Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Toyota Town of Stockton

Phone: (209) 320-1800 Fax: (209) 320-1860 2150 E Hammer Ln, Stockton, CA 95210 http://www.toyotaofstockton.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

New & Used Auto Sales, Service and Parts


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Toyota Town of Stockton meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Toyota Town of Stockton include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Toyota Town of Stockton
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 30, 1986 Business started: 08/17/1959 in CA Business incorporated 08/17/1959 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV Occupational Licensing
2415 First Ave., Mail Station F101 , Sacramento CA 95818-2606
http://www.dmv.ca.gov/olinq2/welcome.do
Phone Number: (800) 777-0133
The number is 13007.

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 103206.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jason Kim, General Manager Mr. Robert Zamora, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Kim, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Robert Zamora, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

Toyota Town of Stockton sells the following brand(s): Scion, Scion, Toyota, Toyota

Toyota Town of Stockton offers the following product(s): New & Used Auto Sales, Service & Parts

Alternate Business Names
Auto Town, Inc.
Products & Services

Toyota Town specializes in new and used vehicle sales and service.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • 2150 E Hammer Ln

    Stockton, CA 95210 (209) 320-1800

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/4/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ****** *****.I am a 91 year old female.I have been leaseing a Toyota Camery from Toyota Town of Stockton,Ca. for several years.I was requested to take my leased Toyota to the dealership of maintenance.I did so,waited for several hours,and then was told my car was done being serviced.The sales person walked me out to a different car.He said if I purchased a car,instead of leaseing it I would save $30.00 a month.I was confused,my leased car was not there,only the new one.I had not gone to Toyota Town to buy a new car,the subject was never mentioned,until he presented me with a different car that I leased.I was coerced into purchaseing the new car.I had no other way to get home.They said there was no money down,because of my 850 credit score.I did not sign any documents to purchase the car,the price of the car was not on any of the paperwork I was given.I was so confused,at 91 years,and with the salesman's constant harrasment,I drove the car home.Not until a few days later,did I realize what I had been coerced into doing.At 91 years old,it would be foolish to purchase a new car,as I probably wont live as long as the payments would take to pay this new car off.I was coerced into buying this new car.I just wanted my leased car back.The lease was not up.When told about this problem,it was 18 days after takeing car,I tried to discuss it with the sales maneger,Tom Bertini,and he stated the financing had already gone thru,and I was stuck with the new car.At my age,91,I concider this an elder abuse problem.The price of the car was not on any paperwork,and did not get any written information on it till I tried to return it.

Desired Settlement: I just wanted to lease a car,not buy a new one,and would just like to return it,and go to another Toyota dealer,to lease another car.I do not want to deal with Toyota Town of Stockton anymore,becuse of their predatory business pratices.

Business Response: ****** ***** brought her 2013 Toyota Camry into our service department to have her vehicle serviced on February 26, 2015 at 10 am.  While Ms. ***** was waiting for her service to be completed, Ms. ***** approached our service department personnel, ******* *** and ***** ******, and asked questions about purchasing a new Camry.  Our service department personnel are not equipped to answer questions regarding new vehicles so ***** walked Ms. ***** to our sales department to speak to our salesperson Shaan Faizal ***.  Our service department personnel are not paid sales commission on vehicles sold thru our sales department so they do not have any financial incentive to “persuade” or “coerce” Ms. ***** into getting a new vehicle as the BBB complaint alleged.

Ms. ***** proceeded to tell Mr. *** that she wanted to lower her payments and possibly get into a purchase instead of a lease.  She related to Mr. *** that her current lease wouldn't be good for her because of her older age.  The current vehicle Ms. ***** was driving had 1 year left on her lease.  Mr. *** gave her several different options available to her.  Ms. ***** could buyout her current lease and turn it into a purchase, lease a new vehicle & extend her lease again or purchase a new vehicle.  Ms. ***** liked the new 2015 Camry model and decided to trade in her lease and purchase a new 2015 Toyota Camry.

Approximately 2 weeks after Ms. ***** purchased her new vehicle, her son James *****, came in by himself and asked us to cancel the purchase.  We relayed to James that unless he had legal guardianship and power of attorney over Ms. *****’s financial affairs, we could not discuss the details of Ms. *****’s purchase with him.  We are bound by privacy laws to discuss private financial transactions with only the purchaser of the vehicle. 

Till this day, Ms. ****** ***** has not asked any of our employees to return her new vehicle and cancel the contract.  Ms. ***** has told several of our employees that she loves her new vehicle but was afraid her son wasn't going to like her decision to purchase a new vehicle.  This BBB complaint has obviously been submitted by her son James.  Ms. *****’s email address is not jamesf*************** as it shows on this BBB complaint.  As I have stated before, unless James has legal guardianship over Ms. *****’s financial affairs, we cannot discuss this purchase with him.  Ms. *****’s loan has already been funded through the lender and her loan has been completed for her new vehicle. 

We did not approach Ms. ***** while her vehicle was in service to purchase a vehicle, Ms. ***** approached two of our service personnel asking for more information about a new vehicle.  Ms. ***** was first to engage any conversation regarding a new vehicle.  We do not practice or condone predatory sales practices nor do we coerce customers into purchasing vehicles.  Our A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau should attest to that fact.

2/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from Toyota in October. This vehicle has had to have mayor service repairs since the minute to took the vehicle of the dealer lot. Toyota is now refusing to take action to repair the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: We are asking that Toyota take action to fix the vehicle.

Business Response: On October 14, 2014, ******* ****** brought in her VW Beetle for a check engine light.  We sent her vehicle to the VW dealership to have it diagnosed.  The VW dealer stated the vehicle speed sensor needed to be replaced.  We paid the VW dealer to have the work performed and did not charge ******* ******.

On January 28, 2015, ******* ****** brought in her VW Beetle again for a check engine light. We sent her vehicle to the VW dealership to have it diagnosed again.  This time, her vehicle requires a new catalytic converter.  We will be willing to take care of this for her.  I have been trying to contact her but have only been able to leave voicemail messages.  Please have ******* contact me for an appointment to have the catalytic converter replaced on her vehicle.

Thank you,
***** ***
General Manager
###-###-#### Direct

11/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2014 Toyota Camry on March 2014, which was prepped at Toyota site. Toyota employees left swirl marks/spider webs all over car paint. The paint looks trashed.The vehicle looks a few years old, not months old. I complained with Toyota personnel and they said they would remove the scratches/swirl marks. I have taken the vehicle a few times for this same issue and it appears as if they only performed temporary fixes, since the swirls keep re-appearing. The last time I took it,they reassured that they had permanently removed the swirl marks, which was not the case as they reappeared again a few weeks later. At this point, they mentioned there was nothing else they could do.

Desired Settlement: I requested for a solution, which they don't appear to have, therefore I would like to resolve this by receiving a Full refund of the vehicle including sales tax, insurance protection, and other fees that I paid. This is the best solution for me since it appears that they are not willing to negotiate a paint job or provide me with a refund for damages made on behalf of Toyota employees.

Business Response: To Better Business Bureau,

In response to ******** *****'s complaint regarding the swirl marks on the 2014 Toyota Camry which was purchased on March 2, 2014, we made 2 different attempts to satisfy Ms. *****.  We waxed and polished her vehicle 2 weeks after she purchased it.  Four months later, on July 10 2014, we applied at no cost to Ms. *****, a paint sealant wax compound.  When Ms. ***** picked up her vehicle after we completed the work, she expressed to us that she was happy with the condition of her vehicle.

All vehicles have swirl marks on them, its the nature of automotive paint.  The swirl marks are much more visible on black vehicles in direct sunlight and Ms. *****'s vehicle is black.  The best way to reduce swirl marks is to maintain the paint by waxing it regularly.  Wax & polish will be removed after time so regular application is necessary.  There are special car wash solutions which will be retain the wax on the vehicle longer but eventually, wax will need to be re-applied again.  Once the vehicle is waxed & polished again, the swirl marks will be removed temporarily.

There is nothing wrong with the paint on Ms. *****'s vehicle and she will not be able to return her vehicle for a refund of her purchase price because of the swirl marks.

Regards,
***** ***
General Manager

Business Response: Would ******* ***** be satisfied if we reimburse her $325 for * **** ***** ****** company to remove the swirl marks on her vehicle?

 
The invoice from * **** ***** ****** company states the following..."A Fine Touch Detail will permanently remove swirls".  If we agree to reimburse Patricia ***** $325, she must agree to release Toyota Town of Stockton from any liability regarding the paint finish because * **** ***** ****** company will be performing the work to remove the swirl marks and we cannot guarantee or warranty their workmanship.
 
 
***** ***
General Manager

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

 Although Toyota Town of Stockton employees completey ruined my Toyota Camry exterior paint with their improper washing and polishing techniques, I have no other choice but to accept their proposal in an effort to try and fix the my already scratched and marred paint on the Toyota camry and have a professional detailer fix it.

10/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my brakes and rotors resurface on my 2010 toyota corolla LE in april 2012 @ the toyota dealership in stkn,ca on hammer lane due to an ongoing problem i been having with my breaks.Well two years later I continue to have the same issue with my brakes making noises and rubbing motion to only find out today sep 2014 @ the toyota dealership in lodi,ca that my breaks were missing the "hardware kit" which keeps the brake pads from moving this is the reason why I was continuing to have the rubbing motion and etc... So for two years I was driving my vehicle dangerously on the road with missing parts in my brakes due to the mechanics @ the stockton dealership on hammer lane.

Desired Settlement: take this matter up with headquarters

Business Response: We would like an opportunity to inspect ******** **********'s brake on her vehicle.  

 
If there is something that was installed improperly, we would fix it at no charge for ******** **********.
 
Please don't hesitate to contact me at ###-###-####.
 
Regards,
***** ***
General Manager

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Business Response: Spoke to Ms. ********** and scheduled an appointment for her to bring her vehicle in for us to inspect the brakes.

 
***** ***

8/2/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it may concern, On 09/08/2011 I purchased a 2008 Toyota Tundra Double Cab from Toyota Town of Stockton. Before I purchased the vehicle I asked for the full CARFAX. The Salesman gave us a Carfax indicating that the vehicle had no problems at all, so at that point I purchased the truck. On 07/11/14 I took my truck to Carmax to get an appraisal offer, they came back with $9,000 with a CARFAX indicating that the vehicle had a problem. The problem was the odometer problem title records. The records that were given to me from Carmax indicated that on 01/28/11 the mileage on the truck was TRUE MILEAGE UNKNOWN. I was told by the sales representative that I should go back to Toyota Town of Stockton and speak with the manager because they didn't disclose this information to me before I had purchased the truck. I went to Toyota Town and spoke to the General sales Manager, *** *******, and ***** a Sales manager, both told me that It is Toyota town policy not to disclose the full Carfax information. And Appraised my truck at $10,500, and there was nothing they can do but to get me into another vehicle, I explained that that was not what I wanted to do I felt as I was moving backwards instead of forward. I ask and told them that I want them to take the truck back since Im no longer getting the full blue book value of the truck ranging between $13,500-$16,000. Both saw my frustration and neither one of them was trying to help me or fix this issue. This issue is that they didn't disclose the correct information before I purchased my truck, they are refusing to fix the issue and rather put me in another vehicle. Finally ***** called another manger (name unknown) above *** ******* and he said that they could get me into another car. And artificially change the number so I can get out of the problem they put me. The other manger also said that Auto Check is a better service when checking Vehicle History Report. I asked him if you know its a better service why dont you use it, so these types of issues dont arise. He didnt say anything.I owe as of 7/12/12 a total of $13,682.83 to Wells Fargo dealer on the loan. As a consumer, I asked for the carfax to be disclosed to me, thinking they would give me the full detail. But instead they not only lied to me, but convinced me to purchase a vehicle that I cannot resale for the value that it is worth in the blue book. Im frustrated and really upset that they can do this and get away with it by trying to put me into another vehicle that they would artificially change the number. I feel that companies like Toyota Town should have their business license taken away, Im pretty sure Im not the only consumer that is having the same issues with them. At this point all I want is for them to take the truck back since I cannot sell it for blue book value.

Desired Settlement: I want Toyota Town of stockton to take the Truck back so I no longer have to pay for a truck that I purchased with false information. I don't want any of the payments back, I just want this truck and payment to be off my hands since I as a consumer asked for the proper documents/information and was not given correct information.

Business Response: To BBB Northeast California,

 
In regards to Mr. ****'s claim that the 2008 Toyota Tundra he purchased was sold knowing that the vehicle's odometer was true miles unknown is false.  When Mr. **** purchased his vehicle on August 1, 2011, we showed him a Carfax vehicle history report which clearly indicated the vehicle's odometer was not true miles unknown .
 
I have attached a copy of a recent Carfax vehicle history report which clearly indicates this vehicle is not true miles unknown .
 
To our knowledge, Mr. ****'s vehicle is not currently, nor has ever been true miles unknown .
 
***** ***
General Manager
 
Toyota Town of Stockton
###-###-####

7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 06/21/2013 I took my car to Toyota because it wouldn't start. ON 06-21-2013 ****** call me and said that it was my starter and my starter relay. He told me that it wouldn't started at all.So I had it tow back home because it would not starter. On 06/22/2013 My Husband started the car it was only the starter relay.I call ****** and ask him one more time what was really wrong with my car and he stated again it was the started and the starter relay. Then I told him that my husband got it started. Then he told me well you can get it started with the relay. I ask him what was really going out on my car he said it was the starter relay but I should also change the starter to.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for the 100 dollars for them checking the car. I am also asking them to give me back the 40 Dollars for having the car towed back home.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* Service M Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@toyotaofstockton.com Toyota Town is very sorry about the miscommunication with the recommended repairs. Vehicle was towed in with the damaged relay. Relay was burned internally and after the relay was to be replaced we advised the customer that the starter with almost 200,000 miles on it might be going bad. With the signs of electrical burning inside the relay, the starter could be drawing more amperage than Toyota recommends. Customer declined replacing the relay and performing a starter draw test. Here at Toyota Town we want every customer to be completely satisfied with the service they receive here. We are going to send ***** ******* a check for $140 which includes the $100 diagnostic and the $40 tow charges she requested...

1/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a Chevrolet HHR on Nov. 14, 2012. The HHR has been in the repair shop 3x in the matter of 3 weeks. Asked for exchange on vehicle, was denied. On Nov 14, 2012, I purchased a vehicle; chevrolet hhr (that originally did NOT want). Within the 3 weeks I have had the car, it has been in the shop 3x. 1st time was the alarm was not working, 2nd was wires caught on fire under the hood and rubbed against the a/c line, now the 3rd time was due to the vehicle shaking and trembling when I drove and pressed on breaks. when the car wires were rubbing against the a/c line, the car stopped in middle of road, jerked with no explanation, all lights turned off and on, the car would not start 3x I tried to start it.All this while my two youngest children in the car with me. It was towed into Chevy repair services. This car should NOT be doing these things especially 3 ekes after purchasing the vehicle. These things started the day after I purchased the car, and I immediately brought it to Toyota Town attention. They forwarded me to Chevy. I spoke with several people at Toyota Town including the manager *** in regards to swapping out this vehicle for a different one, but he refused. This hhr has had too many issues within the 3 weeks I have had it. The manager *** told me If I wanted to swap out, Id have to put down another $3500 for a Nissan Sentra (the one I originally wanted int he first place) after I already put down $4650.00 AND traded in my 2007 WORKING Dodge Charger. This manager didn't want to hear what I had to say, nor did he seem to care to want to swap out vehicles so that my children and I were safe, and that I was a happy customer. I couldn't believe I traded in my excellent running dodge charger with NOTHING wrong with it, for this chevrolet hhr and has had nothing but problems since purchasing this vehicle. There is such thing as wanting your customers happy and safe. Toyota Town has done nothing to that extent. I wasn't asking for a lot just to swap out the vehicle and put me in another that had no issues. But they refused.

Desired Settlement: I am asking to put me in a different vehicle that has no issues. I didn't trade my working vehicle and give $4650.00 for vehicle that has to be in the repair shop over and over especially the next day after purchasing the vehicle. I want my family and I to not have to worry about if the car is going to do this again. I would never purchase a vehicle and I will never recommend this place to ANYONE I know, If Toyota Town cannot swap out vehicles. This is my main concern, I shouldn't have to have this car being towed right after buying it to the repair shop 3x! I am asking that they replace this hhr for a different vehicle or give me back my charger and money and we are a done deal. And I prefer the money and my charger!

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******/General Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@toyotaofstockton.com December 26, 2012 Toyota Town is committed to providing the best possible service and to making every dealership experience a favorable one. We encourage each dealership representative to maintain a professional level of performance at all times, and we were disappointed to learn that Ms. ****** ****** felt the service she received was less than satisfactory. Ms. ****** purchased the 2011 Chevrolet HHR on November 14, 2012. Customer was advised at time of sale there is no "cooling-off" period unless customer obtained a contract cancellation option. Customer was offered the contract cancellation option and chose to decline. Customer was advised that vehicle has a 2 year/100,000 mile limited power train warranty in addition to the manufacturers 36 months / 36,000 mile warranty. On November 21, 2012 Ms. ****** advised us of a concern with her vehicle remote. Ms. ****** stated the remote did not work, even after replacing batteries. We apologized for the inconvenience and as a one-time goodwill gesture, we offered to provide Ms. ****** with a second remote. We arranged for Ms. ****** to have the remote ordered and programmed from Chase Chevrolet at no cost to her. On November 30, 2012 Ms. ****** had her 2011 Chevrolet HHR towed to Chase Chevrolet. Ms. ****** stated that all dash panel lights flashed before engine stalled. The technician at Chase Chevrolet inspected the vehicle and found a wire (CKT 1744) chaffed against the AC hose. Vehicle was repaired under Chevrolet factory warranty at no cost to customer. The vehicle was given a clean bill of health from the Chase Chevrolet. On December 7, 2012 Ms. ****** advised us that her Chevrolet HHR "shook" while applying the brakes. We apologized for inconvenience and as a one-time goodwill gesture dealership resurfaced both front rotors and lubricated the caliper slides. After repair, vehicle was road tested and vehicle checked okay. During service department visit on December 7, 2012 Ms. ****** spoke with ****** Vasquez, our General Sales Manager regarding her concerns with the Chevrolet HHR and to inquire about trading vehicle in on another unit. ****** reminded Ms. ****** that California law does not provide a "cooling-off" or cancellation period for vehicle sales should customer later change their mind, decide the vehicle costs too much, or wish they had acquired a different vehicle. ****** also advised Ms. ****** that she was offered a contract cancellation option at time of sale but declined. ****** advised Ms. ****** that she could trade in her vehicle for another a different vehicle but she would lose the sales tax & DMV fees she paid for on the HHR. Ms. ****** declined the offer. We cannot rescind the vehicle purchase. This vehicle is currently in good operating condition.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Mr. ******, Let me start off with that I purchased the vehicle November 14, 2012 and on November 15, 2012, I contacted Toyota Town about the remote not working. Not on the 21st as you stated. You are wrong & incorrect & I can prove that with call records, and service paperwork from Chevrolet! I then called a week later after the remote was fixed & working, because the HHR was shaking, stalling jerking, and shut off while I was driving it. Then finally, another week later-3 weeks after purchasing the vehicle, (and I do have proof of that as well) I called because the car would SHAKE tremendously when I would drive it and press on brakes. That was NOT covered by warranty, because Toyota Town & Chevrolet Warranty stated " that it is not covered under the 36k mile warranty because it is at fault of the driver/owner, and that would be of cost to the owner. I would have to come out of pocket & pay for it myself " is what I was being told. So I then called "Amy" in Customer Relations because I did speak to her about the remote issue when that happened, and she helped me with no issues. I informed her of yet another issue with the vehicle that I explained above, and she said she would see what she could do. Another thing, ****** did NOT inform me of a "cooling off" period. Simply because ****** was extremely sick that day & was unable to speak!!!!! I waited an hour for a manager that day to come & speak to me in the office. And when ****** came out finally, he was unable to speak because of his sickness. So he had the Service Manager speak to me. He (Service Manager) did inform me that I would lose the taxes & fees which I found to be highly disturbing because knowing how many times this vehicle had been in the shop within 3 weeks, Toyota Town refused to put me in a different car, for the SAFETY of my children & I. Not because, of the color, or the car itself, but of the safety of my children!! Nor did the finance Manager "*****" at the time of the sale tell me about a cooling off period. He said If I wanted to bring it back I had to come out of pocket an additional $2XX-XXX for some sort of "Restocking Fee." Also, at the time of the sale I was told that I had to pay an additional $1400.00 if I wanted a warranty on the vehicle. I declined that offer because your money hungry salesman "****" wanted me to put down $4650.00 additional out of pocket on top of my trade info a 2007 Dodge Charger KBB value of $9,200. Which I was given $9k for. And I did put down the $4650 additional. Which I was not happy about because I simply told these sales people that I was only looking to pay approx $3k addt'l out of pocket. That flew by them so quick, they kept denying me. It wasn't just one salesman either, but because "****" stated TO ME, that I was VERY picky, he called in another sales-person named "Susie" to help me!! She helped me but as soon as the I was walking to my Dodge Charger to leave, **** came out to "help" again. I should have just left, & not dealt with such **** that day. You stated "As a One time gesture" you fixed the issue at no cost? I went through **** & BACK to have your company pay for what should have been fixed before the sale. I was informed by a plethora of people at Toyota Town that if it was less than $100, then you would repair the issue. Really?? ONE DAYWhich that was failed to be brought up in your response. Not only did the HHR shake while I was driving it, it JERKED, LIKE ASIF I WAS REAR ENDED, THE CAR SHUT OFF AS I WAS DRIVING IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD AND WOULDN'T RESTART. All this while my 2 youngest children were with me in the vehicle. (Ages 7 & 10). I've never had so many problems with purchasing a vehicle, and I had purchased MANY! This dealership has to be the worst I have EVER dealt with, and I will make it known! Not even the ghetto, ran down, car dealerships do this to their customers! They (ghetto dealerships) most definitely welcome, and treat customers with utmost respect, and have NO issues with repairing a vehicle they sold to a customer, and in the shop 3 times in the first 3 weeks of buying the vehicle, I KNOW first hand, they will be HONORED to switch out the vehicle. There also wouldn't be any "One-time, goodwill gesture" either. What kind of "Top Dealership" does that to their customers, after shelling out $4650.00 on top of a trade in worth $9k?? I will be in contact with Toyota Town very soon in reference to this situation. If not by the BBB, then by another party. By the way Mr. ******, I don't know where you received your information from, because it certainly is incorrect and you were misinformed & not told about the deal correctly. You failed to mention, how my Dodge Charger was involved in the deal as well. CORRECT information must be told to you before you can be 100% positive to what you are stating. Because you end up looking like a fool. Thank You & YOU WILL be hearing from me very soon!, ****** ****** XXX-XXX-XXXX

Business' Final Response
Our position remains the same. * The customer was offered a "Contract Cancellation Option Agreement" and refused. * The State of California doesn't provide a "cooling off period" for vehicle sales. * We fixed ALL the problems with the vehicle in a fast & timely manner. The vehicle is in perfect operating condition now. We cannot cancel the sale of this vehicle and return her trade in back to her.

11/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I like this car, but Im concerned with the seat belt. I think that it is a company defect or recall. I went back to Toyota Town and they told me that it was a recall issue and that I need to take it to Mercedes Benz. I took it to them and they said that there was not a recall this the seat beat for this year of car. I asked the guy and he gave me an estimate for $500. I don't have enough money to cover the expenses. I know this car does not have a warranty because it is to old and has a lot of miles.

Desired Settlement: I would like the seat belt fixed at no charge to me.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******** Service mgr Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *****@toyotaofstockton.com We have had contact with the customer. We are replacing his seat belt at no charge. The customer will be removing his complaint.