Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Silver Star Auto Sales

Phone: (916) 865-4043 643 Riverside Ave, Roseville, CA 95678 http://www.silverstarautosales.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Silver Star Auto Sales meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Silver Star Auto Sales include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Silver Star Auto Sales include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Silver Star Auto Sales
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 21, 2009 Business started: 11/01/2008 in CA Business started locally: 11/01/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing
2120 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818
http://dmv.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 657-8056
The number is 43728.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Souad Maadarani, Owner Mr. Tony Maadarani, Salesman Mrs. Mounir Madarani, Co-owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Souad Maadarani, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Tony Maadarani, Salesman
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Motorcycles - Dealers Recreational Vehicles - Dealers Trailer Sales

Products & Services

Silver Star Auto Sales specializes in new and used auto sales.

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • 643 Riverside Ave

    Roseville, CA 95678

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: VEHICLE WAS TRADED IN ON 12/27/2014 TO SILVER STAR AUTOSALES AND AS OF 03/10/2015 VEHICLE IS NOT PAID OF TO THE FINANCE COMPANY. I HAVE SPOKEN WITH THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY HAVE PROMISED TO SEND THE PAYOFF AND THE FINANCE COMPANY HAS SPOKEN WITH THE THE DEALER AND AGAIN THE DEALER PROMISED TO SEND THE PAYOFF. THEY HAVE FAILED TO DO SO. PHONE CALLS (TO THE DEALER) ARE EITHER AVOIDED OR I GET TOLD THAT THE MONEY IS BEING SENT, WHICH HAS NOT HAPPENED. THE FINANCE COMPANY HAS FULL UNDERSATNDING OF THE ISSUE YET CONTINUE TO CALL ME FOR THE MONEY DESPITE ME TRADING IN THE VEHICLE OVER 2 MONTHS AGO.

Desired Settlement: I WANT SILVERSTAR AUTOSALES TO PAY OFF THE VEHICLE AS PROMISED ON 12/27/2014 AND THE FINANCE COMPANY TO REMOVE ANY NEGATIVE IMPACT THIS HAS HAD ON MY CREDIT.

Consumer Response: Consumer states: The company did contact me and did offer to show me proof that payment was made. The company was responsive and resolved my issues.

2/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 18th I bought a vehicle, I put $4000 down test drove the car it had a pull to the left I was told it was ok, it's not it needs an alignment no big deal I love my van. A few weeks later I get a call I need to take my van to Dmv for a Vin check so they can register my car, So I left work to go to Dmv which we all know is a long process then I had to mail the paper down still not a big deal. Just after Christmas I get a phone call from Silver Star that I had to get my van smogged I live in Red Bluff 3.5hrs away from the car lot. I went to the local smog place to get it smogged because they were going to pay for it, which the smog place showed me on my purchase contract that I actually had already paid $50 smog fee. It gets worse because the smog requirements in the Roseville area are different then where I live my car could not get smogged up here the closest place is in Woodland, Ca over 100 miles away a 4.5 hr round trip. I asked the car lot what happens and the answer I got is I don't know why, well come to find out the smog was done in September so it had expired because they did not go to Dmv and register it to me in time. I expressed I had already lost time at work and now I would have to take a day off without pay, plus the cost of fuel which honestly I could not afford. I was told well we are paying for the smog. Never was I offered reimbursement for my cost, I could see if it was my mistake but it's not. It is the sellers responsibility to smog the vehicle before selling it, I missed a days pay, a tank of gas and still have to pay to get my car aligned.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed my cost for my wages I lost and the cost of fuel all together it is 201.78

Business Response:

 The vehicle was smogged before it was sold on the lot to the customer with receipt to show proof. After the ten day period to register the vehicle the DMV requested a VIN verification which requires the vehicle. We called the customer and explained the situation and she agreed to take it to the DMV and have it taken care of. After we received the paperwork we returned to the DMV to attempt and register the vehicle in her name where they requested a new smog of the vehicle. We again called the customer and explained the situation and she agreed that she would take the vehicle to the DMV and smog it and send it to us. We called over the phone to the smog shop and paid for it with a credit card with receipt to show proof. Customer agreed to helping us with these objectives to have the vehicle registered under her name. Their is no reason for me to have to meet a settlement over a dispute the customer has agreed to assist in and of course we happily gave her the time needed to get this handled.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:I was never happy about having to drive over hundred miles to get a vehicle smogged because they didn't take care of it in time it is not the customers responsibility only buy a car from the lot to have the vehicle smog and we're to have to drive two hours because they did not smog it in time or do the DMV paperwork in time I bought the vehicle November 18 the  original smog certificate was September 18 so if they would've taken the paperwork into DMV before the middle of December we wouldn't of had to do another smog they called over the phone with the credit card because they  know they had already charged me the $50 to do the smog never was I happy about it I do not feel I should of had to pay for the fuel and lose time at work to buy a vehicle from the car company I've never had that experience before and I will never recommend this car lot I believe the waiy it was done is against the law they should have come up here and gotten the car and on their own time and done it or done in a timely fashion I can check my cell phone records and I guarantee you they did not go there in time. i'm going to go to DMV tomorrow to look at the date of the Vin check because that is the first day that they had called me I did go locally do a smog shop and they couldn't do it and they advised me to look into my purchase contract and show that I paid a small fee which in the state of California the seller pays for the smog I will not ever give a good review this is not settled if I have to I will take legal action

Business Response: We explained the situation to the customer and we asked her politely if she could handle this and she said yes. She told us the day and time and we said whatever was to work for her. She agreed to take the vehicle to the smog shop where we paid with an over the phone credit card out of our pocket seeing as she was helping us. The vehicle was smogged before the time of sale and we have the paperwork to prove it and that is where the smog fee is supposed to be paid by customer as shown in the sales contract. We could have taken care of the smog check had she said she did not have the time or to do so but she never explained this to us she only said ok to it.

7/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2006 acura at silver star auto sales May 23rd 2014, the salesperson claimed the car was in excellent condition and maintenance work was done to the vehicle. Two days later I noticed the a/c was not blowing cold air, my husband called the salesperson on may 27th. He was told the car could be brought to the auto sales place and get checked but there would be a fee. We decided to have the diagnostic done locally since the auto sales place is an hour and a half to two hour drive. Days later I notice the oil is at 50% and I hear a grinding sound so I decide to take it for an oil change and to have it checked overall,the oil is very black which shows they did not service the car like they claimed they did. I needed to replace front and rear brakes, brake pads, and the ac hose is leaking. I called the car dealer and they claimed they had just changed the brakes and serviced it completely. The manager said I could take it back to have the oil changed but nothing else. I let him know I had already done the oil change since he took too long to call me back, he refused to pay for the oil change and brake change since my car was sold "as is" with no warranty. I asked for a copy of the service that was done to my vehicle and until today they have refused to send me a copy. My vehicle has a weak motor mount, it is leaking oil from the power steering and is leaking Freon from an ac hose.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the car and for the services I paid to have done to the vehicle since they refuse to pay for all needed repairs and are refusing to come to a fair agreement with me.I do not believe any service was done to the vehicle because there is no way my brakes could have gotten to the point where I needed to change them as well as the brake pads in less than a month. The same goes for the oil its impossible for my vehicle to need an oil change in less than a month.

Business Response:

to home it my concern case#******** ..name ********* ******... the customer is providing false information . we as a dealer make it a requirement to do safety and smog on all our vehicles before the sales . with no exception.. the customer name , ***** ***** , he purchase the 2006 Acura tsx on 05/23/2014 with  100.xxx, miles and he was also advised that he can have the car checked out by his mechanic if he want before the sales was made . but he refused to do so being as he comfortable with the vehicles . we helped him get financed by one of our lender he didn't pay cash  this amount for the car this amount include intrest and finance charge ,, the car he purchased was serviced and the oil was good . and the brakes were 70%. customer drove the car and he check everything before he but the vehicles ..  he drove the car over 1000. miles and then his wife she call two week later complaining about the brake and the oil being dirty,.. when she contacted us we tried to help her out by having her come to our shop so we can have the car inspected by our certified mechanic . but she refused to do so and took her car to a local shop near her house to get the work done . she right the oil was 50% after over thousand mile and the shop has send a copy of her invoice and it shows that at time of the repairs the brake  were at over 50% and she authorized them to change her brake and rotors unnecessarily ,. we provided an offer to the customer to try and help her of kind gesture but she refused and never come in to have us check it out .. ( the customer when he check the car he sign the sheet and he has a copy ) if you have any question call as @ ###-###-####.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: no offer was made to me. I called 3 to 4 days after I bought the car concerning my ac. The reason why I approved the repairs is because I didn't not want to make a two hour drive knowing I have no oil and bad breaks. I bought the car on a Friday night and could not have it checked until 3-4 days later which is when I called and they offered to fix my ac problem with a fee. I have been paying for the repairs needed and am waiting on repairs that need to be made. This needs to be resolved as soon as possible because it is ridiculous for me to have just bought a car and have to be making thousand dollar repairs on a vehicle I just bought. There is no way  my brakes can go bad to the point of needing new rotors in 2 weeks. It is not safe for me to be driving my vehicle with the current problems it is having. This is not the first time this business has this type of problem so maybe the business should be further investigated.

3/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought 2004 WRX Subaru from dealer on Friday, 11/22/13. On the way home check engine light came on. I drove it to Subaru dealership. They did a diagnostic on it and found it to be very bad (see attached). I let there and it died. I towed it home cause dealer was closed - I towed it back to dealer the next open day Monday 11/25/13. He refuses to check it, take it back or even give me his last name or info on the owner. I have five days to return the vehicle, I only had it two hours before it broke down. I gave him a check for 16,000 for a broken car. The Subaru dealer said there is no way this car past smog or safety without certain part they were removed.

Desired Settlement: He needs to take car back and return money. It was less than 24 hrs - he committed fraud!!

Business Response: After reading the customers complaint, nearly all of the facts that they have stated have been fabricated in their favor, and I have evidence to prove that. The vehicle under question was inspected and smogged. This vehicle is not only safe but driving perfectly fine as well. The mechanic confirmed that everything internal was brand new and basically the car was ready for another 60,000 miles without any problems. (According to the mechanic everything internal has to be replaced about every 60-80k because of the vehicle type and model, which is made for track racing and drifting; a 2004 Subaru WRX *STI* AWD  turbo - not a regular car.) The customer test drove the car twice before going into the office in order to fill out and complete the paper work to make the car his own. He seemed incredibly excited about the purchase of the car because he knew he was getting a good deal and stated that the vehicle was running smoothly. He also mentioned the Subaru drove better than all the other cars he had test driven. 

At the time of signing the contract and all of the paper work, the car-fax was shown to ******* and his uncle - whom he brought with him since his father was not present at the time the documents were explained thoroughly. The customer was told the vehicle is sold As-Is, and they told me that they are familiar with all the paper work and information due to the fact that they have been in the car business for over 20 years. The customer was offered a contract cancelation to which they politely declined, explaining it was just another way for dealers to make more money! The deal was completed and the customer drove off the lot.

Unfortunately, after 3 days, on the 21st of November 2013, the customer called back saying they want their money back and they don't want the car anymore. Which we then replied with, "The vehicle was sold as is and the only way you could return the car is if you bought the contract cancelation option which you had declined because you did not want to pay the extra $500." After the customer hung up the phone, his uncle called back 5 days later claiming that the vehicle is not running and they want to return the car back with a full refund. At this point the car is no longer running! It is not a brand new car; it is a used car with a mileage of 117,000 and is not a great choice for an 18 year old kid. After dropping the car off at the mechanics down the street, the mechanic called us extremely shocked with the condition of the vehicle. The mechanic could not even believe what happened. He explained to us that the engine was blown, the clutch was gone, and the front lower end was all scratched up - possibly had been hit! It's very obvious that the vehicle was abused. If evidence is needed, we have all of the proper documents available to confirm this.

3/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THE VEHICLE I PURCHASED (FINANCED) WAS TOWED BY CHP FOR VIN VERIFICATION. On December 27th 2012 I PURCHASED 2004 GMC YUKON FROM MIKE. HE SAID I WILL HAVE MY LICENSE PLATES IN A FEW WEEKS. ON FEBUARY 15TH CHP PULLED VEHICLE OVER FOR NO LICENCE PLATES. WHEN CHP DONE A VIN CHECK WITH DMV THE VIN # COMES BACK WITH MULTI VEHICLES. CHP SAID THE VEHICLE ALSO DOES NOT HAVE THE STICKER ON INSIDE ON DOOR PANNEL FOR VIN AND VEHICLE CONFERMATION. CHP SAID THE VEHICLE HAS TO BE TOWED AND HAS TO GO INTO POLICE EVIDANCE TO DO A VIN VERIFICATION WITH DMV. POLICE SAID THIS IS CALLED (CAR CLOINING).CHP SAID EAITHER WAY IF MY VEHICLE IS THE GOOD LIGIT VEHICLE IT SHOULD OF NOT BEEN SOLD CAUSE DEALER BOUGHT FROM AUCTION AND DID NOT DO EVERYTHING WITH DMV BEFORE SALING IT. IF VEHICLE IS THE STOLEN ONE THEN I AM OUT AOF A VEHICLE COPS WILL HOLD IT FOR EVIDANCE AND THEN EVENTALLY GIVEN BACK TO OWNERS. IF I DO GET VEHICLE BACK ALSO I WILL HAVE TO PAY FOR ALL FEES TO GET OUT OF TOW YARD. IF IT IS STOLEN THEN I AM OUT OF MY DOWN PAYMENT AND AS OF RIGHT NOW I HAVE MISSED WORK AND HAVE NO WAY TO GET MY KIDS TO SCHOOL OR WORK. I CALLED DEALER THE DAY AFTER THIS HAPPEND. I TOLD HIM THAT I NEED A RENTAL VEHICLE OR A LIGIT VEHICLE TO DRIVE SO I DONT MISS WORK ETC.. TIL THIS IS RESOLVED. I ALSO TOLD HIM THAT IF MY VEHICLE CHECKS OUT OKAY HE NEEDS TO PAY FOR INPOUND FEES DUE TO THIS BEING HIS ERROR AND VEHICLE WAS NOT CORRECTLY CHECK OUT AND DONE PROPERLY WITH DMV.I ALSO ADVISED HIM I WILL SHOW HIM THE POLICE REPORT AND INPOUND INFORMATION. HE DECLINED HE WAS VERY RUDE AND HE TOLD ME HE IS NOT PAYING FOR ANYTHING THIS IS MY PROBLEM AND IF I WANT A RENTAL VEHICLE I WILL PAY FOR IT MYSELF. HE SAID HE WILL NOT PAY FOR IT TO GET OUT OF INPOUND. I ASLO ASKED HIM WHAT IF MY VEHICLE IS THE STOLEN ONE THEN WHAT. HE SAID HE WILL NOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. SO NOW IM OUT OF MY MONEY AND NO VEHICLE I DONT HAVE ANY CHOICE BUT TO TRY TO GET A RENT A CAR AT MY EXPENSE AND DO NOT HAVE MONEY FOR ANOTHER DOWN PAYMENT. THE ONLY THING CHP SAID I CAN DO IS TAKE LEGAL ACTION TO TRY TO GET MY MONEY BACK WHICH CAN TAKE A LONG TIME. MIKE WILL NOW NOT RETURN MY PHONE CALLS.

Desired Settlement: ALL I WOULD LIKE IS FOR THIS TO BE RESOLVED AND FOR HIM TO GET THIS CLEARED UP IN A PROFESSIONAL MANNER. I WOULD LIKE TO HAVE A VEHICLE TO DRIVE IN MEAN TIME AND HIM TO PAY FOR INPOUND AND ANY EXPENSE I AM OUT. IF THE VEHILCE CHECK OUT TO BE STOLDEN I WANT MY DOWN PAYMENT BACK TO START OVER.IF MY VEHILCE IS ALSO STOLEN OUTHER CONSUMERS NEED TO BE AWARE OF THIS DEALER AND HOW THEY OPERATE.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
to home it my concern,,. my name **** i work in silver star auto sales as a salsmen and i sold the car for ****** ****** and the car we but from the auction and i have all the pepper work for the car. since day one i purches this car i post fees on dmv and i have the titel by hand i can fax copy for you with the dmv post fees so when ****** call me i told her im gana call the chp to see what is the prablem and i com back to you so next day i stop by chp offic and i check out abaut the car sam day i call her she did not answer my phone becouse the car its ok and she can pick up the car any time but since day one she but the car she did not have the down payment she still owes me 500$ from the down payment and evry time i call her she nevar answer my phone and evry time i liva a massig for her she never call back so when she have the car stop she call.. any way i call her two time to ask her how she want to pickup her car she did not answer how im gana dell with customer his not respons and buy the way she have the car from two days and she did not call me she pickup the car pecouse the car clean and clear with the dmv thank you if you have any quation please call as @ XXX-XXX-XXXX

10/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The finance company declined the Auto loan but the Dealership does not want to return my trade in vehicle unless I pay him $250.00 After the finance company declined the auto loan, due to the salesman "****" did not include my trade in car on the contract but states I gave him $1500.00 in cash. which I did not, I asked prior to even speaking to finance company why my car was not listed and was told by the salesman "****" to tell the bank that I did give him this money. I did not do as "****" told me to do but told the truth to the finance company,which they denied the finacing. I took his car back to him and gave him the key but then "****" says I have to sign new contract if not I have to pay him for contract cancellation or restock fee which is $250.00. I did not sign a new contract and he "****" now has both cars and told me to sue him to get my car back and that he would put this on my credit report. As of right now I have no car at all and work 15-20 miles away from home. I do not think this is fair at all!!!

Desired Settlement: I want my 1992 Ford Taurus SHO vehicle back in the same condition I left it, due to he called me a couple days after to ask me for my car door unlock code due to he broke the key off in the ignition.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Company states that they have already given the consumer back her Ford Taurus. They also state that they made the repairs to the ignition spending around $300 for those repairs.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) To start atacking my character by saying I was not pleasant is definitely the wrong way to go, The entirety of the companies response is incorrect and I had so many problems with this company which I have faxed documentation that I have sent to them, and the way they handled my first time auto loan was just horrid. I am the one who was actually yelled at by the sales rep ****** once he found out that I would not sign another contract. I, not one time ever talked to anyone in a non professional manner. I totally felt threatened by your reps action and brought my fiance with me when I returned the vehicle, at which the sales rep ******, cursed, and threatened to not only keep the bmw but also my car, I did not even get my car back the day I brought the other car back, I had to seek legal councel due to I was told I could not have my car back unless I paid $250.00 after seeking legal councel were I beleive the reps escalated this to their supervisor and we able to actually deal with another rep Tony. Whom eventually came to the store and handled the issue. Now I have always used my keyless entry to get into my car and only till recently did I try to use both keys that were given to me but they do not work. I do not trust this company to fix my car key entry and at this point I will have pay for the repair myself and submit my bill to Silver Star Auto sales. After all that has happened there is no way I would trust to bring my car back to this place. Thank you.

Business' Final Response
my name mike m im the owner for silver star auto and ****** ****** case #XXXXXXXX the finance ask for 1500$ and she did not have this amount she have her car as downe payment of 1500$ so we take her car after two days the financ thay declinher we call the customer and we tell her what happen so she come pag with the car bmw at this time i was nt on the office was ****** ther so the way she take to him is not nice and any way we tell her about the key and we fix the key for her and the one he made the key he chekit with the door and the egnition at this time and was work fine i dont ander stand whay she say the key is not work and i dont ander stand whay she complain we was nice with her and we do as much we can to keep the customer happy one moor time we do nat charg,, ****** ******,,any thing and we fix her car right pecouse the lock smith guy he cheeck the key more then tree time in door and egnition any way if you have any quation please feel free to call me or email me thank you