BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Premier Hyundai of Tracy meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Premier Hyundai of Tracy include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Premier Hyundai of Tracy include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Premier Hyundai of Tracy
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 11, 2013 Business started: 09/19/2012 Business started locally: 09/19/2012 Business incorporated: 09/19/2012 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing
2120 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818
http://dmv.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 657-8056

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Anthony Pappas, General Manager Mr. Troy J. Duhon, Owner Mrs. Catherine Palmer, Customer Relations Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Catherine Palmer, Customer Relations Manager
Principal: Mr. Anthony Pappas, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Products & Services

Premier Hyundai of Tracy offers the following product(s): Company offers car sales.

Industry Tips
Car Buyer’s Bill of Rights:

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our family bought a car here last year. It's an *******, and it drives horrible. The dealership had done some upgrades to it, so it looked real cute sitting on the lot. So, yes it caught my eye. We bought it! Coming home that night from the dealer we heard a strange nose, like the tires were rubbing. So, they had us bring it back. The tires were rubbing on the back fender area. The needed to re paint that area and fix the rims that they had sold us the car with. Plus the body it was warped, needing to be replaced. Also the window tent had bubbles and scratches but they refused to replace it. The car is so rough on the road. Driving on the freeway you bounce all over the road. So far we have replaced 2 rims. Yes, they are after market rims. I asked the the dealer about getting the original rims. They said yes for $800.00. Why I ask? I feel that when the base price is $23000 and I paid for the up grades as well, I've already paid for both sets of rims and tires. We also paid $2500 for the extended service warranty. I've been calling and leaving messages but they haven't returned my calls. I called again this weekend and was given an email address and haven't heard back as of yet. Lux care is also a joke. They told us Lux Care would protect the car from spills, so not the case. My son spilt apple juice and it absorbed right in to the carpet. We paid $995 for that too. We traded in are old car for this car. They wanted to give us $4500.00 but we said NO. They ended up giving us $7000.00 for our 2005 ******** 300 but I guess with all the mark ups they got there way

Desired Settlement: Lux Care $995.00Extended Service Warranty $2500.00

Business Response:

Dear ***** and ****,

We are sorry to hear that your not satisfied with the performance of your Lux Care. Although we cannot refund you the cost of the service I would suggest calling the customer service hotline to start the claim process for the apple juice. If the product is not working properly they will stand by the 5 year limited warranty that came along with it. I've included pictures of the contract so you'll have all the necessary information, also a picture of the back portion giving instruction on how to start a claim.  We truly feel for your situation here at Premier Hyundai of Tracy, riding on rims can drastically change the handling out on the road. When a vehicle is upgraded at our dealership it is worked into the deal and accepted by both parties that the vehicle is sold as equipped, the original rims were not worked into the deal as well as the upgrades. As for the extended warranty, we can definitely submit a cancelation form which I have in hand for you, I can either mail this to you or we can set up a time and date for you to come see us here at Premier to fill out and we should be able to cut a check the same day for the value of the policy according to how many miles are on the vehicle. I would love to speak with you either over the phone or in person, and wish you the best.

 

Sincerely,

********* ******

CRM Premier Automotive

*****************************

209-820-3550 Ext. ****

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a flyer from Premier Hyundai Of Tracy on or about May,15,2014 entitled "Win Cash And Cars".It also gave me notice in bold letters "You May Have Won $30,000".It also included 4 separate tabs to pull & match 3 like objects under any particular tab & win from $3,000 to $30,000.Accordingly,I WON $3,000.I called the ###-###-#### & gave them my confirmation code ******** ( A person claiming to be located in New York took the call).I traveled to Tracy ,Ca. Premier Hyundai & located a person named ***** who then told me all I won was a $5.00 *** **** Gift Certificate.I refused the gift card & stormed out & left because of their fraudulent deception / false advertised promises.It is no different had I won the ********** ***** *******,went to collect $3000.00 winning but they only gave me a $5.00 ******** Gift Card.

Desired Settlement: This matter should be investigated per my complaint & Premier Hyundai Of Tracy given an ample opportunity to grant me the $3000.00 I've won and that Premier Hyundai stop it's deceptive unlawful practices!

Business Response:

Dear Mr. *******,

We would like to sincerely apologize for the confusion in regards to our promotion here at Premier Hyundai of Tracy. We in no way want to trick or deceive our customers but our goal is actually to make coming into our facility fun and exciting. We understand that this flier can be confusing and would like to assure you that any promotions that come from our facility are first compliance approved with the ******** *******. There are clear disclaimers throughout the flyer, stating first that, “matching a winning combination on the flier qualifies you to play for the 3,000.” Also “if you’re not a winner you will receive a $5.00 ******* gift card as compensation, while supplies last. “ The second disclaimer states “the customer must bring the invitation to the event location to compare confirmation code to prize board to determine if you have won $5,000.00, $3,000.00, or $100.00 cash.” The call centers we have in place record every call and with the confirmation code we can replay the call for quality insurance. We have are giving away 3,000 on Monday morning and Mr. ****** himself would like to invite you come on back down here, and get your name in the running for the grand prize. This is a family run business and our customer service is of the utmost importance. Do to the common misunderstandings with this flier **** ****** has decided to stop these promotions, and this will be the last drawing we will offer at the dealership, we would certainly love to see your name pulled as the winner.  We hope this response has cleared up any misunderstandings, and wish you the best.

Sincerely,

********* ******, CRM

Premier Hyundai of Tracy

*****************************

Business Response:

*****,

We understand your upset and feeling deceived. This is not how we would like to make our customers feel and we sincerely apologize for the confusion. I would like to request your confirmation code in order to receive the recordings of your calls to our call center. We are members of the Better Business bureau because of our loyalty to customer service. In this matter we do have to stick to the facts and in order to show you as clearly as possible I have taken photos of the flier you received to prove the misunderstand is simply that. Attached is a photo of the game piece you've quoted in your rejection, as well as the disclaimers explaining how the sweep stakes actually works. I've also attached a photo of the last $3,000.00 winner to show you that this is no trick, we do have a winner with each promotion we send out, and like we said; We would love to have you come back down here and get your name in the drawing for the big prize. This is a family run business and customer service is of the utmost importance to each employee. Do to the common misunderstandings with these type of promotions **** ****** has decided to stop hosting events like this, making this drawing for $3,000.00 the last one of its kind. Please consider coming down and resolving this issue in person, I would love to discuss your problem and help everyone come to an understanding.

 

 

Sincerely,

********* ******, CRM

Premier Hyundai of Tracy

****************************

 

 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: I respectfully understand your professional position in this matter. I have re-read what you've label Disclaimer many times,in fact, prior to calling the second agent representative. Again,your explanations continues to fall flat. Your "Disclaimer" simply advises that after the first winning matches that indicates winning prize if less than $30,000,another opportunity to scratch of 6 of 30 will be afforded for a chance to win $30,000 & other possible prizes which may include $5.00 Gift Card.unquote... Please be advised,in the first instant scratch off I won $3,000 without question.In both calls made to your agent representative,I made it clear that I have always distrusted these types of gimmicks,yet,hoped this one would be of credibility. You now have asked for the confirmation number so that you could follow-up on business necessity : Confirmation #********

                                                                                                                Respectfully Submitted,

                                                                                                                 ***** ** *******

                                                                               

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

6/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This business has sent out a number of flyers stating different people have won $3,000 and when they get to the store they are being told they aren't actual winners even tho over the phone we are all being congratulated on being a $3,000 winner....there is nothing in the fine print of the ad that says it's only a chance to win on it....i called and spoke to 4 different people and got told something different each time i called, the first one was when i got congratulated on being a 3grand winner, 2nd time i called it was an automated system, 3rd time i called and spoke to someone that said his name was ***** and that we only won a chance to win something but that all calls are recorded for their company....the final time i called i spoke to a ***** and he simply told me i have to bring in the flyer with the conformation code and then just rudely hung up on me before i had finished asking him about it. I was not the only one that was a victim to this false advertising and feel very upset that these companies can get away with such false and misleading advertising. If I won $3,000 where is it and why is it ok for them to tell me I have won the money if there is no actual money being given away?

Desired Settlement: I want the $3,000 that i was told i have won and then they refused to pay me when i got there.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. ******,

We would like to sincerely apologize for the confusion in regards to our promotion here at Premier Hyundai of Tracy. We in no way want to trick or deceive our customers but our goal is actually to make coming into our facility fun and exciting. We understand that this flier can be confusing and would like to assure you that any promotions that come from our facility are first compliance approved with the attorney general. There are clear disclaimers throughout the flyer, stating first that, “matching a winning combination on the flier qualifies you to play for the 3,000.” Also “if you’re not a winner you will receive a $5.00 Walmart gift card as compensation, while supplies last. “ The second disclaimer states “the customer must bring the invitation to the event location to compare confirmation code to prize board to determine if you have won $5,000.00, $3,000.00, or $100.00 cash.” The call centers we have in place record every call and with the confirmation code we can replay the call for quality insurance. We have are giving away 3,000 on Monday morning and Mr. ****** himself would like to invite you come on back down here, and get your name in the running for the grand prize. This is a family run business and our customer service is of the utmost importance. Do to the common misunderstandings with this flier Tony ****** has decided to stop these promotions, and this will be the last drawing we will offer at the dealership, we would certainly love to see your name pulled as the winner.  We hope this response has cleared up any misunderstandings, and wish you the best.


Sincerely,

********* ******* ***

Premier Hyundai of Tracy

###-###-####

*****************************

Business Response:

****,

As you can see, in the pictures I included of the flier, the disclaimers explains very clearly that matching a winning combination qualifies you to play the $30,000 instant win scratch off ticket contest. I assure you we do not want to deceive our customers, we simply want to make visiting, and or purchasing a vehicle at our location fun and exciting. Purchase isn't even necessary to win, as the winner of our contest knows! We are currently delivering a $3,000 check to the lucky winner of this weekends drawing! This is the last event we will be hosting here at this facility and we apologize for the confusion it has caused you and many others. If you still have questions or issues, we welcome you to come to our dealership and discuss them in person. Best wishes to you.

Sincerely,

********* ******* ***

Premier Hyundai of Tracy

*****************************

###-###-####

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: there are no pictures attached and its not about you actually giving it away its about the false statements on your flier and how many times you host these kinds of things....you scammed people just to lure them into your shop...and thats the bottom line... I am not the only one that thinks so. You have wasted my time as well as other peoples time and should be reprimanded for it If i receive any other fliers regarding something like this from your company again I will be notifying the BBB again as well as local news stations to catch you in the act. I wasn't even given a scratch off OR a $5 gift card like your flier says anyways.....just dealers trying to sell me a car and wasting my time.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Premier Hyundai of Tracy sold us a new Elantra Limited on 8/9/2013. In the contract is a Pre-paid maintenance worth $2,168.00, which the finance manager said that this pre-paid includes oil and oil filter change, tire rotation and major maintenance such as the 5K interval, 15K, 30K, 60K and 90K. However, on our first visit, we were surprised to learn that the pre-paid maintenance only include oil and oil filter change within the 90K mileage... that's it! We complained to the store manager that this was NOT what we agreed on when we signed the contract. This is FRAUD! We were made to believe for services that is NOT being done because now the maintenance crew is saying pre-paids are just oil and oil filter change only.

Desired Settlement: REFUND the full amount plus interest! If they are not giving us back the interest, then two free services must be given to us.

Business Response:

To Whom it may concern,

A check has been issued to *****, ********* to refund the full amount, plus interest as requested in the resolution. We apologize for the inconvenience of the miscommunication, we were misinformed and would like all parties involved to understand that the information given to the customer was not given to mislead or misdirect his purchase choices. We hope the resolution is sufficient and hope to do business in the future.

 

Sincerely,

********* ******

Customer Relations Manager

Premier Automotive

*****************************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This dealership is employing dishonest sweepstakes schemes to drive traffic to their dealership. I've never seen anything quite like this.My husband and I are both smart and successful people, and yet we were duped by Premier Hyundai of Tracy's sweepstakes scheme. We received a sweepstakes card in the mail. We, like everyone else who have written bad online reviews about this dealership about being duped about this place, "matched" winning numbers to win a cash prize. We thought it was too good to be true, but we carefully read the front, back, and all fine print and everything seemed legit. We had to call a number to confirm our attendance of the special event to claim our prize, and the recording confirmed me by my full name. This scam was so well crafted, and the sweepstakes card was so well worded, and dishonest, that when we arrived at the dealership and complained(after being informed the event was carefully crafted to get us to their dealership) the guy that runs the advertising even, Dave, smirked and said "Legal approved it." When then complained to the general manager, *****, he became very defensive and yelled at us because we complained that his advertising practices were unethical. It was clear to us that we weren't the first to complain and he was growing weary with all the complaints.There are several complaints about this place on Yelp with people complaining about this dealership because of their sweepstakes scheme. One reviewer commented witnessing an elderly lady crying in the parking lot after being scammed.It is highly unethical to purposefully deceive people for purposes of driving traffic to your store. The managers we spoke to informed us that they were desperate to get rid of inventory, which is why they employ a special advertising company to run the scam. We couldn't believe they admitted it to us. To protect themselves, they kept my sweepstakes card so that I couldn't go the media with it, and refused to provide us with last names/business cards.

Desired Settlement: 1.)Publish complaint on your website, and share information with any other consumer rights affiliates. 2.)Mandate dealership not be allowed to continue this advertising scheme. 3.)Impose a penalty fee to dealership (if applicable).

Business Response: *****, 

We are sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with your experience here. Two customers have won from this location, a brand new car, and also a large sum of money. All of the disclaimers are clearly stated on the flyer you received in the mail and all customers are told the chances of winning is close to that of playing the lotto. The sweepstakes we offer to our customers is 100% compliance approved. Even the California lottery is passed through legal teams to insure the safety of both parties involved. We are not in agreement with your accusations related to the traveling sales manager, and assure you we do not employee salesmen who would chose those tactics. If you would like to discuss this further, please feel free to contact me here at the dealership, I would be happy to clarify any misunderstandings. 

********* ******

Premier automotive CRM

###-###-####

*****************************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sold a service agreement for $2,995.00 and gap contract $795.00 ON 12/11/2013 I was told I could cancel with in time fram witch I did fax them cancellation letter and I seemed to be getting the the run around and no call back ext. So I drove to dealer and handed the finance officer, *** copy of the cancellation notice. He called me and asked what the miles were on the car and he told me he would take care of the notice. That was three mounths ago and I still have not been refunded.

Desired Settlement: 2995.00 and 795.00 Refund

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

We have issued a check today 4.1.14. The delay was due to not having the mileage on the original cancellation request and we do apologize for any inconvenience to the customer.

 

********* ******

Customer Relations Manager

Premier Automotive

###-###-####

*****************************

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales staff ***, ***** ******* and ******* ***** failed to honor pricing and payments. It also access credit file in direct violation of agreement. On 1/24/13, ******* *****, in a serious of e-mails agreed to sell a 2013 Hyundai Sonata Limited for $4500 below invoice. Additionally, Mr. ***** agreed to $20K for trade-in. Finally, he also agreed to to a monthly lease payment of $280 plus tax with zero drive-off. Later, in a phone call, *** stated that he will not honer the agreed upon trade-in value. I subsequently spoke with the manager, ***** *******. Mr. ******* then stated, in an e-mail, that he will honor represntations made by others. In detrimental reliance upon Mr.******* representations, I then drove from Cameron Park to the dealership in Tracy. Once we arrived, ******* obtained signature on credit application which was proviously provided over the phone. Then *** said the payments are actually $338/Mo. When I questioned the disparity in the payments confirmed by dealership e-mail. *** then came back with a revised figure of $321.00. This was not consistant with written representations. I asked them to honer the deal as agreed upon. *** refused. We then left the dealership. We spent 5 hours round trip and gas to find that the delarship had dishornered their written represntations.

Desired Settlement: They should honer what was representated in their e-mails and further compensate us for our travel from Cameron Park, Ca, to Tracy, Ca at 2013 IRS milage rate of $.55 per mile. This would be $110 for a roundtrip trip of 200 miles. Again, the dealership breached its contract by failing to honor its written commitment. This resulted in anauthorized credit inquires, travel time of 5 hours and the milage expense of $110.00. Additionally, they need to rectify the breach of contract by delivering the new vehilce to us and picking up the trade. I would also ask that they provide the a copy of the lease contact via fax for our review before they deliver the new vehicle.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Consumer states "The above referenced complaint against Premier Auto Hyundai of Tracy has been successfully resolved in my favor. The dealership and its general manager, Bill Wolf, worked very hard to resolve my issues. Therefore, I request that you kindly close this complaint without taking any adverse action against the business. Thank you."

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.