Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Kareem Auto Sales Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Kareem Auto Sales Inc.

Phone: (916) 482-3900 Fax: (916) 482-2900   http://www.kareemautosales.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kareem Auto Sales Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kareem Auto Sales Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Kareem Auto Sales Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 06, 2010 Business started: 03/15/2009 in CA Business started locally: 03/15/2009 Business incorporated: 03/15/2013 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV Occupational Licensing
2415 First Ave., Mail Station F101 , Sacramento CA 95818-2606
http://www.dmv.ca.gov/olinq2/welcome.do
Phone Number: (800) 777-0133
The number is 83468.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Salah Meqbel, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Salah Meqbel, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Kareem Auto Sales
Products & Services

Kareem Auto Sales offers a large selection of vehicles, cars ,vans, suv's, and pickup trucks.

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Kareem Auto Sales Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses


Complaint Detail(s)

11/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased this used vehicle with my PREGNANT wife and I on 8/12/2014,The dealer stated that all their used cars to include this 2002 ****** ***are run through their contracted mechanics and inspected to have no major problemsleaks, etc... even showed us the inspection sheet. We traded in our perfectly good**** ***** *** type-S because the intent of this purchase was for a SAFE,RELIABLE, 4-doorlarger car for our expanding family, with this being our first child. The dealer sold usthe car for 1500$ above value due to its appraised "excellent" condition,took our trade infor 1000$ below value. Upon the conclusion of our used vehicle purchase the handling sales manager when inquired about the extended warranty, that we purchased, strangely advised us not to file any claims under 30 days of owning the car because they would deem the problems as pre-existing conditions. Needless to say at 27 days i took the car in because i saw there was transmission fluid sprayed up underneath the car and it had a burning smell.I had the certified ****** Dealer Fairfield do an inspection, and they found a mass of problems wrong with the car, to include, Valve Cover Gaskets Blown,Shift Shaft Collar worn,Shift seal failure, DANGEROUS excessive play in linkage, power steering pump leaking, ALL the drive belts and timing belt dried and cracked (specifically verbally by dealer stated to have been inspected and in good condition), PCV valve leaking, all fluids (brake power, power steering etc) dirty, MAIN shaft seal leaking. What they dont tell you about your warranty is an Certified vehicle inspector comes out for a claim, which he did, and deemed the problems LONG TERM/PRE-EXISTING, therefore denied coverage. Upon approaching KAREEM AUTO SALES INC. The manager stated "Used cars are going to have leaks", and it is not their problem, and kept repeating deafly "its a simple oil leak" and he would get me a "good price on repairs at THEIR contracted mechanic". Car is at dealer in no condition to operate 2 months now.

Desired Settlement: Full refund and undoing of the whole car contract (purchased for $10000) and giving me my old car back and paying diagnostic and inspection fees (835.56), Or They pay for the complete repairs to the ******, which was more than i can even list in the description above,that was sold to me which is more than we even owe on it (over 6000$ in repairs) plus diagnostic and inspection fees (835.56).

Business Response: Summary
Mr. *** was sold a  2002 ****** WRX on 8/12/2014. The vehicle drove “fine“, as attested by Mr. *** during the test drive. Mr. *** declared that he had extensive knowledge of these vehicles and determined that this vehicle in particular was functioning excellently.  A few weeks after the sale Mr. *** told our manager that he inspected the vehicle at a service shop. According to Mr. ***, his main concern was an alleged oil leak.  This vehicle was sold as-is. For the sake of  demonstrating our excellent customer service policies our manager told Mr. *** that we would have the repair made at a shop that we regularly do business with, at our expense. We also offered the alternative option to forgive Mr. *** his deferred payment of $500 so that he can take have the repair completed at a shop of his choosing. Mr. *** refused.

Detailed Response:
“all their used cars to include this 2002 ****** WRXare run through their contracted mechanics and inspected to have no major problemsleaks, etc..
Agreed - We do inspections on all of our vehicles. As per your claim, a leak was discovered “27” days AFTER the sale. 
“We traded in our perfectly good2004 Acura RSX type-S”
Disagree - This vehicle needed extensive mechanical and body work in order for it to meet our standards for resale.
“The dealer sold usthe car for 1500$ above value due to its appraised "excellent" condition”
Disagree - Not only do we disagree, this sentence is deliberately misleading. How does one determine market value on a popular 12 year old vehicle? KBB? NADA? EDMUNDS.COM? This is an example of how KBB works cited by www.howstuffworks.com. Page 6. 

"It isn't very difficult for Kelley to find the MSRP and dealer invoice prices for new cars."
"Kelley Blue Book doesn't provide a similar value for used cars, because there is no practical way to track used car sales."
"Are the Kelley values rock-solid? They are a good starting point and a good way to make sure that you aren't ripped off, but many variables can affect a car's value. If you have the only light blue 1998 ******* ***** ** for sale in the state, and someone really wants that specific car and color, you can probably get a better price than the Blue Book value. If a large number of similar vehicles are put up for sale in your area at the same time, prices will generally be lower than Blue Book. Although these variables are countless, they all follow the law of supply and demand -- the more people want something, and the fewer there are to buy, the more they'll be willing to pay for it." 
Dealers sell cars in frontline ready condition, there is no difference between excellent or good in KBB retail lending value. You bought a sporty, manual AWD ******. A highly sought after unit. When you came in you acknowledged that you found us online and determined that we had the “best deal available”. You were not a local customer. You traveled all they way from they BAY AREA to purchase a vehicle from us. Logically, one would have to wonder if we were in fact so far over market value, Why did you buy the vehicle? My conclusion is that you found are vehicle to be priced best in the market. 
“,took our trade infor 1000$ below value”
Disagree - As a matter of fact, based on KBB (since that seems like what you are using) your vehicle was in fair - poor condition (once again, trade-ins are appraised on conditions, not retail units), the $6000 that we paid for your 2004 (10 years old!) 151k mile! vehicle was above it’s market value. 
“strangely advised us not to file any claims under 30 days”
Disagree - No one advised you to wait 30 days, the warranty that you purchase is active from the purchase date. As a courtesy and sign of our commitment to superior customer service our customers are given business cards and told to call if they have any problems or questions within 24hrs of purchase.
“****** Dealer Fairfield do an inspection, and they found a mass of problems”
Franchise Dealerships make much of their profit in the service section convincing uninformed consumers that their vehicles are “dangerous” in need of “massive overhaul”.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
-"we would have the repair made at a shop that we regularly do business
with, at OUR EXPENSE."
 Disagree-That is a straight lie, they never offered for any kinds of repairs at their expense, they offered to "get ME a good price on repairs at their contracted shop" never was it offered to pay for the
repairs otherwise it would have been resolved already. And "main transmission seal, and shift shaft collar replacement is hardly just "an oil leak"

-"This vehicle (my trade in) needed extensive mechanical and body work in
order for it to meet our standards for resale."
 Disagree-it needed new seats due to tears in the leather, and had fading paint (i have old before pictures so you can see the before condition),
thats hardly extensive mechanical work the motor and transmission and entire drivetrain are in perfectly sound condition.

-"Mr. *** declared that he had extensive knowledge of these vehicles" 
Disagree- "I said i had owned one before, that hardly qualifies as
extensive knowledge" i am not a factory trained ****** Technician.

-“,took our trade infor 1000$ below value” 
Disagree - As a matter of fact, based on KBB (since that seems like what you
are using) your vehicle was in fair - poor condition (once again, trade-ins are appraised on conditions, not retail units), the $6000
that we paid for your 2004 (10 years old!) 151k mile! vehicle was above it’s market value. 
-Disagree "my vehicle had 94k miles, here it is *********************************************************************************************************************** so
you should make sure your talking about the right vehicle when references are cited by being accurate. (It even says the mileage on the sales paperwork as well). Appraised trade in value was 7500$ but minus 1000$ for a paint job and minus 500$ for seats equaling 6000$ which as you can see what they are selling it for. Which is more than the amount the vehicle we purchased from them.

- "No one advised you to wait 30 days",
Disagree- this is a lie because the associate did advise this to us in a semi serious tone with a direct statement when questioned about the warranty

-"Franchise Dealerships make much of their profit in the service section
convincing uninformed consumers that their vehicles are “dangerous”
in need of “massive overhaul”."
Disagree-
****** of Fairfield has an extensive track record of excellent
business practices, as in they have performed many repairs at ZERO
cost to their customers along the lines of "massive overhaul" so
that is improper to state that ****** of Fairfield as well as ALL dealerships have unethical business
practices. When i have a first hand account of great service
complete with paperwork that they have repaired on one of our vehicles
at ZERO cost.

8/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a nice 2004 Volvo XC90 from Kareem Auto Sales in May 2014. Al and the other staff were great to do business with. The paint on the car was in very good condition with only a few minor blemishes. Al offered us the Cilajet Surface Protection for an additional $649.00 plus tax.We liked the outstanding shine and protection offered so we added it to our purchase.The Cilajet was installed by ***** at our home on May 28 2014. Later we noticed water spots and the Cilajet finish was not shiny we contacted ***** then ***** and then Kareem's to have it corrected. On July 10 2014 we took the car to Kareem's to have the Cilajet fixed by ***** and *****. When we got the car back the water spots were still there and the paint now has fine swirl pattern scratches all over the car. I took photos and sent them to ** and ***** at Kareem's on July 14 2014. There has no response from them yet on how they want to resolve this.I also sent the photos to **** at Cilajet LLC, 20924 Normandie Ave. Torrance, CA 90502 to ask for help and to get the business address of ***** the Cilaget agent for the Sacramento area.There has been no help from Cilajet either. See photos on ******** *******************************************

Desired Settlement: Requesting refund of Cilajet purchase price $704.16 $649.00 plus tax $55.16 Repair of damaged paint and trim estimated at $1500.00

Consumer Response: Please remove this complaint because iit has been satisfied.
Thank you for your help.
**** ***********

4/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service