Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Niello BMW

Phone: (888) 800-3928 View Additional Phone Numbers 2020 Fulton Ave, Sacramento, CA 95825

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Niello BMW meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Niello BMW include:

  • 7 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Niello BMW include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Niello BMW
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 14, 2012 Business started: 12/31/2007 in CA Business incorporated 09/12/2007 in CA
Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Melinda Levy-Storm, Council, Dealership Compliance and Legal Affairs
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Melinda Levy-Storm, Council, Dealership Compliance and Legal Affairs
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Products & Services

Niello BMW offers the following product(s): Company offers car sales.

Alternate Business Names
Niello Bavarian Automobiles, Inc.
Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • 2020 Fulton Ave

    Sacramento, CA 95825 (916) 483-6464 (916) 486-1011 (888) 800-3928


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is my last resort before small claims court. I have a 2005 *** ***** coupe.August 2014: Took vehicle to Niello,spoke w/ service advisor ****. Told him reason bringing my vehicle in was because it had a BURNING OIL SMELL. I could smell BURNING OIL when the vehicle was stopped at a drive thru. I did not have any oil showing on ground. My purpose for bring the vehicle in was strictly to see why it has a BURNING OIL SMELL and what needed to be done for it to go away. I advised him that the oil and coolant lights were on dashboard. He said no problem, they would figure out why burning oil smell.August 2014: Called back by Niello and was told that for the burning oil smell to be gone, I needed $4,787.43 in repairs. Those repairs included upper timing case cover gaskets, cylinder head gasket sets, leaking coolant pump, valley pan and upper radiator hoses, water pump, thermostat, front lower thrust rob bushings. Being that I am a woman, I said if this is what you are telling me has to be done for the burning oil smell to go away, I have no choice but to pay it. I paid $4787.43 CASH.September to November 2014: Called Niello spoke to **** a few times, car still smells like burning oil. He said just did a "bunch of work" so the smell should go away soon.December 2014: Car still smells of burning oil. With the smell, oil light back on and now increased emissions is lit with it. **** once again said they will find out why the car is smelling of burned oil. **** called and said they found out why the car still smelling like burned oil. Repair would be $1564.29. I was concerned as I paid in August to get repairs done. Now he said that in order for smell to be gone replacement of leaking alternator brackets and tank valve replace.April 2015: STILL smell burning oil and emissions light on again. He said they would find out why, charge $190.84 replace air pipeJune 2015: Took to Niello, burning oil smell STILL, service engine and increased emissions light AGAIN. They will find why. Charge $360.82

Desired Settlement: I feel because I am a woman w/husband gone to military duty, Niello took advantage and charged me to fix things not needed for OIL BURNING SMELL. I didnt know this until husband home to review and asked why I was charged for rods and items that had nothing to do with why car taken in.They should have saw what was wrong the 1st and even 2nd time. I want refund back of everything I paid as car STILL has original BURNING OIL SMELL, oil and engine light on, things they said fixed & more. $6904.38

Business Response: I am the Service Manager, **** *********.  I have read *******’s concerns and have conducted some research already.  We want our customers to  have positive experiences.  To date, these are our findings and our recommended next step:

The vehicle is a 2005 *** ***** with 124,157 miles showing at its first visit with our dealership in August 2014.  We did not sell or inspect the vehicle prior to that time.  We identified several repairs needed on the vehicle, and ******* has paid us a total of almost $7,000 for those repairs, which are fully documented.  We have no record of maintenance on the vehicle.  We are clear that *******’s general concern is that she has reported a burning oil smell that remains a problem, despite the repairs and the money already invested.   I met with *** ****** of the BAR yesterday.  So far, I do not see where we conducted any improper or unnecessary repairs.  To my knowledge, the BAR has not found any concern either.  However, as I have requested before, I believe the next step is for us to inspect the vehicle with the BAR representative.  I would personally participate, as well.  We are happy to pick up the
vehicle and provide ******* with alternate transportation during the inspection.  Although, we recommend that ******* also be present.  I am sorry that *******’s experience has been frustrating, but I believe we can work together to resolve it.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: 

When I asked to speak to **** several ***es in the past, I was denied by the advisor, saying that **** will just say the exact same thing he was telling me. Obviously they are making that statement true. My rights as a consumer to speak to the service manager was denied for months. **** is coming in on the tail end of things and is getting only what his employees are telling him. Of course they will not admit to telling me the things they did, and later telling my husband they things that they did.

The mileage that I had on my vehicle had NOTHING to do with the situation. If they saw that the vehicle was never in their shop before, they had no service records on it, and they thought the mileage was an issue, they could have easily denied fixing my vehicle, but they chose to fix it. I took my vehicle to get repaired there as they are BMW, who better to find and fix a problem. I went there before and purchased a key for my vehicle and that is what made me go back to them.

The issue is that I paid for a particular service that I continuously asked to be fixed, and it was not fixed. My concern when first going in was that I smelled burning oil. I was told several ***es that they found the reason why and given cost on what it would take to repair that. If I am still having the same issues, then they obviously did not solve the problem, yet charged me money to kept trying to find the problem.

When I spoke to *** from the Automotive Bureau he told me his finding, I will not state our conversation. He also advised me that Niello told him that every time I brought my vehicle in, it was not for the burning oil smell, and it was for something totally different. Every single time I took the vehicle in it was for the BURNING OIL SMELL, **** ***** knows this. He even beat me to saying it as soon as he saw me walk in, he would say "You still having that burnt oil smell?" and my response was yes.

The other items I later mentioned was due to something done at Niello, while my car was in their possession. How can they justify me dropping car off with one light, and me walking out to my car while still in their parking lot and now there are even more lights on? Me being told that they will go away but are only showing  because you guys just did a "bunch of work"?

They also told the Bureau that I authorized all the repairs the told me about. Yes I did authorize them because I was told those repairs were needed in order to make the burning oil smell go away. Nothing is noted that the other things they charged me for was recommendations for later, and items that had nothing to do with why the car was turned in.   

My coworker just showed me their papers when they went into Niello Elk Grove. Their paperwork is awesome! It shows exactly what the vehicle was brought in for, what they fixed, and then they give an entire packet called Know Your Vehicle. In that packet it states that they simply are making recommendations for other items that they seen that could use correction. They have a color coded system; green is what passed, yellow is a heads up/caution, and red is items they saw that could use immediate attention. They even have a brown section that has the description, significance, advantage and the cost of what it would be for Niello to repair the items.  The customer is given this at the pick up, instead of over the phone, that way the customer can sit down and review this, sleep on it and then proceed with the other repairs if they choose to. I have a copy of this and will keep it with the rest of my paperwork. Niello should incorporate this, as this is not the only complaint they have had.

Telling someone what is needed to fix the problem that they took the vehicle in for, and adding other items on top of that, that is not needed, yet saying it is needed, is false representation. I also have papers that will show that they tried to clear this up, only after my husband got involved.

After I left Niello the very last time in June 2015, we took my vehicle to another shop to see what was going on. We never told them anything about the car being at Niello or what Niello did. They put the car up on the rack, let us go back and see that there was smoke coming from tail pipe. They SUGGESTED what could be done. Why did Niello not see this almost a year and $7000 ago? 

Business Response: The vehicle was inspected as agreed with the customer and the BAR at Niello BMW Elk Grove. It was determined that the vehicle has worn valve stem seals internally in the engine. Niello BMW Sacramento agreed to repair THIS concern at no charge to the customer.

The customer brought the vehicle to Niello BMW Sacramento on 7/24/15.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

**** ********* has been working with me directly, and he has agreed to fix the issue with my vehicle. In regards to the multiple lights that started coming on while I was in the parking lot of Niello picking up my car, they suggested replacement of alternator and I will pay for the parts, they will provide labor. My vehicle should be ready for pick up the first week of August/next week.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

5/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes



Business Response:

We are happy to inspect the car for the concerns.  Please contact **** ********* ** ***** ******** to make arrangements.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

I will make appointment with the Niello BMW and will try to resolve the issue.If the problem is not resolved I will contact BBB with update. 

10/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a 06 BMW 325I I had transmission problems with it so I had it towed to Niello of Sacramento. I spoke to **** the next business day after my car was towed in I explained to him the issues and what I experienced. I also asked him not to test drive my car till he knew for sure where the problem was with my car. He called back said it was a pulley so we said fine fix it **** sent tech on a drive with my car called husband back 30 minutes later says my A.C compressor sheared off and was laying on bottom of engine. My car was not in that condition when it was towed in. Also **** never paid any attention to the big issue which was my transmission. So $3500 later **** says your car is fixed come get it. Well I picked it up the A.C. was not cooling the inside of care and smelled muggy. So exactly 6 weeks to the day later I have the same transmission issue that **** said there were no codes and nothing wrong. So drove to dealer spoke with **** he had his tech look at car said transmission is leaking it's an old leak and he is not sure why **** missed it the first time. So they went ahead and covered the repair. But tech broke a bracket in which holds the exhaust system never advised of it and never replaced it. Still having same transmission problems can't get anyone to respond ******* the attorney for Niello has not responded the G.M. ***** *** antis has never returned a call and overall the service manager is a coward and his name is **** *********.

Desired Settlement: I want my car fixed and Niello to replace the transmission that they have neglected 3 times and fix all the other issues they have caused since they were negligent to begin with.

Business Response: Thank you for your patience.  We have revisited the history and our work on the vehicle.  We believe we have handled the complaints and the repairs in a manner consistent with BMWNA’s guidelines and within the parameters allowed by Mrs. ********.  When a customer declines further work, our ability to diagnose or address the issues is compromised.  As a goodwill gesture, we will offer you 25% off any work approved on or before October 15, 2014.  We would require a 50% deposit.  If you are interested in further information, please contact ***** ******** at ********************.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: they have not done anything in good faith. They have caused more damage to my car. Every time I have taken it in they charge me for stuff that does not need to be fixed and the things that need to be done get ignored just like returning phone calls and emails. The second to the last time I had my car there and **** was the advisor and ***** was the tech they fixed a transmission leak and in the process broke the bracket off that held my exhaust pipes. I email pictures called ***** ** ****** no phone calls no emails returned. So if this bracket doesn't get fixed soon I will end up with a cracked catalytic converter and more issues with the transmission.  They still have not responded to anything. The only thing I will except from Niello is that my car get fixed the bracket ***** broke off and never told me about then when I called the advisor he had no clue what it was. It wasn't till I had my car towed out of Niello cause it had been sitting there for 5 days with no work done on it and no calls from no one. When I had to have a different shop fix my carms I brought the box in and asked them if they could tell me where that piece went or if it was even mine. Sure enough it was mine but it was broken and never advised of it. So the other thing is that the service manager **** ********* knew that my car was coming in on that Monday anyways and he decides to leave at noon like no big deal. Of course to them is wasn't because they had my car and refused to let me have a loaner car. They never told me why or nothing. I have never destroyed the loaner cars. The only person who loses agian is me. They have gladly taken my money but never did the work. So still today my transmission is not fixed and by the time it acts up agian it will need to be replaced and with that Niello can pay for it. *** ***** ****** is the only other dealership that I will allow to fix my car. I want the transmission replaced because they can't figure out what the problem is. I even called a transmission shop and they could at least give me some idea of what it could be. So that is the only deal I'm willing to make with Niello.  With all the other damages they  caused and I have had to pay I could have already had a brand new transmission. So that's it. If not they can give me my money back and I will go somewhere else.  I don't want to deal with them but the two remaining issues that they have caused and can't figure out is there doing and it's only fair they fix it. That is transmission and the bolt and bracket for the exhaust pipes. 

Consumer Response: Hi *****, just to give you a little light on the situation with the car. Niello had the opportunity to work on my car for the 3rd time. I made an appointment to drop it off on 9/8. But because it overheated on my way home from work on 9/7 I had it towed.  I was on the side of the road and I had to pay $200 to have it towed in.  I got a call Monday morning from Carlos a service advisor.  I explained to him the situation.  He told me that **** ********* would be calling me. Well that's where it all started no one called me,  returned any phone calls, or emails.  I got fed up with being treated like shit so I called ****** ****** ***** to tow my car out of there which cost me $65 to do so. I made that decision on Friday after Niello had my car for 5 days now and still never got any message or returned calls. My husband even called to talk to an advisor but all the receptionists gave us the run around and told us there were busy. So that's why I had my car taken some where else. Mind you that on the 2nd visit for the same transmission issue they found a big oil leak that had been there and the tech and advisor from the very first visit missed. So while Jesse the service tech on the 2nd go around while he was taking the bracket off the exhaust pipes he broke it and the bolt but I was never told about it and they never fixed it. Instead they threw it in the box of old parts which I requested.  When I looked in the box to see my parts I had the bracket the new drain plug that went to the new transmission pan still in the plastic package it came then there was this metal bracket of some sort. I called **** the service advisor and asked where this piece of metal belong and he had no idea. So attached is the copy of the work order with the recommendation that my transmission needs to be rebuilt due to the fact that the car has acted up 3 times and the codes keep coming up. Also I had Ellios give me an estimate of how much it would cost for the transmission. I will be calling you on Wednesday to talk with you about this and I have more questions for you. 

Business Response: I have spoken to ***** ********.  He has reviewed the matter again and maintains that we have not performed any services that are not up to the standard of care in the industry.  However, as a final goodwill gesture, he is willing to offer a $2,500 check towards payment for repair of the vehicle at a repair facility of Mrs. ********'s choice.  ***** is out of town until October 27, 2014, so if this offer is accepted as a full resolution of any and all concerns that have arisen out of any and all transactions and conversations with anyone from Niello BMW, then please have ***** contact me directly.

Thank you,

Consumer Response:  *****, I will take and accept Niello's offer of the $2500.00 for the repairs.

10/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 17, 2013, my wife and I purchased a new 2013 X5 at Niello BMW. On the same sales contract, we also purchased a BMW Extended Vehicle Warranty for $4,160.00 and a Maintenance Upgrade for $2,795.00.On August 30, 2014, we purchased a new 2014 Lexus from Lexus of Sacramento and traded in the BMW X5. On September 1, 2014, I submitted a BMW Extended Vehicle Protection Cancellation Form to Niello BMW. Niello informed me I would receive a pro-rated refund of the $4,160.00. However, I was also told that the Maintenance Upgrade we purchased for $2,795.00 is non-refundable.My wife and I are not in agreement with Niello BMWs opinion that the Maintenance Upgrade is non-refundable. It is not reasonable for Niello BMW to keep the $2,795.00 that we paid for the Maintenance Upgrade when no service was rendered. Also, during the sales transaction on January 17, 2013, we were not informed that the Maintenance Upgrade is non-refundable. On September 3, 2014, I sent an email to Niello requesting a full refund of the Maintenance Upgrade in the amount of $2,795.00. Niello responded via email the same day stating the maintenance plan is not cancellable. Niello also attached a contract for my review. The contract attached to the email was an unsigned BMW Maintenance Program Upgrade Agreement which had my name, address, and vehicle information on it. It should be noted that on the bottom of the last page of the unsigned contract there is a form revision date of 06/2014, which is over a year after we purchased the new BMW. I responded to Niellos email the same day stating that the contract emailed to me was not explained to us at any time and it was not previously provided to us. On September 5, 2014, Niello responded via email stating the contract emailed to us was merely for us to review and that its not the actual contract from our file. On September 8, 2014, I sent Niello an email requesting a copy of the BMW Maintenance Program Upgrade Agreement from our file. Niello did not respond to this request. I am confident there is no such BMW Maintenance Program Upgrade Agreement in our file because we would have a copy of it in our records.

Desired Settlement: My wife and I are requesting a full refund of the Maintenance Upgrade in the amount of $2,795.00, since the service was not rendered and we did not sign a contract stating it is non-refundable.

Business Response:

Dear *****,

We received a letter regarding this matter dated September 12, 2014 in the mail.  I received it on September 19, 2014.  This is the first email we have received, so I do not understand what happened from a electronic perspective.

We are researching the matter and have asked the BBB for a 5 day extension.  We have not heard back.  Please advise.

Thank you, *******

Business Response: Thank you for your patience. Our research revealed that we do not have any record of providing the proper explanation to you at the time of sale. I apologize for this oversight. We will send a full refund, plus interest, to you at the address listed here. We appreciate your business. If there are any further questions, please let us know.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
However, today is October 11, 2014 and I have still not received the check from Niello so the issue is not yet resolved.

8/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2011 BMW 535i in November 2012, since then I have had one blow out and bubbles on the two front tires, resulting in replacing these tires 3 times! The two front tires were just replaced by Niello BMW in Sacramento, CA on April 11th,2014. Two months later another bubble appeared in the new tire. I took my car in and was told the tire is not under warranty and would be charged the full retail price of $500.00! I have researched this problem on the internet and learned that many other BMW owners with these run flat tires are having the same issue. I understand that BMW does not make the run flat tires, however BMW does choose what tires go on this model and they continue to use these run flats.

Desired Settlement: I am gong to have the tire replaced at ******* **** ******* because they warranty their tires. The

Business Response: Thank you for your patience.  Normally under these circumstances, a customer would pay for a new tire, and we will return the damaged tire to the tire manufacturer for a warranty review.  If it were found to be defective, the tire costs would be reimbursed.  As a goodwill customer service gesture, ***** ********, our general manager, has agreed to pay for the costs you paid for the mounting and balancing of the tire.  Please provide the invoice, and we will pay you for it.  If they did not charge you those fees, we will reimburse you whatever we would charge fo the same job of mounting and balancing the tire. 

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Niello BMW charged for a diagnostic test on my vehicle that was fraudulent and claimed my vehicle needed a wireing harness instead of conducting a complete diagnostic test on my transmission as they alleged that they did. after paying $5269.61 later the transmission place who did the work on my car based on the credibility of Niello BMW on Fulton rebuild my transmission only to find that the problem still exist, and not to mention the had to replace the wiring harness that niello charged my $827.00 to replace because it was defective apparently, so the Redline transmission called Niello NMW to let them know they replaced a new wire harness. When it was all said and done it turned out the car was still jerking after the transmission was rebuilt, RED line runs a diagnostic and finds out it was just the "trans control module" a part they purchase used for $250 bucks wow, and now I am out thousands of dollars because of Niello bad mis- representation of a diagnostic test.

Desired Settlement: Niello needs to pay for the cost to have my transmission replaced. it cost me $5,269.61 cents plus I had to pay them $827.00 for a fraud diagnostic test, and a wireharness that was defective and that I really didnt need it was the trans control module unit that was causing all the jerking with my car.

Business Response:

Dear *** ***************,

 We understand your concern. 

Would it be possible for us to inspect the vehicle at either our Sacramento (Fulton Ave.) or Elk Grove dealership?  It can be arranged at a time convenient for you and not take much of your time. 

We would like you to be present.  Is that an option?

 Thank you,

**** Torkelsen 

Consumer Response:  
The issue is about the misdiagnosis of the car and the cost I incurred as a result, I feel Niello should reimburse some of the cost since i paid them Niello BMW for a harness wiring which hand to be replaced twice only to find out the real problem was the Trans Module after paying  $827 to Neillo for a part they guess was the problem and a statement from Niello saying I needed a new transmission, that cost  $5,269.00 repairs, and still the car had the same problem after all that only to find out I just needed a Trans module.. a company as such should honor error when made as this was a costly error for me, on Niello behalf, I am out of town until Saturday, so the only time I have is Sunday the 8th if this issue is not resolved before then....

*** **** **** ******* **** **** ****


5/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes


Desired Settlement: A PARTIAL REFUND OF THE TOTAL BILL. $ 3,000.00

Business Response: Please contact **** ********* or ***** ******** for resolution. ###-###-####

Consumer Response: The company asked that I call them and I did, no return call. They said that they would call Friday and no call. This is normal for this company regarding my situation. I have again called today and there has not been a return call.

Consumer Response: Consumer states that the company will send them a check for 1,500 and the complaint will be resolved.

Business Response:

We will refund $1,500 as a good will gesture only.  We repaired the vehicle properly. The check is being sent to Mr. *****. Cashing the check will represent a full settlement of any and all claims surrounding this repair and vehicle. We need confirmation from BBB and/or consumer on file to proceed.