Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Auto Shopper America

Phone: (209) 525-3630 Fax: (209) 525-3525 View Additional Phone Numbers 705 Mchenry Ave, Modesto, CA 95350 http://www.autoshoppergroup.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Auto Shopper America offers used car services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Auto Shopper America meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Auto Shopper America include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Auto Shopper America
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 02, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1994 in CA Business incorporated 10/20/2003 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing
2120 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818
http://dmv.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 657-8056
The number is 59188.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Cesar Yasin, Pres. Mr. Victor Yasin, Management
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Cesar Yasin, Pres.
Customer Contact: Mr. Victor Yasin, Management
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Auto Shopper America, Inc.
Products & Services

Auto Shopper America is a used car dealership

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • 705 Mchenry Ave

    Modesto, CA 95350 (209) 456-2870

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car from Auto Shopper America in October 2014. It had the check engine light on they said it was nothing just a missing sensor and that they would fix it. They financed me a 2007 Subaru sti and asked me to bring it in two weeks so they could fix the missing sensor along with a few other missing parts. I took the car to them as agreed they called me two weeks later to pick it up saying everything was fixed. When I went to pick up the car I notice the front lip was missing I asked them where it was and they said the mechanic had it somewhere and they would give it back once the mechanic came back. They said they would call me once they had the lip back to go pick it up. I called for two weeks asking on the lip finally they said they couldn't find it that the mechanic had lost it. This lip was worth $465 so I said if your mechanic lost it you need to pay me for the lip because I originally purchased the car with the lip and after service they lost a part of the car. After taking the car back home the check engine light turned on again so this time I decided to take it to a mechanic to get checked, the mechanic after revising the car said the reason the light was on was because the car is missing the catalytic converter, the mechanic said it was illegal to drive a car without one. A car won't pass smog without this part so I then took the car to get smogged and the car did not pass smog along with the smog result the place gave me a list of all the reasons why it is not going to pass smog. A lot of parts need to be replaced for the smog to pass. The mechanic told me the dealer can't finance a car that does not pass smog. Meaning the dealer must have had someone pass the smog illegaly for them to be able to sell the car. I was advised that what the dealer did to me is illegal. So I went to try to solve the issue directly with the dealer. They told me they can't do anything about it and that I should do what I need to do. So I am filling this complaint to try to resolve this issue

Desired Settlement: I find it reasonable for the dealer to pay for all the issues wrong with the car I purchased from their lot which are making the car unable to pass a smog inspection (estimate $6000). I expect the dealer to pay for labor and parts that the car may need to pass smog at the shop of my desire as I do not trust their shop or their mechanic due to past experience with them. I am also requesting for dealer to pay for the front lip that they stole when they took the car in to fix the first time.

Business Response: Company states: We have contacted the consumer and we have worked out a deal.

Consumer Response:  
Customer states: The company has reached out to us and they have offered to take the vehicle that he is associated with. He does not want to take the vehicle to our choice because they would charge more. The company has given us their word that they will get the car to run well and pass smog. He wants us to go together to take the car and make a list. From there we will leave the car with him. He also said that he will keep the car until it passes smog. If they need to have to keep the car for more than a month then they will make payments for the car. That is the option that he gave us. There is really nothing else we can do but to agree with them. The whole thing in the beginning was the mechanics messed up the car and he did not give us any other options. The company will give me a written letter of what they agree to fix and that they promise the car will be able to pass smog. If they do not follow through I will contact the BBB again.

8/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I notified this company that I had sold the vehicle that I bought from them and would like a refund on the unused portion of the gap insurance that they required me to purchase. The amount of the gap insurance at purchase time was $1400. I had the car for 11 months and the insurance was for 4 years, the term of the loan. After some time and repeated contact, I received a check for $563. I contacted ****** ******* who I had been dealing with and asked him why the refund was only about half of what I figured($1400 x .75 = $1050) and he kept telling me why I was asking about a warranty and to look at my contract. When I finally told him that I would need this resolved soon or I would contact my attorney, his response, and I quote..."What I am saying is that with that attitude, I would much rather you waste your money having a lawyer discuss this with me. All correspondence from this moment on, will be with a lawyer who you have acquired to represent you. Please have him contact us via mail." So as he stated, he will no longer talk to me about the refund that was incomplete.

Desired Settlement: The balance of my refund $487.

Business Response: As you could see in the contract, the amount was $795. At this time the consumer has been refunded the complete amount.

6/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: These people took my car even though I made all payments on time to the lender, at the time the took the car they stated they would be refunding my down payment if $3500. I have yet to receive a dime the owner Cesar Yasin will not return my calls and has ignored my demand for payment letter. They have left me with no vehicle or no money to purchase another one. This is very unethical and is a result of their failure to communicate with the lender.

Desired Settlement: $3500 cash down payment

Business Response: This vehicle was repossessed, therefore customer is not entitled to a refund of the down payment.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: It was unlawfully repossessed the lender has sent me proof of all payments on car vehicle being paid on time and states Auto Shopper America never activated the loan after lender approved loan on 02/13/2014. Auto Shopper America broke many laws, if the vehicle was reposessed per California law the owner has a right to reinstate or redeem the vehicle which Auto Shopper America refused to provide any information in regards to this as well as failed to send me this as required by law within in 48 hours, not that as matters because in court the documents the lender has sent me will be enough to prove I am entitled to the full amount of my down payment as well as other damages caused by Auto Shopper Americas illegal business practices.

Business Response: Customer has never provided proof of payment and the dealership has no idea who the lien holder is because it was never financed. The repossession papers were sent to her last known address as required by law. As of today we have not been served with any court paperwork.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:The information included in the response is inaccurate. Proof of payment was provided on 05/26/14 and 06/05/14 when at the advice of my Attorney a letter demanding payment and a financial statement obtained from my financial institution providing proof that the agreed upon car payments were made were sent via email and fax transmission to Auto Shopper America and have the confirmation reports they were transmitted successfully.

 
In regards to the Lien Holder Auto Shopper America has always been aware of this information as they were the ones who obtained approval from the lender but failed to activate my loan after I declined another loan approval Auto Shopper obtained that had a lower monthly payment but had a ridiculously high APR which would have increased the length of the loan significantly. I do have documentation that proves Auto Shopper America was provided information pertaining to the lien holder.
 
Auto Shopper has stated Repossession Papers were sent to my "previous address" which has never been a previous address it is my current mailing address and has been for the last 14 years and nothing in regards to the repossession of my vehicle nor any correspondence has ever been received from Auto Shopper America which is a clear violation of California Civil Code Section 2983.2 of the Vehicle Sales and Finance Act requiring a notification of repossession be sent within 48 hours after the vehicle has been repossessed/surrendered and states the notice shall be personally served or shall be sent by certified mail, return receipt requested, or first-class mail, postage prepaid, directed to the last known address of the persons liable on the contract which obviously never occurred. Many other Civil Codes were violated which include Section 2982.5 of the Motor Vehicle Sales And Finance Act requiring the seller to fully refund any downpayment received from buyer upon cancellation of the finance agreement Auto Shopper America also violated California's law which entitles my right right to redeem the vehicle which Auto Shopper denied stating they could help me get into another vehicle but not the one I purchased and in good faith made all agreed upon payments.

My consumer complaint was also brought to the attention of the Office of the State's Attorney General who has advised me while they are not authorized to represent individuals seeking the return of their money they can and will initiate legal action on behalf of the collective interests of consumers to pursue cases of consumer abuse and advised me my complaint was forwarded to the Department of Justice's Consumer Law Section for review and appropriate action and suggested I immediately file a complaint with the Department of Motor Vehicles, Bureau of Investigations and provided me with the Occupational License Information for Auto Shopper America along with a record of complaint form which has already been completed and filed.
 
Court papers have just been filed and will be served in accordance with the courts rules regarding Proof of Service. Our family has suffered a major hardship as a result of Auto Shopper America's deceitful actions as they knew this was our only vehicle which we worked hard to save enough money to put a significant down payment and now my children have no transportation to and from school and have no choice but to walk the 12 mile round trip daily. My Husband relys on public transportation to get him to the town where he works which only gets him in to town he then has to walk approximately 8 miles to his place of employment most nights my husband has no choice other than to walk all the way home which is a 16 mile trip due to him working swing shift and there is no public transportation at 2 in the morning. A family should not have to endure this.

Business Response: Company states that the complaint issues have been resolved.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: A representative from the BBB contacted me by telephone this morning to confirm the dispute had been resolved when I informed her I had no knowledge of any type of resolution she informed me Auto Shopper America stated they had refunded the money back to my credit card. I then contacted the owner of Auto Shopper America, Mr. *****, who stated he did not refund any money but it was taken out of his account involuntarily by my financial institution for a dispute I filed after Mr. ***** unlawfully repossessed my vehicle. After contacting my financial institution a deposit for the amount of my down payment is pending and should be deposited June 25, 2014.  

2/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: CHECK ENGINE LIGTH ON AND OTHER LIGHTS ON CAR LOSING POWER I GOT THIS CAR IN JUNE OF 2013 AND WHEN I DROVE THE CAR IT WAS FINE TOOK IT OUT ON THE ROAD AND THE NEXT WEEK THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON TOOK IT BACK GIVE ME THE RUN AROUND ABOUT FIXING IT TOLD ME THAT THEY FIX IT BUT THEY MADE IT WROST NOW I GET NO POWER AND THE CAR CAN'T GO OVER 40 MILES AND THEY WILL NOT LOOK AT THE CAR OR GIVE ME ANOTHER ONE THIS IS BAD BUSNIESS AND THEY TALK IN SPANISH SO I DON'T KNOW WHAT THEY ARE SAYIN AND I HAVE TO PAY FOR SOMETHING I CAN'T DRVIE I FEEL THEY GOT ME AND I WOULD LIKE SOMETHING DONE ABOUT THESE KINDS OF BUSINESS THAT TREAT PEOPLE LIKE ME THIS WAY THE CAR IS A 2001 AUDI AND I GOT IT ON JUNE 5'2013 AND AFTER THEY WOULD NOT FIX IT I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER HE SAID THAT THE CAR WAS NO GOOD AND THEY SHOULD HAVE SOLE ME THIS CAR WITH THESE LIGHTS ON I FEEL THEY KNOW WHAT WAS WRONG AND THEY STILL SELL ME THIS CAR AND THEY HAVE NOT GIVE ME MY TAGS FOR THE CAR I HAVE TALK TO THEM AND THEY WILL NOT RETURN MY CALLS OR ANSWER MY PHONE CALLS THEY TELL ME I HAVE TO WAIT FOR THE MANGER AND WHEN I TALKED TO HIM HE TELL ME I HAVE TO WAIT ON SOMEONE ELSE WHAT CAN I DO ABOUT THIS HAVE NO MONEY TO GIVE AWAY AND THEY HAVE OTHER COMPLAINTS AS WELL.

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE MY MONEY BACK THAT I PUT DOWN ON THIS CAR SO I CAN GET ANOTHER ONE AND FOR THEM TO PAY THE FINANCIAL CAMPANY BACK WHAT THEY GOT FROM THEM FOR THE CAR AND CLEAR MY CREDIT FROM ME AND MY MOTHER SHE IS ON MY ACCOUNT WITH ME THIS MAKES HER CREDIT BAD AND THAT WOULD BE FINE

Business Response: The customer clearly states than when he drove off the lot, the vehicle was fine. The customer had at the time of purchase, signed the buyers guide which clearly states that he had purchased the vehicle as-is, as required by law. Autoshopper follows all rules set down by the Department of Motor Vehicles. We did replace a rim to the customers' vehicle because he hit a curb. Any repair performed after a sale is performed in goodwill repair.
The customer did contact us in Dec 2013 and ask if he could buy another car and trade the Audi. Unfortunately it is near impossible to finance a second purchase for this customer with no money down and his credit. yes we do speak Spanish here, but not to American Customers. We are unsure as to why this complaint was filed 6 months after the purchase.

Business Response: The customer clearly states than when he drove off the lot, the vehicle was fine. The customer had at the time of purchase, signed the buyers guide which clearly states that he had purchased the vehicle as-is, as required by law. Autoshopper follows all rules set down by the Department of Motor Vehicles. We did replace a rim to the customers' vehicle because he hit a curb. Any repair performed after a sale is performed in goodwill repair.
The customer did contact us in Dec 2013 and ask if he could buy another car and trade the Audi. Unfortunately it is near impossible to finance a second purchase for this customer with no money down and his credit. yes we do speak Spanish here, but not to American Customers. We are unsure as to why this complaint was filed 6 months after the purchase.

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ******

I am rejecting this response because:

 

They told me and my mother if I had any problems with this car to bring it back in and when I did they gave me the run around yes the change my rim but that was not what I was there for I was there because the check engine light was on and they just turned the light off that is all they did and  they was very un professional when speaking to me and my mother they told me to bring car  in before 30 days  and when I got there they keep telling me that the mechanic was not there and putting me off I don't under stand why they just don't do the right thing and fix the car they sale bad car to people like me  to make money that is bad for business I will never tell people about them this is not good and all I wanted was them to fix the car they sole me and I have ask around town about them and everyone say don't buy cars from them they are a ripe off and when I went back there to trade the car I did have money to put down on another car but I wouldn't buy another car from them so basically I am  stuck with a car I can't drive and still have to pay for it's bad that people can do this to people and get away with it  and know one will help them get people like this out of business so it want happen again.

Sincerely,

***** *****

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ******

I am rejecting this response because:

 

They told me and my mother if I had any problems with this car to bring it back in and when I did they gave me the run around yes the change my rim but that was not what I was there for I was there because the check engine light was on and they just turned the light off that is all they did and  they was very un professional when speaking to me and my mother they told me to bring car  in before 30 days  and when I got there they keep telling me that the mechanic was not there and putting me off I don't under stand why they just don't do the right thing and fix the car they sale bad car to people like me  to make money that is bad for business I will never tell people about them this is not good and all I wanted was them to fix the car they sole me and I have ask around town about them and everyone say don't buy cars from them they are a ripe off and when I went back there to trade the car I did have money to put down on another car but I wouldn't buy another car from them so basically I am  stuck with a car I can't drive and still have to pay for it's bad that people can do this to people and get away with it  and know one will help them get people like this out of business so it want happen again.

Sincerely,

***** *****

Business Response:

We understand the frustration of the Customer. However the facts that we had
mentioned in our initial response still explains the situation. In the State of California every
used car is purchased as is. Thousands of customers in our 10 years in business can attest to
our integrity and our customer satisfaction.


***** *****
CEO

Business Response:

We understand the frustration of the Customer. However the facts that we had
mentioned in our initial response still explains the situation. In the State of California every
used car is purchased as is. Thousands of customers in our 10 years in business can attest to
our integrity and our customer satisfaction.


***** *****
CEO

7/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a car early March on the same day I was taking it home check engine light was on and make rear end noise so I took it back They promised me to fix it so they kept it for a week Went to pick it up I believe March 12 2013 then on the way home check engine light came back on Kept it for about a few days that I even put rims When I took it back after a week of having it with still rear end noise and took it back and said the noise was due to my rims I told them it was the rear end differential but insisted it was my rims So then I told him I was going take it back with stock rims he agreed Once I reached town the rear end blew the same day They agreed to fix it but I had to tow it there I did and they said they fixed it They made my son **** M ******* sign the warranty release form which he is not even on the contract Once he did that they released him the car Since we live in Madera CA he drove it home and only made it to Merced CA where the rear end starting u again He then had to tow the car back to Madera CA We wanted the dealer but they said they here not going to do anything about it no more Throughout this whole time the check engine light was on still and is still on

Desired Settlement: I want them to pay for the repairs at a shop at my choosing

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
After a thorough review of our data base, no customer by that name, address, or Phone # populates. Please furnish a VIN #. perhaps we can bring it up by that.

Consumer's Final Response
Please see the contract attached to the complaint.

Business' Final Response
The check engine light was addressed initially. It had to do with emissions. It was repaired even thought this was an AS-Is Sale The second visit was to complain of a rear end noise. The Vehicle was brought in by Tow Truck. The rear end was destroyed. The Customer had placed oversize rims and Tires for racing. When asked, The customer had admitted to racing. As a Goodwill repair we made the repair, and informed the Customer, that this is not a racecar. We will not, even as a Goodwill Repair, repair this vehicle again. There was no Warranty. The Customer had to sign a Goodwill Repair agreement. We do not condone nor will we support any Customer who places lives at risk while recklessly driving. We don't mind having this complaint in our file.