Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mel Rapton Honda

Phone: (916) 482-5400 3630 Fulton Ave, Sacramento, CA 95821

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mel Rapton Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mel Rapton Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Mel Rapton Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 10, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1961 Business started locally: 01/01/1961
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing
2120 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818
Phone Number: (916) 657-8056
The number is 04941.

Business Management
Ms. Katina Rapton, Owner Mr. Curtis Rapton, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Katina Rapton, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mel Rapton Honda has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3630 Fulton Ave

    Sacramento, CA 95821 (916) 482-5400


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/7/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 10, 2014 I purchased a used Honda CRV 2012 at Mel Rapton Honda. On March 9, 2015 I contacted my salesperson, ******* ******, to inform him that when I turned on my car air condition it was not working and he told me to bring it to Mep Rapton Honda for service. After they checked the car, there was found a big hole in my condenser and radiator. **** *****, the service person of Honda called and told me to call my insurance and place a claim. I then took the car to a different auto body shop for a second opinion and they told me that the hole have been there for at least a year. To my surprised and confusion, I did not understand how that had happen because I never had an accident. I bought the Honda CRV with this damage I was not informed.

Desired Settlement: Since the weather in Sacramento was getting hot and my sales person suggested me to replace because the technician stated that it's just a matter of time and it would risk the engine to overheat due to a loss of engine coolant. I had it replace because the Mel Rapton Honda wont agree to cover the cost.

Business Response:

VIN #*****************
·       Vehicle safety inspection done 11/18/2014 at 19,743 miles. Safety inspection included oil change, tire rotation, air filter replacement, wiper insert replacement, and rear brake replacement. Air conditioning operation was part of the inspection and was checked off as working.
·       Customer took delivery 12/10/2014 with 19,782 miles on vehicle.
·       Customer came in with a concern that the air conditioner was not blowing cold on 3/16/2015 at 24,500 miles. Customer took vehicle without inspection after an estimate was given to determine problem.
·       Customer dropped off vehicle using night drop on 3/22/15. Repair order was written on 3/23/15 at 24,873 miles. Customer authorized diagnosis, technician found a hole in the a/c condenser in the lower grill area. He also noted that whatever hit the condenser had pushed it into the radiator causing damage to radiator. There were no signs of damage to the front bumper and the technician recommended both the condenser and radiator be replaced. Customer was given an estimate of $987.88 to repair the vehicle, customer declined having the recommended parts replaced and picked up the vehicle.
·       Customer made contact with the service director, ***** ******. ***** met with customer and inspected vehicle with the customer. He found that the puncture on the condenser was directly in the opening of the bumper (lower grill area) and pointed it out to the customer. ***** then reviewed the initial safety inspection checklist (safety inspection) with the customer pointing out that the air conditioning system was working correctly at that time. ***** asked how the vehicles defroster was working through the winter months and the customer acknowledged that it had been working fine. ***** went over the function of the defroster on how it relies on the air conditioner to clear the glass. He explained to the customer that pressing the defrost button turns the air conditioning system on and that if the a/c system was in its current status the defroster would not have functioned correctly.
·       ***** suggested to the customer that checking with her insurance carrier based on the type of damage. It looked like either road hazard damage or a result of hitting something low to punch the radiator back. He suggested this as an option due to her not knowing how it could have happened and that she may have coverage through a comprehensive claim. The customer stated that she may look into this.
·       ***** then offered to look into a discount for the customer and would have to get back with her. A few days later ***** contacted the customer and offered a $200.00 discount towards the repair. She stated she did not want to pay anything towards the repair and asked what she could do. ***** suggested that she reach out to the Bureau of Automotive Repair and that we will use them as a customer focused intermediary that will look to see if we missed something.
·       ***** felt that after reviewing the initial safety inspection, seeing the damage to the a/c condenser, and that the customer acknowledged the defroster system had been working correctly through the winter months, that it was clear that the vehicle was sold here in December with a working a/c system.

9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Recently I decided to purchase a new Honda. As a birthday gift, my father generously offered to buy the vehicle for me. We decided to purchase the vehicle at Mel Rapton Honda where I've purchased a car before and my family has purchased many Hondas over the years. Since my father currently lives out of state he negotiated a deal for my Civic with the Internet Manager, ***** **. They confirmed the price via email and he told ***** that he would send me a personal check made out to Mel Rapton Honda for the amount and I would bring that in at the time of pick up. (He has an account with a Sacramento credit union). This was a week and a half before pick up. When I arrived to pick up the vehicle, I was advised that they would NOT take the check, even after I showed them *****' email. The manager that I dealt with, *****, was extremely rude and his behavior exacerbated an already upsetting situation. Mel Rapton Honda not only reneged on their word (which was in writing in an email) but they were discourteous, defensive and made what should have been a simple payment and pick up of the car an absolute nightmare. Never once did they take responsibility for their error or try and right the situation. I sent a letter the next day to the dealership's VP of Operations (****** ******) and General Manager (****** ******) and have heard nothing back. The fact that they don't back up their written agreements is deceptive and quite fraudulent in my opinion. Their tagline of "We Really Want Your Business," is ridiculous. What they want is your MONEY. Don't expect any kind of customer service at Mel Rapton Honda and definitely don't expect them to keep their word on anything, even if it's in writing. They obviously negotiate in bad faith.

Desired Settlement: I would like the dealership to acknowledge their wrongdoing with an apology, try and right their wrongdoing AND take disciplinary action against the discourteous/deceptive sales people involved in this transaction.

Business Response:

After having spoken to this customer at some length she seemed to at least understand our position in not accepting the check. Her father was not a party to the transaction, wasn’t on the contract which leaves us very little recourse if there was to be a problem with funding. It is true that the process was stated in an email regarding how the check would be deposited but it was a couple of lines in a long series of emails and was obviously overlooked. This customers assertion that it was fraudulent is untrue as it was no benefit to us to not take the check. She at any time could have chosen not to do business with us. All other areas of the negotiated deal were upheld. We took a personal check, held it until the funds would transfer and we let her take the car that day as scheduled and agreed upon. I did apologize to her for the inconvenience of having to go home to get a check and for the manager she felt was rude to her. Everyone involved has been spoken to so we can make sure that this type of misunderstanding does not occur in the future. It is very important that customers leave happy. I offered at the end of the first conversation and will offer again that if she has any other concerns she is welcome to contact me.

****** ******

7/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a brand new Honda Odyssey on May 2013, last month we went to San Francisco Ca from Roseville Ca, the check engine signal came on and the car was shaking, as per my husband who's driving when he went uphill, he thought that the car would stop, luckily it did not. We called a different Honda dealer that close to where we are at that time if they're still open, it was not anymore because it was late in the afternoon. We ended up not going home on that day because we are scared to drive it more, I have a 22 month old son with us, my husband, parents in law and l'm 7 months pregnant. We decided to make an appointment to Honda dealer in Milpitas Ca for the next day, we stayed in a hotel, so the next day we brought it to the dealership early morning, In the late afternoon we got a call from the dealership, they said the reason why the car was flashing check engine is because of the bad gas, that's the first time I heard that kind of reasoning, first of all we always use chevron premium and that gas station that we put gas to, is in Roseville Ca which is close to our house and that's where we always put gas, I have a 2006 BMW, since I bought it on 2005, I would always put gas on that gasoline station and I never had a problem of having a bad gas, it's a very weird reasoning, and so the dealer said that they can clean and remove all the gas but we have to pay a $1000.00 out of the pocket we did not do it because that is a lot of money, so the dealer said all that they can do is to reset the check engine light. We went home praying that nothing bad will happen to us, the next day the check engine light came on again, so we brought it to the dealer where we got that car, they said to leave the car for few days because they'II be able to check it on the next business days, after a few days my husband got a call from the dealer and said that there's a problem with the coil, so the van has to be there until the next day. When we pick up the car, we talked to the manager, telling him that we were very disappointed with that car, we just have it for a month and it has only a 1000 mileage and it's already giving us a problem, I told him that my husband wanted to buy a used car but I said no, because I want to have a peace of mind when we're driving especially with the kids,

Desired Settlement: Change our van with a brand new Honda Odyssy. I don't want to worry about anything because everything is new and perfect, the important thing is for us to be safe, but after what happened with this brand new car, we don't have any more peace of mind, at the back of our head we're going to think that it could happen again, and the manager that we talked to at Mel ****** Honda was very rude, his name is ***** *********** we're still in the middle of our conversation and he suddenly stood up and tried to walk away from us, seems like he doesn't want to hear our concern, is that the right way to treat your customer? Can you please help us.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
July 17, 2013 To Whom It May Concern: The ****** family purchased a 2013 Honda Odyssey from Mel Rapton Honda on May 12th 2013. There were no indications of any problems or concerns on the delivery checklist signed by the customer. No problems were reported in the first three weeks after purchase. The vehicle was checked into our service department on Saturday, June 8th at 3:57 p.m. with a complaint of running rough and a check engine light on. Because it was late on Saturday they were give a complimentary vehicle to drive for the weekend as our service department is closed on Sunday. The vehicle was assigned to a technician for diagnosis on Monday, June 10th at 7:00 a.m., the first time slot after we opened. It was determined that one of the six ignition coils was defective and would have to be replaced under the terms of the new vehicle warranty. The part was ordered from Honda on a priority basis for overnight delivery. The assigned technician received the coil on the morning of Tuesday, June 11th at 8:42 a.m. and promptly installed it. He then road tested the vehicle to assure repairs were completed. The paperwork was finished and invoiced at 9:21 a.m. on the 11th, when the customer was informed the vehicle was repaired. When the customer came in to pick up their vehicle they voiced some displeasure over the failure of the coil. At that time they mentioned a dent in driver's sliding door that was never noted previously. We agreed to have the dent removed for them at no charge as a gesture of our goodwill. The customer returned to our service department July 6th at 9:17 a.m. to have an accessory roof rack and cross bars installed. They did not mention any other concerns at that time. There was no discussion of the previously failed coil, or them not wanting the van. Mel Rapton Honda repaired the vehicle under the terms of the new car warranty as efficiently as possible. While we empathize with the customer over the experience, we are not responsible for the mis-diagnosis and erroneous information provided by the Honda dealership in Milpitas. We provided the customer no-cost transportation and agreed to repair a dent that happened after the customer purchased the vehicle. We feel as though the customer has been treated more than fairly in this matter. If you have any questions concerning this case, please contact me as soon as possible. We look forward to your resolution of this matter.