BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A Plus Auto Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A Plus Auto Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A Plus Auto Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 04, 2011 Business started: 03/03/2003 Business started locally: 03/03/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Coung Lam, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Coung Lam, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Transmissions - Automobile

Products & Services

We specialize in major maintenance service, general repair, electrical problem, computer diagnosis, engine/transmission replacement, steering/suspension repair, brakes, exhaust system replacement and air conditioning service on all foreign and domestic vehicles.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business

Additional Locations

  • 1701 Del Paso Blvd

    Sacramento, CA 95815 (916) 550-1885

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
8/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Itook my honda Civic to have the Air Condition fix and the car air condition don't blow cold air its feels just like cool air. I took my car 2 times and he says its working good, but I can not drive my car in a very hot day because its too hot in the car regardless if the air condit is turn on!

Desired Settlement: I would like to have this company to return my money so I can have the air condit fix some place else

Business Response:

RE: Case Number ********

To whom it may concern:

On June 20, 2014, Ms. ******* came to our shop for an A/C system check due to her car only blew out hot air when the A/C fan’s on. I examined her A/C system and found out the A/C compressor was not working. I informed Ms. ******* the problem, then gave her an Est. of $750.00 for A/C compressor replacement and A/C system recharge. The car was finished the same day and A/C system was working well and blew nice cold air. Ms. ******* asked me if she could pay installment for the $750.00, and I said OK. 

About two weeks later, Ms. ******* told me over the phone that when she turned on the A/C, her car wants to die, so she had to turn off her A/C while driving. 

A few days later, when Ms. ******* came to the shop to pay her last installment payment, I checked her car, and A/C was blowing cold air. I asked her to leave the car with me, so I can check if anything wrong with her A/C system. But Ms. ******* refused. 

Couple of days later, Ms. ******* came to the shop again. This time she agreed to leave the car with me so I can find out what’s wrong.  However, within 30 minutes, she came back and told me that she needed the car and will return another day for me to check the problem. Before she left, I did a quick check of the temperature in front of her; the thermometer read 54F degree. 

I informed Ms. ******* both times that if there is something wrong with any of the works I’ve done or any of the parts that I put in her car; I would fix the problem at no costs for her. But in order for me to do so, I would need her to leave me the car. 

I’m a little confused regarding Ms. *******’s complaint: Is she complaining about the A/C system not working? Or is she complaining about the car wants to die when the A/C is on? If she is complaining the A/C system not working, the thermometer showed 54F degree at the shop; if she is complaining about the engine stalls problem, she hasn’t gave me a chance to diagnose the problem. 

Please let Ms. ******* know that we’re sorry that she is not satisfied with our services. Please give us a chance to take a look at her car. If there are any parts we put in have failed or any mistakes we’ve made, we’ll make sure to fix the problem at no costs. 

 

Thank you,

 

***** ** ***

A Plus Auto Repair

1701 Del Paso Blvd, Sacramento, CA. 95815 ###-###-####

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The general manager of this auto body store quoted me for the work I asked then called me and quoted me for additional work that I did not want done. This auto body general manager that goes by the initial "C" advertised auto work that I needed for my vehicle. I requested to the mechanic if he would perform the a change of a serpentine belt that I inquired for service. The mechanic acknowledged that he would perform the work. After I left the vehicle with him, he did not provide me with paperwork and rushed me out. Since it is an auto service station in my neighborhood, I didn't think I would have issues, but in the time of around 15 minutes, the general manager, "C" called me with an additional quote of roughly 300 dollars over the initial work that I requested. He explained to me that this work had to be done, and why I wouldn't have this work performed, as it was necessary in with the work that I requested. He did not perform a diagnostics for me to assume that any other work needed to be performed, and did not wish to perform any additional work other that what I requested. He requested that I pick up my car on the phone. When I had returned, I indicated to him that he did not give me a written service agreement, which he is required to do so by the State of California Department of Consumer Affairs, in accordance with the Automobile Repair Act of 1974, and did not. His practice was inflammitory, because he assigned to me for work that I did not request and without an intital service agreement, and then called me to request that additional work that I did not request must be performed, based on his knowledge of the vehicle, but without any explaination as to warranty or any liabilities (if any)that the auto shop may suffer in contrast to the work that I requested done. This general manger simply wanted to profit for work that he could perfrom on the vehicle, and not what I requested him to perform. He violated basic and practicing auto repair laws, and Consumer Laws by practicing in this manner. It is not fair.

Desired Settlement: This person is conducting a service for consumers in the City of Sacramento. His conduct with me was unprofessional and violated several laws which I can identify. I request for this business to please practice in a fair and safe manner, because violating such laws do not equal to running a business operation. Please practice laws in accordance to laws regarding to Consumer Affairs and California State laws concerning your business occupation, thank you.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Mr. ******'s statement is not correct. On November 8, 2012, Mr. ****** drove his 2007 VW Rabbit to my shop and requested me to replace one of his serpentine belts due to the belt was shredded. His car has two belts but he only provided me one. I agreed to charge him $65 labor only for install the belt. He agreed to the charge and signed the work order. I gave him the pink copy of the estimates and told him that I would call him when I'm finished with installing the belt. Mr. ****** left with his father. While I was working on Mr. ******'s car, I found out that the old belt that he wanted me to replace was shredded and caused by the serpentine belt tensioner pulley. I explained to Mr. ****** that he needed to replace the serpentine belt tensioner. Otherwise, no matter how many new belts he put in the car, they would all end up being shredded. I also told Mr. ****** that the cost to replace the serpentine belt tensioner would be around $300. Mr. ****** insisted over the phone that he wanted me to replace the belt only, without replacing the serpentine belt tensioner. Again I explained to him that installing a new belt with the bad serpentine belt tensioner would cut the new belt. Mr. ****** got upset and started shouting and speaking foul languages. As a small business owner, I reserve my right to refuse provide services to difficult customers. I told him that I'm not going to work on his car and please come to the shop and pick up your vehicle. Mr. ****** and his father made a scene at the shop while picking up the vehicle, and I ended up calling the police. I advised Mr. ****** the right thing to do base on my expertise in automotive and my recommendation was absolutely necessary. I'm operating my business with high integrity. So please help me look into this case. Thank you very much!

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This business owner has just falsified his position and any facts in this case. His response indicates that he provided me a work order, which he did not. There are major gaps in his statement, replying that he acknowledges that there was only one belt provided, yet he made a work order for the work that I was contracting him to do. The work that I specifically asked him to complete was not in Mr. C's agenda, instead, he provided me extra work and labor charges in the amount of 300.00 and an overall attitude that was a pressure tactic for me to have work performed on my vehicle that I did not request done. He claimed to call the police, and there were none at the scene when my father and I left, and he is lying to protect his image, which he probably recognizes as a result of his misuse of California Labor Statutes and Consumer Affairs Laws when it comes to this transaction. He simply will not conform to the matter that this dispute recognised him as impeding and is not acknowleding a simple outcome made by me to stop his practice from misleading the public again.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.