BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are You the Business Owner of Express Transmissions & Auto Care?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This Business is not BBB accredited

Express Transmissions & Auto Care

Phone: (209) 466-1111 Fax: (209) 466-1122 4825 N West Lane, Stockton, CA 95204 http://www.expresstransmissions.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Express Transmissions & Auto Care include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Express Transmissions & Auto Care
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 25, 2009 Business started: 04/01/2008 Business started locally: 04/01/2008 Business incorporated: 05/10/2001 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 254624.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mario Jauregui, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mario Jauregui, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Transmissions - Automobile

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4825 N West Lane

    Stockton, CA 95204

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.facebook.com/pages/Express-Transmission/213267618689775
  • http://twitter.com/#!/ExpressTransCA
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our Dodge Grand Caravan has a rebuilt transmission that is defective. We have returned it repeatedly only to still have problems with it. We purchased a "rebuilt transmission" with Express Transmissions for 2850.39 on January 7, 2011 with Chase Visa Card with a 3 year warranty. On July 25, 2012 we took it in for the similar problems only to have the radiator blow out while they test drove it at a cost to us of $506.87. Then on 9/14/12 we returned yet again to be charged $515. 67 for a computer module which they claimed would resolve the transmission shifting problem. Last repair was on 9/14/12 which they claimed was not covered under warrantly, charged 515.67 for a computer module that was supposed to fix the transmission problem. We had to rent a car for four days in order to go to work. The rental car cost us $195.70. We have continued to take it back after failed attempts at repair only to continue having problems. On Sunday, November 18,2012 the Van stalled and would not move when the gear was put on Drive. I was blocking an entry way, I had to call AAA to be towed and moved out of the way. I paid 10 dollars for that service. I towed it home. I called Express Transmissions in the AM, ****** said he had to have it mobile before looking at it. So we had to have it towed to a different repair facility to assess the problem. I had to call AAA once again, as I write this it at ******* Automotive in Stockton awaiting yet another expensive estimate for repair. We have paid all of these repairs with our Chase Visa or ATM Visa card from our bank. I have invoices and receipts of all expenses incurred and paid for. Mind you that we are not considering the time, effort, and hassle we've had to deal with in regards to this situation.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a refund for all parts and associated costs: Rebuilt Transmission= $2,850.39 Computer Module= $515. 67 Rental Car= $ 195.70 AAA Towing= $ 10.00 Total= $3,571.76 We believe that the "rebuilt transmission" they replaced is defective and never worked properly to begin with. We are tired of having to repeatedly bring it in to only be given the run around. We have incurred associated costs such as the rental car, time off work, hardships with transportation and undue stress and difficulty stemming from their "defective rebuilt transmission" and incorrect diagnosis. We demand a refund due to shabby and ineffective mechanical work, labor, and parts.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
This is in view of a Consumer complaint originated by ****** ****** resident at ******** Way in Stockton California. Our records show that on 01/05/2011 a 2000 Dodge Caravan with XXXXXX miles was dropped at Express Transmissions. Upon inspection of vehicle's transmission (41TE) it was found that the rear planetary was broken. The rear main seal and flexplate were also found defective. ****** ****** approved the repairs on 01/06/2011 for $2,836.56. The vehicle was repaired, tested and finally delivered on 01/07/2011. On 07/23/2012 the customer dropped the vehicle at Express Transmissions complaining the vehicle would come to a stop with harsh downshift and hesitation in changing gears. Upon vehicle inspection, we confirmed the customer complaints and found a significant array of fault codes in the power train control module including suggestion the battery had been disconnected at some point. The upper and lower limits of the clutch volume index were out of specifications. The vehicle's odometer was then at XXXXXX miles. Express Transmission removed the transmission from the van, and followed our rebuild process. At the time we could not find anything that would point to the real cause and as a measure of precaution, we replaced the solenoid block, input and output speed sensors. The components represent common failures on 41TE transmissions that can contribute to the fault codes seen during initial inspection. During the road test the radiator blew out and forced the serpentine belt to de-rail. Even so the vehicle was under Express Transmission control, the failure was unrelated to the transmission. ****** ****** approved of the repair in the amount of $506.87. The vehicle was repaired, tested and finally delivered on 07/31/2012. All repairs above excluding the repair of radiator and replacement of serpentine belt were performed free of charge. It is worth noting that the fault codes were cleared and the test results show the transmission to function properly. On 08/14/2012 the customer dropped the vehicle at Express Transmissions complaining the vehicle had similar issues as on 07/23/2012. Upon vehicle inspection, we confirmed the customer complaints and found a significant array of fault codes in the power train control module including suggestion the battery had been disconnected at some point. The upper and lower limits of the clutch volume index were out of specifications. The vehicle's odometer was then at XXXXXX miles. Since the symptoms were identical to the ones last visit, we went further into the diagnostics procedure and found the transmission control module lost its ability to adapt. We recommended replacing the transmission control module but the customer declined the repair. Since the transmission control module is not an internal component of the transmission, the faulty component was not within the content of the warranty. On 08/14/2012 the customer dropped the vehicle at Express Transmissions to replace the transmission control module found defective in the previous visit. Express Transmissions costed the job and ****** ****** approved of the repair in the amount of $515.67. While we don't have a documented file of the events on 11/18/2012, my understanding is that Express Transmission ordered a tow truck to pick the vehicle. Upon arrival of the tow truck, the driver found the vehicle engine could not be cranked. Even so we recognized that "best customer practices" should have the truck towed to Express Transmissions and have the control systems scanned, issues with the cranking system is most likely not linked to the transmission or transmission control limit. Even so the vehicle has been troublesome; Express Transmission has always operated with the interest of our customers and committed to stand behind our work and our warranty. Once the current troubleshooting is complete, Express Transmissions will respond accordingly. With respect to refund to ****** ******, Express Transmission believes has done nothing wrong or in bad faith and therefore will not comply. Regards, ******* ****

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First, Express transmission never sent a tow truck. The Van stopped running on Sunday, November 18th, Express transmission was closed on Sunday. AAA delivered the van to my home address and Express transmission refused to accept the vehicle at their shop until it was operable. They never sent a tow truck and that was never agreed upon. The vehicle was towed by AAA to an affiliate company after ****** refused have them tow it to their company. I have receipts of service from AAA proving the aforementioned facts. I personally called ****** and he said they could not receive the Dodge if it was not running at all. This is the truth of the matter. Express transmission has placed a defective, faulty rebuilt transmission in my vehicle that never functioned properly. I have repeatedly had issues with it. They claimed that the "computer module" would fix the problem last time I brought it in and this was NOT the case. I had to purchase the "computer module" for 500 dollars plus because it was not under their so called "warranty." I could have had AAA tow my Dodge back to Express Transmission if ****** would have agreed to it. He did not, he claimed that if the Dodge was not running they would not look at it. Period and this is the truth. I have received poor, unprofessional service and the said warranty has not been upheld and the transmission they put in the Dodge is indeed defective and I deserve a refund because I paid good, hard earned money for a transmission and all associated parts that were defective causing me time off work, school, costs in rental car, and I demand a refund. I will pursue the matter in small claims if we don't settle this promptly. I did not receive a quality product and therefore a refund is justified because I now have had to purchase a new car and the Dodge is sitting in my driveway due to the defective transmission and poor workmanship provided by Express Transmissions. They are trying to get off scott free with lies and this further demonstrates they're lack of ethical business practices. They could have just have me tow the Dodge to their shop and perhaps replace the faulty transmission yet they refused to accept my vehicle. It is wrong to treat your good paying customers this way. I am very, very disappointed with this entire ordeal. I am out thousands of dollars and do not have what I thought I paid for. I do not have a properly operating transmission, I have a defective one. Let this go down for the record, that ****** never sent a tow truck that is a flat out lie.

Business' Final Response
This is in view of a Consumer complaint originated by ****** ****** resident at 7322 ******** Way in Stockton California. In view to the Consumer response of 12/12/2012, it is our understanding ****** ****** believes Express Transmissions refused to accept her vehicle. Nothing can be far from the truth. ****** sent the tow truck driver to the vehicle location with the intention to tow the vehicle to Express Transmissions. When driver was at the location ready to tow the truck to Express Transmissions, the driver realized the car did not crank and most likely was not an issue that Express Transmissions could deal with or be of any help. ****** spoke with ****** ******'s husband and it was agreed to send the vehicle to a general repair shop facility to resolve the engine cranking issues before we could look at the probable transmission issues. No one at Express Transmissions said at any time that we would not comply with the terms of the transmission warranty on the vehicle. The main issue is that the vehicle was delivered to a general automobile repair shop and never returned to our shop. As stated before, Express Transmissions is waiting for the vehicle to troubleshoot the issue and repair the vehicle as appropriate. Again, Express Transmissions believes has done nothing wrong or in bad faith and believes providing a refund to ****** ****** is not the appropriate course. Regards, ******* ****

6/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service