Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Highway Motors, Inc.

Phone: (530) 895-5555 Fax: (530) 893-4301 View Additional Phone Numbers 2961 Highway 32 Ste 71, Chico, CA 95973

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Highway Motors, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Highway Motors, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Highway Motors, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 19, 2004 Business started: 06/01/1998 in CA Business incorporated 02/26/2004 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV Occupational Licensing
2415 First Ave., Mail Station F101 , Sacramento CA 95818-2606
Phone Number: (800) 777-0133
The number is 48354.

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 206664.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Benjamin Libby, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Benjamin Libby, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service Auto Restoration

Products & Services

Highway Motors Inc. specializes in auto body repair, refinishing, full service mechanical repair, maintenance, alignments, tires, brakes, and we finance everything we sell. Highway Motors also offers quality used vehicles that have been thoroughly inspected by our mechanics.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Highway Motors, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2961 Highway 32 Ste 71

    Chico, CA 95973 (530) 895-5555


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/7/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: we purchased a car through highway motors in 2014. The vehicle came with a 30 day warranty and there were issues with the car that the dealership acknowledged would be repaired under the warranty before we purchased the car. The two main issues were the rear end needed to be replaced and there was an idle issue that would rev the engine up to 2k RPM and would make the vehicle difficult to stop. The dealership replaced the rear end before we purchased the vehicle and twice again after we purchased the vehicle. The idle issue was repaired before we took possession of the vehicle then twice again after we purchased the vehicle. Between the 6 attempts total, (3 on the rear end, 3 for the idle issue) the vehicle still has a vibration and rear end noise and it is becoming impossible to drive because of the danger of not being able to stop due to the idle issue. The idle issue has also sparked additional problems with the brakes and transmission as well. We have been trying to get Highway Motors to show performance on these Warranty issues and they have refused to return our calls regardless of who we leave messages with.

Desired Settlement: Take the vehicle back, provide documentation showing the vehicle as "paid off" on our credit report and refund our $2,000 down payment.

Business Response:
Highway Motors has contacted our customer and we’re working to resolve the issue.  So far we have determined the customer did in fact have some unresolved warranty issues.  Some of those issues have already been fixed.  One of their issues required special order parts.  These parts have been ordered and take a couple weeks to come in.  Highway Motors is happy to take care of any warranty issues.  We’re unsure on where the breakdown in communication occurred.  We have a fulltime service department that is answering phones, making appointments, and fixing cars all day, every day.  All a customer need to do is call the service department, set up a time that works, and drop off their vehicle.