Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Valley BMW?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Valley BMW

Phone: (209) 575-0269 View Additional Phone Numbers 4369 Mc Henry Avenue, Modesto, CA 95356 http://www.valley-bmw.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Valley BMW meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Valley BMW include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Valley BMW
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 12, 2004 Business started: 06/15/1999 Business started locally: 06/15/1999 Business incorporated: 06/15/1999 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV Occupational Licensing
2415 First Ave., Mail Station F101 , Sacramento CA 95818-2606
http://www.dmv.ca.gov/olinq2/welcome.do
Phone Number: (800) 777-0133
The number is 50167.

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 211480.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ed Fitzpatrick, President Mr. Ryan Fitzpatrick, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ed Fitzpatrick, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Ryan Fitzpatrick, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Repair - Maintenance

Alternate Business Names
Fitzpatrick Dealership Group
Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • 4369 Mc Henry Avenue

    Modesto, CA 95356

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Valley BMW on 11/4/13 and asked the service person (**** ******) how much would they charge for a diagnostic check and he quoted me an amount of 145.00. My friend and I had my 2000 BMW towed to Valley BMW and spoke with **** again. During this discussion I explained the issues with the vehicle and **** also stated again that the fee for a diagnostic check would be 145.00. I signed the document and was told that the diagnostic check should be completed by 11/5/13. I called **** on 11/5/13 and he told me they hadn't started on my vehicle. He then called me on 11/6/13 and stated that the diagnostic check amount was already up to 900. **** also went on to stated that the battery was completely dead and the plugs were inserted improperly. I questioned why was the diagnostic amount was higher than the 145.00 quoted **** then stated that the diagnostic check was 145.00 per hour. I told him that he led me to believe that the 145.00 was a flat fee vs. a per hour charge. At this point the car was still not running. On 11/7/13 my friend and I called Valley BMW and spoke with a different service rep because **** was already gone for the day. This service rep was a little put out that we were asking questions regarding the 145.00 per hour fee for a diagnostic check and the fact that there was still no clear idea what the issue was with the vehicle. The Rep called back later on 11/7/13 to say that the vehicle needed in addition to new battery the car needed a new alternator. He also explained that he wasn't sure how long it would take to get the alternator. The car wasn't ready until Monday 11/11/13 and the amount of the repairs was 2500.00 + some change. I don't feel that I should be charged a per hour fee for the diagnostic check. I called a couple of other BMW dealerships and neither of them charge a per hour diagnostic fee. I sent Valley BMW email to state my dissatisfaction and on two different emails from them they asked me if I received the response and I stated no. Product_Or_Service: 11/4/13 Order_Number: *****

Desired Settlement: Refund I would like to be charged only one 145.00 for the diagnostic check vs. 145.00 per hour.

Business Response: You towed your vehicle in on 11/04/13. Your stated concern was, "Customer states the vehicle will not start, battery is about 2 weeks old but dead now. The vehicle has been sitting for approx. 3 months, after battery replacement the engine would crank over but it would not start. Customer has had a problem with the alarm going off on it's own and may have drained the battery." After the initial diagnosis our Service Advisor contacted you advised you that your battery would not hold a charge and needed to be replaced and requested additional time to needed to check why modules in the car were not communicating, why your battery was not charging, fuses oot of place, etc. This was all clearing explained and authorized by you. No repair center has a flat rate for diagnosis of this level.

Consumer Response: There were other BMW dealerships who charged a flat rate for the diagnostic work. I believe that the dealership has some deceptive practices because they don't clearly state that the 145.00 is a hourly rate. They also kept the car for a week which ran the hourly rate way up.

8/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In April 2012 I took my 2007 550 BMW to be checked for continuous battery dying This being the second battery this car had drained A third battery was installed After diagnosis from Valley BMW it was recommended the following: 1. Battery replacement Third battery 2. Side door (passenger side) handle replacement 3.Replacement of RDC and PDC modules in the trunk 4. Alternator and KGM After all recommendations were agreed to be fixed I paid the amount of $2934.46 for all repairs made to my BMW Again early this year my car started to drain the battery and I returned to Valley BMW to have it checked They refused to do anymore work on it I feel that repairs were made to things that were not the case of problem with the car It is my understanding that i paid for a service that should have been guaranteed on these repairs I feel I should be reimbursed on some of these fees At this moment my car is at another auto shop ****** ***** experienced authorized with BMWs going thru repairs that Valley BMW overlooked and did not fix I did not appreciate the way I was treated by the department manager and how this was handled I have attached copies of invoice

Desired Settlement: I would like to get reimbursed for part if not all paid fees Seems like it was a guessing procedure on Valley BMW problem did not get fixed

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The first time this vehicle came into Valley BMW it came form an independent repair shop ******** ****** ********** This shop installed a BMW battery and requested we register it to the vehicle, (07/01/10). On 6/20/11 another independent shop ********* ********** brought the same car in for battery draining down. We found an aftermarket battery had now been installed. Energy diagnosis showed frequent wake ups stored in history. We performed a draw test for several hours and at that time found draw was normal. We recommended to monitor vehicle. On 4/4/12 the customer brought the vehicle to Valley BMW stating the battery continues to die. During diagnosis we found aftermarket battery installed, water damage to both the RDC and PDC modules, and a fault stored for the passenger front door handle assembly. After replacing the battery, RDC and PDC modules and door handle we found a draw still present from the alternator and gateway module. Customer authorized repairs. On 3/18/13 the customer brought to car into Valley BMW stating the battery was dead. During diagnosis by our Shop Foreman we found water damage and corrosion to various electrical connectors on the vehicle body harness. During diagnosis Shop Foreman found the rear carpets wet. the customer first stated that he washed the car with the window open then later said his wife left a wet blanket in the car. We requested to customer to come to Valley BMW and have the Shop Foreman show him the extent of the water damage. As a gesture of Goodwill there were no charges to the customer for this visit.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Since the very beginning I brought this vehicle to be fixed for a battery drainage problem. I did first start with two different auto shops whom recommended me to bring it to Valley BMW. I explained to service writer about battery drainage problem. I asked him if Valley BMW could fix my car. He said yes they could fix problem. I agreed to pay all fees for services recommended to fix problem but did not fix the problem. BMW installed a new battery which was one of the charges on the services paid. Currently my car is getting fixed at ***** ***** Auto. They specialize on imported vehicles. It looks like they have fixed the problem. I've spent money at Valley BMW and ***** *****. Valley BMW refused to work on my car again. I had to take it to ***** *****. They were willing to go step by step to fix problem. I don't expect to get services for free but I do want services paid for to be guaranteed. I did not appreciate they way I was treated at valley BMW.