BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Silver Star Auto Sales meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Silver Star Auto Sales include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Silver Star Auto Sales
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 21, 2009 Business started: 11/01/2008 Business started locally: 11/01/2008
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing
2120 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818
http://dmv.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 657-8056

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Souad Maadarani, Owner Mrs. Mounir Madarani, Co-owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Souad Maadarani, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Motorcycles - Dealers Recreational Vehicles - Dealers Trailer Sales

Products & Services

Silver Star Auto Sales specializes in new and used auto sales.

Industry Tips
Car Buyer’s Bill of Rights:

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2006 acura at silver star auto sales May 23rd 2014, the salesperson claimed the car was in excellent condition and maintenance work was done to the vehicle. Two days later I noticed the a/c was not blowing cold air, my husband called the salesperson on may 27th. He was told the car could be brought to the auto sales place and get checked but there would be a fee. We decided to have the diagnostic done locally since the auto sales place is an hour and a half to two hour drive. Days later I notice the oil is at 50% and I hear a grinding sound so I decide to take it for an oil change and to have it checked overall,the oil is very black which shows they did not service the car like they claimed they did. I needed to replace front and rear brakes, brake pads, and the ac hose is leaking. I called the car dealer and they claimed they had just changed the brakes and serviced it completely. The manager said I could take it back to have the oil changed but nothing else. I let him know I had already done the oil change since he took too long to call me back, he refused to pay for the oil change and brake change since my car was sold "as is" with no warranty. I asked for a copy of the service that was done to my vehicle and until today they have refused to send me a copy. My vehicle has a weak motor mount, it is leaking oil from the power steering and is leaking Freon from an ac hose.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the car and for the services I paid to have done to the vehicle since they refuse to pay for all needed repairs and are refusing to come to a fair agreement with me.I do not believe any service was done to the vehicle because there is no way my brakes could have gotten to the point where I needed to change them as well as the brake pads in less than a month. The same goes for the oil its impossible for my vehicle to need an oil change in less than a month.

Business Response:

to home it my concern case#******** ..name ********* ******... the customer is providing false information . we as a dealer make it a requirement to do safety and smog on all our vehicles before the sales . with no exception.. the customer name , ***** ***** , he purchase the 2006 Acura tsx on 05/23/2014 with  100.xxx, miles and he was also advised that he can have the car checked out by his mechanic if he want before the sales was made . but he refused to do so being as he comfortable with the vehicles . we helped him get financed by one of our lender he didn't pay cash  this amount for the car this amount include intrest and finance charge ,, the car he purchased was serviced and the oil was good . and the brakes were 70%. customer drove the car and he check everything before he but the vehicles ..  he drove the car over 1000. miles and then his wife she call two week later complaining about the brake and the oil being dirty,.. when she contacted us we tried to help her out by having her come to our shop so we can have the car inspected by our certified mechanic . but she refused to do so and took her car to a local shop near her house to get the work done . she right the oil was 50% after over thousand mile and the shop has send a copy of her invoice and it shows that at time of the repairs the brake  were at over 50% and she authorized them to change her brake and rotors unnecessarily ,. we provided an offer to the customer to try and help her of kind gesture but she refused and never come in to have us check it out .. ( the customer when he check the car he sign the sheet and he has a copy ) if you have any question call as @ ###-###-####.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: no offer was made to me. I called 3 to 4 days after I bought the car concerning my ac. The reason why I approved the repairs is because I didn't not want to make a two hour drive knowing I have no oil and bad breaks. I bought the car on a Friday night and could not have it checked until 3-4 days later which is when I called and they offered to fix my ac problem with a fee. I have been paying for the repairs needed and am waiting on repairs that need to be made. This needs to be resolved as soon as possible because it is ridiculous for me to have just bought a car and have to be making thousand dollar repairs on a vehicle I just bought. There is no way  my brakes can go bad to the point of needing new rotors in 2 weeks. It is not safe for me to be driving my vehicle with the current problems it is having. This is not the first time this business has this type of problem so maybe the business should be further investigated.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought 2004 WRX Subaru from dealer on Friday, 11/22/13. On the way home check engine light came on. I drove it to Subaru dealership. They did a diagnostic on it and found it to be very bad (see attached). I let there and it died. I towed it home cause dealer was closed - I towed it back to dealer the next open day Monday 11/25/13. He refuses to check it, take it back or even give me his last name or info on the owner. I have five days to return the vehicle, I only had it two hours before it broke down. I gave him a check for 16,000 for a broken car. The Subaru dealer said there is no way this car past smog or safety without certain part they were removed.

Desired Settlement: He needs to take car back and return money. It was less than 24 hrs - he committed fraud!!

Business Response: After reading the customers complaint, nearly all of the facts that they have stated have been fabricated in their favor, and I have evidence to prove that. The vehicle under question was inspected and smogged. This vehicle is not only safe but driving perfectly fine as well. The mechanic confirmed that everything internal was brand new and basically the car was ready for another 60,000 miles without any problems. (According to the mechanic everything internal has to be replaced about every 60-80k because of the vehicle type and model, which is made for track racing and drifting; a 2004 Subaru WRX *STI* AWD  turbo - not a regular car.) The customer test drove the car twice before going into the office in order to fill out and complete the paper work to make the car his own. He seemed incredibly excited about the purchase of the car because he knew he was getting a good deal and stated that the vehicle was running smoothly. He also mentioned the Subaru drove better than all the other cars he had test driven. 

At the time of signing the contract and all of the paper work, the car-fax was shown to ******* and his uncle - whom he brought with him since his father was not present at the time the documents were explained thoroughly. The customer was told the vehicle is sold As-Is, and they told me that they are familiar with all the paper work and information due to the fact that they have been in the car business for over 20 years. The customer was offered a contract cancelation to which they politely declined, explaining it was just another way for dealers to make more money! The deal was completed and the customer drove off the lot.

Unfortunately, after 3 days, on the 21st of November 2013, the customer called back saying they want their money back and they don't want the car anymore. Which we then replied with, "The vehicle was sold as is and the only way you could return the car is if you bought the contract cancelation option which you had declined because you did not want to pay the extra $500." After the customer hung up the phone, his uncle called back 5 days later claiming that the vehicle is not running and they want to return the car back with a full refund. At this point the car is no longer running! It is not a brand new car; it is a used car with a mileage of 117,000 and is not a great choice for an 18 year old kid. After dropping the car off at the mechanics down the street, the mechanic called us extremely shocked with the condition of the vehicle. The mechanic could not even believe what happened. He explained to us that the engine was blown, the clutch was gone, and the front lower end was all scratched up - possibly had been hit! It's very obvious that the vehicle was abused. If evidence is needed, we have all of the proper documents available to confirm this.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THE VEHICLE I PURCHASED (FINANCED) WAS TOWED BY CHP FOR VIN VERIFICATION. On December 27th 2012 I PURCHASED 2004 GMC YUKON FROM MIKE. HE SAID I WILL HAVE MY LICENSE PLATES IN A FEW WEEKS. ON FEBUARY 15TH CHP PULLED VEHICLE OVER FOR NO LICENCE PLATES. WHEN CHP DONE A VIN CHECK WITH DMV THE VIN # COMES BACK WITH MULTI VEHICLES. CHP SAID THE VEHICLE ALSO DOES NOT HAVE THE STICKER ON INSIDE ON DOOR PANNEL FOR VIN AND VEHICLE CONFERMATION. CHP SAID THE VEHICLE HAS TO BE TOWED AND HAS TO GO INTO POLICE EVIDANCE TO DO A VIN VERIFICATION WITH DMV. POLICE SAID THIS IS CALLED (CAR CLOINING).CHP SAID EAITHER WAY IF MY VEHICLE IS THE GOOD LIGIT VEHICLE IT SHOULD OF NOT BEEN SOLD CAUSE DEALER BOUGHT FROM AUCTION AND DID NOT DO EVERYTHING WITH DMV BEFORE SALING IT. IF VEHICLE IS THE STOLEN ONE THEN I AM OUT AOF A VEHICLE COPS WILL HOLD IT FOR EVIDANCE AND THEN EVENTALLY GIVEN BACK TO OWNERS. IF I DO GET VEHICLE BACK ALSO I WILL HAVE TO PAY FOR ALL FEES TO GET OUT OF TOW YARD. IF IT IS STOLEN THEN I AM OUT OF MY DOWN PAYMENT AND AS OF RIGHT NOW I HAVE MISSED WORK AND HAVE NO WAY TO GET MY KIDS TO SCHOOL OR WORK. I CALLED DEALER THE DAY AFTER THIS HAPPEND. I TOLD HIM THAT I NEED A RENTAL VEHICLE OR A LIGIT VEHICLE TO DRIVE SO I DONT MISS WORK ETC.. TIL THIS IS RESOLVED. I ALSO TOLD HIM THAT IF MY VEHICLE CHECKS OUT OKAY HE NEEDS TO PAY FOR INPOUND FEES DUE TO THIS BEING HIS ERROR AND VEHICLE WAS NOT CORRECTLY CHECK OUT AND DONE PROPERLY WITH DMV.I ALSO ADVISED HIM I WILL SHOW HIM THE POLICE REPORT AND INPOUND INFORMATION. HE DECLINED HE WAS VERY RUDE AND HE TOLD ME HE IS NOT PAYING FOR ANYTHING THIS IS MY PROBLEM AND IF I WANT A RENTAL VEHICLE I WILL PAY FOR IT MYSELF. HE SAID HE WILL NOT PAY FOR IT TO GET OUT OF INPOUND. I ASLO ASKED HIM WHAT IF MY VEHICLE IS THE STOLEN ONE THEN WHAT. HE SAID HE WILL NOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. SO NOW IM OUT OF MY MONEY AND NO VEHICLE I DONT HAVE ANY CHOICE BUT TO TRY TO GET A RENT A CAR AT MY EXPENSE AND DO NOT HAVE MONEY FOR ANOTHER DOWN PAYMENT. THE ONLY THING CHP SAID I CAN DO IS TAKE LEGAL ACTION TO TRY TO GET MY MONEY BACK WHICH CAN TAKE A LONG TIME. MIKE WILL NOW NOT RETURN MY PHONE CALLS.

Desired Settlement: ALL I WOULD LIKE IS FOR THIS TO BE RESOLVED AND FOR HIM TO GET THIS CLEARED UP IN A PROFESSIONAL MANNER. I WOULD LIKE TO HAVE A VEHICLE TO DRIVE IN MEAN TIME AND HIM TO PAY FOR INPOUND AND ANY EXPENSE I AM OUT. IF THE VEHILCE CHECK OUT TO BE STOLDEN I WANT MY DOWN PAYMENT BACK TO START OVER.IF MY VEHILCE IS ALSO STOLEN OUTHER CONSUMERS NEED TO BE AWARE OF THIS DEALER AND HOW THEY OPERATE.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
to home it my concern,,. my name **** i work in silver star auto sales as a salsmen and i sold the car for ****** ****** and the car we but from the auction and i have all the pepper work for the car. since day one i purches this car i post fees on dmv and i have the titel by hand i can fax copy for you with the dmv post fees so when ****** call me i told her im gana call the chp to see what is the prablem and i com back to you so next day i stop by chp offic and i check out abaut the car sam day i call her she did not answer my phone becouse the car its ok and she can pick up the car any time but since day one she but the car she did not have the down payment she still owes me 500$ from the down payment and evry time i call her she nevar answer my phone and evry time i liva a massig for her she never call back so when she have the car stop she call.. any way i call her two time to ask her how she want to pickup her car she did not answer how im gana dell with customer his not respons and buy the way she have the car from two days and she did not call me she pickup the car pecouse the car clean and clear with the dmv thank you if you have any quation please call as @ XXX-XXX-XXXX

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The finance company declined the Auto loan but the Dealership does not want to return my trade in vehicle unless I pay him $250.00 After the finance company declined the auto loan, due to the salesman "****" did not include my trade in car on the contract but states I gave him $1500.00 in cash. which I did not, I asked prior to even speaking to finance company why my car was not listed and was told by the salesman "****" to tell the bank that I did give him this money. I did not do as "****" told me to do but told the truth to the finance company,which they denied the finacing. I took his car back to him and gave him the key but then "****" says I have to sign new contract if not I have to pay him for contract cancellation or restock fee which is $250.00. I did not sign a new contract and he "****" now has both cars and told me to sue him to get my car back and that he would put this on my credit report. As of right now I have no car at all and work 15-20 miles away from home. I do not think this is fair at all!!!

Desired Settlement: I want my 1992 Ford Taurus SHO vehicle back in the same condition I left it, due to he called me a couple days after to ask me for my car door unlock code due to he broke the key off in the ignition.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Company states that they have already given the consumer back her Ford Taurus. They also state that they made the repairs to the ignition spending around $300 for those repairs.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) To start atacking my character by saying I was not pleasant is definitely the wrong way to go, The entirety of the companies response is incorrect and I had so many problems with this company which I have faxed documentation that I have sent to them, and the way they handled my first time auto loan was just horrid. I am the one who was actually yelled at by the sales rep ****** once he found out that I would not sign another contract. I, not one time ever talked to anyone in a non professional manner. I totally felt threatened by your reps action and brought my fiance with me when I returned the vehicle, at which the sales rep ******, cursed, and threatened to not only keep the bmw but also my car, I did not even get my car back the day I brought the other car back, I had to seek legal councel due to I was told I could not have my car back unless I paid $250.00 after seeking legal councel were I beleive the reps escalated this to their supervisor and we able to actually deal with another rep Tony. Whom eventually came to the store and handled the issue. Now I have always used my keyless entry to get into my car and only till recently did I try to use both keys that were given to me but they do not work. I do not trust this company to fix my car key entry and at this point I will have pay for the repair myself and submit my bill to Silver Star Auto sales. After all that has happened there is no way I would trust to bring my car back to this place. Thank you.

Business' Final Response
my name mike m im the owner for silver star auto and ****** ****** case #XXXXXXXX the finance ask for 1500$ and she did not have this amount she have her car as downe payment of 1500$ so we take her car after two days the financ thay declinher we call the customer and we tell her what happen so she come pag with the car bmw at this time i was nt on the office was ****** ther so the way she take to him is not nice and any way we tell her about the key and we fix the key for her and the one he made the key he chekit with the door and the egnition at this time and was work fine i dont ander stand whay she say the key is not work and i dont ander stand whay she complain we was nice with her and we do as much we can to keep the customer happy one moor time we do nat charg,, ****** ******,,any thing and we fix her car right pecouse the lock smith guy he cheeck the key more then tree time in door and egnition any way if you have any quation please feel free to call me or email me thank you

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1