BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mercedes Benz of Rocklin meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Mercedes Benz of Rocklin include:

  • 8 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Mercedes Benz of Rocklin include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mercedes Benz of Rocklin
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 15, 2003 Business started: 04/01/1998 Business started locally: 04/01/1998 Business incorporated: 12/28/2009 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing
2120 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818
http://dmv.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 657-8056

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Dawn Smith, Business Manager Mr. Rhett Snider, General Manager Mr. Don Vanderschoot, Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Dawn Smith, Business Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Mercedes Benz Service Center Von Housen Management, Inc.
Products & Services

Mecedes Benz of Rocklin provides new and used vehicles sales, service and repair.

Industry Tips
Car Buyer’s Bill of Rights:

Additional Locations

  • 4747 Granite Dr

    Rocklin, CA 95677 (916) 630-8877 (916) 567-4300

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 567-4300(Phone)
  • (916) 567-4301(Phone)
  • (916) 630-8877(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For **** ******** - (I paid with my credit card and my husband owns veh.)We requested our vehicle to have the brakes inspected as they were feeling low pressure (Mercedes was the last one to install brakes) and there was a sound coming from the back of the vehicle, my daughter and her husband recorded the and it was presented in my presence to the service writer sound when it was in motion. The service manager was instructed at the time of call that if he was sure the repair to be made would fix the noise ($471.87 repair). I asked if the brakes were checked he said they were fine. So we approved the repair (we were never shown the belt the V belt as being frayed as during the conversation he said it was wearing (we were never offered to see the belt) We trusted their advice and made it clear that we didn't have a lot of money and needed it fixed. I was assured the brakes were inspected. Upon picking up the vehicle and driving a few miles the noise came back. My daughter and husband took it to another mechanic who inspected it and said it was the rear brakes. We reviewed the paperwork from Mercedes who had given them a fully green check mark. The rear brakes were done by another shop so the vechicle was taken to ***** the next day and they inspected the brakes and found them to be faulting (very unusal) and replaced the brakes. Tried contacting Mercedes (***** ****)and he demanded to see the brake pads in order to do anything for us with reducing the labor the parts installed they don't have our old part. I called ***** and they immediately shipped the defective part unlike what *****' take that they take a few months to return warranty items to the manufacturer. I sent an email to the dealership to *****' attention and a phone call message to contact me regarding ***** not able to release the pads since they no longer had them. It seems he won't go any further. I'm surprised by his demand as they didn't produce the tension roller or v-belt. AFter the brakes were replaced the noise is go

Desired Settlement: Would like full compensation $471.87 - If partial refund the labor - $192.50 and the tension roller - $280.00 - we were only told the belt was failing when we got the break down. My biggest issue was the lack of inspecting the brakes that vehicle has my family in it everyday.

Business Response:

BBB Northeast California,

We are sorry for the clients dissatisfaction. I did talk to the client and I'm sorry that they are upset. We did refund them half of the repair $235.94 once we knew they were upset. We do think that the repairs were needed. Here is the complaint on the signed RO; Customer states there is a noise heard when the truck is idling check and advise ( high pitch squeak). As you can see that would not be a brake complaint. But we do want the client happy that’s why we refunded half of the repair bill back to them.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I now need to take my Mercedes back to the Rocklin Mercedes for service. I am out about $1600.00 so far and have had terrible service. No manger call back at all. I took my car in to Rocklin MB to get fixed the first time and they found a recall of a solenoid harness. I paid my 1200+ dollars and within 3 days my Check Engine light came back on. I take it back and instead of acting concerned they said "you have to pay another 149.00 so we can re-run the diagnostics again". I paid the 149.00 and they found the solenoid magnet went out and said I would have to pay another 300 to fix it. I asked if this was in the same area that they replaced that recall harness and the service guy said "No, this is no where in the area the mechanic fixed". I eventually walked out to the mechanics area to have him show me and sure enough, the harness they replaced was directly connected to the solenoid magnet that went bad somehow in the 3 days time. My wife and I tried to contact the management with no call back or attempt to talk to us.... The customer. The other bad thing was that I finally got a hold of a Corporate Service Manager and he said that having to pay for the 3 diagnostic checks is the way it goes, as it cost the mechanics time, which is money. This is super poor service as again the customer has not respect from the service manager. As an example, I get paid around 120.00 and hour at work and I was at the dealership the last time for about 3 hours. Customer time lost as well but never considered in conversation.

Desired Settlement: Honestly, it would be nice to see some good old customer service and care form a highly respected business such as Mercedes Benz. Within 1 months time frame I will have to had paid for 3 diagnostic checks, that's 450.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
I have left five voice mail messages on this clients home phone. With no response or call back. On RO XXXXXX we did a open recall to the wiring harness to the cam solenoid which the client did not pay for. We also looked into a shifting problem on their car. The complaint was " customer states the speed sensor is not working properly, customer states vehicle wont shift out of gear and has to pull over and restart the car". This problem required the replacement of the hydraulic control unit in the valve body. Nothing to do with a check engine light. The client paid $1242.74 for the speed sensor hydraulic control unit. This was on 10-11-12. On 10-18-12 RO XXXXXX client returned to our store with a check engine light on. We found that the right side intake cam solenoid was faulty. We replace the component and showed the client where the part is on their car. Their total bill for this was $268.34 we gave them a $46.98 discount for this repair. I understand that the client is not happy and I did call them five different times leaving voice mails at home to call me back so we could work this out. ***** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/21/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales Manager lied regarding interest rate. Tried to deceive me into accepting her lender with a higher rate than my credit union offered me. My wife and I purchased a vehicle on Saturday Nov 10,2012. I explained to our salesman and the finance manager that we were pre-approved with ******* Credit Union. Because it was a weekend the finance manager could not contact (or she says)our credit union so she quoted us 3.99% from one of her lenders. She said she would submit our application through the CUDL program and contact us the following Monday to let us know what the rate would be with our credit union *******. On Monday Nov 12, 2012 she called me in the AM and said ******* quoted us at 4.19% and strongly suggested we use her lender since the rate was 3.99% I told her I still wanted to use ******* because I already have another auto loan and mortgage with them. But after pressure from her reasoning I accepted and she said she would process the loan. The next day I contacted ******* regarding the application my wife and I filled out prior to purchasing the vehicle. I was informed our rate could be as low as 1.99% based on different variables. The rep confirmed the rate I knew we were qualified for. I decided to contact ******* to confirm the rate. The Rep informed me we were eligible for a 3.09% based on the terms of our contract. I asked whether an application was submitted through the CUDL program by Mercedes Benz of Rocklin and the rep said she saw no application and that had the finance manager inquired as she said it would have been noted in our ******* file. The rep further informed me that they (*******) were closed that Monday because of the Veteran's day holiday. I immediately called the dealer and asked to speak with a manager. I eneded up speaking with the internet manager who tried to reassure me everything would be fine. I left a voicemail for the fiance manager asking her to return my call and explained my concerns. She never returned my call. I did receive a call from our salesman who informed me that the finance manager would cancel the loan with her lender and submit an application to *******. I had to contact ******* myself to verify our rate and insure our application was submitted. On November 16,2012 I called and asked to speak with the sales manager Bob Hunter as suggested by our salesman.I explained to the operator my concerns regarding the financing of our vehicle. The operator asked me to hold while she tried to locate him. She then returned and said he was aware of my concern but busy at the moment and would return my call. I never heard back from him.Based on my math the finance manager almost cost me $1000 in extra interest fees not to mention what ever incentives she would receive for using her lender. My wife and I have tier 1 credit ratings with scores of 815, and 801. I am disgusted with the finance practices we were put through. I also can't believe I never received a call from anyone at the dealership to hear my complaint and that the finance manager would think we were naive enough to not check with our lender even after we informed her we were pre-approved with a credit union that is part of the CUDL (credit union direct lending program Mercedes Benz of Rocklin is a member of. Let me make it clear. We specifically asked to have the financing done through ******* since we were already pre-approved.The finance manager said she would submit our application but never did. These sales practices are deceptive and unethical.

Desired Settlement: I feel my wife and I should receive monetary compensation since we were lied to in order for the finance manager and dealership to benefit from their deception. I feel $1500 is a fair amount because we could have used the 1.99% rate if we chose to. Based on the rate we ended up with we saved over $850 in interest fees.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
I have spoke to the customer by phone and discussed his concern. Additionally we have invited him to come in to meet in person.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/30/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** ****** the Fleet Manager misrepresented to me pricing & contract language He lied to me & took my car back to Carmax & sold me his car instead I'm a senior citizen 67 years old with heart problems. I was cold called by someone from Mercedes Benz of Rocklin, Ca. The man on the phone told me to come in and speak to there Fleet Manager ***** ******. i explained I just bought a Mercedes Benz from CarMax. He said come in we will give you a new Mercedes for what you paid for that used 2009 E-350. So the following day I dropped by their dealership and met with ***** ******. ***** explained that he would returtn the car to Carmax because it was on a recall by Merceds Benz not covered by warranty. He explained to me i would be out thousands of dollars for repairs.***** told me to sign a lease with him for a new 300 Mercedes and ***** offered to return the car to CarMax for me. I agreed and signed the lease without it it in it entirety because it was late in the evening and i noticed from ***** and his Finance Manager comments they wanted to go home.I didn't even get to turn the contract over and read the other side. I drove home in a loaner because my car was not there yet. After driving the loan 300 Mercedes I called ***** the next day and emailed him saying I wanted out of the lease and did not want ot buy the car for several reasons. First thing i checked online and the car I had bought for less over $5,000.00 less at Carmax was not on recall and i wanted to go back to Carmax and get the car back from Carmax and return their loaner.(2) The lease contract after reading it at home was not fair or was i comfortable with the language in the lease. (3) After driving the 300 Mercedes it did not drive well, rough ride and the acceleration was jerky and uncontrollable. (4)I was forced to buy options I disagreed with that they told me were mandatory was a lie of $288.00.Also misc.fees that were never discussed or approved by me. ***** told me your under a lease contract and there no way out. ***** said if you pickup your car at Carmax you now own two cars. I contacted the the general manager for all of their dealerships ****** ****** and i got no response. I called him and emailed him no response. I was filled then to a lady call **** ***** and explained my situation, (1) I had not taken delivery of my car. (2) I cancel within 24 hours of picking up the car. (3) i was misrepresented by ***** ****** about the Carmax car and the Mercedes 250 problems. ***** told me after I test drove the car and complaint to ***** the bumpy ride and acceleration problem I would get use to was a lie.Moreover, after signing the lease and going home i when online and saw the Mercedes factory was running a special on the same car i signed the lease for the Mercedes 250 at a lesser lease price per month than ***** ****** lease the car to me for, another misrepresentation.**** ***** flipped to a Manager called Mr. ******. i when again to the dealership and met with Mr. ****** asking mim to cancle mt leaser. Mr. ****** said no but you can switch to a different car new or used.So I drove a XXXX XXXE and ask Mr. ****** what the high blue book was as an excellent car with Kelly Blu Book.Mr. ****** said $40,000.00 plus but he would sale me the car for $37,000.00 with 38,000 miles. I trusted him and agreed I felt trapped & elderly abuse because if I did not buy it i had to take the lease car, they gave me no other choice.I signed the contract and drove the car home. They told me it was a certified used car and had been completely checked out. I took the car back two days later complaining about a transmission noisy and rotors or brake noisy. I took a test drive with the mechanic and he agreed there was noisy but not ot worry it was the tires. The mechanic looked at the tires and the inner front tires were so worn out it was unsafe to drive the car. I left the car there and when home. At that point they refused ot give me a loaner. So they had a van take me home after waiting 1/2 hour for it. When I when back the next day to pickup my car the service girl said i had to pay for the tires.I did not pay tires.

Desired Settlement: Because nobody will return my calls or emails and i was sold an unsafe car still with brake problems and is unsafe to drive. Moreover, I was strong armed by a bait and switch (The Carmax Car)into buying a car and the numerous lies and misrepresentations, I want a full refund included taxes license etc. and return their unsafe defective car. I feel giving business to a company like this would be a miscarriage of justice to me if something isn't done. Even thought ****** ****** had threaten me twice he would sue me for contacting BBB, I felt compelled to report this matter for the public at large be made aware of these unfair practices on the elderly and the public at large. A Full Refund is the only thing acceptable to me. That included the extra $240.00 ****** ****** may me pay for window tinting. He quoted $200.00 and then called me and said I owed another $40.00. Keep in mind no manger at the dealership or any general managers/owners over all of the dealerships will respond to my emails or phone calls to date.FYI: Mr. ****** told me the car was worth $40,000.00 in excellent condition and deducting for miles the car in excellent shape only blue booked for $34,000.00 plus and its not an excellent. They lied and quoted me $3,000.00 more than the car was really worth if it had been in excellent shape. I have been completely ignored. This inflames me even more,no customer service or satisfaction. Another reason i want a full refund because of their more service and mistreatment of customers. I see other complaints on BBB about this company and on Yelp concerning ****** ******. Respectfully Submitted, ****** A. Sunser1 Phone-XXX-XXX-XXXX

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
I have left message for ****** at his provided number to discuss the issue he is currently having with the car that he purchased. I am waiting to hear from him. Prior to this post from ******, We have met with personally, responded to his phone call and answered his email. So I am anxious to come to some closure and hope ****** will drive away excited and happy.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/3/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Un-necessary repairs and not garanteeing the repairs I took my car for routing maintence x 5 and every time there is a big list of repairs which is > $4000. THis is always follwed by a new problem which never existed in my car The last of those incidents is when the car reached 100,000 miles, I took it to be checked, Had no problems, I recieved a bill of around $3000.00. I left the shop that day with a noise in the vehicle which was the belt, I lost stirring power. When I took it in they said it was my air condition and the belt and charged $ 2600. 2 days later I lost the power stirring again took it in and they want to charge me another $ 1250 The previous time, I went for routine maintenece, I was advised to change the brakes but I declined since I had no problems with them and the lights never came on, I left the sevice station that day grinding metal on metal

Desired Settlement: Fix my car for free this time and would like this Mercedes Dealer to be monitored

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Case XXXXXXXX The first repair on the 2007 GL450 was on X-XX-XX RO XXXXXX. The vehicle was driven in by the client with no power steering and warning lights on in the dash. After inspecting the vehicle it was determined that the AC compressor had seized and the V-belt was completely off the pulley. When client pulled into the service drive and told our advisor what was happening he immediately opened the hood and found the belt was off the pulleys. He then told the client that is why you have no power steering, and your alternator light is on. Hopefully you did not do any other damage driving the car. We replaced the AC compressor, receiver drier, expansion valve and cleaned the pulleys. We then drove the vehicle for 2 miles with no problems. Then approximately 8 days later RO XXXXXX X-XX-XX we got a phone call that at times the vehicle has no power steering. The client drove the car to our store and we found that when warm and engine speed is low that the power steering was not working. When engine speed was raised power steering works again. What we found is that the power steering pump is not supplying enough pressure. And we need to replace the pump. We understand that this is a inconvenient and are sorry that the power steering pump failed. In light of what the client went through we decided to help the client out. The retail price to install the power steering pump is $1015.46. We decided to do the labor for free and discount the power steering pump for the client. So the total bill for the client $557.00. The client has picked up the car and paid the bill.

Consumer's Final Response
I am an unmarried women and I take my car to the dealer in Rocklin Routine maintenance since 2007 on my bran new Mercedes GL450, 2007 end up- to be around $4000.00 each time. In addition, I always have a different problem leaving the repair shop Examples ROutine maintenance, I drove off with a noise in teh belt, I took it back, the repair shop claimed it is the air condition burst and shattered the belt. I left the repair shop and almost ran into a wall since I lost my stirring power which was not fixed. They requested to change the brakes on a routine check up, I refused since the lights never came on, but when I picked up my car, a new noise of metal grinding on metal was there This is not a new problem with this dealer. This has been going on since 1995. When my ex husband bought a convertable from an auction in LA, he drove the car ti sacamento. I took the car in the dealer in Rocklin to check. After the car was checked , as I drive the car home, it stopped on me in the middle of the road and required to be towed back to the dealer

Business' Final Response
The first time the car came in for lost power steering. The AC compressor had locked up and broke the drive belt. The client lost power steering all lights came on in dash and client continued to drive car to dealership. We replaced the AC compressor and drove the car for 2 miles with no problems. Client drove the car for 454 miles and brought back in for a complaint of intermittently no power steering assist. We verified complaint when engine speed is low power steering assist not working. Car needed a power steering pump. Most likely due to driving the car without a belt. We understood the clients position and only charged the client for the parts no labor in the interest of good will to the client. We are sorry for all that she has gone through.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

6/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/26/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1