BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that DRJ Performance European Automotive Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for DRJ Performance European Automotive Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for DRJ Performance European Automotive Service include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on DRJ Performance European Automotive Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 28, 2011 Business started: 07/14/2010 Business started locally: 07/14/2010
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Denis Jiron, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Denis Jiron, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service


Additional Locations

  • 1725 33rd St

    Sacramento, CA 95816 (916) 454-1350

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged for a repair on my vehicle that was never performed. The parts in question were clearly never replaced. ON 06/01/2011 I brought my 1998 VW Jetta VR6 to DRJ Performance for several repairs. After being contacted by Owner ****** ****** that the initial set of repairs were completed and what my final cost would be, I asked to have a minor coolant leak near the back of the engine fixed. It appeared that a small amount of coolant was dripping onto the top of the transmission housing. Upon performing an inspection ****** recommended replacing the thermostat, thermostat housing and several attached components. The total charge for this specific repair, including parts and labor, was $417.06. When my vehicle was returned to me on 06/03/2011 it did not appear that the housing and attached components had been replaced, as they looked dirty and were dirty to the touch, but the parts in question are difficult to access and view, so I could not be certain. Also, the leak itself did not appear to be fixed, since there was still fresh coolant collecting on the top of the transmission housing, and I returned my vehicle to DRJ Performance twice to have it re-examined. At the first re-examination ****** stated he could not see anything, and asked if I could provide pictures. After obtaining pictures and emailing them to ******, he asked me to bring my car back in. At the second re-examination ****** stated that he tightened a hose clamp and pressure tested the cooling system, and that the coolant pump was leaking. Since the coolant pump is at the opposite side of the engine and is not in the area in question it is not related to the repair I was charged for. At this point I considered the leak to not be significant enough to continue bringing my vehicle back to DRJ Performance, and did not pursue this any further. In late October of this year the coolant cross pipe failed, which is a related part of the cooling system. On 11/01/2012 I brought my vehicle to another mechanic for this repair, and they recommended replacing all of the cooling system parts that ****** had stated he replaced and charged me for one year prior, which is standard procedure for this repair. However, with the repair completed and the old thermostat housing and related components removed from the engine it has become readily apparent that those parts are much older than one year. The level of dirt and grime on them are considerably greater than one would expect to find on one year old parts. When I asked the mechanic who performed the repair if, in his professional opinion, the parts he removed from my vehicle looked like they had been installed only the year prior, he stated that they did not and appeared to be much older. It has now become obvious that the coolant leak repair that ****** recommended was never completed by him, but that he still charged me for the full repair.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the parts and labor cost associated with this service that was not performed.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
I have already discussed with the customer the concerns. The repairs were performed and the parts were installed as fact. When speaking with the customer he showed no interest in details regarding the purchase and installation of new parts in his car. I had to remind the customer the parts did not fail according to his account and the information was based on a technicians opinion. The second and third visits were not based on the customers concern by my concern as noted on the original paperwork that a 2 week re-inspection was required. There is an 18 month parts and labor warranty on all repairs performed here. He was frustrated and felt taken advantage of. I have since refunded his money and have closed this matter. I have since resolved this matter with the customer on November 27th and in a phone conversation with ****** he mentioned the parts only had "grime" on it. As mentioned to ****** the repairs are over a year old (performed June 2011) and in the time since the repair there is a possibility he has developed any number of issues to cause a "dirty" look to the parts we installed on the car. He has since slandered myself and my shop on our reviews seen on Yelp and Google Including information and opinion based on my personal competence. I have contacted Yelp and the review was deemed as slanderous and removed to the filtered section. ****** has already been refunded but has not provided me with any parts to substantiate his concerns. In our conversation I noted he is welcome to inspect our invoices and purchased for the days leading up to and during his repair to show we did in fact purchase the components, he voiced his dis-interest and proceeded to ask for a refund. A refund was delivered to ****** on November 27th. There is no further action I can provide.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As of this writing, 12/26/2012, no refund has been issued to me by DRJ Performance. The statements in business owner ******' response regarding a refund are not correct. Regarding the remainder of his reply: ****** contacted me on 11/26/2012 regarding a negative review I had posted online on several websites expressing my displeasure at being charged for services not performed by his business. He was mostly troubled by the review posted on the website Yelp and the damage it might do to his reputation. I laid out all of my reasons for placing the review, the same as what are in this complaint. ****** stated that since the repair was over a year old he could not show me "the parts taken off of my car," as they have long since been discarded. No mention of purchase invoices were made in the conversation. I stated that I would bring the parts to his place of business to show him why I am certain I have been defrauded, and I am still willing to do so. ****** stated that his main concern was that I was unhappy with his services. I asked if he would be willing to refund me for this specific repair, and he said he would. He made mention that he could not ask me to take down the review, even if he sent me a refund. I offered that I would be willing to remove the review if he refunded the money, because this will have rectified the issue of the fraudulent repair and alleviated my displeasure. He said that he would calculate out the total and send me a check the next day. However, according to his own response to this complaint it now appears that ****** instead contacted Yelp to have my review removed. With the review now moved to their "filtered" section it no longer counts towards his business' overall rating, and apparently no further action on his part is needed. Of note: while ****** feels that I have "slandered" him and his business all over the Internet, I have taken great care not to make any statements or speculations that are outside the scope of this one issue. In my review I stated that ****** is dishonest, because with me, he has been. I make this distinction very clear in my review and I do not make this statement lightly. I am highly disturbed by his willingness to charge me for services not performed. I am equally disturbed by his stating that he has refunded my money and resolved this matter when no refund has been issued. I do not believe that I can trust ******, as I continue to encounter a pattern of dishonesty in my dealings with him. But this is, and continues to be, my only statement regarding his conduct and I only make this statement with regards to my own experience and my own dealings with him and his business.

Business' Final Response
******, I will prepared another check and it will be here for you. I am requesting the installed parts to be returned to us for they are the property of DRJ Automotive. The previous check has never been cashed, I will cancel it. Please take a chance to re-read your review. Yelp contacted us because your review was "a rant" according to ***** (a service representative). The main point of our initial conversation was to show you invoices. You declined. I have done my best to provide you all the information I have and to refund you. You have still not one time called the shop to discuss or convey your frustration. Your lack of communication has confirmed to me you are taking advantage of our shop. I will be available after 10 am on Monday the 7th.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1