Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Ken Harvey's Tracy Honda?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ken Harvey's Tracy Honda

Phone: (209) 832-1400 Fax: (209) 830-2023 View Additional Phone Numbers 3450 Auto Plaza Way, Tracy, CA 95304 http://www.tracyhonda.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ken Harvey's Tracy Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ken Harvey's Tracy Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ken Harvey's Tracy Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1997 Business started: 09/26/1988 Business started locally: 09/26/1988 Business incorporated: 05/24/1994 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV Occupational Licensing
2415 First Ave., Mail Station F101 , Sacramento CA 95818-2606
http://www.dmv.ca.gov/olinq2/welcome.do
Phone Number: (800) 777-0133
The number is 26792.

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 181244.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brett Allen, General Manager Ken Harvey, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brett Allen, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Tracy Honda
Products & Services

This company offers the sale of new and used cars vehicles.

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • 3450 Auto Plaza Way

    Tracy, CA 95304 (877) 369-7470

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Placed my vehicle for service on January 12 and rented a vehicle from Tracy Enterprise Car Rental. Tracy Honda repaired my vehicle the same day and said I could pick it up.Tracy Honda told me they have a daily working relationship with Enterprise Car rental and I could drop the vehicle there at Tracy Hnnda and would call Enterprise on my behalf to let them know it was returned. I then dropped the vehicle there and gave the cashier the keys to the rental vehicle.Then 9 days later Enterprise Car Rental called me asking how much longer I needed the vehicle. I told them I used it only 1 day and Honda said they called Enterprise.Enterprise said they never received a call. I talked with the Bruce the service manager at Tracy Honda and he said they would cover only 3 days of the car rental because they believe Enterprise should cover the remaining 5 days.As the customer for both, I believe it is unfair that I should pay for their mistakes. So far, neither company is stepping forward to solve this issue. Enterprise has charged me for 9 days on my credit card and is unwilling to reimburse.I believe Tracy Honda then should pay for the 8 days and reimburse me for having to pay for their negligence in calling them.

Desired Settlement: I believe Tracy Honda should reimburse me for 8 days of car rental - $330.00Thank you,Brandtley Greenlaw

Business Response:

*********, Ispoke to **** the manager at ********** and asked him if he would be willing to reduce the bill based on the relationship we have with them.  He claims he spoke to you personally and that he made it clear it was your responsibility to call ********** when you returned the vehicle to Tracy Honda and because of this he was not willing to make an adjustment to the bill.  Due to the fact that the rental agreement was between you and ********** I am unclear why you feel Tracy Honda should be responsible for your outstanding bill.  After reading your complaint I can only conclude that the person that offered to assist with the rental car return was never notified by you that you had returned it to Tracy Honda and that you were expecting us to call **********.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
***** thanks for your response.  The service advisor *** told me that Tracy Honda works with Enterprise all the time and Tracy Honda would call for me - no problem.  In addition, when I returned the vehicle the girl at the cashier window took the key of the vehicle and said they will contact Enterprise.  Therefore, I believed and relied on Tracy Honda in good faith that they would deliver on their word.  With two people assuring me they will contact Enterprise I believed they would and I appreciated it.  Tracy Honda then became my agent to call Enterprise on my behalf.  Notice to Agent is notice to Principle.  Therefore, Tracy Honda took upon themselves the obligation of contacting Enterprise and is responsible for incurring the additional fees if they fail to perform just the same as if it I had failed to return the vehicle.  This agent relationship is valid and occurs in business on a daily basis and is legally binding.  In addition, Tracy Honda had use of the vehicle for those 8 days, not me.  Whether they used it or not is irrelevant.  They had the keys and the vehicle on their premise.

As a customer, I am very surprised and disappointed this fundamental situation was not resolved immediately but is continuing this far.  I am following through on this issue for more than monitary reasons because it is my concern that other customers in the future will also be impacted by good intentions that are not followed up with good policy and process.

As the president of my corporation, I have an obligation to my customers in the same manner, and when I have failed to perform on a promise, I made it good by going out of my way to deliver.  That has cost me money at times to do that.  However, as a result, one customer still relies on my services today after 17 years because they can rely on my word.

We also have an obligation under God to do what is right and fair to our fellow human beings.  He is a not only a God of love but of justice - of doing what is fair and right.  This is one of those situations.  

So I encourage you to do what is right and fair to your customer even though it will cost you or the business for the mistake made.  It will benefit you and the business for future customers in that the process and policy will be shored up to ensure the mistake doesn't happen again and cost someone else the time and money to deal with it for weeks and weeks.  It goes without saying that this kind of treatment does not foster customer goodwill.  However, how you handle a mistake does - and that is what is important to your customer.  Thank you, *********



12/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/10/2014 I was looking on the Internet for auto to purchase I found a 2013 Nissan Altima for $11838 so I went and contact the dealer for more information. I received a vechicle certificate TrucarFrom Tracy Honda I was contacted by a Internet Sales Manager ***** ****** I said that I was interested in the 2013 Nissan that I would like to purchase so he asked me to provide my personal information so they could run my credit report after negotiating on the payment for 2 days I said that I would be there on Saturday December 13 I got there went on a test drive, and we sat down to do purchase the car they changed the amount of the vehicle that they were sorry but they could not sale me the car for that price we agreed that it was a mistake. I complain that after 3 days off negotiations and they pulled my credit report for all three credit bureau you're telling me that you can and give me some other vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I would like Hondon of Tracy honored price we agreed on.

Business Response: Unfortunately there was a clerical error made on December 9th when the price was changed from $15,,987 to $11,383.  We realized this error on December 11th and changed the price to $14,987.  We apologize for any hardship this might have caused Mr. ***** and would be happy to compensate him in some way for his time and gas.  Alternatively we will sell the car for the amount of $13,567 which represents our investment in this vehicle.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

Consumer Response:

I refuse to accept their offer as they have acknowledged their error for the price of the car. In my conversations with Mr. ******, he never mentioned the change of price and proceeded to check my credit through three credit report agencies which has impacted my credit FICO. However, if they will sell the car for $13,567 including taxes and licensing, then I would be willing to accept their offer. If you would like more information regarding my case, I have the text messages between Mr. ****** & I available.

Thank you,

****** *****

Business Response: Due to the fact that the pricing error was unintentional and was corrected prior to Mr *****'s visit to the dealership we hereby decline his offer.  We do recognize that a mistake was made and made a previous offer to compensate Mr ***** for his time invested and the cost of his gas used visiting our dealership.   

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:Here is a copy of all the text messages that I had with Mr ******, and he never mention about the error in the price of the car, have he in forme I would have never continue with the deal, never went over for a test drive, or have giving him my s.s.# or my personal in formation

Thursday 12/11/14This is ***** ****** from Tracy Honda-Internet Sales Manager. I received your request to "Schedule a Test Drive " for the Nissan Altima. Would you like to come in today or would this weekend work better 8:26 a.m.

Get Pre-Approved
http://www.tracyhonda.com/apply-for-financing/10:56 a.m.

Sounds good! Text me when you get on the road ... I can "hold" the vehicle until you arrive so that it does not sell until you have your opportunity to drive and make an offer on it.11:02 a.m.

Hi ***** did you received my application that i filled out4:19 p.m.

Yes ... ultimately with her score being where it is (high 400) she will need a co-signer. Also, the bank will require money down4:31 p.m.

I did filled my information as co-signer4:33 p.m.

I have it, but she needs $$ down4:39 p.m.

How much down payment does she need4:41 p.m.

20% ... $30004:42 p.m.

No, How about if I just do the loan by myself4:45 p.m.

That's a much better situation ... I'll run the numbers with just you.4:47 p.m.

Ok5:03 p.m.

$286 a month with zero down for 72 months ...6:29 p.m.

At what interest are you giving me on this vehicle7:12 p.m.

Bank approved for 8.34% ... your *** score7:18 p.m.

I will go to my credit union tomorrow because I know for a fact that my credit score on the other reports is at *** and I have the proof to show. I have done my homework, the price of the car is $11383+ tax and license fee should come out about $2030.00 I should be financing a loan of total $13410.00 at 3.99% interes for 60 months payment should be $230.00 if i did my calculation right.7:50 p.m.

Typo ... *** is your Auto FICO8:06 p.m.

I will talk to my credit union tomorrow a have good rates even with a *** score. My daughter was looking to pay no more than $220.00 and based on my numbers I gave you I am right.8:24 p.m.

Friday 12/12/14Good afternoon, ***** I just submitted my application to the credit union and I should have a response by the end of the day. Also my daughter is asking if you can give us her score.1:29 p.m.
6681:33 p.m.

Not my score my daughters1:41 p.m.

I can't disclose that to you ... sorry.1:42 p.m.

Ok1:42 p.m.

I understand your her father ... but for security reasons .. I can't. I hope you understand1:42 p.m.

It's okay I understand1:43 p.m.

Saturday 12/13/14 Good morning, ***** I am going to come over to take a look at the car and test drive it. The lady from credit union didn't call me, but I still interested in the vehicle.10:29 a.m.

Great! What time do you plan to arrive?10:30 a.m.

In one hour10:30 a.m.






11/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: purchased 2010 Honda accord in july of 2013. was told it had never been in accident. I asked for car fax to show that it had not been in accident. two days later I rec'd call from salesman who sold me the car, he said he would provide carfax in the mail. it never came I asked repeatedly for the car fax and was told it was being mailed. after many repairs, a person at tracy Honda handed me the car fax and the car has been in an accident prior to purchase, clearly breaking the agreement at time of signing contract for this car.

Desired Settlement: refund the purchase price or settle on a replacement vehicle that is truly worth the 18000 cost of the car

Business Response:

We have attempted to resolve this issue with the customer and were instructed via voicemail to provide our response in writing.  We informed the customer that the Carfax report does show "minor damage reported" and goes on to say "Minor damage is usually cosmetic including dents or scratches to the vehicle body"  There was no attempt to withhold information at the time of sale.  All of our used vehicles are listed online and on our website and Carfax reports are readily available through our online listings.  We would be happy to work with Patricia to attempt to resolve her concerns. We recommend having a third party inspect the vehicle to ascertain the integrity of the vehicle and to determine whether there is in fact cause for concern.

8/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During negotiations for the purchase of a vehicle, certain things were agreed upon in writing and were not delivered. I purchased a 2010 Honda odyssey from Tracy Honda, with 21 thousand miles and factory warranty with the intent of a hassle free experience. I traded in a vehicle knowing full well I would get much less from a dealer rather than selling it myself. This was done to expedite the car purchase and ensure professionalism throughout the experience. I did not haggle the listed selling price of the car, and simply asked that a tow hitch and brake controller be installed so I could tow my camping trailer. This was agreed upon in writing but was vague in the details. All I cared about was the odyssey be able to safely tow my camper without voiding my factory warranty. Apparently there was a lack of understanding on the dealerships part and the agreement could not be fulfilled. So in short I paid their asking price, and accepted their offer for my trade, and did not get what I was promised. This practice of business in my opinion is of very low moral stature, not to mention fraudulent. I am very unhappy with Tracy Honda as a business.

Desired Settlement: I would like Tracy Honda to pay the cost of having these towing implements installed on my Honda as agreed upon.

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response
Consumer states that the company installed the aftermarket accessories that they had both agreed upon. They did take longer than they had promised but they came through in the end.

12/7/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a used car with high interest rate,manager pressured us to buying extended warranty so lender can lower the interest rate. Bought a 2009 Honda Civic from Tracy Honda(TH) in Sept 26, 2012 for my daughter, ******. I co-signed with her and we have have very good credit(710 and 690, respectively). Before signing, I specifically said we don't need any warranty or gap covergae. TH claimed Honda Finance gave my daughter 12.95% interest rate and offered us extended warranty claiming the bank will lower the rate knowing that the used car will have the said warranty. I said we didn't need it but finance manager, Todd Suender,said he negotiated for the lower rate of 8.24% so we have to buy the warranty or take the 12.95% rate. To begin with, the warranty is for a brand new car not a used one and he fooled us into believing the car is covered for 7 years but failed to say it starts from the first date of sale which was 3 years ago, before we even bought it. So we're actually getting just 4 years out of the 7 for the price of $2195.00. We went back to the store the next day to cancel after reading the fine print. Another finance manager,**** ******, tried persuading us not to cancel and remarked: Honda is not God-made and good lcuk to your daughter driving from Tracy to Pleasanton! Very unprofessional. He then called another finance manaer, **** ****, who gave us a photocopied cancellation form for the warranty and asked us to sign and leave. Adding that we should just wait for our notice in the mail. I said no, fill it out,sign it and give us a copy. **** ****** filled it out with the store info but did not sign. Hopping to get an original copy the next day, we went back only to be told by **** ****: You just have to trust people. We are a reputable dealer and $2000 will not break our bank--along those lines. I felt aggravated. I asked him politely to fill out the form with the refund amount of $2195 and sign it. He did and I asked for the original copy, he said wait for it in the mail, that they have sent it the day before.

Desired Settlement: I want the total amount of the warranty's cost built in to our loan to American Honda Finance, be refunded: $2195.00

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** General Mgr Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *****@tracyhonda.com The extended warranty has been cancelled and the contract was rewritten minus the extended warranty on October 24,2012. Please let me know if I can be of further assistance. ****** ******

10/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: INSULTING CUSTOMER AT THE DEALERSHIP I CAME TO THE TRACY HONDA DEALER SHIP TO BUY A HONDA ODESSY TOURING, I WANTED TO TRADE IN MY OLD HONDA ACCORD HYBRID. THE FLOOR MANAGER WANTED MY KEYS TO THE CAR AND THE CAR REGISTRATION, SO I GAVE HIM WHAT HE REQUESTED FOR TRADE IN VALUE. THE PRICING DID NOT WORK OUT FOR ME, SO ASK FOR MY KEYS TO MY OLD HONDA ACCORD HYBRID. THE FLOOR MANAGER GAVE ME MY CAR KEYS, BUT FAILED TO GIVE ME MY CAR REGISTRATION BACK TO ME. I ASK HIM FOR MY REGISTRATION, AT THAT TIME HE CLAIMED THAT I NEVER GAVE IT TO HIM AND HE RAN OFF TO ANOTHER CUSTOMER, DID NOT SPEND ANYTIME WITH MY PROBLEM, SO I WENT INTO THEIR MANAGERS OFFICE ASK THE SALES PERSON THAT ALSO WAS WORKING WITH THE FLOOR MANGER FOR MY REGISTRATION HE SAID HE DID NOT HAVE MY REGISTRATION. AT THIS TIME I AM GETTING UPSET THAT THEY LOST MY REGISTRATION. I TOLD THEM I GAVE IT TO YOUR FLOOR MANAGER AND THEY SAID SORRY WE DON'T HAVE IT. THEN IN THE BACK GROUND THE HEAD MANAGER (WHOM WAS INDIAN FROM INDIA) IN HIS HAND HE HAD MY REGISTRATION. THE HEAD MANAGER ALL THIS TIME IS NOT SAYING THAT HE HAS MY CAR REGISTRATION, HE IS WAVING MY CAR REGISTRATION IN THE AIR, WITH OUT A WORD OUT OF HIS MOUHT. SO I SEE IT IN HIS HAND AND I SAID GIVE IT TO ME! DO TO I WAS VERY UPSET, FOR HOW I WAS BEING TREATED AT THE DEALERSHIP BY FLOOR MANAGER WHOM JUST LEFT ME DANGLING AND HE RANNING OFF TO ANOTHER CUSTOMER. THER INDIAN MANAGER WAS TAUNTING WITH MY REGISTRATION, HE WANTED ME TO APOLOGIZE. IF I DID NOT SAY SORRY HE WAS NOT GOING TO GIVE MY REGISTRATION BACK. I HAD MY WIFE GO TO GET IT FOR ME. THIS WAS THE WOREST CUSTOMER SERIVE THAT I EVERY GOT IN MY LIFE. THEY TREATED THIS HORRIBLE WAY DO TO I DID DECIDED TO BUY A CAR FROM THEM. I HAVE BOUGHT 3 HONDA IN THE PAST, BUT I WILL NEVER IN MY LIFE SET FOOT IN THIS DEALERSHIP. I SHOULD HAVE CALL THE POLICE AND REPORTED THAT TRACY HONDA HAS UNLAWFUL SIEZED OF MY PROPERTY. TRUST HONDA OF AMERICA WILL ALSO HEAR FROM ME TOO

Desired Settlement: I WANT A FORMAL LETTER OF APOLOGY FROM THE HEAD MANAGER AND THE FLOOR MANGER. THIS HAPPENED ON AUGUST 25, 2012 at 2:30pm.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** G.M. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@tracyhonda.com After discussing this situation with the individuals that were present, it appears to have been an unfortunate situation that could have and should have been avoided. After agreeing on the price of the new vehicle, we were unable to give Mr. ****** the trade-in amount he requested and he became very upset. There were two different salespeople working with Mr. ****** and one the salesperson who had received the registration from Mr. ****** was now helping another customer. The second salesperson had no knowledge of the registration. We should have immediately returned his keys and registration to him but due to confusion regarding the location of the registration, Mr. ******'s dissatisfaction escalated to a point where he was being abusive towards the salesperson and salesmanager on duty. I hereby wish to extend an apology to Mr. ****** for not promptly returning his registration to him and this whole unfortunate event could have been avoided. ****** ****** General Manager