BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

Mercedes Benz of Sacramento

Phone: (888) 479-0451 Fax: (916) 741-4514 View Additional Phone Numbers 1810 Howe Ave, Sacramento, CA 95825 http://www.mbsacramento.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mercedes Benz of Sacramento meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mercedes Benz of Sacramento include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mercedes Benz of Sacramento
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 13, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1959 Business started locally: 01/01/1959 Business incorporated: 12/28/2009 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing
2120 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818
http://dmv.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 657-8056

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Dawn Smith, Business Manager Mike Patrick, Service Manager Mr. Rhett Snider, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Dawn Smith, Business Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Von Housen Management, Inc.
Products & Services

Mercedes Benz of Sacramento provides new and used vehicles, sales, service and repair.

Industry Tips
Car Buyer’s Bill of Rights:

Additional Locations

  • 1810 Howe Ave

    Sacramento, CA 95825 (888) 479-0451

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 924-8000(Phone)
  • (916) 920-7953 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: sold a new ml350. extended warranty purchased. sold car one year later. was told i would get the entire amount paid for the extended warranty back. Spoke with sara the finance lady, and complained about the warranty. I was told by her that I would get all back. Just wait to see what portfolio was going to give me and they(mercedes dealership) would refund the rest. It has been two months. now I come to find out she doesn't work there. and no record of this is on file.

Desired Settlement: I want my entire amount back 4640 dollars. Mercedes warrantys are 100 percent refundable. they told me that this warranty was not mercedes backed. When i purchased the car I told **** i only want factory warranty. not third party.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Mr. Eversole will be refunded for his extended service contract. A check in the amount of $4640 will be sent today.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales representative told me that if I cancelled the battery rental agreement the battery would be mine free of charge. Then I was told that the battery would cost me $5010. When I bought the car the sales representative told me the price of the vehicle, she never told me that the battery was not included in the price of the car.

Desired Settlement: I wish to cancel the battery rental agreement, keep the battery, and not pay $5010.00 for the battery. When initially I asked the sales representative if there was any additional charge for the battery she told me there would not be any additional charge for the battery. Then she said she didn't know there was a charge when she initially told me there was no charge. A couple of days later denied that she had ever told me there was no additional charge for the battery.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
the electric smart car comes with two contracts. one for the car and one lease agreement for the battery. it is very clear in all contracts that smart will give you a price break on the car of $5010 to help offset the cost of the battery maintanance plan. if you cancel the battery mantanance plan then they will not honor the credit towards the car, they will ask you to pay it back. this is a contract between Mercedes Benz Finance and the customer, the dealer has no way to overide or change Mercedes Benz Financial's policy. we here at the dealer level do our very best to please every customer but in this case i am unable to do what the client is asking.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought vehicle in to have the uneven ride-height examined and get a repair estimate. What I got did not match my request, but I was still charged. RO# 251127 dated 05/16/2013. My vehicle has an uneven ride-height making the car look like it's doing a nose dive. My mechanic replaced the springs with factory parts and is has not resolved the issue. Because he could not identify the cause of the uneven stance, I made an appointment with Mercedes Benz of Sacramento thinking they would have more specific vehicle information and be able to identify the specific cause. Upon dropping off the car, I explained to the Service Adviser that I already knew about the ball joints and control arm bushings needing to be replaced. I explained that my mechanic was waiting to replace those until we could figure out the ride-height irregularity issue. The car's tires wear out prematurely as a result of the camber not being in specs. Raising the car to the correct height should naturally solve this. THEN, to do a properly alignment I would need to replace the worn bushings. After inspecting the car, the Service Adviser and a technician reviewed the worn parts I previously discussed. They showed me the ball joints, control arm bushings and discussed possible concerns over the mounting connection between the sub-frame and control arms. NONE of these items would be the cause of my ride-height irregularity. In short, they did not tell me anything I didn't already know. They came back with estimates for nearly five-thousand dollars worth of repairs that I had NOT requested information about. They gave me ZERO relevant information about the my primary concern. They did not compare the cars current ride height to factory specs. The technician did offer to give me some specifications, but explained that they would be meaningless without some ten-thousand dollar tool that measures the distance from the control arm to the wheel-well. This sounds like one of the steps they SHOULD have been taking to try and diagnose the problem. While the Service Adviser was going over their recommended repairs, I expressed my dissatisfaction, specifically explaining that I felt like they had not done the job I asked them to do. They continued to charge me $165.00 for the inspection.

Desired Settlement: I believe the business should refund the entire cost of the bill! They did not perform the requested service. I did not refuse to pay or cause a scene because I know the workers are doing what they're told to do. BUT... this is NOT right! I was not asking them to chase some noise that could not be recreated. This was a specific, measurable item. They should have been able to compare the car to the factory specifications and tell me what needs to be done to correct it. They did not do this! They did not earn the $165.00 inspection fee! I did not ask them to inspect the rear shifting bushings, the motor mounts, the head gasket, the rear flex disk; all things they noted as part of their inspection as needing some form of repair. NONE of those pertain to the vehicles ride height. None of those relate to the vehicles alignment issue. They're clearly trying to sell me on "other" stuff, rather than addressing my primary concerns. Experiences like this are WHY I don't take my car to the dealer for repairs. Even in areas where they should be the experts, they fail to deliver.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
After reviewing the documents, Mercedes-Benz of Sacramento agrees with the customers concerns. Mercedes-Benz of Sacramento will refund Mr. ****** the $165.00 for the vehicle inspection.

Consumer's Final Response
GREAT news!! I came home today to find a check waiting in my mailbox. The check and the postmark both say July 11. Whatever you said this time really worked. Thank you for your follow-through in this matter. They certainly were not giving the matter any priority without your prompting. Glad this can finally be close for good. Sincerely, Robert Clark

Business' Final Response
After reviewing the vehicle documents Mercedes-Benz of Sacranmento is in full agreement with Mr. Clark. We will be refunding Mr. Clark the $165.00 for the vehicle inspection.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/15/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** ****** salesman, and us had agreed on a 63 month payment, we receive our statement with 66mths I called Mr. *****, he ignore our dispute. I called the manager J. ***** he ignored my phone calls for 3 weeks. He said he was aware of the 63 months, but we bought an insurance, we told him the lady had said we would be paying $45. a month now he wants to take our insurance away and is charging more for the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: We would like what we were promised 63mths and our insurance.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
deal was agreed at 63 months, they went to finance and chose to buy an extended warranty but did not want the payment to go any higher than it was. So ****, our finance manager offered them the option of 66 months and they agreed. we have offered them to cancel the warranty and rewrite the deal as it was agreed to before they added the warranty option but they declined. they will only be happy if we throw in the warranty at no cost the them. This will not work for us and it was not the agreement made at the time of sale. The customer does however still have the option to cancel the warranty. Mercedes Benz of Sacramento has done everything possible to satisfy this customer.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We were at the Mercedes office all day and yes our last stop was ****, and She never said anything about the extension of the contract She did mention a $45. dollar a month payment. She just had us sign papers by then we were tired and trusted everything was going to be the way we had talk to ***. We also had to go home and feed our kids. Just imagine being at a car dealer all day, this is why we chose to go to a dealer we just put all our trust in them, We also had bought a car from them in the past,everything went perfect at that time.

Business' Final Response
Client agreed to a term of 63 months and so did the dealership. Client went into the finance office and decided to purchase a service contract for the vehicle. This service contract made to payment go up too much for the comfort level of the customer so the finance manager then offered to extend the term by 3 months and the payment would not go up as much. The client agreed to this change and decided to purchase the warranty. When the dealer recieved the 1st call from the clients wanting to remove the service contract the dealer agreed to hold the contract so the clients could re write at original terms agreed. After a few hours the dealer recieved another call stating that they wanted to keep the warranty on the car so we submitted the contract to the bank. The client has been told several times that they could and can cancel the service contract if they would like to as it is optional and refundable. The client knowingly and willingly accepted the terms of the contract and signed accordingly.In no way has the dealer avoided any phone calls from the client or mis represented transaction in any way

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

10/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Customer states that they took the car in for alignment and it was not done properly. The car still pulls to the right. Customer states that they were told that it was the tires. Customer went in and had the tires looked at. Nothing is wrong with the tires. Customer states that they have been put off several times when trying to make appointments to get this looked at. She was told that they were "busy" or "booked".

Desired Settlement: Customer wants entire refund $149 or the repair done to the car properly.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response We performed a 4 wheel alignment on 5/15/2012 and aligned vehicle to factory specs.(can provide alignment print out) The vehicle still drifted right after alignment and we cross rotated the tires and the vihicle drifted left. We informed the customer that the vihicle had a tire pull and the tires needed to be replaced. The customer stated that the alignment issue had started ever since she had replaced the tires.We could align this vehicle to track straight but we would need to take it out of factory specs and this could cause the tires to wear permaturely. We will be reimburshing the customer the cost of the alignment as we do not want to create another issue with the vehicle.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle on Aug 9th with a promise that my car would be ready within 2 to 3 days. As of today I do not have possession of my vehicle. August 9, 2012. I met with Salesman ****** *****. ****** ***** and I had a lengthy conversation regarding the purchase of this vehicle. I voiced my concerns and was immediately comforted by his promises that all my concerns and requests were valid and would be taken care of. I chose to purchase this vehicle on August 9, 2012 trusting in the promises that ****** ***** had made. My initial concerns and requests on this day of purchase were as follows: 1. I voiced my concern of the light interior. ****** ***** stated it would clean up well, so I requested that the entire interior would be detailed and cleaned to my satisfaction, which I made very clear to him what my satisfaction, was. He said he understood and promised they would comply. 2. I requested a copy of the Car Fax Report for the vehicle and was immediately promised that report. 3. I was informed by ****** ***** that I would be able to pick up my vehicle that same weekend after they serviced it and detailed it as promised. ******'s exact words were: "they will be on it first thing in the morning." 4. I was promised and it was written by ****** ***** that if the vehicle was not my standard when I took delivery of it, the deal would be thrown out. I felt confident that I could back out of the purchase if it did not meet my satisfaction when I took delivery of the vehicle. That same weekend, which I was promised my vehicle would be ready to my satisfaction for pick up, would have been August 10-12, 2012. I signed all purchase papers, documents, etc. and legally purchased my vehicle that day, August 9, 2012. Before I left, ****** ***** stated that he would touch base with me on Friday, the following day. I never received a phone call, text, or any communication from him. I attempted several times throughout the weekend to touch base with ****** ***** and never received a response until the following Tuesday, Aug. 14, 2012. I accepted his apology and explanations of why I never heard from him and was promised my vehicle would be ready to my satisfaction for me to pick up on Wednesday, August 15, 2012. Once again, I was not contacted on Wednesday, Aug. 15, 2012 to confirm my vehicle was ready. I had to initiate the phone call to make sure it was ready. To make a long story short, I did not pick up my vehicle until Saturday, August 18, 2012. That was the date that ****** ***** could confirm that my vehicle was ready to my satisfaction. I purchased my vehicle on August 9, 2012 and did not have the privilege to drive it until Saturday, August 18, 2012. If I would have known this, I would not have purchased it on August 9, 2012 and would have waited until I took delivery of the vehicle on August 18, 2012. My time table for payments started at the date of purchase which is Aug 9, 2012. On this same day, august 18, 2012 when I was supposed to be taking delivery of my vehicle, the original promise that was made (#4 above) to me by ****** ***** about the vehicle being to my satisfaction or the deal would be thrown out, was not being enforced any longer. I made several comments and reminded him of HIS promise. I asked him, how he would feel if the vehicle was not cleaned to his satisfaction. His response was, "I would never buy a used car. I would only buy a new car personally." This comment was very offensive and very rude for a salesman to say to anyone he is selling a car to. I am at the dealership on August 18, 2012 with the assumption that I will be taking delivery of the vehicle with all my requests completed, but on the contrary. I am being told once again to bring my vehicle back. I showed up to the dealership on Friday, August 31, 2012 As I write this letter, I do not have possession of my vehicle, I have NO car fax report, NO owner's manual,NO service/maintenance/work order report don't know if the scratch is repaired,if the detailing is completed, because know one has contacted me.

Desired Settlement: I am absolutely disgusted that I have had to take my time to write a letter of this nature. I am demanding that I am compensated by either the dealership or the Mercedes Corporation for the time which I have spent traveling back and forth 122 miles from Vallejo, CA to Sacramento, CA, the time I have taken away from my job to have to deal with this unacceptable service and situation. I'm expecting my first car payment to be paid in the amount of $600. I am writing this letter on September 12, 2012 and still do NOT have possession of my vehicle. I am expecting communication from someone other than ****** ***** to speak to me on a professional level with an explanation of this unacceptable service I have been given. All of my contact numbers are below. If you need any documentation from me of text messages, phone records confirming my phone calls, etc. I will be happy to submit them to you upon request.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
we have completed everything as agreed plus additional work to give Mrs. ****** a Mercedes Benz Certified Pre owned car she would be happy with. all work has been completed at this time.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to Complete Repairs. June 21, 2012 General Sales Manager Mercedes-Benz of Sacramento 1810 Howe Avenue Sacramento, California XXXXX Re: Failure to Complete Repairs Dear Mr. ******: Mercedes-Benz of Sacramento has failed to complete the repairs to my 2003 E-320 (VIN************XXXXXX) that I purchased on Saturday, June 9, 2012. When I took my car to your shop on June 15, 2012, the work not completed. When I took my car to your shop again on June 21, 2012, the work was not completed. There are dings on the car that were never addressed and the work that your shop did to some of the dings did not repair the dings. The sun visor hangs down and blocks the view and the other one has broken glass which I believe constitutes a federal safety issue that needs to be corrected. And one of the two keys that was given to me after I bought the car is still broken and will not lock the car. I am requesting another key. I am requesting the following work to be done on my car: 1. Repair all dings; 2. Replace sun visors; 3. Replace one (1) key. I am requesting that you complete the repairs as stated above. If you do not complete the work, I will have no other option but to file a complaint with the Bureau of Automotive Repairs and/or take legal action. Please contact me as soon as possible. I can be reached at (916) XXX-XXXX. My fax is (916) XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ***** ******

Desired Settlement: Complete the repairs.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
when negotiating the deal on this 2003 E320, Mr. ****** was not willing to pay what the dealership was asking. We told him we would sell the car at his price however we would not replace the sunvisors and only touch up the scratches, he agreed and there was no mention of a key at that time. We did repair the dings and touch up scratches just like we said we would. Weeks kater Mr ****** cam in with a qoute to repaint the whole car, I told him this was very unreasonable and not at all the deal we had made together. the car also had more damage done, it appeared he had scrapped the fromt bumper on something. At that time i agreed to send the car to our body shop and order the key. We have called to schedule that appointment with no return call from Mr. ******. I believe we have delivered much more than agreed to at time of sale to make him happy.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mercedes Benz is not honoring the promised refund to me if they did not correctly repair the damages they did to my car when they applied cilajet. I bought a new car on 5/2/2012 from Mercedes Benz in Sacramento, CA. I purchased cilajet paint protector and interior sealant in order to protect my car and make the car look better, which is what Mercedes Benz of Sacramento promised. I brought the car in a week later to get the cilajet applied. When Mercedes Benz returned the car to me it was obvious the cilajet had been applied over water spots and bug debris which sealed contaminants onto the paint. All the creases had compound in it. The interior was multiple colors, and was also applied unevenly and inconsistently as if it was done unprofessionally. Long story short, the car looked worse than when I first purchased it and brought it in for the job. A month later the dealership agreed to redo the process. However, when they reapplied the sealant on the outside the bug debris made the clear coat cloudy in certain spots. The interior was still spotted and uneven. Mercedes Benz of Sacramento then brought in an outside auto detailer to fix the problem which made the interior a lot better but still was not in the condition in which I purchased the car. He removed the cloudy spots in the clear coat but the cilajet had buffer marks and there were also scratches. I got an estimate for the repair from Luxury Detail and Mercedes Benz refused to pay for the repairs and also refused to refund my money for the original cilajet which was done very poorly and made the car look terrible. The cilajet needs to be removed and reapplied to repair the problems. The service was very expensive, it was 3 times more than it would take to have it applied outside of the dealership. I would think they would have better customer service and be more concerned about their customer's satisfaction.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the cilajet job that was done very poorly and now has to be removed. I would also like Mercedes Benz of Sacramento to pay for the removal of the cilajet and my money for the tires for life program which requires me to have my car serviced at their dealership and is no longer an option for me.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Mercedes benz of Sacramento has taken more steps than neccessary to make this customer happy and we have come to the realization that he can not be satisfied. We have refunded all his money including tax as well as given him additional money to have his car re done by someone other than us. He was well aware of this before he made the complaint. Mercedes Benz has done everything this customer has asked and then some.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/11/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1