BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Niello BMW?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Niello BMW meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Niello BMW include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Niello BMW
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 14, 2012 Business started: 12/31/2007 in CA Business incorporated: 09/12/2007 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Melinda Levy-Storm, Council, Dealership Compliance and Legal Affairs
Contact Information
Principal: Melinda Levy-Storm, Council, Dealership Compliance and Legal Affairs
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Products & Services

Niello BMW offers the following product(s): Company offers car sales.

Alternate Business Names
Niello Bavarian Automobiles, Inc.
Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • 2020 Fulton Ave

    Sacramento, CA 95825 (916) 483-6464 (888) 800-3928 (916) 486-1011

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 483-6464(Phone)
  • (916) 486-1011(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a 06 BMW 325I I had transmission problems with it so I had it towed to Niello of Sacramento. I spoke to **** the next business day after my car was towed in I explained to him the issues and what I experienced. I also asked him not to test drive my car till he knew for sure where the problem was with my car. He called back said it was a pulley so we said fine fix it **** sent tech on a drive with my car called husband back 30 minutes later says my A.C compressor sheared off and was laying on bottom of engine. My car was not in that condition when it was towed in. Also **** never paid any attention to the big issue which was my transmission. So $3500 later **** says your car is fixed come get it. Well I picked it up the A.C. was not cooling the inside of care and smelled muggy. So exactly 6 weeks to the day later I have the same transmission issue that **** said there were no codes and nothing wrong. So drove to dealer spoke with **** he had his tech look at car said transmission is leaking it's an old leak and he is not sure why **** missed it the first time. So they went ahead and covered the repair. But tech broke a bracket in which holds the exhaust system never advised of it and never replaced it. Still having same transmission problems can't get anyone to respond ******* the attorney for Niello has not responded the G.M. ***** *** antis has never returned a call and overall the service manager is a coward and his name is **** *********.

Desired Settlement: I want my car fixed and Niello to replace the transmission that they have neglected 3 times and fix all the other issues they have caused since they were negligent to begin with.

Business Response: Thank you for your patience.  We have revisited the history and our work on the vehicle.  We believe we have handled the complaints and the repairs in a manner consistent with BMWNA’s guidelines and within the parameters allowed by Mrs. ********.  When a customer declines further work, our ability to diagnose or address the issues is compromised.  As a goodwill gesture, we will offer you 25% off any work approved on or before October 15, 2014.  We would require a 50% deposit.  If you are interested in further information, please contact ***** ******** at ********************.
 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: they have not done anything in good faith. They have caused more damage to my car. Every time I have taken it in they charge me for stuff that does not need to be fixed and the things that need to be done get ignored just like returning phone calls and emails. The second to the last time I had my car there and **** was the advisor and ***** was the tech they fixed a transmission leak and in the process broke the bracket off that held my exhaust pipes. I email pictures called ***** ** ****** no phone calls no emails returned. So if this bracket doesn't get fixed soon I will end up with a cracked catalytic converter and more issues with the transmission.  They still have not responded to anything. The only thing I will except from Niello is that my car get fixed the bracket ***** broke off and never told me about then when I called the advisor he had no clue what it was. It wasn't till I had my car towed out of Niello cause it had been sitting there for 5 days with no work done on it and no calls from no one. When I had to have a different shop fix my carms I brought the box in and asked them if they could tell me where that piece went or if it was even mine. Sure enough it was mine but it was broken and never advised of it. So the other thing is that the service manager **** ********* knew that my car was coming in on that Monday anyways and he decides to leave at noon like no big deal. Of course to them is wasn't because they had my car and refused to let me have a loaner car. They never told me why or nothing. I have never destroyed the loaner cars. The only person who loses agian is me. They have gladly taken my money but never did the work. So still today my transmission is not fixed and by the time it acts up agian it will need to be replaced and with that Niello can pay for it. *** ***** ****** is the only other dealership that I will allow to fix my car. I want the transmission replaced because they can't figure out what the problem is. I even called a transmission shop and they could at least give me some idea of what it could be. So that is the only deal I'm willing to make with Niello.  With all the other damages they  caused and I have had to pay I could have already had a brand new transmission. So that's it. If not they can give me my money back and I will go somewhere else.  I don't want to deal with them but the two remaining issues that they have caused and can't figure out is there doing and it's only fair they fix it. That is transmission and the bolt and bracket for the exhaust pipes. 

Consumer Response: Hi *****, just to give you a little light on the situation with the car. Niello had the opportunity to work on my car for the 3rd time. I made an appointment to drop it off on 9/8. But because it overheated on my way home from work on 9/7 I had it towed.  I was on the side of the road and I had to pay $200 to have it towed in.  I got a call Monday morning from Carlos a service advisor.  I explained to him the situation.  He told me that **** ********* would be calling me. Well that's where it all started no one called me,  returned any phone calls, or emails.  I got fed up with being treated like shit so I called ****** ****** ***** to tow my car out of there which cost me $65 to do so. I made that decision on Friday after Niello had my car for 5 days now and still never got any message or returned calls. My husband even called to talk to an advisor but all the receptionists gave us the run around and told us there were busy. So that's why I had my car taken some where else. Mind you that on the 2nd visit for the same transmission issue they found a big oil leak that had been there and the tech and advisor from the very first visit missed. So while Jesse the service tech on the 2nd go around while he was taking the bracket off the exhaust pipes he broke it and the bolt but I was never told about it and they never fixed it. Instead they threw it in the box of old parts which I requested.  When I looked in the box to see my parts I had the bracket the new drain plug that went to the new transmission pan still in the plastic package it came then there was this metal bracket of some sort. I called **** the service advisor and asked where this piece of metal belong and he had no idea. So attached is the copy of the work order with the recommendation that my transmission needs to be rebuilt due to the fact that the car has acted up 3 times and the codes keep coming up. Also I had Ellios give me an estimate of how much it would cost for the transmission. I will be calling you on Wednesday to talk with you about this and I have more questions for you. 

Business Response: I have spoken to ***** ********.  He has reviewed the matter again and maintains that we have not performed any services that are not up to the standard of care in the industry.  However, as a final goodwill gesture, he is willing to offer a $2,500 check towards payment for repair of the vehicle at a repair facility of Mrs. ********'s choice.  ***** is out of town until October 27, 2014, so if this offer is accepted as a full resolution of any and all concerns that have arisen out of any and all transactions and conversations with anyone from Niello BMW, then please have ***** contact me directly.

Thank you,
*******

Consumer Response:  *****, I will take and accept Niello's offer of the $2500.00 for the repairs.

10/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 17, 2013, my wife and I purchased a new 2013 X5 at Niello BMW. On the same sales contract, we also purchased a BMW Extended Vehicle Warranty for $4,160.00 and a Maintenance Upgrade for $2,795.00.On August 30, 2014, we purchased a new 2014 Lexus from Lexus of Sacramento and traded in the BMW X5. On September 1, 2014, I submitted a BMW Extended Vehicle Protection Cancellation Form to Niello BMW. Niello informed me I would receive a pro-rated refund of the $4,160.00. However, I was also told that the Maintenance Upgrade we purchased for $2,795.00 is non-refundable.My wife and I are not in agreement with Niello BMWs opinion that the Maintenance Upgrade is non-refundable. It is not reasonable for Niello BMW to keep the $2,795.00 that we paid for the Maintenance Upgrade when no service was rendered. Also, during the sales transaction on January 17, 2013, we were not informed that the Maintenance Upgrade is non-refundable. On September 3, 2014, I sent an email to Niello requesting a full refund of the Maintenance Upgrade in the amount of $2,795.00. Niello responded via email the same day stating the maintenance plan is not cancellable. Niello also attached a contract for my review. The contract attached to the email was an unsigned BMW Maintenance Program Upgrade Agreement which had my name, address, and vehicle information on it. It should be noted that on the bottom of the last page of the unsigned contract there is a form revision date of 06/2014, which is over a year after we purchased the new BMW. I responded to Niellos email the same day stating that the contract emailed to me was not explained to us at any time and it was not previously provided to us. On September 5, 2014, Niello responded via email stating the contract emailed to us was merely for us to review and that its not the actual contract from our file. On September 8, 2014, I sent Niello an email requesting a copy of the BMW Maintenance Program Upgrade Agreement from our file. Niello did not respond to this request. I am confident there is no such BMW Maintenance Program Upgrade Agreement in our file because we would have a copy of it in our records.

Desired Settlement: My wife and I are requesting a full refund of the Maintenance Upgrade in the amount of $2,795.00, since the service was not rendered and we did not sign a contract stating it is non-refundable.

Business Response:

Dear *****,

We received a letter regarding this matter dated September 12, 2014 in the mail.  I received it on September 19, 2014.  This is the first email we have received, so I do not understand what happened from a electronic perspective.

We are researching the matter and have asked the BBB for a 5 day extension.  We have not heard back.  Please advise.

Thank you, *******

Business Response: Thank you for your patience. Our research revealed that we do not have any record of providing the proper explanation to you at the time of sale. I apologize for this oversight. We will send a full refund, plus interest, to you at the address listed here. We appreciate your business. If there are any further questions, please let us know.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
However, today is October 11, 2014 and I have still not received the check from Niello so the issue is not yet resolved.

8/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2011 BMW 535i in November 2012, since then I have had one blow out and bubbles on the two front tires, resulting in replacing these tires 3 times! The two front tires were just replaced by Niello BMW in Sacramento, CA on April 11th,2014. Two months later another bubble appeared in the new tire. I took my car in and was told the tire is not under warranty and would be charged the full retail price of $500.00! I have researched this problem on the internet and learned that many other BMW owners with these run flat tires are having the same issue. I understand that BMW does not make the run flat tires, however BMW does choose what tires go on this model and they continue to use these run flats.

Desired Settlement: I am gong to have the tire replaced at ******* **** ******* because they warranty their tires. The

Business Response: Thank you for your patience.  Normally under these circumstances, a customer would pay for a new tire, and we will return the damaged tire to the tire manufacturer for a warranty review.  If it were found to be defective, the tire costs would be reimbursed.  As a goodwill customer service gesture, ***** ********, our general manager, has agreed to pay for the costs you paid for the mounting and balancing of the tire.  Please provide the invoice, and we will pay you for it.  If they did not charge you those fees, we will reimburse you whatever we would charge fo the same job of mounting and balancing the tire. 

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Niello BMW charged for a diagnostic test on my vehicle that was fraudulent and claimed my vehicle needed a wireing harness instead of conducting a complete diagnostic test on my transmission as they alleged that they did. after paying $5269.61 later the transmission place who did the work on my car based on the credibility of Niello BMW on Fulton rebuild my transmission only to find that the problem still exist, and not to mention the had to replace the wiring harness that niello charged my $827.00 to replace because it was defective apparently, so the Redline transmission called Niello NMW to let them know they replaced a new wire harness. When it was all said and done it turned out the car was still jerking after the transmission was rebuilt, RED line runs a diagnostic and finds out it was just the "trans control module" a part they purchase used for $250 bucks wow, and now I am out thousands of dollars because of Niello bad mis- representation of a diagnostic test.

Desired Settlement: Niello needs to pay for the cost to have my transmission replaced. it cost me $5,269.61 cents plus I had to pay them $827.00 for a fraud diagnostic test, and a wireharness that was defective and that I really didnt need it was the trans control module unit that was causing all the jerking with my car.

Business Response:

Dear *** ***************,

 We understand your concern. 

Would it be possible for us to inspect the vehicle at either our Sacramento (Fulton Ave.) or Elk Grove dealership?  It can be arranged at a time convenient for you and not take much of your time. 

We would like you to be present.  Is that an option?

 Thank you,

**** Torkelsen 

Consumer Response:  
The issue is about the misdiagnosis of the car and the cost I incurred as a result, I feel Niello should reimburse some of the cost since i paid them Niello BMW for a harness wiring which hand to be replaced twice only to find out the real problem was the Trans Module after paying  $827 to Neillo for a part they guess was the problem and a statement from Niello saying I needed a new transmission, that cost  $5,269.00 repairs, and still the car had the same problem after all that only to find out I just needed a Trans module.. a company as such should honor error when made as this was a costly error for me, on Niello behalf, I am out of town until Saturday, so the only time I have is Sunday the 8th if this issue is not resolved before then....


*** **** **** ******* **** **** ****
###-###-####

 

5/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BAIT AND SWITCH SERVICE AT NIELLO'S SERVICE DEPT. FULTON AVE. SACRAMENTO, CAA SIMPLE TUNE - UP TURNED INTO A $ 7,600.00 BILL ( $ 7,598.88 )

Desired Settlement: A PARTIAL REFUND OF THE TOTAL BILL. $ 3,000.00

Business Response: Please contact **** ********* or ***** ******** for resolution. ###-###-####

Consumer Response: The company asked that I call them and I did, no return call. They said that they would call Friday and no call. This is normal for this company regarding my situation. I have again called today and there has not been a return call.

Consumer Response: Consumer states that the company will send them a check for 1,500 and the complaint will be resolved.

Business Response:

We will refund $1,500 as a good will gesture only.  We repaired the vehicle properly. The check is being sent to Mr. *****. Cashing the check will represent a full settlement of any and all claims surrounding this repair and vehicle. We need confirmation from BBB and/or consumer on file to proceed.