BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

This Business is not BBB accredited

Sacramento Kia

Phone: (916) 576-8300 2820 Fulton Ave, Sacramento, CA 95821 http://www.sacramentokia.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Sacramento Kia include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Sacramento Kia include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sacramento Kia
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 26, 2012 Business started: 10/13/2010 Business started locally: 10/13/2010 Business incorporated: 10/13/2010 in DE
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mrs. Shelly Mason, Executive Assistant Mr. Joseph Clementi, GM Mr. John Gould, Sales Manager Mr. Pablo Zegarra, CFO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Joseph Clementi, GM
Principal: Mrs. Shelly Mason, Executive Assistant
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
California Superstores - Sacramento Kia Sacramento K, LLC Ytransport, LLC
Industry Tips
Car Buyer’s Bill of Rights:

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2820 Fulton Ave

    Sacramento, CA 95821

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In September of 2013 me and my mother-in-law purchased a 2008 Jeep Wrangler X. Little did we know what a nightmare this vehicle would be. About 2 weeks after we bought the vehicle my fianc who is the main driver of the vehicle noticed it was having a lot of issues, like the "death wobble", top leaks, breaks and harmonic balancer issues. We brought the vehicle to Sacramento Kia were we financed it from. The technician said its a Jeep get used to it, and told us there was nothing wrong with it. We then the next day took it down to there sister store Sacramento Dodge down the street. When they were finished looking at it the vehicle has $2,500.00 worth of issues with it. After about 3 trips to Sacramento Dodge they were able to have fixed the problem for the time being. Now almost 2 months later, the harmonic balancer pulley is going bad, the Jeep is squirrely on the road, it doesn't track right. Now the biggest concern that we have is that we were able to obtain paper work from Kia from the Used Car mini inspection that they knew of all of these problems and wanted the vehicle to go to auction, because they didn't want to sell it on the lot. However not even auction would take it with the issues it has, and the vehicle has been a pain in the butt the whole time we have had it. We simply would like them to take the vehicle back and wash the deal, it is not worth the $24,000 for 5 years that we financed it for, and I have already spent about $1,300 on payments towards something that Kia doesn't want to stand behind. Now we have in the beginning talked with the General Manager *** ********, and he has simply brushed the issue aside like it is not his problem. Auction didn't want this vehicle and now neither do we. Kia said people get them for toys, we needed a reliable vehicle. We just want the deal washed and them to take there piece of * back. Is there anything we can do. Thank you for reading my story and hopefully checking into it. Sincerely,****** *****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) We want the deal washed and them taking the vehicle back and if possible to pay me back 3 months worth of car payments I have already put into this vehicle.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: *** ********
Contact Phone: 916-576-8300
Contact Email: ***.********@calsuperstores.com
This Jeep was purchased knowing that it was built for off-road purposes. The cusotmer wanted the vehicle the way it was built and understood the "as-is" purchase. Sacramento Kia agreed to repair nearly $2200 worth of repairs as a good-will gesture. The customer is an ex-employee who knew what they were buying when they made the decsion. The original call to our dealership was that they wanted to bring the vehicle back as it rode harder than a street vehicle. The mother of the employee wanted to return the vehicle because the daughter and son-in law both lost their jobs. The Jeep was purchased with the knowledge that it was an off-road built Jeep. Whether or not the vehicle was originally slated to wholesale is not relavant. The customer made this purchase with full knowledge of its limited capabilities and "as-is'. Af some point the cost of maintaining such a vehicle becomes the responsibilities of the owner and not the dealership.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is the mother Cheryl Burgess: I spoke to *** regarding the fact that the Jeep was sold to us as an unsafe vehicle, period!! Not becasuse ****** lost her job. Which is another issue we will be taking care of. Unlawful termination?
We are thankful the repairs have been paid for. After all we did purchase a warranty for the jeep. We now have all documents necessary to prove this vehicle was unsafe to sell to anyone, even to auction off. Riding harder was expected. We have videos of the way the jeep handled, which is unsafe. Oh BTW: the track bar is now broken. Sheered off as the jeep was being driven. What else will go wrong? We are lucky people are still alive. This jeep needs to be purchased back for the balance of the loan.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing this letter of complaint because I believe I have been deceived by Sacramento Kia located at 2820 Fulton Avenue, Sacramento, CA XXXXX. On Saturday September 7, the following deceptions and misrepresentations occurred: a. My agent ***** ******* reported after some negotiation that his approval/negotiation verification department had accepted my second offer for a 2014 Kia Forte EX of $12,500.00 trade in value for my 2006 BMW 330 CI convertible and 60 payments of $350 per month. Later I learned that the period of the loan had been changed to 66 months or $2,100 more than the negotiated amount. b. Upon getting home with my 2014 Kia Forte EX, I discovered it as an LX minus a reverse warning system. The engine is 1.8 liters instead of a 2.0 that is equipped with special fuel injection (GTI). c. As I left, after four and one half hours of negotiation, I discovered the car had a dent above the driver's door. I was assured it would be repaired immediately, but have not been notified as of this date of repair accommodations. As I expressed concern about the process of financing the car for 6 more months than agreed, two concerned staff members subtly slipped me the phone number of the Vice President of the local Kia store. They both suggested I use this number to contact ******* ******** who they believed had high integrity and would fairly iron out my situation. I contacted ******* ******** on Monday, September 9, 2013 and arranged to meet with him on Tuesday, September 10. During the meeting ******* expressed concern about my frustration, but also justified the additional 6 months of payments as his employee's way of helping me make a purchase. It wasn't long and he made it clear that I had purchased a car which was now considered used and this was my responsibility, not Sacramento Kia's. He attempted to offer several proposals fo leases and purchases all of which had built in penalties because I now owned a used car. All of the offers including leases were at least $20 per month more and one offer was even extended to 72 months. His final solution was that I drive this wrong car for one year and return it one year to get a wonderful deal. I had spent two and a half hours of stalling and wheeling dealing to learn that nothing had been improved by the so called miracle worker. I left with simple parting words that I was mad but did not rage or name call. I have never been treated this way by an auto dealer, especially one who staff purported to have high morals and integrity. I felt betrayed and cheated out of a settlement to atone for Sacramento Kia's errors or deceptions.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ************@calsuperstores.com Thank you for allowing Sacramento Kia to respond to the complaint filed by Mr. *****. Mr. ******** is no longer operating Sacramento Kia as General Manager. We reviewed the complaints presented and it appears that Mr. ******** offered reasonable solutions to Mr. *****. There are areas of the contract that Mr. ***** would have to sign referencing his trade-in values, interest rates and terms. Mr. ***** would have substantial opportunity to object to a number or pre-agreed figure upon reviewing his original documents. Any concerns could have been addressed and resolved. The repairs for the "dent" in the driver's side door can and will be addressed at Mr. *****'s earliest convenience. We will stand by the offer to repair the dent. Since there were no "resolutions" requested, I am unaware of a solution to offer. Credibility, integrity and professionalism are paramount at Sacramento Kia.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) While they have not accepted responsibility for the deception that I incurred, the Dealership would concede that both persons responsible are no longer in the positions they had at the time of the sale. I did recognize during the contract signing that 6 extra months were added to the contract and was assured by staff members, who gave me *********** phone number, that he would correct this error on the following Monday. The contract which Mr ******* refers only stated that I was purchasing was a Forte with no mention of which Forte model I was purchasing. The whole event of purchasing and trying to negotiate fairness the following Monday fatigued me beyond my normal alertness. So, I quess Mr ******* must be alluding to my lack of alertness in the paper process. So, to summarize I would saI was bilked in two ways: 1) the contract did not match the agreement. 2) I did not get a Forte EX as several staff members had implied. Mr ******* should understand all concessions offered by Crawford involved more money for your company and that the problem was mine not yours. Is Mr ******* implying that I should have had an attorney during the paper manipulations or shoud now get one. I would also wonder if I should alert the media about the deceptions.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

12/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First Service call for our vehicle was 7/25/13. Both driver and passenger **** windows have constant wind noise while vehicle is being driven. Windows are not open at all during wind noise. Wind noise was verified by dealership and window run channels were replaced to correct the problem. We experienced the same problem after repair of window run channels so vehicle was taken back to dealership on 8/7/13 new trim was replaced. Vehicle still had the same issue and was taken into service on 9/4/13 for third repair again noise was verified by dealership. After repairs the vehicle was still experiencing the same problem so we contacted customer service and spoke with **** ******* at XXX-XXX-XXXX She set an appointment for us to meet with one of the Regional Analyst by the name of ****** at the dealership on 10/15/13. He went with us to test drive our vehicle an did verify the wind noise. We then test drove another vehicle off the lot that had the same exact issue as our vehicle. He stated that the vehicle was designed to make the wind noise to which we strongly disagreed. He stated that Kia would not do anything further to repair our vehicle that is was something we just had to live with. We were dissatisfied with what we were told and decided to file a complaint. This is an issue that has to be resolved being that the vehicle is under warranty. Please see attachments.

Desired Settlement: We want our vehicle repaired properly. When we purchased the vehicle we did not have any issue with the vehicle until over time. It does not make sense to pay for a vehicle that was purchased brand new and it has not been a year and we are dissatisfied with both the vehicle and the service from Kia. If the car was designed in this manner why would the dealership try and correct the problem on several occasions if it was meant to run with wind noise.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************@calsuperstores.com We thank you for providing us with the opportunity to address the concerns Mr. and Mrs. ******** have with regards to their complaint. Kia has sent a factory representative out to meet with the *********** to discuss the concern. While here the customer and the Kia representative drove another new "like" vehicle together to determine if the wind noise was considered normal or excessive. While driving the "like" vehicle Mr. and Mrs. ******** agreed that the wind noise was similar. The determination made was that the wind noise falls into the guidelines of being commercially acceptable levels and a characteristic of the vehicle. The manufacturer (Kia) has determined no additional repairs are necessary. As you know, Sacramento Kia cannot perform any additional diagnosis or replace parts that are not authorized by the manufacturer. We would be happy to assist the ********'s by offering a fair market value as a trade-in towards another new or used vehicle. We welcome an open dialogue with our guest to see if there are additional solutions we can provide.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We never agreed that the wind noise was similar. It was noted on our receipt dated Oct.15th 2013 that we the customer disagreed with the DPSM's findings and that we were very unhappy. We have a ten year warranty on our vehicle which we purchased brand new. Kia has never attempted to go the extra mile to ensure that our vehicle be repaired correctly. If the wind noise is commercially acceptable of the characteristic of the vehicle then why did Kia on several occasions try to fix the problem which they also identified and failed to fix???? Kia should have never attempted to correct something which they claim is the characteristic of the vehicle!!! The weather strip on the vehicle is weak and needs a thicker strip to correct the wind noise. We do not want to dialogue with Kia for purchase of another vehicle we want our vehicle repaired ASAP!!! Their Tech line department is aware of how to repair this problem and we the customers have done research and have found a solution to also fix the problem. It is not the customer's responsibility to help Kia to do their job to ensure that repairs or made. Kia has not met our needs and we are prepared to go further with this case if need be. We want Kia to do their job find a solution to the wind noise for our vehicle and fix it. Kia needs to basically do their job or stop selling vehicles. Like stated above we have a warranty and Kia needs to fulfill their obligation by repairing our vehicle no matter how many times it takes. We have owned numerous new vehicles this is our first owning a Kia and by far this is the worst experience we have ever been through with a dealership. Any dealership we have ever dealt with in the past met our needs and took very good care of us as a customer. Our rating for Kia is extremely poor when it comes to customer service. Fix the vehicle!!!!!!!!

Final Business Response
The matter listed is now between Kia Motor Company and not with Sacramento Kia. As stated, the factory representative has responded and there are no further recommended repairs. As the dealer, we are limited to the repairs that the Manufacturer will authorize. Best regards,

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

9/5/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We went into Sacramento Kia to look into a Kia optima, and when we started negotiating numbers we got to a point where ****** told us $21603.78 "out the door" (INCLUDING TAK AND THE CUSTOM WHEELS THAT WHERE PRESENT ON THE VEHICLE) for the Kia optima. We got home and realized that the signed "retail installment sales contract" includes a $1700 charge for the custom wheels, as well as a $1810.31 for the sales tax THAT WAS PART OF THE "OUT THE DOOR" PRICE OF $21,603.78. The charges for the sales tax and the wheels were included in the "out the door price of $21,603.78. They said something, and then put something else on paper. I noticed the issue when I reviewed the "retail installment sales contract." I immediately called ****** back and he told me that INDEED WE AGREED ON $21,603.78 "OUT THE DOOR." He said that the sales tax and cost for the wheels are not included in the "out the door" price, HOWEVER when we were negotiating he said that the $21,603.78 is INCLUDING the cost for the wheels and the sales tax, and that we wouldn't have to pay anything extra!"OUT THE DOOR" MEANS WITH SALES TAX AND EVERYTHING ON/IN THE CAR!PROBLEM IS HE LIED! Product_Or_Service: 2012 Kia Optima

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund All we want Sacramento Kia to do is take the $1810.31 for the sales tax and the $1700 for the wheels ( TOTAL OF $3510.31) off our total financed amount, because we agreed on $21,603.78 total "out the door.""Out the door" in the car sales industry means INCLUDING TAX AND EVERYTHING IN/ON THE CAR!Even if it didn't, ****** told us that the $21,603.78 is final price INCLUDING SALES TAX AND THE CUSTOM WHEELS. It was part of the registration.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
To Whom It May Concern: I, ****** ****** at Sacramento Kia am a Sales Manager and worked with Mr. ****** ****** in purchasing a new Kia Optima. Upon signing documents I clearly explained the total amount financed when asked by Mr. ****** which included the wheels and trade in. At no point in the negotiation was the "out the door price" discussed. The price of the car was clearly disclosed and the total amount finance was the only thing negotiated. Once again, the term "out the door price" was never used in the negotiation. A print out was used during the negotiation and the price of the wheels was clearly disclose on the print out. When agreeing to the price of the car, the sales contract was then clearly broken down in the finance department. Mr. ****** has since came to the dealership to discuss the sales contract and in which I happily went over the numbers with them. They then realized that they were mistaken and since purchasing the Kia Optima have since brought us referrals to sell cars to as well. Sincerely, ****** ******

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ****** ****** is not being truthful. Out the door must have came out is mouth 30 times during the negotiation. I know sales tax legally has to appear on the statement and has to be paid to the IRS however if we talked about out the door price the cost of the car needs to be lowered to an amount that equals up to the final price negotiate.... with the sales tax. For example when we agreed to $21,603.78 "out the door" the acctual price of the car on the paperwork has to be $19,800.. and tax should make it equal to the out the door price.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

1