BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that General Auto Sales Corp meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for General Auto Sales Corp include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for General Auto Sales Corp include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on General Auto Sales Corp
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 22, 2011 Business started: 10/26/2010 Business started locally: 10/26/2010 Business incorporated: 10/26/2010 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing
2120 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818
http://dmv.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 657-8056

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mohammad Tariq, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mohammad Tariq, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Car Buyer’s Bill of Rights:

Additional Locations

  • 845 Arden Way

    Sacramento, CA 95815 (916) 676-5346

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: General Auto Sales Corp sold me a car 2001 Toyota Camry CE for total of 10,000 with $2100.00 down March of 2013. March 25th 2013 **************** did a courtesy inspection and informed me that the water pump is not good and will soon be going out. Also during the inspection they mention to replace timing belt and motor mount. ******** of General Auto Corp took a extra $100 from me to get his associates ********* Dismantlers to do the job. On March 29th of 2013 I took the car to ********* Dismantlers and the took the car and promised it will be ready on the work order on April 1, 2013. I picked up the car in doubt they fixed it although they said they did. I drove away and been driving until the day the water pump on Sept. 21, 2013 finally broke down leaving me stranded and almost killed on freeway. My roadside assistance dropped car off back at *********'s Dismantlers and the following Monday morning Sept. 23rd, 2013 I took bus to resolve issue with riz or rocky. Rocky was available with no prevail he denied to even look at my car or give me respect and see how we can resolve I do have the work order that he wanted to see. I called a tow truck that day and took my car back home with disappointment and emotional distress.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like to be reimbursed for my emotional distress and the 2 companies lying to me that the fix the car. I was put at risked. My repairs are $670.00 to $690.00 the two estimates I have to get the water pump and timing belt job done. I would aleast like to be compensated for the total of $5,000 at the most to $3,000. I don't trust either company I prefer to let ********* do the work on my car.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Consumer purchased a 2001 Toyota Camry from us on March 5th,2013. She purchased the car in "as-Is" condition with 95,996 miles. The "as-is" agreement is attached here with "evidence A" and "evidence B". According to the "as-is" agreement "evidence A" the buyer is responsible for the entire cost of servicing and repairing the vehicle. The terms and conditions of "as-is" agreement have been highighted as well. We helped the customer in the past for courtesy and Goodwill of the company. After about a month of sale she complained about some maintenance work which included water pump, timing belt & motor mount. We purchased the parts from ********** and she picked up the parts from us and took the vehicle for repairs at ********* Auto dismantlers. "Evidence C" (All repairs were paid by us)"evidence D". After the repairs being done customer drove the car for over 6 months and never reported any problems till September 23rd. For a used vehicle which was sold "as-is" and was driven for over 6 months we are not responsible for any repairs "evidence A"

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Yes and No. Yes because the response was timely manner. Yes I agree that everything is true and accurate. No on response because the day in question April 2013 when I don't believe my car was ever repaired. I was put back in a car that put me at risk. My discrepancy is that both parties are shared owners of *********'s and I don't believe the car was repaired. I gave $100.00 I did not have to give but did which was not mentioned. When I returned on the September 23rd 2013 I was not treated with customer service and ***** whom I spoke with treated me like a second class citizen and did'nt even come out to see what the problem was. I had to spend $50.00 dollars to get my car towed home safely until repairs are done. I am a disable working mother who needs her car. I'm currently losing wages making car payments and still not driving my car going on a month.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

6/18/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1