Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that John L Sullivan Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for John L Sullivan Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on John L Sullivan Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 17, 2007 Business started: 05/02/2006 Business started locally: 05/02/2006 Business incorporated 05/02/2006 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
The number is 247340.

DMV Occupational Licensing
2415 First Ave., Mail Station F101 , Sacramento CA 95818-2606
Phone Number: (800) 777-0133
The number is 67253.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. John Wood, General Manager Mr. Oscar Aguilar, Parts Manager Mr. David Rodgers, General Manager Mr. Steven Ruckels, CEO Mr. John L Sullivan, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Wood, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
John L. Sullivan Dodge Chrysler, Inc. Yuba City Dodge
Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • 950 Harter Parkway

    Yuba City, CA 95993 (866) 938-3105 (866) 938-3923 (888) 452-7973 (530) 742-6406

  • P.O. Box AG

    Yuba City, CA 95992


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/12/15 we test drove a used 2009 Mercedes. After test driving, I told the sales person that there was a slight vibration in the front end, and that the, command center hatch would not open. The command center contains almost all controls for the car (radio, navigation system, even the clock has to be set through it.). I also noted that the left tail light was extremely bright and the right side was very dim. He said that if we purchase the car, they would issue a due bill and get those items taken care of. After spending all day at the dealership we purchased the vehicle and received a due bill which stated we would get a call within 7 to 10 business days. The due bill stated that the dealership has the option of cancelling the deal if the repair is too costly. On the 10th business day I called the service center and left a message. No return call. Over the next 3 weeks both my wife and I left many messages with the service center and never received a call back. My wife finally got someone on the phone and scheduled an appointment for Sat, October 10th. We took the vehicle in at 8:30 am and received a call at approx 3 pm stating that nothing was done on the vehicle as they could not decide on who would pay for the repairs. So essentially we took the vehicle in for nothing. It was also stated that the service manager had an idea on what to do with the vehicle but he was not there and had not relayed that info to anyone. They still have no idea of who if anyone will pay for the repairs. We paid an additional fee for Cilajet to be applied to the vehicle and are afraid that we will lose that as well if they decide to not honor the due bill. The vehicle supposedly passed a 172 inspection (done by the service center) which I believe not to be true due to the issues (command center, there is a faulty camshaft position sensor which I noticed when I got the vehicle home and hooked it up to a scanner and the issue with the tail lights.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have all the issues repaired.

Business Response: Tell us why here...My name is ***** ******, I am the service manager at John L Sullivan Dodge. I first want to apologize for the poor service we have provided you. I was aware that you were bringing the vehicle in to have a shake in the front end looked at, and the door for the command center. I have spoken with your service advisor, and I explained to him that our first priority should have been to get the vehicle diagnosed, not the paperwork. I understand that Saturdays are the only day you can bring the vehicle in to be looked at. When you do bring the vehicle back, I assure you we will get it looked as soon as possible and keep you up to speed with the repair actions. Again, I apologize for the poor service, I assure we will be doing a better job in the future.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:Not yet resolved.

thanks ***** I'll be waiting for the service advisors call to set up another appointment.

9/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: -2015 **** Cherokee Trail hawk-Vehicle sunshade brackets broke -Called/Scheduled for service to determine what actions were needed to resolve the issue. -13-Aug-2015 (1st Service Visit)-Service department determined parts needed to be ordered, were covered under warranty and the parts needed were on back order. -Would be notified once parts came in.-Vehicle was returned with grease marks on the headliner -11-Sept-2015 (2nd Service Visit) -Service department disassembled sun shade and headliner to to reveal that they had ordered the incorrect parts.-Parts needed were available and would be shipped in from the North-West-Service department stated that the job will now take two days to complete once restarted.-Vehicle was returned with a dirty headliner and a malfunction sun/moon roof. -23-Sept-2015 (3rd Service Visit)-Service department was notified of grease left on headliner and the malfunctioning sun/moon roof and stated they would correct the issue. -Returned to service department the next day after they stated the vehicle was repaired, headliner cleaned and sun/moon roof issue fixed.-Vehicle sunshade was incorrectly installed and when service department was made aware they attempted to fix on the spot and broke the bracket and now have to reorder the same parts.-Upon further inspection my vehicles sun/moon roof makes a popping noise when opened and my headliner is no longer flush with the vehicles trim however the headliner is clean.-My vehicle has gotten worse from the original issue it went in for. The sun shade is still broken, the sun/moon roof now pops when opened and my trim/headliner is no longer flush. I have missed work on several occasions because this is not a "Saturday Job" and have wasted fuel on unnecessary trips. I will now have to go in again once the part has arrived, miss work again and waste more fuel. A rental was provided by the dealer on the third trip at no extra cost for the inconvenience and also wasting co workers time/fuel.

Desired Settlement: This matter has wasted mine and my co-workers time/fuel on several occasions and the level of quality service is sub par. I request that a different (more knowledgeable) technician work on my vehicle and I am compensated for my wasted time/fuel and deterioration of my $39K brand new vehicle that was purchased from your dealership.

Business Response: Tell us why here...Mr. ****** is correct, we here in the John L Sullivan Dodge service department did not meet his expectations. I, ***** ****** Service manager of the department have spoken with Mr. ****** regarding the numerous service visits to correct what should be a fairly simple repair. The technician did in fact soil the headliner of the vehicle during the first service visit. On the first service visit we were able to diagnose the concern and get his parts ordered. The parts showed up and we scheduled Mr. ****** to come in to have the vehicle repaired. The actual repair of the vehicle was quite extensive, requiring several pieces of the interior to be removed to gain access to the part being replaced. The technician did make the repair to the vehicle,  and reassembled the interior of the vehicle. During the repair the technician did in fact install the sun shade incorrectly. In an attempt to install the sun shade correctly (it just needed to be turned over) the component that holds the sun shade in place broke (as this was the original concern I feel that there is a design flaw). When the vehicle does return I will be overseeing the repairs on it and will be performing a quality inspection prior to delivery back to Mr. ******.  I will be contacting Mr. ****** today and I will be offering him compensation for his time in the form of an extended maintenance contract, and a full tank of fuel.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by John L. Sullivan in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution exceeds my expectations.  The service manager (*****) and I have also agreed a full detail of the vehicles interior and exterior upon completion of the maintenance.  I would like to thank ***** of John L. Sullivan for his understanding and full cooperation in resolving this manner and look forward to continuing my business relationship for years to come.

6/24/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to John L. Sullivan Dodge Jeep Chrysler in Yuba City, CA in February to see if I could be financed for a used vehicle. I told the salesmen that I was a single mother of 3 on a very limited income of $10/hr and not receiving child support or cash aide/county assistance. I stressed multiple times the importance of me having a reliable dependable vehicle to get to work 5-6 days a week and the importance of my job the only thing I have going for me at this time to support my children. Not even 2 months after the purchase I had to major mechanical problems. The car was overheating and leaking fluids. I took to dealer to find out that it needed both the water pump and radiator replaced and that the warranty only covered water pump. How is it possible this was missed in a 24 point inspection? The dealership refused to assist me in a guarantee for their vehicle or the warranty and would not repair or replace the vehicle well knowing that they had misinformed me of the vehicles problems. I was completely taken advantage of and sold a lemon. Multiple times I went to complain and demand the dealership make it right that they had falsely sold me a unreliable vehicle and never once was I helped. On further inspection of the vehicle I found that liquid glass had been entered into the radiator to quickly patch it, chemicals had been added to the coolant system, the timing belt had been altered and needed replacement, and the front end showed serious damage as a result of a previous accident that had not been reported to me upon purchase. The repairs for radiator alone were $540 as well as $120 to John l. Sullivan's service dept. and $1000 to the timing belt. I've been wronged and misled and am stuck with a 5,800 loan and shop bills on a car I can't drive. I am so disappointed by the dishonesty and lack of integrity that this business has making money by ripping off a single mother and knowingly selling a unreliable vehicle. I am so disappointed and angry that a business would operate this way.

Desired Settlement: I feel that because of the dishonesty in the sale of this vehicle that either an exchange for another vehicle at equal price as I paid for this vehicle or that John L. Sullivan accept responsibility for their fault and replace and repair all parts on their behalf at no cost to me. The vehicle should have never passed a 24 point inspection with that many problems. I should have been notified of all accidents and made aware of the vehicles issues needing replacement.

Business Response: First off I would like to say to Ms. ************* that each and every one of our used vehicles are thoroughly inspected and re-conditioned to the highest standards.  It is unfortunate that the water pump went out soon after her purchase, but that is something that can be fine one day and not good the next.  We give every used car customer a 3 month 3000 mile powertrain warranty, for just such unfortunate instances.  When the vehicle was brought in for the replacement, normal procedure removing the water pump exposes the timing belt.  It was offered to replace the belt at her expense as a preventative measure, not because there was a problem.  As far as the radiator, there may have been a pinhole leak which was also declined to replace, so the technician used a standard "stop leak" chemical to seal the pinhole.  If it would have been serious, a replacement would have been mandatory.  As far as the "serious damage" to the front end, the car fax report showed a minor accident, which was disclosed to Ms. ******, as she had signed a copy of the car fax, which we have retained in her file.  There was absolutely nothing done dishonest or with lack of integrity as Ms. ****** suggested.  With the water pump failing so early in her ownership, I will gladly reimburse her for the deductible which she paid for the water pump.  The radiator was sealed and not leaking, which did not need replacement, and there was nothing wrong with the timing belt, replacement was only suggested as the motor was to be opened up to replace the water pump and it makes perfect sense to replace the timing belt while in the motor.  Please feel free to contact me at the dealership if this is satisfactory, and I will have a reimbursement check cut for the deductible on the repair.

  Best Regards,  
  **** ****
  General Sales Manager
  John L Sullivan DCJR
  ************   ***********************

6/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new 2014 Dodge Ram Dually from John L. Sullivan Dodge last year. My vehicle has been in service for an issue with a high speed vibration. Its been in and out of the shop for just little over a year now and the problem has not been fixed. In the process of taking it in for service almost a dozen times now they have damaged at least four of the six wheels on the truck. Two of them were just replaced with new ones and the other two they promised to try to fix. I still have the vibration and after a year of this I feel that they either need to give me a new truck or refund the money I have paid on this one and let me go somewhere else to buy a vehicle. I use this truck primarily for pulling heavy loads and I have had to cancel several trips due to the vehicle problems. I will be seeking advice from a lawyer this week.

Desired Settlement: This vehicle has been in and out of John L. Sullivan Dodge service department for the last year. They are the only ones that have worked on this vehicle and to this date it is still not fixed. I request either a refund or a new vehicle that does not have issues with vibration. Or any other issues.

Business Response: Tell us why here... Mr. ***** has been in our service department several times for a vibration in the vehicle. The first visit 10/28/2014 at 4148 miles  we balanced the tires. On 12/18/2014 we replaced one tire that failed a road force balance test  from the first visit. On the next visit on 5/18/2015 we replaced a hub assembly and a hub extension to correct a vibration felt in the front of the vehicle, we also replaced the right front tire as it was exhibiting erratic wear as a result of the out of round hub/extension. During these service visits there was damage to his wheels, which I offered to repair to his satisfaction, or replace the wheels. We replaced two rear wheels and rebalanced the tires on the vehicle. The vehicle is repaired at this time. The vehicle has the same ride quality of other 2014 Ram 3500 dual rear wheel vehicles. We offered for him to drive another 3500 dually vehicle that we have in stock. Mr. ***** declined at this time.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  A new vehicle should not have a constant vibration at highway speeds.  I have brought the vehicle into service several times and the vibration is still there.  I have hired an attorney and seeking a buyback from dodge.

1/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my 2013 Dodge Journey from this dealership on April 15th, 2014. As part of the contract/agreement, they were to install "tube steps" to the vehicle. The salesman, *******, let me know that someone would call me to arrange an appointment to have it completed. I waited several weeks and heard nothing. I called and spoke with ******* on June 18th to inquire on the tube steps and lojack activation. He informed me that the service dept was behind and told me it may take a few more weeks to have the tube steps installed. I said that was fine as long as they didn't forget about me. He apologized and told me he would have the service dept call me to, at the very least, have my lojack activated. I recieved a call from ******* on June 24th and was able to set up an appt for July 3rd at 8:30am. I was told the service would take approximately an hour so I brought my ended up taking approx. 3 hours and the service was horrible and not friendly. ******* was friendly but her co workers were not and when she needed help, no one wanted to help her. A couple days after I had the lojack activated, ******* called to confirm that my lojack had been activated and my tube steps installed (left a voicemail). I called back and left him a VM explaining that, yes, the lojack had been activated but the steps had NOT been installed. I did not hear back.I waited a few more weeks and decided to call Jeremy, one of the sales managers. I explained everything and he seemed genuinely concerned. I could tell he was taking notes. He said that he would look in to it right away and would call me right back. I never heard back from the dealership and it is now Dec 24th. I still do not have the tube steps on my vehicle. This is the second vehicle I have purchased from this dealership, and it will be my last. Prior to this I would refer everyone I know to this dealership; that will no longer be the case.

Desired Settlement: I would like the tube steps installed on my vehicle, as promised and per the due bill dated 4/15/2014.

Business Response: I was unaware of  the service issues Ms. *** was experiencing.  After hearing of our problem getting the running boards installed, I had my customer service department get involved, set an appointment and had the tube steps installed.  Ms. *** left completely happy.

12/17/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Recently, I purchased a vehicle from John L. Sullivan, since then I have had multiple issues with the Sales department. Prior to making the purchase, when looking at the vehicle I noticed cosmetic damage in the paint. I noted the issues to the sales rep. and mentioned, that the vehicle had too many scratches and I was going to take my business elsewhere. Upon stating that, the sales rep. says we will fix all the scratches, which of course sounded great to me. However, that statement was less than true. While signing the contract I was issued a due bill, which states, Repair scratches-colors on parade. To me the due bill meant that it was a promise to have ALL the scratches fixed, apparently I was wrong. Since my purchase, I have taken my vehicle in to the dealership twice to get the scratches repaired. The first time that I took my truck in, all that was done was a buff job and then I was asked, How does it look? I responded with, The scratches that bothered me are still visible. After that I was told, Bring it in another day and we will take care of it. So, believing them, I brought my vehicle back for the second time and received my truck back the next day, hoping that it was PROPERLY fixed. Once again this was not the case, all that was done was some poorly placed touch up paint. However, that did not fix the problem either, not only were the scratches still visible, they looked terrible! After the second time of being told, that the scratches were fixed, I spoke to the financial rep, that processed my contract. Upon receiving the news, he was very displeased and told me to Bring the car in the following week. When I arrived to the dealership that next week, I was told that sales refused to pay the amount that is would take for the proper repair. I am very unsatisfied with how this company does business and frankly dealing with them has been a huge hassle as well as a waste of personal time and fuel. I have been lied too and manipulated by the companys promise."

Desired Settlement: i would like, the initial "due bill" to be honored. which to my understanding, was that all the scratches that were visible, upon purchase to the vehicle would be PROPERLY fixed.

Consumer Response: Claim #********. Good morning. The financial rep (***) at John L Sullivan in Yuba City has resolved the situation. We are getting it taken care of. I appreciate the use of your website in helping me get the complaint complied with. Thank you!

1/7/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to honor warranty on tires. After call to Goodyear Corp. and the dealership sells their tires, which I assume makes them a tire dealer too. 08/02/13, had appointment to check light on dash ref. emission controls, and two recalls with and appointment. I had a tire go flat on the way and called CSAA to tow car into dealership. Car was handled with care to dealership. AT the dealership, the car was driven to a work stall and tire came off rim. Upon inspection by worker, I was told the sidewall was bad and tire had to be replaced. Also told tires had to be replaced in pairs for drive ability safety?? They would not honor warranty on tires. I called Goodyear Corp. and had a representative with Goodyear speak to service manager and he ******* or ******) I think was his name. He was rude to me and the Goodyear Rep., and refused any adjustment. My car was purchased me 03/23/11 and is under full warranty, only 9810 miles on car which is as new, garaged and driven little as it is a numbered car **** out of 1100 made, Inaugural Edition Challenger, Dodge. I was stuck in the dealership with a bad tire, no transportation other than to be towed again at my expense to Sacramento to another Goodyear dealership. A very stressed time for me. I have been treated very badly and with rudeness, by the service manager, General and Sales manager, Mr. ****. The recalls were not done and on two other appointments were not done Aug. 17, 21,. I have spoke with Dodge SRT8 division several times on this issue and on Sept. 24, Chrysler called and said they could do nothing!? I had asked that the dealership put the tires in trunk, so I could have them looked at. Not done and when I approached them, was told tires and been recycled. I hope never to go back to this dealership because of the bad dealings I have had and most certainly will never recommend them to anyone. I find it hard to believe that the owner of the business would allow such happenings.

Desired Settlement: I would appreciate a refund of the $517.43, I paid for the tires, minimum the adjusted price for replacement. Plus I feel as a customer I deserve an apology, I'm sure that won't happen.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
To whom it may concern: We are in receipt of the above case, and have carefully studied the statements made by the consumer. For clarity, we have broken them down as follows below: I had a tire go flat on the way and called CSAA to tow car into dealership. *This statement is correct, as the vehicle was in fact towed to our dealership and pulled by the towing vehicle onto our service driveway inside the building. At the dealership, the car was driven to a work stall and the tire came off rim.* Items omitted in this statement are that our servicing technician, noting the tire was flat on the vehicle, pumped air into the tire before moving it from the service lane approximately 75 feet to a lift, in order to avoid further damage. Once at the lifting area, air was again pumped into the tire to raise the body of the vehicle high enough to get the lift arms under the frame for lifting. The tire did not come off the rim. Upon inspection by worker, I was told the sidewall was bad and tire had to be replaced. *Actually, the sidewall wasn't bad, as in a manufacturing defect, but rather damaged from an impact, which also damaged the in-wheel air pressure sensor. Both the tire and the sensor would require replacement to return the vehicle to service. A word needs to be said here regarding the actual Goodyear Tire Warranty. It is copied and printed below: (Please refer to attachment) Unfortunately, the tire on the consumer's vehicle was damaged from an undetermined road hazard, and therefore was not eligible for adjustment or replacement under the terms of the tire warranty coverage, placing the decision for replacement on the consumer. Also told the tires had to be replaced in pairs for drive ability. *The service advisor and the service manager who were here during this event are no longer employed by Marysville Dodge, so we cannot validate what was said regarding the second tire recommendation. They would not honor warranty on tires.* As shown above in the Goodyear Warranty Statement, there was/is no Road Hazard coverage for the tire. ...He was rude to me and the Goodyear Rep, and refused any adjustment.* Unless there is more to this, no one but *** (then service manager) and the Goodyear Rep know the details of this conversation. And at this point, there is no way in recovering what was said. I had asked that the dealership put the tires in the trunk, so I could have them looked at. Not done and when I approached them, was told tires and been recycled.* If the consumer in fact asked for his tires to be returned to him, then we agree that they should have been. Notwithstanding, we feel confident that any Goodyear representative would have made the same determination in this case based on the warranty statement. There is no way we can confidently reconstruct any further detail in this case. In reviewing the customer's visit with our shop foreman, it is apparent that the customer was concerned during this visit that credits/warranties were not being correctly applied. In addition, **** ****, General Manager, spent considerable time with this customer discussing a new vehicle purchase, and recalls giving instruction to *** (former service manager) to take care of this customer in any way we could, and to apply any possible warranties or adjustments to assist. We cannot verify what was done to comply with this directive. If there was any discourtesy or rudeness on the part of any of our employees, then we offer a sincere apology to the consumer. It is contrary to the philosophy of the John L Sullivan Group dealerships to allow attitudes or actions such as what the consumer described to be tolerated under any circumstances. We realize the value of positive customer relationships in each and every customer transaction or meeting, and all employees are made aware of this. In summary, the responsibility for the expense for the damaged tire belongs to the consumer. That being said, however, there is a questionable area as to the need of purchasing a second tire, and also, in our opinion, insufficient communication with the consumer to clarify the "why" of all details of the transaction. As the Service Manager for this dealership, I can offer the consumer an adjustment refund on both tires for the unused portion of the tread. Estimating the remaining tread depth at approximately 60%, the amount of the offer will be for tires only, in the amount of $ 230.04 for the unused tire expectancy. If this agreement will allow the consumer to forgive us, and to accept the explanation given in this response as fair and honest, we will be most pleased to resolve this complaint. Simply have the consumer contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX, which is my cell phone#, and I will get a check sent to him and we can both put this behind us. Regards, **** ******** Service Manager John L Sullivan Dodge

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) NO! I called Goodyear Corporate in Ohio and spoke to the customer service person who had tried to settle this dispute on August 2, 2013 as she gave me her name and a complaint number to ref. this matter and she gave me different numbers they would use on the tires as they only had 8000 miles on them and the amount would have been $344.26 for both tires, and that is much lower than their offer of $230.04. It is quite convenient for the dealership to not have the employees available now. CSAA tried to pump up the tire when they came out for the call and it would not hold air and said I should tow it. I had left my home early to meet my buddy and buy him a coffee for picking me up for a ride home after drop off for my appointment for the recalls. After coffee we came out and saw the tire flat?? I am a car buff and been into hotrods, street rods and classic cars most of my life and not totally stupid as the dealership would like me to be. My buddy was there to see the CSAA truck move the car safely and leave it safely at the dealership door. It was driven on the flat into a stall within 30 feet across from the service dept., by them and we saw the tire come off the rim and I became upset at that time and my buddy saw it also and could not believe it. Just to clarify something, my car (2011 Dodge Challenger, "Inaugural Edition" 1100 produced and my car is ****** A numbered car which is only driven to car shows, never in bad weather, and kept covered in my shop. I also have a 1966 Pontiac GTO, I purchased new and keep it well maintained and drive it to car shows too. The way I was treated is bad enough and now to low ball this offer is too much. If they can not come up to the Goodyear amount of $344.26, I have no choice but to take them to court. It is the principal of this matter with a bad dealership. I have purchased a new RAM truck from a good dealer and referred my buddy to the same dealer and he has purchased a new truck. So, I am pleased that Sullivan Dodge lost about $100,000.00 in sales for the two trucks. I have also sent Mr. Sullivan a registered letter this week about this matter and no response as of today. My mission in life now is to let all my car friends know about Marysville's dealership. I am a retired US Air Force veteran and a disabled veteran and I intend to put the word out to Beale AFB in our area, Craig's List, Facebook, Twitter and anywhere else I find in rants & raves on the internet. That is how upset I am in this matter. Have never met Mr. ********, the new Service Manager. But I feel he or Mr. **** should be calling me about this matter, because I still have not received the coupon for a free service that was promised for their failure to keep their appointments made by them on three occasion's for the recalls on the car?? The service department has problems. Thank you for all your help in this matter. All I want is this settled and an apology would be nice. Sincerely, ******** ********

Final Business Response
We received your second letter dated Dec 4, and I called your office on several occasions asking you to please call me to discuss. To date, I have not been able to get in touch with you. I also sent you an e-mail on Monday, Dec 9, asking you for clarification on the deadline for response, and did not get a reply so far. I completely understand being busy and sometimes unavailable, so not a problem. However, since time is slipping by, I am giving our final response to this case after more research and investigation. Several factors come in to play: 1. Since the tire failure was indeed a failure caused by an on-road collision with an obstruction of some kind, as discussed previously and again highlighted below in the Goodyear Warranty Statement, the first tire (the damaged one) would not and could not be eligible for any adjustment under the terms of the warranty. Goodyear Highway Autoand Light Truck Tire Replacement Limited Warranty What is not covered by this warranty? This limited warranty does not cover: 1. Tires submitted for ride disturbance that are worn beyond the first 2/32 in. (.16 cm) tread depth or tires submitted for ride disturbance due to damaged wheels, or any vehicle condition. 2. Goodyear does not warrant or give credit in any adjustment transaction for any kind of material added to a tire (e.g., tire fillers, sealants, balancing substances) after the tire leaves a factory producing Goodyear tires, nor will it adjust any tire that has failed as a result of adding such material 3. Irregular wear or damage due to mechanical condition of the vehicle, improper inflation, overloading, high-speed spin-up, misapplication, misuse, negligence, racing, use of tire chains, improper mounting or demounting, improper repair, wreck, collision, or fire 4. Road hazards (includes, but not limited to, punctures, cuts, snags, impact breaks, etc.) 5. Any tire that, after leaving a factory producing Goodyear tires, has been intentionally altered to change its appearance (e.g., white inlay on a black tire, or re-grooved) 2. The collision also damaged the tire pressure sensor which is mounted inside the wheel. The customer was not charged for the replacement of this sensor. 3. I called multiple shops in an attempt to try and get the best estimate of what mileage wear-out of the tires on the customer's car would be, and got a figure of 20,000 to 29,000 miles, depending on driving habits, tire maintenance, etc. 4. We charged the customer $ 191.70 per tire for the replacements. Since there could only be one tire eligible, the maximum amount of money that could be considered for any adjustment would be calculated from this amount only. 5. Using the maximum as a guideline yields a factor of 33.83% of the tire used by the customer prior to failure, leaving 66.17% in question. ( 191.70 x 66.17%=126.85 ) This is in all actuality the amount that is due to the customer. 6. There is no way we can confidently reconstruct any further detail in this case. Again, if there was any discourtesy or rudeness on the part of any of our employees, then we offer a sincere apology to the consumer. After carefully looking into this matter a second time, I am still offering the consumer an adjustment refund on BOTH tires for the unused portion of the tread as a courtesy adjustment. Re-estimating the remaining tread depth at approximately 66.17%, the amount of the offer will be increased to $ 253.70 for the unused tire expectancy. Again, consider that only one tire is actually eligible. We feel this offer to be fair and reasonable. Regards, **** ******** Service Manager John L Sullivan Dodge Marysville, CA

9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complete LACK of customer service. Bought a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. One key missing and it is 2 weeks later-still no key Purchased new 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee on 8/3/13. After signing the paperwork, was told that they had lost the second key to the Jeep and they needed to order one. **** ****** (sales manager) advised me that it would be there Monday or Tuesday of the following week (purchased vehicle on Saturday). No call received regarding the key the entire week. Called and spoke to someone in service and was told I would receive a call back (the following Monday 8/12), no one called back. Called again on Tuesday (8/13), still no call back. I went to the dealership on Wednesday (8/14) and spoke to **** ****** who said "oh they didn't call you back? Oh well I'll take care of it." He walked me to the parts department and asked the employee to order the key. He stood there while they ordered the key and informed me it would be there on Thursday (8/15). I advised I had to work Thursday and Friday so I made an appt for Saturday (8/17) to have the key programmed and to have Cilajet done at the same time. They told me to drop the Jeep off at 7:00am. Saturday, I dropped the Jeep off at 7:00 am. The service advisor ***** ******* said "the key is here, we will take care of everything and you can pick up at 2:30 this afternoon." I came back to pick up the Jeep at 2:30 and was told that they didn't have the key. No one called me to inform me of this. My vehicle had been there for 7.5 hours at this point. I was told that the guy at the parts counter "was new and didn't know how to use the computer system to order the key" and that they "weren't sure why he was the one they had there to order it on Wednesday." I spoke to **** **** on Saturday to complain about the fact that I had purchased the vehicle two weeks prior and STILL didn't have the second key when I was originally told it would only take "a day or so." **** said that they would order the key and have it there on Tuesday (8/20). I called on Tuesday at 2:30pm because no one had called to let me know it was there. Spoke to ***** ******* in service who said "oh we just found out that the key was here on Saturday but it was put under **** ********* name so we couldn't find it." I asked why no one called me to let me know it was there since it was Tuesday and they had found the key the day before. I was told that they had called me (they hadn't). I stated that I needed to have the key programmed either after hours or before hours on Wednesday. Was told by ***** that they couldn't have their techs there at 6:45 because "they don't open until 8 and the techs don't start work until 7:30" I said that it wasn't going to work for me to be there and that due to the inconvenience, they should make an exception and have someone there early for me. Was told they couldn't/wouldn't do it because "their techs have families." I asked to speak to his manager. *** in service then gets on the phone and tells me that they won't have their techs start early because they don't open until later and they can't do that. He wanted to have someone drive to Sacramento (an hour away) and pick up my Jeep, drive it back to Marysville and program the key (which supposedly takes 5 minutes) and then drive it back to Sacramento to me. I told him that was unacceptable as it is a brand new jeep and I don't want anyone to drive it 100 miles when all they needed to do was have someone start work 45 minutes early. He then said to me that "option A is not going to happen so what is Option B for you?" Option A is having them open for me at 645, Advised them that there was no other option. After arguing with *** for several minutes, asked to speak to the manager. He said that **** **** was the manager and I asked to be transferred. He transferred me to his VOICEMAIL even though he just said to me that **** was there to speak to. **** said that he would meet me at 645 in the morning but would have "to offer the techs $50 as an incentive to come in early for work." I'm suppose to meet with them tomorrow morning at 645 to get the key programmed

Desired Settlement: I would like for someone to apologize and try to make this right. No where in any of the conversations I have had with ****, the sales manager or ****, the sales manager or the service technicians/advisors have EVER offered anything to try to settle this matter. At this point, it is the principal of the matter as I purchased this Jeep over 2 weeks ago, spent $40,000 and have been treated as if this has been MY fault. NO ONE is taking responsibility for ANY of this and I'm tired of all of them acting like I'm crazy for demanding that they be inconvenienced by a schedule change for ONE day when they have done NOTHING but inconvenience me for TWO WEEKS. During this entire ordeal, I haven't been offered any services to make up for THEIR horrible customer service (i.e. free oil changes/service on my vehicle, car wash... ANYTHING to make me believe that they actually give a **** about me as a customer).

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** **** General Sales Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***** First off, I would like to offer Ms. ******** a sincere apology. I agree that the situation was not handled as it should have been. I am working very closely between all departments to ensure better lines of communication between departments and more importantly with the customer. My primary focus is to increase customer satisfaction among all departments. This is something that will be a continual work in progress. I would like to offer Ms. ******** the first two oil changes for her new Jeep (along with multi point inspection, tire rotation and of course a car wash) for the inconvenience caused during this situation. When you are ready for a service, please call me and I will have it taken care of for you. Ms. ********, We really do appreciate your business and hope we can put this behind us. Feel free to call me anytime if you ever have any issues with my store. Thanks again for your business, I'm looking forward to seeing you in the service department.

9/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brought car in to be fixed and none of the items are fixed and now have new problems. Brought car in two weeks ago on June 18, 2013 for ac problems, abs, and tire sensors problem. They charged me 1853.08 to fix these problems and had my car for four days. Left the dealer with the car and still had the vehicle still had the same problems. Took the car back that same day and they said to drive it and it would reset itself. Week later on July 3, 2013 the vehicle still was having issues. They kept the car for two days again. Told me that I needed to change left tire sensor after they told me all of them were working properly and possibly now my alternator which was working fine originally. But they said it was working fine and they didn't want to touch it yet. Since that day my car has been cutting out and not running right. I called them today July 9, 2013 which they were supposed to call me when my part came in but didn't. They said I could bring the car back for the third time to have them look at it and change the sensor also which will cost me another 90 dollars on top of whatever else they find again. I am not satisfied with how much money I have spent to fix my vehicle and they haven't fixed anything but caused more problems within my car. The only problem that has been fixed is my abs system.

Desired Settlement: I believe the business should refund my money that I paid for my car to be fixed which they have not provided.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
customer was offered free wheel sensor the low tire light was not on during the first visit, customer back 2nd time sensor was found faulty and one was special ordered, customer was told it would be at no charge goodwill. customer was called and did not return for repairs. customer can contact service manager for goodwill repair at 530/742/6406 thank yo *** ******

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I still believe that it should have been detected from the beginning and now I need to pay another 1000 to fix it so I'm not really happy about it and can't get it fixed.

Business' Final Response
I am not sure if i have settled this complaint the customer came back we did not install wheel sensor it has a other problem i still would like to help if the customer would like

7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Terrible customer service Shortly after purchasing my 2012 Dodge Ram I noticed that the body panels on the vehicle were not alighned. I was told that the truck was like that because it was airodynamic. This was an obvious attempt to deceive me. I continued with my complaint and the dealership agreed to look at the vehicle. After more than 7 hrs (with no call back) l went to the dealership only to find that my truck was in the same spot that I left it. It was told to me that they could not find the problem but they would have Dodge techs look at it. When I brought the vehicle back in (after weeks of waiting) the service writer told me I didn't have an appointment and he would make one down the road "sometime". I then spoke with the main dealership in Roseville Ca and they ignored my problem until my calls for help were ansewered by a Woman who promised me the "Moon". I was finally asked to take my brand new truck to a Cut throut body shop, which I did and they did fix the problem but the dealership was horrible and now I don't feel comfortable taking my truck to the dealership to have anything done.In conclusion I feel totally wronged and I hope that this may be warning to anyone who may shop there in the future.

Desired Settlement: I would hope for the full tank of gas and clear coat promised me by the dealership.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
My name is **** ****, and I am the new general sales manager at the dealership. I don't have any information regarding this complaint, I would like Mr. ****** to know that we have an entirely new management group here at the dealership and we are focused on 100% customer satisfaction. I understand that the previous management team had some issues, but those are long gone and the service we are providing is second to none. I would like to talk with Mr. ******, introduce him to our new staff, and let him see for himself the quality people we have put in place and the outstanding customer service we are providing. I have been tasked with improving our reputation (which I know was not so good). Together with my current team we are making great strides one customer at a time. Mr. ****** will be pleasantly suprised when he brings his vehicle in for service. Please let him know that the next oil change is on me, so he can experience the quality of our people and the customer service he so deserves. Very Best Regards, **** **** General Sales Manager **** L. ******** Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram XXX-XXX-XXXX