BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

This Business is not BBB accredited

Mike Daugherty Auto Center

Phone: (916) 684-9501 View Additional Phone Numbers 9501 E Stockton Blvd, Elk Grove, CA 95624 http://www.gomikescars.com View Additional Web Addresses ! Mike Daugherty Auto Center is Believed to Be Out of Business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mike Daugherty Auto Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 03, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1955 Business started locally: 01/01/1955 Business incorporated: 05/19/1988 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael D. Daugherty, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael D. Daugherty, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Daugherty & Daugherty, Inc. Hummer of Sacramento Mike Daugherty Chevrolet Geo
Products & Services

Mike Daugherty Auto Center is a a pre-owned automotive sales and service facility.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9501 E Stockton Blvd

    Elk Grove, CA 95624 (916) 684-9501 (916) 482-1600

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 482-1600(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.facebook.com/pages/Mike-Daugherty-Auto-Center/124805897600340
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

According to information in BBB files, it appears that this business is no longer in business.


Complaint Detail(s)

9/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: dealership failed to pay off my trade in and now my bank is contacting me threatening to send me to collections which will hurt my credit rating problem and purchase date are 6/11/13. car purchased is a 2006 hummer h3 car traded in was 2008 chrysler 300. sales rep was **** and owner is mike daugherty. the pay off amount we agreed to is $12,100 which they were suppose to pay to ********************* as stated in the release of liability paperwork. I traded my 2008 chrysler 300 for a 2006 hummer H3 on 6/11/2013 to mike daugherty and worked with his sales rep named ****, they agreed to pay off my old vehicle to ********************* in the amount of $12,100. it has been almost 2 months and the dealership is now closed but mike daugherty and i are still in contact, he constantly lies and tells me it will be taken care of the next day and all of them have been false promises. i have all signed contracts and paperwork from the purchase stating that he will pay it off. I have gone to the dealership multiple times as well as called and texted him daily. I just want him to pay off my old car in the full amount he agreed to or give it back to me and take the new car back since the contract has been breached by him, my bank is also telling me that now I have to pay for the late payment fee of $16 and on day 30 of the past due it will affect my credit. **** is telling me he is waiting to pay off my car when he sells it, however I don't think he can sell the car until it is paid off otherwise he is selling it without proper paperwork from the bank and he can possibly be hurting another buyer. I can not afford a lawyer at this time and just need some advice on what to do. I was advised to contact the DA. at this time I have not contacted anyone else about this but I plan to contact the local news and possibly an attorney if that's my last option.

Desired Settlement: I only agreed to the new loan on my 2006 hummer because he agreed to pay off my 2008 chrysler 300, I want him to either take this car back and pay it off or pay off the 300 as promised before it starts affecting my credit which will happen very soon. he has breached the contract I would rather just get my old car back and get rid of this one due to his terrible business practices.

8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Entered into consignment agreement w/Mike Daugherty 08/12. Vehicle was sold Lien on vehicle not paid off per agreement. New owners don't have title. On 08/02/12 I entered into a consignment agreement with Mike Daugherty Auto Center to sell my family's 2004 Winnebego Vectra RV. The agreed upon value of the RV was $75,000 at the time of the sale, Mike Daugherty was to pay $75,000 to pay off the lien. The RV was sold to a third party for an undisclosed amount. It was at that time that Mike Daugherty Auto Center was to pay off the $75,000 remaining portion of the lien in order to pay it off and transfer the title to the new owners. Several weeks went by with no payment and I began to get phone calls from the lien holder *********** regarding a late payment. I contacted Mike ********* personally by phone and on multiple visits to his dealership and he assured me that the lien would be paid off. In December he assured me the loan would be paid by December 31,, 2012. On January 02, Mike Daugherty informed me that the lien had been paid off. I requested a copy of the check, picked it up, and when I opened it, the payment made to ********* was only $40,000, not the full $75,000 balance of the loan. It was at this time I contacted Mike Daugherty personally and requested the rest of the amount due for the loan and he stated to me as he had on multiple occasions that he was having "tax problems" with the IRS, and he would "get it taken care of." This back and forth communication with him went on by multiple phone calls and visits to the dealership with the same excuses throughout the month of January, and on February 7, 2013 I received a hand written note from Mike Daugherty personally agreeing to pay the balance of the loan (Approximately $35,000) by February 28, 2013 (see attached). It was also in February that I began receiving notices from the California Department of Motor Vehicles that the registration had been suspended on the RV (see attached). I provided copies of the suspension notices to Mike Daugherty, and again he re-assured me it would be "taken care of." I also asked him if the buyers of the RV had been requesting the title, and he said that they had. On March 5, 2013 a payment was made to ********* by Mike Daugherty Auto Center with a check that was dated 02/16/13 (see attached). In April I began receiving calls from ********* regarding a late payment. Upon speaking with ********** I was notified that the check that was written by Mike Daugherty Auto Center bounced, and now the payment was past due. It was at this point that I visited Mike Daugherty Auto Center and confronted Mike Daugherty about the bounced check. He stated that he knew that the check had bounced, and when asked why I was not contacted, he offered no valid explanation and again stated that he "would take care of it". In May of 2013, I continued to have contact in person and via telephone with discussions regarding when the loan would be paid off. Due to my frustration of having to deal with Mike Daugherty's continued business misconduct and dishonesty I finally retained the services of an attorney. My attorney and I visited Mike Daugherty on May 17, 2013 to request payment for the RV. He finally stated to my attorney that he would give me a check on June 1, 2013, which was a Saturday, so we agreed that Monday June 3, 2013 would be fine. On Sunday June 2, 2013, my attorney received a phone call from Mike Daugherty that he secured a loan to pay off my loan, but wouldn't be able to pay on Monday June 3, 2013 due to having to provide his 2012 tax statements which he had not filed. But he said that he would have the payment on Friday June 7, 2013. Since August of last year, Mike Daugherty has not conducted business in an honest, law abiding manner, and even committing a crime by writing a bad check. He has not abided by the consignment agreement, and committed a felony by knowingly writing a bad check. He also gave the new owners Dealer Plates to use on the RV to they drive it without registering it which is also illegal.

Desired Settlement: The lien paid off, title given to new owners, Mike Daugherty Auto Center prosecuted for unlawful conduct, wrongful business practices, writing bad checks, illegal use of dealer plates.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Please accept this as confirmation that the balance was paid in full and title was cleared 7/8/2013. Customer is aware of this.

12/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought 2006 Hummer H3 90 days ago August XX XXXX ,Paid Cash Still no Title or Lic. DMV has no record of sale,as of Nov. 20th,2012 . Bought 2006 Hummer H3 on August XX XXXX ,as of Nov. 28 2012 still no Cert. of Title or Lic. Tags, DMV has no Record of Sale as of Nov. XX XXXX, Told Me to talk to Mike Daughtery ,I did, He's No help,He said Its DMV there Slow, My ife Debbie Got pulled over by a Motorofficer, and got warned not to drive the Hummer without lic. on veh. Our 90 day tag on windshield is up on the 31st of this month,now she wont drive the Hummer.

Desired Settlement: I want my Title/Lic.Tags as ASAP

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
When the customer initially brought his concern to our attention, we pulled the DMV transmittal showing paperwork and fees sent to DMV on 9/26/12. We showed this to the customer and said we would look into the delay. The delay was a result of incomplete or inaccurate paperwork from the vehicle's prior repossession. We communicated this to the customer. We made two trips to the customer's residence to ensure the vehicle remained 100% legal to operate. We also paid an additional $1400 in uncollected DMV fees that, while legal to collect from the customer, we did not believe it would be right to do so. We have had numerous conversations updating the customer and have been working to resolve this issue as quickly as possible.

9/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: GAP Insurance Policy was Refunded to **** ****** Chevrolet on 7/3/12 and they have not sent it to Finance Company I contacted **** ****** Chevrolet in April 2012 To get a refund on my GAP Insurance Policy. According to the GAP Insurance Company they sent **** ****** Chevrolet the refund on 7/3/12 but **** ****** Chevrolet has not sent it to the finance company ****************************. I have sent email and left messages for ****** ******* who was handling the refund and he has not responded to my calls or emails. Today there has been no money received by Chase bank for the GAP Refund.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that ****** ****** Chevrolet send the GAP Refund to ****** as per the contract agreement.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Company states that he mailed the consumer all the documentation. Her insurance had told her that she would get $600 back even though the vehicle was bought over five (5) years ago. The company only received $3.51 back but sent the lender $83.94, which is what they asked for. The company states that he spoke with the consumer a few days ago and that she stated that everything was good.