BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Thompson's Auto & Truck Centers, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Thompson's Auto & Truck Centers, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Thompson's Auto & Truck Centers, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 29, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1987 Business started locally: 01/01/1987 Business incorporated: 09/10/1997 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing
2120 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818
http://dmv.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 657-8056

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Tammy St. Germaine, Controller Steve Summers, Sales Manager Mr. Jeff Thompson, Executive General Manager Mr. Ron Thompson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tammy St. Germaine, Controller
Customer Contact: Mr. Jeff Thompson, Executive General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service Auto Parts & Supplies - Used

Alternate Business Names
Ron Thompson's Auto Group, Inc. Thompson Certified Center Thompson's Buick Pontiac GMC Thompson's Toyota of Placerville
Products & Services

Thompson's Auto & Truck Centers, Inc. specializes in new and used vehicle sales and service.

Industry Tips
Car Buyer’s Bill of Rights:

Additional Locations

  • 126 Forni D

    Placerville, CA 95667

  • 140 Forni Rd

    Placerville, CA 95667 (530) 748-1293 (866) 602-0710 (530) 672-2110

  • 3441 Coach Ln

    Cameron Park, CA 95682

  • 55 Placerville Dr

    Placerville, CA 95667 (530) 748-1306 (530) 295-5737

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (530) 672-2110(Phone)
  • (866) 602-0710(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The issue is that when I took my Highlander into Thompson's for service it was fine. After leaving I drove less than two miles and the check engine light came on. I returned to Thompson's and it had a broken vacuum line connector on the air filter box. They would not do anything about it and blame another dealer. They acted guilty about it and this is what a guilty person would do is to blame someone else. Attached are two letters, the first is the one I sent to Thompson's Toyota. The second letter is about the phone call I received from them about the letter.

Desired Settlement: I want Thompson's Toyota to replace my air filter box top cover, with the broken vacuum connector, with a new one at no cost to me.

Business Response:

I spoke with this customer about his concern with the air box, explained to him that we didn't remove his air box to perform the last service he was here for, and did point out that another Toyota store had performed a brake master recall that would require it to be removed. I did offer to split the expense of replacing it with him and he became aggravated,  said he would only do that if we did it at dead cost. I explained to him that I cant purchase parts at cost and that the offer is at retail price only. he refused my offer.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my own financing and dealer ran my credit without my knowledge after I had told them I am not applying for financing. I purchsaed a 2014 Toyota Corrolla Le from this delaership. I notified **** the guy that took me on the test drive I was not applying for financing with them because I already had an approval with another lender. I even gave them the Lenders check. Because my lender refused to fund the loan for the first vehichle I Was interested in which was a used toyota corrolla sport because their listed price was over the kelley blue book value of the car. The lender would only fund if they dropped their price or i obtained a new car. So I got the new car. But they declined to tell me they were running myu credit behind the scenes after I told them no. This is the email I sent to them below.. Why was my credit ran several times by your dealership? I was very clear with ******* or **** what ever his name is that I am not applying for a loan, I already had one, which was funded by my loan company. Now I'm getting letters from banks telling me thanks for my loan application but it is denied. When I asked **** why he needed information from me like references and my social security number, employment information he told me it was because there are new laws for buying a car and the government just needs to be sure you arent money laundering, or terrorist, or crap like that ..I am trying to rebuild my credit and the multiple attempts by toyoya, bank of america, wells fargo and someother company is damaging to my credit rebuilding. This is unacceptable. I was absolutley clear when I came in I was not reapplying and that I have my own loan. This guy has turned out to be a nighmare for me. This is a ruse and designed to get access to the customer's credit report in order to qualify a customer to various finance sources. OFAC requires dealers to screen cash buyers to make sure they are not on a government terrorism watch list. The patriot act cleary states only if I am a cash buyer of $10k or more. I received a voicemail from a ******* today telling me its their policy practice to run everyone's credit regardless of if you want them too or not..

Desired Settlement: Written apology as to their disonest practice 1 year free car detailing, servicing and gas

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: **** *******
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: **********************
******* did purchase a vehicle from our Toyota store on 12/1/2013. During the sale process ******* was very rude and heard by several employees cursing and repeatedly yelling loudly on our showroom floor. The Sales Manager on duty asked her to calm down so he could explain the process and what was needed to complete a transaction. He told her several times that she did not have to purchase from us if she was not happy with the her bank's terms. She insisted she would be leaving in a car that day, and had no other ride home. The Sales Manager told her we did have other options for financing that she could use and possibly lower her interest rate and down payment requirements. She agreed to allow us to explore those options, so that she could drive a car home that day. At that time we collected her SSN# and pertinent information necessary to complete the application. Thompsons Toyota ran her credit one time, and submitted her information to a few lenders in an attempt to get her the best terms possible. We routinely submit a customer's information to more then one bank as a benefit to the customer. Our goal is to find a competitive interest rate, preferred down payment and longest term available. During the selection process some banks may approve or decline a customer for various reasons (examples for decline would be Debt to income too high, insufficient down payment, time on job to short, or term length not available, just to name a few). ******* was turned down by a few of the banks we submitted her to, but was also approved by 2 banks. We selected the loan that fit her needs best (lowest down payment possible) and she took delivery and drove home.

I feel the dealership went above and beyond to accommodate *******'s wishes to drive a new car home given the circumstances of credit and down payment she had to work with.

I have collected 5 other examples where a customer was submitted to more then one bank and the bank's decisions of approval or decline. If you would like to see them, I can forward this information to your office. All personal/private information has been omitted.

*******'s new Corolla came with 2 years free maintenance, if she would like to use our service department we would be happy to service her vehicle for scheduled service. We do also provide a complementary exterior car wash at the with each service.

Thank you for your time.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am appalled by this imflammatory response. At no time was I cursing or yelling at anyone. I did indicate that I was upset that the person who took me to test drive the car was not knowledgeable about the buying process and had he provided my loan approval information earlier in day when i gave it to him over the phone toyotta would have known before I even walked in the door that I would have needed to select a different vehichle than the blue toyota corolla sport that I was origianlly interested in. I sat quitely in the office while they continued to go back and forth on trying to get me to put down cash deposit. There was another family in the small office I was in working on their deal as well. Eventually I waaited in the lobby/showroom where there were also 2 other customers being helped. It was dark and closing time. It was extremeley quite in their except for the people who were still trying to finalize or negoitate their prices..I'm so disgusted and shock that a small community dealership would step to this level. I originally requested what my terms would be to remedy this, but now after the false nasty slandering of my name has now made this even more unacceptable. If they do not come up with a solution and a reason as to why they would make up fasle statements then I am taking this to court!! And trust me when I say, I am not backing down. My *** what kind of buisness does this to customers... I'm sure I am not the first they have done this too. And to have **** ******* make up such horrible lies is disguting. Then they send me several emails asking me how was my experience with my purchase. ASking me to complete their survey on how my process was and to call them with any questions or concerns or to schedule car maintenence appts..For a customer who you claim to act in such a nasty and rude way you sure go out of your way after the fact... I'm so disappointed and appalled by this. I will ensure that every future customer going into that dealership is not assaulted with such lies and deception again.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: False Advertising. I saw three cars online on Thursday, August 22 at 4pm and made arrangements with online sale rep *** to see them on Friday morning. All were priced very low. Almost too good to be true. I was assured all three cars were available. I drove from Elk Grove to Placerville to see them. When I arrived at 9:30am at the dealership none of the cars were available. One was being detailed and could not be seen, the other one was nowhere to be found and third one was at a lot in Cameron Park even though it was advertised in Placerville. It was very obvious, they were advertising these great deals to lure in customers and then sell them something else.

Desired Settlement: money for my gas and time.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Hello and thank you for letting us know about your experience. We take pride in the quality of service we provide. That being said, with our current inventory at nearly 600 vehicles in 3 physical locations we do our best to know at all times where each vehicle is in our system. I am sorry for the inconvenience that occurred with this specific incident. It is definitely an isolated case. In response to the comment that our prices are "too good to be true pricing" yes, we are very aggressive in the way we market our cars. We offer high quality vehicle at very competitive prices. I am positive that had the customer wanted to drive the vehicle at the Cameron Park store we would accommodated her. This is something we do several times a week. Whether it be taking the customer to the vehicle or bring the vehicle to the customer we are happy to do which ever the customer prefers. The vehicle in the detail department could have also been shown and driven once the detail had been completed. We honor all of our online pricing for each specific vehicle listed. We track market trends and price accordingly. If you need any further information please contact me I will be happy to assist you. I will also provide the customer on record with some compensation for her time and fuel. If she would like to pursue doing business with us she can contact me directly as well and I will be happy to assist wherever possible. Thank you

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) yes, I accept it. The representative from the dealership can email me at ******@msn.com and I can supply my mailing address.

Final Business Response
I have attached a copy of our latest newspaper ad, where we have separated the vehicles based on location. I believe this will help our customers see where the vehicle they are interested in is located. I am sorry that ****** still is still not happy with our process. We strive for excellence. If I could be give some contact information for her, I will be happy to supply her with a pre paid Visa for the inconvience. Thanks for your help in resolution,

Business Response
Company states a check was not directed to the issuing department. It was completed on 10/25/13 and mailed that same day. Company representative called the consumer to notify her a check for $75.00 was being mailed. However, the consumer is still not happy, and wants more.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

8/30/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Toyota Camry advertised as LE model even though the actual car is CE model I am currently in the market for a car. While browsing around, I had found the above mentioned advertisement on ****** Toyota Dealer website. As indicated in the ad it is a Toyota Camry 2011 LE edition. When I went to the dealership and asked the dealer to provide details to confirm that is it really an LE model. The salesperson checked in the database of dealership and told me that it is infact CE model. Then I was told that is a mistake and I will be quoted a price according to CE model. For a person who is not aware of this fact will inadvertently end up paying more for a lower model car.

Desired Settlement: Proper advertising

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We appreciate that Mr.****** brought this to our attention. In no way was this an intentional act. It was a mistake from our data entry. We have gone further to protect and to make sure that our information is always correct and accurate after Mr ****** brought this to our attention. We appologize for the inconveience that this caused Mr ******. Also, we did reprice the vehicle to reflect the CE model for Mr ****** at the time the error was discovered. Thank you,

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/5/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/2/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/6/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1