BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mataga of Stockton meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mataga of Stockton include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mataga of Stockton
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 12, 1995 Business started: 05/01/1996 Business started locally: 05/01/1996 Business incorporated: 05/08/1995 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing
2120 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818
http://dmv.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 657-8056

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Kathryn Mataga-Shimane, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kathryn Mataga-Shimane, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Mataga Oldsmobile, Cadillac, GMC Truck Inc.
Products & Services

Mataga of Stockton is a new car dealership for Buick, GMC and Cadillac sales and service.

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • 3261 Auto Center Cir

    Stockton, CA 95212 (866) 857-3402 (877) 456-5258

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (209) 951-2600(Phone)
  • (877) 456-5258(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car's engine failed due to two overheat incidents which was caused by the incorrectly installed engine put on by ****** of Stockton in Mar.2012. Our 2007 Cadillac SRX (owned by me ****** ****** and my husband ****** *****, License plate # *******) got overheated twice in the past year, due to the incorrectly installed cylinder heads installed by ****** of Stockton (3261 Auto center cir Stockton CA, XXXXX) on March 13, 2012. Now ****** of Stockton informed us that the whole engine needs to be replaced because the two overheat incidents have damaged the engine and we are forced to pay 30% of ******'s fault. ****** of Stockton did not provide any official detail diagnose of why the whole engine needs to be replaced, nor official written estimate of parts and labor of an engine replacement after requested more than ten times through phone call, email and fax. ****** claimed that their own official diagnoses and fixing record of my car in November 2012 were manipulated. Brief history of the car since March 2012: On March 13th, 2012, ****** of Stockton replaced both cylinder heads, timing chains, tensiones, and resealed engine on my car, due to a recall from Cadillac. On June 4th, 2012 in Stockton, the car got overheated. ****** of Stockton did not diagnose out the real reason and only replaced the blasted radiator. Second overheat was on November 16th, 2012 in Stockton. Part of ******'s own diagnose on this overheat was "Removed cylinder heads and edged for damage. Found them to be not straight. Sent to machine shop for further inspection and verify CYLINDER HEADS WERE POSSIBLY NOT STRAIGHT AT TIME OF INSTALLATION, CAUSIG HEAD TO BLOCK SEAL, TO BE WEAK AND HAVE PRESENT OVERHEATING CONCERNS." It took 25 days for this job. However, we were misinformed, and ****** of Stockton only covered the labor but not the rental. On Jan. 7th, 2013, the car was dropped off at ****** for diagnose for check-engine-light-on and misfire. Around Jan. 14, 2013, I was informed that the engine needs to be replaced because of the two overheat incidents in the past have damaged the engine. In the past year, we have been misinformed, mistreated and declined for numerous formal and informal requests on: a) request to cover the expenses and reimburse our spent in replacing the radiator and rental due to ******'s fault. b) official detail diagnoses, and detail reasons in writing on why the whole engine needs to be replaced. Because of all the problems happened on the car, I suffered lots of stress and agony. I missed lots of work due to no car to work. I was forced to pay the rental, paid friends for rides and borrowed cars from friends. As of today, the car has been in ****** of Stockton for over 68 days. No written detail diagnoses or detail reasons in writing on why the whole engine needs to be replaced has been received. I really appreciate if BBB can expedite this case. Thank you! ****** ****** March 16, 2013

Desired Settlement: Request ****** of Stockton to reimburse all my past expense related to ******'s fault, and cover the expense in replacing the old engine and installing a new engine.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, GM Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *****@mataga.com Our dealership has never installed an engine into this customer's vehicle. Her vehicle has 105,323 miles on it. In reference to the customer's statement that she brought the vehicle in on June 4th for overheating (at 99,205 miles), we pressure tested her system and found coolant leaking at the radiator, we replaced the radiator and performed a pressurization test to confirm the correction. The customer came back at 101,565 miles for an oil change and there were no issues of overheating at that time. Currently (since the end of January) we have been waiting for the customer to either give us the approval to perform additional work on her vehicle or to pick up her vehicle. We have gone above and beyond to try to help this customer and after much work we had gotten an approval to cover 70% of an engine replacement with a 3 year/ 100,000 mile warranty. This customer did not want to pay the 30% of the balance for an engine replacement. Instead, she called GM to express her dissatisfaction with having to pay anything and as an end result that approval was revoked. She did not want to pay for any diagnosis of the vehicle nor be responsible to find out what could additionally be wrong with her vehicle if we could not get it covered for her. We paid our technician's time to do many tests to give her all the information she would need to make a decision based on an engine in a complete assembled state in the condition we received it in.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) On February 15, 2013, I have filed a complaint to Bureau of Auto Repair (BAR). ****** completely denies and fails to compile with Bureau of Auto Repair (BAR) findings and recommendations. Per BAR's investigation, 1. ****** has violated several Business and Professions Codes and California Code of Regulations. 2. BAR has identified a consistent and repeated pattern in that ****** was and is inadequate and incapable in performing any technical diagnoses, maintenance and repairs on our 2007 Cadillac SRX in the past two and half years. In addition to the requests of reimbursement the customer made in the original BBB complaint, BAR recommended ****** to give the customer a reimbursement of $954.32 from Invoice No. PNCSXXXXX dated on August 9, 2011. Per BAR's investigation on above invoice: (a) The transmission fluid change was against GM factory repair procedure. (b) The coolant should be charged under warranty with the water pump replacement. $550.00(labor)+$442.09(Parts)+$6.86(misc. charges)-$80.00(misc. discount)+$35.37(tax)=$954.32 BAR's findings in this investigation: 1. ****** has claimed to have manipulated the diagnosis provided to the customer and manipulated what the technical did on the car in November 2013. (Invoice number PNCSXXXXX dated on December 7, 2012.) 2. ****** was not able to diagnose the real problem, and did not perform a full diagnosis. The compression test ****** performed in January 2013 was not done correctly. ****** could not provide any information in why the engine needs to be replaced. ****** did not perform cylinder leakage test. 3. After BAR's request, ****** agreed to do the leakage test. ****** did it in mid-March, which was more than 2 months after my car was dropped off. ****** could not explain the test, could not tell where the leakage came from. 4. ****** has all resources available, but made no attempt to contact GM technical experts. When ****** did not perform properly on the examination and could not provide adequate diagnosis. ****** did not refer to the information ****** has available, and did not contact GM technique experts for assistant either. 5. Investigators from BAR stated that the tear down offer provided by ****** on March 13, 2013, will not be useful because of ******'s incapability in performing the engine diagnosis. The customer refused the tear down offer in March 18, 2013 because ****** has already torn down the engine in November 2012. 6. ****** has potential overselling practice. ****** Invoice # PNCSXXXXX, dated June 7, 2012, mileage at 99,199. (a) ****** recommended spark plugs replacement due to time and mileage. Spark plugs were replaced on August 6, 2011 at ******, at 89,369 miles. (b) ****** recommended rear brake pads replacement along with rear rotors without performing a complete full checkup first. The defined low rear-brake pads 4-5 mm at ****** is also not consistent with the definition of being low of 1 mm in GM policy. This again indicated ****** lacks technical knowledge to perform a technical repair.REDACT3134*****@mataga.com3134REDACT 7. BAR recommends ****** to pay for the full expense to get proper diagnosis at another repair facility. BAR recommends the customer to request ****** to pay for the full expenses to have the engine replaced if the diagnosis indicates the engine failure is caused by ****** incorrectly installed cylinder heads, timing chain, gaskets, seals, bolts and also resulted in the engine overheating in November 2012 (invoices No. PNCSXXXXX and Invoice No. PNCSXXXXX).

Business' Final Response
We had already been more than fair with this customer whose vehicle that has over 100,000 miles on it. We don't agree with what the customer has stated in regards to the BAR notes. The customer came to pick up her vehicle on April 12th and called 911 to tell them she was having a heart attack (which she was not), and then the other person who was with her called 911 and stated that there was "murdering and rioting going on" (which there was not) basically because she wanted us to modify the date of paperwork already invoiced and faxed to BAR. (Luckily emergency response realized that both of these calls were false and didn't waste their valuable time coming out to our dealership for nothing.) Additionally, the customer against our recommendation and the BAR's recommendation, drove the vehicle off our premises instead of towing it. Please close this BBB case. Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

2/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Car involved in accident; not disclosed to us; wrong yr. door on car!; have had many mechanical/body issues. 2006 Cadillac DTS purchased from ****** of Stockton in April 2009. Was not told car had been in accident. Only told car was bought from an aution and had been a previous rental vehicle.Have had three major mechanical issues with car; also learned (when car went to body shop for repairs due to car being scratched at airport) that car had been in major accident. Shop told us they found numerous areas where car had been repaired in a shoddy manner. The more they checked out the car the more issues they found. Today we were told the car's door was NOT the year of the car! Another year door had been on the car all along - never disclosed to us. If door had fallen off during a freeway trip, my spouse could have been killed. Extra rental car costs have been incurred due to length of time it has taken to repair vehicle... car's value has been much decreased. ********* ******, the CEO, only offered $3500 in "points" to use at THEIR dealership towards repairs or a new or used vehicle. I am too concerned to ever shop there again. Who knows what additional mechanical problems we may have in the future due to the lack of disclosure of accident(s)? I will NOT deal with them ever again... I just want her to give us a check and we can be on our way. This would help us in the event of future repairs on the car. I do not want them touching this car ever again!! I will tell everyone I know to not shop there. We have purchased 6 vehicles from them in the past.

Desired Settlement: $4,000 or $10,000 to pay off car loan. We are out of pocket over $500+ for rental car costs due to delayed repair of vehicle. Took more time to repair due to body shop finding additional undisclosed problems with this vehicle.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, GM Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *****@mataga.com Customer purchased 2006 vehicle in 2009 and at the time of purchase we ran the 'Auto Check' (like a carfax) there was no record of any accident. We can't disclose an item we don't know about. The customer called in 2013 and informed us that her body shop had dicsovered damage when they were working on the car. We ran the 'Carfax' that day to see the record. The 'carfax' showed an accident that wasn't reported in 'Carfax' until 2011. We faxed both of these documents to the customer's body shop as a courtesy. The customer said that she wanted to maintain a relationship with our dealership and wanted $3500 to keep our relationship. Since we have no obligation to disclose an item that we were not aware of, we offered good will to maintain her relationship with us in 3500 of preferred owner points which can be spent like cash anywhere in our dealership. The customer refused and said she had no intention to use our dealership in the future, and only wanted the money.

Consumer's Final Response
I have sought legal counsel and i appears there is not much recourse due to the Carfax report issued AFTER our purchase of the vehicle. However, since we had purchased over 6 vehicles form ******, I felt they would have shown some consideration to us to maintain the relationship. Obviously, they do not care. We will not purchase any more vehicles form them, nor we will EVER refer anyone to them again. Thank you for your help. Sincerely, ***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

2/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On oct.XX XXXX . I purchased a used vehicle a 2008 Toyota highlander with 100,000 miles on it for my daughter.on 1/9/2013 check engine light came on vehicle engine was running rough .(note I am a Toyota technician and have been one for 20 years)on 1/10/2013 took vehicle to shop to diagnose problem.code p0301 cylinder #1 misfire I removed #1 coil &sparkplug I found coolant on spark plug I then took pictures of #1cylinder with automotive boroscope and discovered coolant had been entering #1cylinder upon tear down of engine assy I found a breakdown of cylinder head gasket for bank 1 cylinder #1to coolant passage .i then contacted sales person at Malaga and sent pictures of problem to Phil via fax .phil stated he would talk to owner about my vehicle issue . I got call from carol sales manager that evening and she stated 30 day warranty had expired and there was no extended warranty purchased at time of sale.which I understand but I asked if they could help with repair cost she stated they would not be able assist me vehicle was bought as is.i paid XXXXX +tax license .on 1/16/2013 i called Malaga Buick again left message for mr ****** on 1/17/13 I received call from mr ****** I asked if he could help with repair as a good will he also stated he would not help with cost.repair would have been 3563.00 if had been a regular ****** but since I am a Toyota tech and employed by Toyota dealership it is going to cost $1150.00 labor and 763.00 for parts a total 1913.00 I am asking mr ****** to contribute half or at least a third of cost of repair as show of good will .thank you Product_Or_Service: Used 2008 Toyota highlander

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Assist in repair cost payable to handford Toyota

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
I researched the complaint by Mr. ****** ****** prior to my returning his call on 1/17/13. Durring the purchase process Mr. ****** requested that he be able to inspect the Toyota on a lift and we put the vehicle on a lift for him to inspect. Durring the sales process he was offered an optional extended service contract more than once, and he declined each time. The vehicle did not display the check engine light problem at the time of sale, we did our customary inspections and repairs prior to sale and sold the vehicle in good fairh. Mr. ****** being a Toyota technician is aware of the potential probems of a vehicle with 100,000 miles. If he feels that the head gasket problem was premature for this type of vehicle, he should take his concerns to Toyota.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service