BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mercedes Benz of El Dorado Hills meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mercedes Benz of El Dorado Hills include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mercedes Benz of El Dorado Hills
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 15, 2003 Business started: 01/01/2003 Business started locally: 01/01/2003 Business incorporated: 12/28/2009 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing
2120 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818
http://dmv.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 657-8056

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Dawn Smith, Business Manager Mr. George Grinzewitsch, Owner Rob Laird, Sales Mngr Mr. Rhett Snider, General Manager/ Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Dawn Smith, Business Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Von Housen Management Inc.
Products & Services

Mercedes-Benz of El Dorado Hills provides new and used vehicle sales, service & repair.

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • 1000 Mercedes Ln

    El Dorado Hills, CA 95762 (877) 773-3154

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 773-3154(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to repair leak, I was a last minute rush job, I feel ripped off, taken advantage, MB did not respond to certified letter sent on 12-20-2012 I have copied the letter sent to MB 2 weeks ago which has been ignored. To: *** ************ I am extremely disappointed with my recent service on my ***** after paying you almost 3 K (including the charge of the battery), $2,816.10 to be exact. My car was not driven in 6-7 days (due to surgery) the battery died, and MB roadside replaced the battery. The next day the vehicle would not start, all instrument panel lights were on, the car was beeping, and I was unable to turn the key. MB Roadside came back, charged the battery, and towed the vehicle to your dealership. Red Flags- How I picked up my *****: * Showed F service in 19 miles (just had f service done) * Left License Plate Light not working (worked fine before) * I was not given the option to view the old parts * The vehicle continues leak more than before, it was not repaired as promised, so I was improperly charged for a steering reservoir leak (photos) * I was unable to review the receipt before paying * It appeared was an issue to use my $125.00 coupon * Ink is smeared on all 4 pages of the receipt * Everyone was interested in making Mr. *** happy, screw ****** she's not important, she only bought a 72 K vehicle with a 35 K down payment, but that's not good enough for the dealership, is it? * Second Electrical Wiring Harness Replaced on this ***** * With my second SLK, MB told me I charged my dead battery incorrectly, which lead to 3 K of similar electronic failures. It's obvious I was a last minute rush job, I feel ripped off, taken advantage, and after you made me cry, I began the following research: * Paid an Independent Certified Master Mercedes-Benz Mechanic to review the work done on my vehicle, he has reviewed over 1,000 issues with MB and currently works for MB. * Researched wire harness defects in MB * Researched steering column module defects in MB * Contacted the Bureau of Automotive Repair * Contacted the Department of Consumer Affairs * Contacted the National Traffic Highway Safety Administration * El Dorado County District Attorney * El Dorado County Better Business Bureau Findings: 1. The cable harness is a common problem in the 2007 Gl450, which is documented to start vehicles fires. 2. The steering column module is another common problem documented with the MB 2007 Gl450. 3. Continual leak is unacceptable after service. I refuse to pay for the mistakes of MB engineers, MB Road Service errors, and or MB Mechanics, therefore I'm requesting an immediate refund of the above referenced items, $403.68 + $715.44 + $205.32 including sales tax. If I do not receive my refund by 12-28-12, I will immediately file a lawsuit. You are to CEASE & DESIT all phone communications with me. You may communicate with me via the Internet, and or US Mail. Sincerely, ****** J ****** cc: Bureau of Automotive Repair, National Traffic Highway Safety Administration, Department of Consumer Affairs, El Dorado County District Attorney, El Dorado County Better Business Bureau

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for the above stated work which I will have to have another mechanic repair. I do no trust this dealership anymore, they have treated me as if I am sub-human being an over 50 and a single female. They took advantage of me, and have not respond to my certified letter which USPS shows as being delivered on 12-21-12.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact was made with this customer. The vehicle was brought back to the dealership, and all concerns have been addressed to the customer's complete satisfaction.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/8/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dishonest and purposeful misrepresentation of service agreement Upon buying a used GL 450, we also purchased "tires for life." Invoking this service agreement, we had our tires changed. At the time of the service and the payment, we were repeatedly assured that our program would cover the expenses, although a work requisition and a payment for the service independent of the program was signed. It was repeatedly stated that we would only "pay for gas" for the loaner car. After discovery that the actual payment was approximately $1500.00 was charged (instead of "only gas for the loaner car.") We called the service department, and a claim for authorization of the service from the tire company was never sent or run, and when it was done, we were told that we did not qualify, retrospectively, as our car was serviced elsewhere. My complaint is threefold: 1. We were assured at the time of service and during the scheduling that the program we had purchased originally would cover the change of tires, as we assumed the dealership would prospectively determine consumer candidacy, as we were told we had the program. Again, despite multiple verbal assurances this was done, the proper due diligence was not performed. 2. I was told by the service manager (***) that my signature on the invoice (with no sum or estimate of the service at the time of signature) that our tires for life program would cover the cost of the repair (see #1) and I would be responsible for gas of the loaner car. I was then told this throughout the service stay, and during checkout. It was not until discovery days later, that I signed and was charged the amount of approximately $1500, not $15.00 for gas. Upon the discovery, I alerted the dealership (and because of the holiday weekend) was to have a follow-up phone call on the first available work day. This did not occur. Over the next two weeks, after "sending the request to the tires for life company" we were denied coverage from the program. 3. Communication from the service manager (******) was explicit in that he was not going to cover the cost, despite multiple assurances that he and the dealership "would make it right." He has taken the position that his service partner (***) was forthcoming with information, which he was not. His evidence is my signed invoice and payment of the service (although this was not the case, please see #1 and #2). I informed him that I would likely stop payment on the credit card and report it as fraudulent, and would potentially contact a lawyer. I am awaiting a legal opinion. After asking if he would have internal audits on their customer service policies and procedures, it sounded as though it was of little importance and was minimized. 4. The tires, after more careful inspection, do not appear to be "new." We are taking them to another dealership for the life of the tire to be evaluated independently. Basically, the claim for the tires should have been done before the tires were changed and/or before we were charged the full price of the tires. We were assured the tires would be covered by the program we purchased originally from the dealership, both when the appointment was scheduled and the service was rendered. We were informed after the fact that the claim was denied and we were stuck.

Desired Settlement: One of two remedies: 1. Refund the money for the original "tires for life warranty" or/and 2. Refund of the cost of the "new tires." and 3. Investigation on business practice at the dealership.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
These customers (Mr. & Mrs.) purchased a, "Tires for Loyalty" package during the time of new vehicle purchase. This package offers financial assistance towards tire replacement (due to normal wear) in exchange for the customer service dept. loyalty (maintaining their vehicle with the dealership). Both customers (Mr. & Mrs.) signed the "Tires for Loyalty "contract underneath the BOLD print stating the requirements for maintaining eligibility for the program. The customer has not performed any service at the dealership, therefore has not maintained eligibility to claim for assistance with tire replacement. MRS. Customer called and made an appointment for tire replacement at which time the proper tires were placed on hold for the date/time of the appointment. At no time during the appointment process was the customer "assured" the tires would be covered by the program. MR. Customer brought the vehicle in for the tire replacement appointment at which time he signed an estimate for the full amount (parts and labor) for the replacement of four tires. At no time during the write-up process was the customer "assured" the tires would be covered by the program. The dealership proceeded to replace the tires and notify the customer after completion. MR. Customer came back to pick up the vehicle at which time he signed a final invoice AND a credit card receipt for the FULL amount of the tire replacement. Note to the customer's point stating he was only quoted a $15.00 loaner fuel charge: A $15.00 fuel charge does not exist as a business practice, the dealership charges for fuel in $10.00 increments (not to exceed $30.00) therefore dealership staff would never communicate a $15.00 fuel charge to any customer.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/13/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/28/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/28/2011 Problems with Product/Service