’s Auto Care policy, we will
not charge any customer if we make a mistake.  As would have been the case IF we had proceeded with Customer approved cylinder
head gasket repairs that were found not to be necessary.

I have reprimanded the Technician whom worked on your vehicle for not preforming our Check-Out Inspection as defined within our
operational practices, and for the misdiagnosis of the cooling system.  I believe the Technician made an honest
mistake during his diagnostic of the cooling system and I apologize for this condition.

You stated that you requested print outs from the computer diagnostic(s) performed, which
unfortunately there is no such ‘print out’.  The information is read from a special scan tool and interpreted by the
Technician, then transferred to the Work Order.  The “yellow copies” you saw on our Work Order clip boards are Parts Bills,
which we would not provide to Customers.

As far as our Invoice stating you refused repairs, when you son became involved, he stated a lot of
accusations toward John’s Auto Care.  All of which I have no problem fielding.  But
when he decided to yell inappropriate language towards John’s Auto Care and me
personally, it was clear we would not be able to service your vehicle with a satisfactory outcome.

We have a company policy that inappropriate language or physical threats shall not be tolerated by
either Customers or Employees, no exceptions.

I am willing to give you a check, in the amount of $150.00, if this would satisfy you on this situation.

 
Sincerely,


***** ******, General Manager