BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

Auto Shopper America

Phone: (209) 525-3630 Fax: (209) 525-3525 View Additional Phone Numbers 705 Mchenry Ave, Modesto, CA 95350 http://www.autoshoppergroup.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Auto Shopper America meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Auto Shopper America include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Auto Shopper America
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 02, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1994 Business started locally: 01/01/1994 Business incorporated: 10/20/2003 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing
2120 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818
http://dmv.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 657-8056

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Cesar Yasin, Pres.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Cesar Yasin, Pres.
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

Auto Shopper America is a used car dealership

Industry Tips
Car Buyer’s Bill of Rights:

Additional Locations

  • 705 Mchenry Ave

    Modesto, CA 95350 (209) 456-2870

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (209) 456-2870(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: CHECK ENGINE LIGTH ON AND OTHER LIGHTS ON CAR LOSING POWER I GOT THIS CAR IN JUNE OF 2013 AND WHEN I DROVE THE CAR IT WAS FINE TOOK IT OUT ON THE ROAD AND THE NEXT WEEK THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON TOOK IT BACK GIVE ME THE RUN AROUND ABOUT FIXING IT TOLD ME THAT THEY FIX IT BUT THEY MADE IT WROST NOW I GET NO POWER AND THE CAR CAN'T GO OVER 40 MILES AND THEY WILL NOT LOOK AT THE CAR OR GIVE ME ANOTHER ONE THIS IS BAD BUSNIESS AND THEY TALK IN SPANISH SO I DON'T KNOW WHAT THEY ARE SAYIN AND I HAVE TO PAY FOR SOMETHING I CAN'T DRVIE I FEEL THEY GOT ME AND I WOULD LIKE SOMETHING DONE ABOUT THESE KINDS OF BUSINESS THAT TREAT PEOPLE LIKE ME THIS WAY THE CAR IS A 2001 AUDI AND I GOT IT ON JUNE 5'2013 AND AFTER THEY WOULD NOT FIX IT I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER HE SAID THAT THE CAR WAS NO GOOD AND THEY SHOULD HAVE SOLE ME THIS CAR WITH THESE LIGHTS ON I FEEL THEY KNOW WHAT WAS WRONG AND THEY STILL SELL ME THIS CAR AND THEY HAVE NOT GIVE ME MY TAGS FOR THE CAR I HAVE TALK TO THEM AND THEY WILL NOT RETURN MY CALLS OR ANSWER MY PHONE CALLS THEY TELL ME I HAVE TO WAIT FOR THE MANGER AND WHEN I TALKED TO HIM HE TELL ME I HAVE TO WAIT ON SOMEONE ELSE WHAT CAN I DO ABOUT THIS HAVE NO MONEY TO GIVE AWAY AND THEY HAVE OTHER COMPLAINTS AS WELL.

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE MY MONEY BACK THAT I PUT DOWN ON THIS CAR SO I CAN GET ANOTHER ONE AND FOR THEM TO PAY THE FINANCIAL CAMPANY BACK WHAT THEY GOT FROM THEM FOR THE CAR AND CLEAR MY CREDIT FROM ME AND MY MOTHER SHE IS ON MY ACCOUNT WITH ME THIS MAKES HER CREDIT BAD AND THAT WOULD BE FINE

Business Response: The customer clearly states than when he drove off the lot, the vehicle was fine. The customer had at the time of purchase, signed the buyers guide which clearly states that he had purchased the vehicle as-is, as required by law. Autoshopper follows all rules set down by the Department of Motor Vehicles. We did replace a rim to the customers' vehicle because he hit a curb. Any repair performed after a sale is performed in goodwill repair.
The customer did contact us in Dec 2013 and ask if he could buy another car and trade the Audi. Unfortunately it is near impossible to finance a second purchase for this customer with no money down and his credit. yes we do speak Spanish here, but not to American Customers. We are unsure as to why this complaint was filed 6 months after the purchase.

Business Response: The customer clearly states than when he drove off the lot, the vehicle was fine. The customer had at the time of purchase, signed the buyers guide which clearly states that he had purchased the vehicle as-is, as required by law. Autoshopper follows all rules set down by the Department of Motor Vehicles. We did replace a rim to the customers' vehicle because he hit a curb. Any repair performed after a sale is performed in goodwill repair.
The customer did contact us in Dec 2013 and ask if he could buy another car and trade the Audi. Unfortunately it is near impossible to finance a second purchase for this customer with no money down and his credit. yes we do speak Spanish here, but not to American Customers. We are unsure as to why this complaint was filed 6 months after the purchase.

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ******

I am rejecting this response because:

 

They told me and my mother if I had any problems with this car to bring it back in and when I did they gave me the run around yes the change my rim but that was not what I was there for I was there because the check engine light was on and they just turned the light off that is all they did and  they was very un professional when speaking to me and my mother they told me to bring car  in before 30 days  and when I got there they keep telling me that the mechanic was not there and putting me off I don't under stand why they just don't do the right thing and fix the car they sale bad car to people like me  to make money that is bad for business I will never tell people about them this is not good and all I wanted was them to fix the car they sole me and I have ask around town about them and everyone say don't buy cars from them they are a ripe off and when I went back there to trade the car I did have money to put down on another car but I wouldn't buy another car from them so basically I am  stuck with a car I can't drive and still have to pay for it's bad that people can do this to people and get away with it  and know one will help them get people like this out of business so it want happen again.

Sincerely,

***** *****

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ******

I am rejecting this response because:

 

They told me and my mother if I had any problems with this car to bring it back in and when I did they gave me the run around yes the change my rim but that was not what I was there for I was there because the check engine light was on and they just turned the light off that is all they did and  they was very un professional when speaking to me and my mother they told me to bring car  in before 30 days  and when I got there they keep telling me that the mechanic was not there and putting me off I don't under stand why they just don't do the right thing and fix the car they sale bad car to people like me  to make money that is bad for business I will never tell people about them this is not good and all I wanted was them to fix the car they sole me and I have ask around town about them and everyone say don't buy cars from them they are a ripe off and when I went back there to trade the car I did have money to put down on another car but I wouldn't buy another car from them so basically I am  stuck with a car I can't drive and still have to pay for it's bad that people can do this to people and get away with it  and know one will help them get people like this out of business so it want happen again.

Sincerely,

***** *****

Business Response:

We understand the frustration of the Customer. However the facts that we had
mentioned in our initial response still explains the situation. In the State of California every
used car is purchased as is. Thousands of customers in our 10 years in business can attest to
our integrity and our customer satisfaction.


***** *****
CEO

Business Response:

We understand the frustration of the Customer. However the facts that we had
mentioned in our initial response still explains the situation. In the State of California every
used car is purchased as is. Thousands of customers in our 10 years in business can attest to
our integrity and our customer satisfaction.


***** *****
CEO

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a car early March on the same day I was taking it home check engine light was on and make rear end noise so I took it back They promised me to fix it so they kept it for a week Went to pick it up I believe March 12 2013 then on the way home check engine light came back on Kept it for about a few days that I even put rims When I took it back after a week of having it with still rear end noise and took it back and said the noise was due to my rims I told them it was the rear end differential but insisted it was my rims So then I told him I was going take it back with stock rims he agreed Once I reached town the rear end blew the same day They agreed to fix it but I had to tow it there I did and they said they fixed it They made my son **** M ******* sign the warranty release form which he is not even on the contract Once he did that they released him the car Since we live in Madera CA he drove it home and only made it to Merced CA where the rear end starting u again He then had to tow the car back to Madera CA We wanted the dealer but they said they here not going to do anything about it no more Throughout this whole time the check engine light was on still and is still on

Desired Settlement: I want them to pay for the repairs at a shop at my choosing

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
After a thorough review of our data base, no customer by that name, address, or Phone # populates. Please furnish a VIN #. perhaps we can bring it up by that.

Consumer's Final Response
Please see the contract attached to the complaint.

Business' Final Response
The check engine light was addressed initially. It had to do with emissions. It was repaired even thought this was an AS-Is Sale The second visit was to complain of a rear end noise. The Vehicle was brought in by Tow Truck. The rear end was destroyed. The Customer had placed oversize rims and Tires for racing. When asked, The customer had admitted to racing. As a Goodwill repair we made the repair, and informed the Customer, that this is not a racecar. We will not, even as a Goodwill Repair, repair this vehicle again. There was no Warranty. The Customer had to sign a Goodwill Repair agreement. We do not condone nor will we support any Customer who places lives at risk while recklessly driving. We don't mind having this complaint in our file.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

1