BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Performance Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Performance Chevrolet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Performance Chevrolet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 05, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1968 Business started locally: 01/01/1968 Business incorporated: 11/23/1977 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing
2120 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818
http://dmv.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 657-8056

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John McMichael, Owner Mr. Steve Garcia, Marketing Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John McMichael, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Repair & Service

Industry Tips
Car Buyer’s Bill of Rights:

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Back in November 2013, I had encountered a dead battery around 1am, on my way home. After I gotten the jump, I noticed that my radio was not working properly. The radio locks up, requires some kind of an access code, and also I had 6 CD's in my CD player, in which my radio says there is not CDs to eject. I also noticed that if I leave my fuse in over night (radio fuse) it drains my battery and had required me to jump my car at least 4 times a day. I then went to the dealership that I purchased my car from in January 2014, and I spoke to the salesman regarding what is happened to my car. I told him the story, and he asked the service department to look at my car. They refused to look at my car on the same day for an unknown reason. The salesman felt bad that I they were being unprofessional and then issued me a due bill (which is free repair that I do not have to pay for). The salesman told me to give him a call regarding to set up a date because of my work schedule. He told me to call him the next day because the service department was called for a holiday. I called the next day as told, I wasn't able to get in touch with him. I have left countless voice mails regarding the incident that happened in November, and as of this date, I have not gotten a single call back, nor when I asked for a manager, I did not get a call back as well.

Desired Settlement: I would just like my car radio to work as it was when I purchased the car, all of my stuck CD's out, and also either a replacement, or some kind of way to get it fixed. I was promised that it would be for free, and I would like it to keep the promise I was made.

Business Response: Company states that they would like for the consumer to come in and ask for the service manager so that they can take care of him.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Service manager was out for the day, and will call tomorrow 6/12 and will ask for SM to see if I can come in on an agreeable date & time.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Car dealership refuse to fix the car only drove 800 miles, repair shop says dealer had to have known about the issue because they tried to hide it. I bought my Buick Terraza on 03/20/2013, I bought the car with the mileage 103,883 the current mileage is 104,740 which I means I only drove 857 miles in a month. The car no longer is drive able as 04/24/2013, it currently resides in a repair shop called Go 2 Tires, I now have to pay for a new transmission, rear shock brakes, and a radiator, the repair shop said that the dealership tried to cover it up by putting fluids in the engine, and that the dealership new there was problem with the transmission and radiator. The cost of repairs is 3,791.56. I called the dealership to talk the the head manager ****** ****** and he was rude and refuse to fix the problem and refuse to hear me out. The cost of the car was 16,655.12, I put down 6,000.00 cash down for the car. This car is a handicap car, I bought the car to transport my disabled mother around to her appointment and etc. i now longer can drive her around.

Desired Settlement: I would like to the dealership to pay for the repair of the car or I want them to deduct the cost of the repair from the remaining balance of the car.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
After speaking with the customer and offering her to void the balance owed to us on her puchase which is a thousand dollars, she wanted her full estimate of repair, that amount was over three thousand dollars, at that point she had mentioned that the van was already being repaired, i sent my used car recon manager to view and inspect the vehicle, one of the repair people from the shop went thru the vehicle with him and he actually drove the van, the van had a check engine light on but had not been repaired Yet the mechanic there recomended we repair the van, I called the customer to have the vehcle brought in to our service and she declined. The shop tech is a cousin or nephew per my recon managers conversations with him. THE ESTIMATE OF REPAIRS WERE UNFOUNDED. THANKS. ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tires are too old. Several months after purchasing the car both front tires leak to varying degrees. I bought a 2008 Grand Prix GXP in February 2012. First problem I found was the tires were rotated. The GXP has wider tires on the front so they can't be rotated. Got that taken care of the next day. The reason for the complaint is the age of the tires. The left front developed a leak. Took it to Les Schwab Tires and they said they can't do anything with it, it's falling apart. Also from when the tires were rotated they are worn down on the inside edge from rubbing on the spring perch of the strut. The tires also are cracking between the tread. The build date is 3/08 so the tires were four years old when I purchased the car. I spoke with ****** and he said it's not covered due to tires being a wearable item but tires shouldn't be worn out a few months after I purchased the car. As far as tread they're still in good condition aside from the inside edge. In summary the tires are near the end of their useful life when I purchased the car and they either overlooked or caused the problem with the tire rotation.

Desired Settlement: Two new tires.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Company states that this vehicle was an as is purchase. If the consumer had come back within the first month or so, they would have taken his request into consideration. But after four or five months and 8,000 miles later, that is not a reasonable request. Consumer is not entitled to any assistance after that long of a time frame.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) If I hadn't caught the oversight of the tires being rotated what would have happened? Blowout. Shouldn't the tires hold air more than a few months after I purchase it? No attempt being made at customer satisfaction is surprising. Did the dealership rotate the tires or not catch that mistake? Who put the old tires on in the first place? The dealership or the rental company that owned it previously? Do they check the build date on the tires or say it's the right size so that's all that matters? If you purchased a vehicle and tires leak a few months later how would you feel? What would you do?

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

1