Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Valley Lexus meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Valley Lexus include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Valley Lexus
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 19, 2001 Business started: 06/05/1997 in CA Business started locally: 06/05/1997 Business incorporated 06/05/1997 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing
2120 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818
Phone Number: (916) 657-8056
The number is 32623.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Ryan Fitzpatrick, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ryan Fitzpatrick, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Fitzpatrick Dealership Group Modesto Motor Cars, Inc. Perfection Motor Cars, Inc.
Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • 4701 McHenry Ave

    Modesto, CA 95356 (800) 266-5398 (209) 575-3987

  • PO Box 576548

    Modesto, CA 95357


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/12/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lexus denied exterior damages under warranty.Delaminating on paint & melting issues Purchased 4/19/12, 2012 RX 350 Acct # XXXXXXXXXX Sales Rep at time of purchased ***** ********* Service Manager **** *******. History: On 2/16/13 came to Valley Lexus for warranty 10k service. Advised that I noticed both driver's side door glass moulding delaminating. Wavy/ ripple like on side panel. It was replaced under warranty by 2/28/13. Around May 7th discovered damages and on 10th had appointment with dealer again due to findings of driver's side panel moulding /bulging out on top, driver's rear mirror melting,and upper left area of deck lid spoiler has same delaminating issues, that was repaired 2/16/13. On May 10th ****** service rep checked the car He had another manager "***" take look at the car since **** was not there. they said they had never seen anything like this. That manager had signed a paperwork ** had given him. Possible for approval to order parts. and had advised me that rear mirror & side panel part would be ordered and be under warranty. he assured me towards end of our conversation that it will be fixed, because I was getting worried about the car quality and workmanship. But as for spoiler part the manager **** will need to approve. Manager was not in and returned my call until Wednesday May 12. Before that on Monday I was upset about spoiler not being under warranty, and spoke with ** and again he said manager will be in Wednesday and talk to me. ** had assured me again that the other parts were order and going be repaired. I mention about lemon law to ed and he seemed to be really upset and worked up when I mention this. he said I can go ahead and check/ read Lemon Law. I don't have much knowledge on Lemon law at that time. But I felt that this car had some kind of paint/part defects and was worried about future issues.Spoke with **** on Wednesday and he said he would need me to bring in the car again and decide if spoiler be under warranty, he scheduled "inspector" to come out 5/22 and said that I can wait until then to take my car in to complete all repairs at once. Thinking that the other parts except spoiler was already under warranty, I was patient and decided to wait until inspector to check spoiler ad if warrantyable then all work would be done at once, instead of bringing car back and forth from Stockton to Modesto. It was in way of my work schedule. But a day or two before the inspector appointment,**** called, he said the inspector would not be here because he was scheduled to be somewhere now. On May 5/21 **** inspected car and advised that it is environmental in nature and not a defect in material or workmanship, therefore deemed non warrantyable. I was really upset and felt that they had already told me parts were under warranty except spoiler. although spoiler should had been under warranty because it ha same moulding like side panel they repaired on 2/16. He states that this could have been caused from reflection from low E windows caused to melt/damaged parts from where I park at home or work. He asked me where I worked and provided him my work address. My prior car Honda Civic was parked in same area @work and home for over 3 years, it doesn't have any reflection damages like this at all whatsoever. I report to Lexus Corp due to my dissatisfaction on around 5/28 and they scheduled on 6/29 for field technical specialist to inspect the car. The results fromm them: Found the concern with the mouldings and trimming melting on your vehicle appears to be caused by outside influence and not cause of manufacture defect, therefore denied parts under warranty.

Desired Settlement: I feel that Lexus needs to take some kind of responsibility for car since still under warranty and this caused they are saying that low e windows could damaged car, then it makes me think that their parts are poor and can't handle sun reflections? No one at work has any issues with this and my coworker has same car as me and she doesn't have any issues like this and we parked in same area. They had been giving me the run around.they had already said they were going to at least over 2 parts but backed out. They need to keep their word. And repair what they said they would. this car have only 14k miles and any damages should be covered under warranty,. They did not look into mirror which might had been electrical issue, that might caused melting. The caused they are giving me are not valid and cannot be proved that it was reflection from low windows. I hope to resolved this issue and keep my car. After this ordeal I want to trade in my car and own any Lexus car. I bought my car to auto body and showed to coworkers and friends and they all said this is defect. I hope BBB can help this resolution as I tried calling the head manager at valley lexus last week and he has not yet returned my call.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Ms. ****'s vehicle has several parts, all on the left side of the vehicles that have been exposed to excessive heat causing the parts to melt and become deformed. The vehicle was inspected by the Service Manager of Valley Lexus on 05/22/2013. At that time the damage to the affected parts was severe, unlike the prior instance where damage was slight and cause of damage was underterminable, and subsequently parts were replaced under warranty. During the inspection of the vehicle on 05/22/2013, the vehicle was also inspected by a representative of ******** **** **** of Modesto, a Lexus Certified body repair shop. The representative from the body shop concurred with the Valley Lexus Service Managers findings that the cause of the concern is . environmental in nature, and not due to a defect in material or workmanship. Photos of the affected parts were forwarded to Lexus for their review. Ms. **** was notified of Valley Lexus findings, and customer was provided Lexus Corporate phone number, so she could contact Lexus if she had any questions, or wanted Lexus to inspect the vehicle. ()n 5/22/2013 the vehicle was returned to Ms. ****. I believe Ms. ****'s sister picked up the vehicle. Ms. **** did contact Lexus, and the vehicle was returned to Valley Lexus for an inspection by a Lexus Corporate representative on 6/19/2013. After that inspection, and as a result of that inspection, the request for repairs under warranty were denied by the Vehicle Manufacturer. Lexus believes the concern is caused by exposure to excessive heat which is environmental in nature, and not.caused by defective parts or workmanship. Valley Lexus is unable to repair or replace parts under warranty, when the Vehicle manufacture has determined the cause of failure to be non-warrantable. At this point the question of warranty ability rests with the Vehicle manufacturer and not the dealer. Valley Lexus has done their due diligence in regards to inspecting and reporting to the Manufacturer Ms. ****'s concerns, and the final denial was made by the Manufacturer, not Valley Lexus and We are ultimately bound by their decision Kind regards, **** K. *******