Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Kareem Auto Sales Inc.

Phone: (916) 482-3900 Fax: (916) 482-2900   http://www.kareemautosales.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kareem Auto Sales Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kareem Auto Sales Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Kareem Auto Sales Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 06, 2010 Business started: 03/15/2009 in CA Business started locally: 03/15/2009 Business incorporated 03/15/2013 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV Occupational Licensing
2415 First Ave., Mail Station F101 , Sacramento CA 95818-2606
http://www.dmv.ca.gov/olinq2/welcome.do
Phone Number: (800) 777-0133
The number is 83468.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Salah Meqbel, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Salah Meqbel, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Kareem Auto Sales
Products & Services

Kareem Auto Sales offers a large selection of vehicles, cars ,vans, suv's, and pickup trucks.

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Kareem Auto Sales Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview
X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was told at the time I bought the used car it would not be an issue to get fix

Desired Settlement: Fix faulty windowFix massive fluid leakFix safety issues

Business Response: Hello,

Please call me at ###-###-#### so that I can get more information and address this situation.

Regards, **

Consumer Response: Consumer states: The company has contacted me and resolved my issues.

4/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Back in September 2014 i bought a car through kareen auto sales for $19,500 it was a ***** 1s250 vin:(***** ****** ******) upon looking at the car i saw no major scratches. i took their word when i asked, "has there been or does the car have a noticeable damage due to a car accident?" the man answered "no, i checked the DMV and ******" and showed me a clean ******. next week i saw the damage on the back which he did not let me see because the cars where parked very close to each other. that i did not have the option of even examining that part of the bumper on the day i bought it. I tried calling and going in with no response. I even threatened to cancel the contract, but they told me it was too late. i even bought an extended warranty with them and they did not want to fix it that way. now its April and Im frustrated by the fact that last month i bought a new insurance with ********* and they told me that back in 2012 it was reported to the dmv that there was a car accident. that means that the car was and is worth less now and i got ripped off and lied to by the dealership. on top of that i had to change the water pump on my car, which was not covered by the insurance to diagnose. and when the warranty was over the problem lead me to ***** with a $1700 payment. lastly, after i bought the car they did such a bad detail that they ruined my cars paint. i came to this conclusion because there was evidence of compound all over the palce, along with white residue. im 100% sure that was not there when i bought the car and waited an hour and a half to get my insurance across the street. ive tryed to call with no response. even have went in with the simple, "sorry hes not here" or "sorry we cant do anything about it, you should of been more aware" On the positive side, the car has been fun and reliable.

Desired Settlement: i would like to receive a full or at least a refund for the Depreciation to my car and the damage received. i would consider having them fix the problems at hand. Plus a refund of the useless warranty i bough off them.

Business Response: Hello Mr. *********

We try our best to ensure the satisfaction of our customer’s before and after the sale. We definitely do not like hearing about unhappy customers. It’s unfortunate that you feel this way . I would like to share our side of this transaction and reply to all of your concerns step by step. Perhaps after you read our viewpoint you will come to the conclusion that we did everything possible to give you a positive experience.

1. The car was sold for $18,002.91 + tax/lic. We were asking $18,700, but discounted ($697.09) the vehicle in order to facilitate the sale.

2. As a service to our customer we provide free ******’s for all of our vehicles. We are not required to disclose history, however as a good faith gesture to our customer we try to be as transparent as possible. We still have a copy of the ****** that we gave you. It clearly indicates a 1-owner vehicle and No accident/damage reported. I do not think that you are aware of how ****** works. The DMV has not been reporting an accident since 2012 otherwise the ****** would not be clear. ****** searches and purchase information from all types of sources. Sometimes accidents, transfers, services don’t show up immediately. I think you are better off filing a complaint with ******. Attached is a copy of the ****** printed at that time.

3. I think most people would find it hard to believe that you were not given the opportunity to fully inspect the vehicle you were purchasing. For instance, after your test drive, I assume that you did not park it back in such a tight place out of fear of colliding with another vehicle. After your test drive you didn’t walk around the vehicle? Pop the hood? 

4. Warranties do not cover diagnostic costs up-front. You have to pay for a diagnostic to determine what the issue is and if your warranty will cover it. You purchased a 90 day power train warranty backed by ***** ***** for $300. Warranty Solutions is the best Used Auto Service Contract provider available. From what I understand of your statement you did not want to pay the $120 that it would take to diagnose an issue that would have been covered by your service contract and in consequence the water pump failed after the service contract expired. That was a bad decision on your end. If you had paid for the diagnostic, the service contract could have refunded you the cost of the diagnostic as well as the entire service. We are not at fault for that. Furthermore, you purchased a vehicle with 68k miles, a water pump service would have been in your near future anyways. 

Furthermore, water pump replacements do not cost $1700. Here is a link to repair pal, the very first site that popped up in my goodle search of lexus IS water pump service. They state the average costs for this service is between $387 - $483. I’m sorry if you over-paid that much for a water pump replacement.  

Here is the link:     

**********************************************************************

5. We do not do detail’s after the sale. Period. The only thing we might do after the sales is have the dust washed off. The Detail shop that we use is professional and services all the Dealer’s in our area. 

I agree with your last statement “the car has been fun and reliable”.

Take Care.

4/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased GAP insurance through Kareem Auto in Sept of 2014. The cancellation policy allowed for a prorated cancellation of the contract at any point. I requested a refund on December 17, 2014 and again on March 1, 2015. The refund was to be sent to ***** ***** Dealer Services and nothing has been received nor have I gotten any response from Kareem Auto. The credit should be in the amount of approx. $636.49.

Desired Settlement: I would like the requested refund processed.

Business Response: Hello,

We just checked with Wells Fargo. They posted the Gap refund of $586.49 on March 12th. You can verify by calling customer service at ###-###-####. The cancellation was dated for Dec. 17, 2014. If you would like to see a copy of the check or the invoice date from the Gap provider please come in to the dealership and speak to Fahad.

Best Regards, **

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

11/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased this used vehicle with my PREGNANT wife and I on 8/12/2014,The dealer stated that all their used cars to include this 2002 ****** ***are run through their contracted mechanics and inspected to have no major problemsleaks, etc... even showed us the inspection sheet. We traded in our perfectly good**** ***** *** type-S because the intent of this purchase was for a SAFE,RELIABLE, 4-doorlarger car for our expanding family, with this being our first child. The dealer sold usthe car for 1500$ above value due to its appraised "excellent" condition,took our trade infor 1000$ below value. Upon the conclusion of our used vehicle purchase the handling sales manager when inquired about the extended warranty, that we purchased, strangely advised us not to file any claims under 30 days of owning the car because they would deem the problems as pre-existing conditions. Needless to say at 27 days i took the car in because i saw there was transmission fluid sprayed up underneath the car and it had a burning smell.I had the certified ****** Dealer Fairfield do an inspection, and they found a mass of problems wrong with the car, to include, Valve Cover Gaskets Blown,Shift Shaft Collar worn,Shift seal failure, DANGEROUS excessive play in linkage, power steering pump leaking, ALL the drive belts and timing belt dried and cracked (specifically verbally by dealer stated to have been inspected and in good condition), PCV valve leaking, all fluids (brake power, power steering etc) dirty, MAIN shaft seal leaking. What they dont tell you about your warranty is an Certified vehicle inspector comes out for a claim, which he did, and deemed the problems LONG TERM/PRE-EXISTING, therefore denied coverage. Upon approaching KAREEM AUTO SALES INC. The manager stated "Used cars are going to have leaks", and it is not their problem, and kept repeating deafly "its a simple oil leak" and he would get me a "good price on repairs at THEIR contracted mechanic". Car is at dealer in no condition to operate 2 months now.

Desired Settlement: Full refund and undoing of the whole car contract (purchased for $10000) and giving me my old car back and paying diagnostic and inspection fees (835.56), Or They pay for the complete repairs to the ******, which was more than i can even list in the description above,that was sold to me which is more than we even owe on it (over 6000$ in repairs) plus diagnostic and inspection fees (835.56).

Business Response: Summary
Mr. *** was sold a  2002 ****** WRX on 8/12/2014. The vehicle drove “fine“, as attested by Mr. *** during the test drive. Mr. *** declared that he had extensive knowledge of these vehicles and determined that this vehicle in particular was functioning excellently.  A few weeks after the sale Mr. *** told our manager that he inspected the vehicle at a service shop. According to Mr. ***, his main concern was an alleged oil leak.  This vehicle was sold as-is. For the sake of  demonstrating our excellent customer service policies our manager told Mr. *** that we would have the repair made at a shop that we regularly do business with, at our expense. We also offered the alternative option to forgive Mr. *** his deferred payment of $500 so that he can take have the repair completed at a shop of his choosing. Mr. *** refused.

Detailed Response:
“all their used cars to include this 2002 ****** WRXare run through their contracted mechanics and inspected to have no major problemsleaks, etc..
Agreed - We do inspections on all of our vehicles. As per your claim, a leak was discovered “27” days AFTER the sale. 
“We traded in our perfectly good2004 Acura RSX type-S”
Disagree - This vehicle needed extensive mechanical and body work in order for it to meet our standards for resale.
“The dealer sold usthe car for 1500$ above value due to its appraised "excellent" condition”
Disagree - Not only do we disagree, this sentence is deliberately misleading. How does one determine market value on a popular 12 year old vehicle? KBB? NADA? EDMUNDS.COM? This is an example of how KBB works cited by www.howstuffworks.com. Page 6. 

"It isn't very difficult for Kelley to find the MSRP and dealer invoice prices for new cars."
"Kelley Blue Book doesn't provide a similar value for used cars, because there is no practical way to track used car sales."
"Are the Kelley values rock-solid? They are a good starting point and a good way to make sure that you aren't ripped off, but many variables can affect a car's value. If you have the only light blue 1998 ******* ***** ** for sale in the state, and someone really wants that specific car and color, you can probably get a better price than the Blue Book value. If a large number of similar vehicles are put up for sale in your area at the same time, prices will generally be lower than Blue Book. Although these variables are countless, they all follow the law of supply and demand -- the more people want something, and the fewer there are to buy, the more they'll be willing to pay for it." 
Dealers sell cars in frontline ready condition, there is no difference between excellent or good in KBB retail lending value. You bought a sporty, manual AWD ******. A highly sought after unit. When you came in you acknowledged that you found us online and determined that we had the “best deal available”. You were not a local customer. You traveled all they way from they BAY AREA to purchase a vehicle from us. Logically, one would have to wonder if we were in fact so far over market value, Why did you buy the vehicle? My conclusion is that you found are vehicle to be priced best in the market. 
“,took our trade infor 1000$ below value”
Disagree - As a matter of fact, based on KBB (since that seems like what you are using) your vehicle was in fair - poor condition (once again, trade-ins are appraised on conditions, not retail units), the $6000 that we paid for your 2004 (10 years old!) 151k mile! vehicle was above it’s market value. 
“strangely advised us not to file any claims under 30 days”
Disagree - No one advised you to wait 30 days, the warranty that you purchase is active from the purchase date. As a courtesy and sign of our commitment to superior customer service our customers are given business cards and told to call if they have any problems or questions within 24hrs of purchase.
“****** Dealer Fairfield do an inspection, and they found a mass of problems”
Franchise Dealerships make much of their profit in the service section convincing uninformed consumers that their vehicles are “dangerous” in need of “massive overhaul”.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
-"we would have the repair made at a shop that we regularly do business
with, at OUR EXPENSE."
 Disagree-That is a straight lie, they never offered for any kinds of repairs at their expense, they offered to "get ME a good price on repairs at their contracted shop" never was it offered to pay for the
repairs otherwise it would have been resolved already. And "main transmission seal, and shift shaft collar replacement is hardly just "an oil leak"

-"This vehicle (my trade in) needed extensive mechanical and body work in
order for it to meet our standards for resale."
 Disagree-it needed new seats due to tears in the leather, and had fading paint (i have old before pictures so you can see the before condition),
thats hardly extensive mechanical work the motor and transmission and entire drivetrain are in perfectly sound condition.

-"Mr. *** declared that he had extensive knowledge of these vehicles" 
Disagree- "I said i had owned one before, that hardly qualifies as
extensive knowledge" i am not a factory trained ****** Technician.

-“,took our trade infor 1000$ below value” 
Disagree - As a matter of fact, based on KBB (since that seems like what you
are using) your vehicle was in fair - poor condition (once again, trade-ins are appraised on conditions, not retail units), the $6000
that we paid for your 2004 (10 years old!) 151k mile! vehicle was above it’s market value. 
-Disagree "my vehicle had 94k miles, here it is *********************************************************************************************************************** so
you should make sure your talking about the right vehicle when references are cited by being accurate. (It even says the mileage on the sales paperwork as well). Appraised trade in value was 7500$ but minus 1000$ for a paint job and minus 500$ for seats equaling 6000$ which as you can see what they are selling it for. Which is more than the amount the vehicle we purchased from them.

- "No one advised you to wait 30 days",
Disagree- this is a lie because the associate did advise this to us in a semi serious tone with a direct statement when questioned about the warranty

-"Franchise Dealerships make much of their profit in the service section
convincing uninformed consumers that their vehicles are “dangerous”
in need of “massive overhaul”."
Disagree-
****** of Fairfield has an extensive track record of excellent
business practices, as in they have performed many repairs at ZERO
cost to their customers along the lines of "massive overhaul" so
that is improper to state that ****** of Fairfield as well as ALL dealerships have unethical business
practices. When i have a first hand account of great service
complete with paperwork that they have repaired on one of our vehicles
at ZERO cost.

8/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a nice 2004 Volvo XC90 from Kareem Auto Sales in May 2014. Al and the other staff were great to do business with. The paint on the car was in very good condition with only a few minor blemishes. Al offered us the Cilajet Surface Protection for an additional $649.00 plus tax.We liked the outstanding shine and protection offered so we added it to our purchase.The Cilajet was installed by ***** at our home on May 28 2014. Later we noticed water spots and the Cilajet finish was not shiny we contacted ***** then ***** and then Kareem's to have it corrected. On July 10 2014 we took the car to Kareem's to have the Cilajet fixed by ***** and *****. When we got the car back the water spots were still there and the paint now has fine swirl pattern scratches all over the car. I took photos and sent them to ** and ***** at Kareem's on July 14 2014. There has no response from them yet on how they want to resolve this.I also sent the photos to **** at Cilajet LLC, 20924 Normandie Ave. Torrance, CA 90502 to ask for help and to get the business address of ***** the Cilaget agent for the Sacramento area.There has been no help from Cilajet either. See photos on ******** *******************************************

Desired Settlement: Requesting refund of Cilajet purchase price $704.16 $649.00 plus tax $55.16 Repair of damaged paint and trim estimated at $1500.00

Consumer Response: Please remove this complaint because iit has been satisfied.
Thank you for your help.
**** ***********