This business is not BBB accredited.

M&S Motors, Inc.

Phone: (209) 466-7686 Fax: (209) 451-4724 303 N Wilson Way, Stockton, CA 95205

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for M&S Motors, Inc. include:

  • Failure to respond to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to have a required competency license

Factors that raised the rating for M&S Motors, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on M&S Motors, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 05, 2000 Business started: 08/31/1998 Business started locally: 08/31/1998 Business incorporated 04/29/2011 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing
2120 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818
Phone Number: (916) 657-8056
The number is 48892. BBB confirmed that M&S Motors, Inc. had not obtained a necessary license from CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing.

DMV Occupational Licensing
2415 First Ave., Mail Station F101 , Sacramento CA 95818-2606
Phone Number: (800) 777-0133
The number is 83491.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Jan Frazier, Controller Mr. Mario Munez, Management
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Mario Munez, Management
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
M&S Discount Motors M/S Motor INC
Products & Services

This company offers the sale of preowned autos.

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations


    303 N Wilson Way

    Stockton, CA 95205


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/29/15 I went to M&S motor looking at vehicles I seen a truck I though was a good work truck but not really sure.I asked all the questions I thought I needed to ask if for some reason I'm not happy with the truck one of the questions I asked was if I decide I wasn't happy with the vehicle can I take it back and the sales man said yes, an said it would be a $250 fee for returning the vehicle, so then my next question was how long do I have to change my mind his exact words was 30days. So I drove the truck home a couple of miles from the dealership while driving home I didn't like the way it was driving, at that moment I knew I didn't want to keep the truck and I would have took the truck right back but the dealership was already closing when I drove off the lot around 7-7:30pm. So on my way to work I went to take the truck back @9am 14hrs later I was told the financial adviser wasn't going to be there until 11am. I went to work and returned on my lunch break and that's when he came up with I can't get a refund because of California law and he can keep the whole $1500 dollars which none of this was told or explained to me.because if it had I would had never signed.The adviser kept all the paperwork and truck I don't remember the name of sales person's or contact numbers

Desired Settlement: $1250 dollars

Business Response: Small Claims Court. Issue resolved.

8/3/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I, **** ** **** ******, traded my vehicle in for a 07' ***** Charger at M&S back on April 5, 2014. They informed me that I would be receiving my tags and registration in the mail a month from the trade. A month later I received a parking ticket in the mail, because an employee of M&S Motors was driving the car I traded in around town. The car was apparently still under my name, and the ticket was mailed to me. I went to the dealership to talk to them about it, I was told not to worry because they were going to submit the paperwork to DMV. This was back in May of this year, I have yet to receive my registration and tags. I have tried calling the dealership but the manager gives me the run around each time I call, she tells me not to worry because I have 90 days to receive it. I went in to the dealership back in June again, and I was told they had yet to submit the paper work. I need my registration in order to insure my vehicle, the manager does not seem to care or ever willing to answer my questions. It has been past 90 days and still no registration. I have checked with DMV, they have not received anything from them. My wife has also tried to get answers, the manager has been extremely rude to her, told her she was no one and did not need to give her any explanations. I called 07/17/2014 to get answers, but the manager hung up on me and wouldn't answer my questions.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the dealership to submit the paper work to the Department of Motor Vehicles. I am fed up with dealing with them and not getting answers. The manager and her employees have poor customer service skills, they are rude and hang up on people when they don't want to answer questions regarding their contracts.

Business Response: Registration was completed, and on behalf of M&S Motors Inc would like to apologize for any unprofessional employees. We have a zero tolerance for employees whom do not display the proper customer service.

8/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The staff ( mechanic) at the dealership that works on the Van stole a bag full of my Indian jewelries (necklaces, earrings,and rings) that was given to me from my husband in backseat of my van.

Desired Settlement: I want them to give me my jewelries back. If they are not able to give me my jewelries back then I would like for them to pay $ 2,000.00

Business Response: After reviewing the complaint it was established that our mechanic did not remove anything from the customers van.

4/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: i bought a car from the company, and i paid for my tags and registration when i paid for the car; (approximately $300) however, they did neither of those two actions. after i got pulled over and told that the dealership plates had to go, i was wondering what was taking m&s motors so long with my tags and registration (approximately 6 months have passed). i ended up paying for my tags and registration all out of my own pocket and the company told me to bring them a receipt when i did so. so i did. and they told me i would receive a check for the difference from them within a week. two months later and after several phone calls to the company they finally told me to come and pick up a check, and it was for 70$ nothing close to what i paid to the company and to the dmv. anyways, my car gets broken into the week after i picked the check up. i call them the morning after my car gets broken into and tell them to cancel the check. they did, or so i was lead to believe. its about to be going on the 6th month after the break in and they still have not reissued a check. i call them bi weekly the last couple of times I've called, they've answered, got my name, and told me they would call me back. i have not received a phone call from them since the original check was issued.

Desired Settlement: i want my money back for one the original check and for two i need some type of compensation for the time that i spent calling these company ive went directly to them multiple times and getting the run around for about 6 months. I've been trying to get this check since i realized i had over paid and there claiming that they're waiting for a police officer to finish up her investigation and the truth is that officer has no idea about it, originally they were waiting for the owner to sign thr chec

1/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a vehicle on November 3, 2013, the made a promise in writting they would fix what was causing the check engine light to come on. They had my vehicle for over a month, I have been paying for my insurance on the car and monthly payments but I don't have my vehicle. I brought this vehicle to this company multiple times they gave me false dates as to when the vehicle should be done. They waited three days after taking my vehicle for the third time to give me a loaner car. One worker told me that if I did not bring the loaner car back within a week I would have to pay an extra $25 a day whether my vehicle is fixed or not. Also, when I received the vehicle on the third of December, the car was still not fixed and they refused to take it til the ninth so now I don't have my vehicle nor a loaner vehicle.

Desired Settlement: They should pay me back for everything I spent on the car because it was never fixed and I still have no transportation. I paid payments and insurance and don't have a car which is not fair.

1/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Did not specify that the truck was a salvage, i was told that the truck was purchased from the auto auction. i ask them at time of purchase if it was a salvage and they told me no it was a auto auction purchase. i have complained about the transmission leak,that it has had from the beginning, and nothing has yet to be done.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of purchases price, taxes on purchases price.

10/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sold me a car with an engine that was no good. I kept taking the car to them adn they kept saying there was nothing wrong with it. Engine kept over heating.They putting it off until the 30 day warranty expired please help me to make things right. And I shouldn't have to pay any money for the engine. They need to correct the problem. They knew the engine wasn't any good. And they still went and sold it with an engine that was over heating. I want $5000. for a new engine or I want my down payment back with the contract torn up.

Desired Settlement: That they would give me another good car or fix the whole engine and pay for it themselfs. They need to make things right, and that's not meaning selling me a car with an engine that is no good.

7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On may XX XXXX Was at M&S to buy a care i was looking at a white Toyota Corolla 2008 was opilling and I made transaction and sign two pieces of paper and went home but as I was taking to some of my matter and price it will cause me they inform me that the it was way to high so or bath 1 hr and 45 min of signing the paperwork to M & S motor I went back to get my money So I ask the sale clerk about the price and interest was too high for my budget he informed me he was not authorize so come the next day X-XX-XX and talk to the manager and it will not be a problem at all

Desired Settlement: That M&S Motor will give me back my down payment plus some extra amount for their harassment and verbal abuse and negative put down and language

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
On May 27th 2013 Miss ****** ****** came to our dealership M&S Motors Inc interested in purchasing a vehicle After test driving several vehicles Miss ****** decided that the only one she was interested in buying was a 2008 Toyota Corolla of which she was informed on price and also an approximated payment After going over the numbers (price rate monthly payment and term etc) She decided it was the right car for her After explaining all documents which there was over 24 different ones and getting around 54 signatures from Miss ****** (not two pieces of paper like is stating on her complaint) she decided to move forward with the transaction Later that day Miss ****** came back to the dealership telling the sales representative that she wasn't comfortable with the car deal Our sales representative explained to her that in the State of California there is NO Cooling off period unless you obtain a "contract cancellation option" Which was offered at the time of the sale but was refused by Miss ****** She was than advised to come back the next day when the General Manger was in the office On May 28th 2013 Miss ****** came in with her father to speak with the General Manager at that time her father was explained that there is No cooling off period Miss Hayters father was explaining how HE wasn't satisfied with the vehicle his daughter had purchased After explaining all paperwork to her father we decided that if the issue was the vehicle we could give them the opportunity of finding a different one that they would feel comfortable with After looking around our car lot they couldn't fin anything that would satisfy her fathers expectations that due to credit history were limited They decided to go home and talk about either keeping the Toyota that she had purchased or switching it for a different one About 1 hr later a man shows up to the dealership yelling screaming using offensive language and demanding to speak with the manager The general Manager introduced himself to him and he claimed to be Miss ****** ******* brother He was asked to please calm down so we can sit down and have a conversation like normal people but he wouldn't listen and kept using very offensive language AT that point he was asked to please bring Miss ****** if he wanted to discus any details or issues regarding her purchase but he kept being loud and disrespectful making it a very unpleasant experience for the people who at that time were at the dealership M&S Motors Inc resolution will be that Miss ****** ****** will get a complete refund of her down payment we understand that in a case like this when a customer cant make a decision or is being manipulated by different family members makes it difficult However we do not agree with paying a "extra amount"

Consumer's Final Response
I don't think that its fair that M&S Motor has to only give me 200.00 hundred they already me to wait and not just that they gave me the run around. They already not wanting to give me my refund. I think they should have to pay in full.

Business' Final Response
Is my understanding the Miss ****** ****** has collected $1300.00 from us thru her bank, M & S Motors Inc has no problem returning all money to her. We had a check ready for her since June 3rd of 2013 for the amount of $1500.00. Now that she has collected $1300.00 of $1500.00 that she gave us in total, we only owe her $200.00 which she can come and get from us at any time. We have been very respectful, never harassed, hurt or aggravated her in any way.

1/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Engine is a different year of the vehicle I purchased. The vehicle I thought I purchased is a 2002 Ford Mustang recently I had to have some repairs done to my vehicle such as the alternator went out I called *** in Oakland, Ca to purchase an alternator for a 2002 Ford Mustang as the repair guy tried to replace the old alternator with the new one for some reason it didn't fit. I thought the Customer Service Rep at *** had given me the wrong part so I called the *** and the CS Rep advised to bring the old and new alternator in he searched and searched then discovered himself pulling the same alternator from the 2000 Ford Mustang shelve and advised that I get my engined checked regarding the year come to find out I have a 2000 engine in a 2002 Ford Mustang and how I am having an Electrical problem with vehicle and or the vehicle is currently not working at this moment due to a major electrical problem I have only had this car for a 1 1/2 year within the time being I have had to replace the water pump, alternator and battery now I'm stuck with the car payments.

Desired Settlement: All I am asking is for my engine to be replaced with the same year as the year of my vehicle and maybe that's the reason for my electrical wire problem.

12/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I boought a 05 dodge ram. They said it was a dependable car, but the truck is very undependable. When I test drove the car i noticed that there was the check engine light and check gauges light on. They said that they would fix it if I bought the truck.I agreed. They had the car for about a week. when I got the truck back I drove it for about a few days and i noticed the truck was leaking oil and the check gauges light came back on along with the check engine light.I took the truck to another mechanic they found out that the oil pump was at fault and the damage has been done to the engine. I had to get the engine replaced. After that I get some new rims for the car, I noticed that there was a wobble in the rear wheels, I take it in and find out that the rear axle was bent. I am now in process of taking care of the axle issue. They told me that this truck was dependable that's why i bought it.We signed a sheet that states the truck has passed a complete inspection and every thing was good. But every thing was far from good.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking at least 70% of my down payment back. On there car add it clearly states that your job is your down payment. So why did I have to give them 5,800. We signed a sheet that states the truck has passed a complete inspection and every thing was good. But it was far from that.