Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Clutch & Transmission Technicians, Inc.

Phone: (209) 551-4050 Fax: (209) 551-4057 View Additional Phone Numbers 3424 Oakdale Rd Ste 1, Modesto, CA 95355 http://www.ctttransmissions.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Clutch & Transmission Technicians, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Clutch & Transmission Technicians, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Clutch & Transmission Technicians, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 26, 2001 Business started: 12/11/1991 in CA Business incorporated 12/12/2013 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 277315.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ray Smith, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ray Smith, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Transmissions - Automobile

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations

  • 3424 Oakdale Rd Ste 1

    Modesto, CA 95355

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Damages to my 37 Chevy Hot Rod Owner is a jerk Beware he damages your car then lies and his employees lie and cover it up then refuses to repair the damage to your vehicle and does bad work after repair still have leaking tranny. And now have $800 damage to my $100,000 dollar Hot Rod I called better buisensss bureau also and filed. Complaint owner is bad news and does Bad work and refuses to pay for damage to my vehicle that was done on his property and couldn't repair a transmission if his life depended on it. Small claims court and local channel 7 news here I come. Either him or one of his employees drove my vehicle with the drivers door open and hit something

Desired Settlement: He denied causing any damage to my car when left there it was perfect condition then when picked up had a deep. 6 inch scratch all the way down to metal the doors r suicide doors and Daley could have only been chased when in his shop and when one of his drivers was driving and left door open at same time or hit it with a piece of equipment . The owner refuses to repair or pay for damages states not his problem. I will continue to place ads on google and help against his business till he steps up and pays for damages

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
In response to the complaint ****** ****** filed on his 1937 Chevy. # XXXXXXXX 1: In regards to the vehicle not being repaired properly. On July 10th. Mr. ****** brought his vehicle in for a leak. The speedometer housing was leaking, so we installed a new housing. On August 29th he brought the vehicle in as he had noticed a leak. We inspected the transmission and it was dry and the fluid was still full. We had just noticed some engine oil and brake fluid. When he came to pick up the vehicle, we put the vehicle up on the hoist to show him where we had noticed the other leaks and that the transmission was dry. We recommend for him to monitor it and if he noticed any transmission fluid leaking, we would recheck it for him. Mr. ****** had stopped by the shop a couple weeks later to say that he was still noticing a leak under the car and he was going to have a mobile mechanic come and look at it. I advised him that if it was the speedometer housing leaking that I would replace it or refund his money. I never heard from him again until this letter. We have no problem with refunding the money if this was the problem. 2: In regards to the complaint that the vehicle was damaged at our shop. Mr. ****** dropped the vehicle off in the morning as we opened. He parked the vehicle at the side of the shop. The vehicle was not road tested as we were just checking for a leak. The vehicle was taken to the 1st bay which is next to the car. This is the only bay with a drive on hoist that we can raise the vehicle with.When we pull a lowered vehicle on this hoist. We have a technician at the side and in the front to make sure everything clears the hoist .The vehicle was checked and parked back at the side until the customer picked up the vehicle. When we put the vehicle back up on the hoist to show the customer that the transmission was still dry and show him the other leaks. I asked him what had happened to the door since we had it in last. It wasn't closing properly and was scratched. He said the door was out of adjustment and not latching but the scratch wasn't there before. I had noticed the scratch when we first brought the vehicle in to check for leaks but didn't think anything of it as the door wasn't latching properly for the customer when he dropped it off and it was working fine when it was previously in the shop. I figured it was scratched from the door not latching properly. He said both him and his wife had wiped down the car before bringing it in and didn't notice it. Mr. ****** and I checked out the hoist and anything around it that could have made the scratch at that height. Neither Mr. ****** nor I could see anything that could have scratched the vehicle at that height as the hoist is very open around it with nothing within several feet. I reviewed our surveillance cameras with him and they did not show the vehicle where it was parked but showed the parking spot right next to it where the scratch was and no vehicles were parked next to it. I spent many hours trying to make sense of how it could have gotten scratched here. The area that is scratched is inset as there are running boards that stick out and the scratch appeared to be up and down and didn't appear to be dented in like something backed in to it. It appeared that the door would have had to be open when scratched. Mr. ****** later came down again and we could not see anywhere it could have happened here. He maintained that it was fine before bringing it in and wanted me to write him a check for the estimated amount as he new it had to have happened here. We have had a lot of hotrods in the shop over the years and take great care that they don't get damaged. I and John (who has been here for over 15 years) are the only ones that drive them. I just could not see how it was damaged in our shop. He was quite adamant that both he and his wife had inspected it, the morning before they brought it in, so I advised Mr. ****** to have it checked out by a body shop and maybe get an idea of how it could of got scratched in that manner and if they felt it could have been done at our shop to contact our insurance company. I gave him our insurance information and I have not heard any response. I am sorry that he feels as strongly as he does about our shop. We go to great lengths to make our customers happy and I feel that I have done everything we can in this matter. I am sure that our insurance company will take care of this matter if it is found that the damage was done at our shop. Please contact me at XXX-XXXX if you have any further questions. Thank You. ****** ******

Consumer's Final Response
1)First of all I am still getting fluid on my floor He never offered to refund any money. 2)As He stated he asked me about the damage after it went on the rack was panicked and back to the ramp when I came in to pick up the car. He never said anything about the damage after he put it on the rack to show me the leak. He stated on his letter that no car was parked next to my car He showed me a video and an SUV was backing in next to my drivers side He also showed me pulling into the parking place the video was not able to see me and the parking stall He stated he could have the security company blow up the video and see the driver side of my car but that was never done We think maybe owe at his employees hit it with a tranny? As far his insurance company he said he had a $1000 deductible and he wan not going to pay the $809 himself He said it was up to me to prove how it happened, How could I. I was not there. some one is not telling the truth.

Business' Final Response
In responce to the vehicle still having a leak. I am sending a check to Mr. Beard for a full refund of $134.31 today. In responce to the damage to his vehicle. I do not feel that there is any way that his vehicle could have been damaged at our shop or i would have had it repaired immediately. I have given Mr. Beard our insurance information and think it is best to have his insurance company work with ours to determine the cause of damage and resolve this issue.