BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that John L. Sullivan Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for John L. Sullivan Chevrolet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on John L. Sullivan Chevrolet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 12, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1950 Business started locally: 01/01/1950 Business incorporated: 02/24/1950 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing
2120 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818
http://dmv.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 657-8056

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John L. Sullivan, President Mr. Steve Pilch, General Sales Manager Mr. Dave Rodgers, GM Mrs. Joy Sanders, Customer Relations Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Joy Sanders, Customer Relations Manager
Principal: Mr. John L. Sullivan, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
John L. Sullivan Chevrolet Inc.
Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

John L. Sullivan Chevrolet has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 350 Automall Dr

    Roseville, CA 95661 (916) 782-1243

  • 700 Automall Dr

    Roseville, CA 95661

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sullivan Auto Credit / Sullivan Auto Group continue to send me unwanted, misleading advertising. This advertising is crafted to imply it is related to my still-pending bankruptcy case. In fact, the advertising is pushing for me to get into more debt by buying an unneeded car from them. I have requested that these mailings stop, but I got two more today.Obviously, Sullivan obtained my bankruptcy case information and is misusing it for predatory lending, as their advertising refers to my bankruptcy case.

Desired Settlement: STOP sending me advertising.STOP sending material that is deliberately misleading, implying that it is "official" or directly related to an United States Bankruptcy Court filing.

Business Response: The mailing that **** ******** is receiving in regards to her bankruptcy case is public information. Unfortunately we can't stop the mail in regards to her bankruptcy. As a business we are familiar with a Do Not Call list but with public information on her bankruptcy, we can't stop the third party vendor. As a business we will make an effort to work with the vendor to stop the letters.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

A pretty disingenuous "response" from Sullivan Auto Group/Roseville Toyota.  It's obvious they have hired this third party vendor to access bankrtupcy filing data to make such mailings, on their behalf.  All they need do is instruct their third party vendor stop such mailings.  To imply this third party vendor is not acting directly on their behalf is laughable.

The practice of hiring such a vendor to send bankruptcy filers such materials for predatory lending purposes is itself unethical.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1/29/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car in for transmission issues while under warranty. 3 months later car had the same mechanical issues and tried to dispute issues 2007 impala SS, Warranty transmission repair failed, *** ******** service tech, *****, Manager.

Desired Settlement: I wanted them to just fix the transmission once and for all. It seemed like they just patched it up or bandaged it to last after warranty expired now I'm at a loss they claim my transmission is no good. One payment away from my car being paid off.

Business Response: In regards to the transmission concern with the 07 Impala, our service department replaced the pressure control solenoid which had failed back in July.  The customer had concerns when leaving a stop they can feel a bump from the drivetrain, like something was slipping.  This was an external transmission repair.  In October the customer returned with a new concern that the vehicle does not want to move when leaving a stop.  We found a code for this new concern in no relation to the previous repair.  Customer was instructed to have the transmission removed and torn down and customer declined at this time.  Previous repair has a warranty which was covered under their service contract which is now expired. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/9/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid for a 60 month warranty. The warranty expired after 48 months. I purchased a 2008 Chevy Silverado from John L Sullivan in Oct. of 2008. At the time of purchase I paid for a 100,000 mile/60 month warranty. The mileage on the truck is less than 100,000 miles, and I have owned the truck fro less than 60 months. I am in need of warranty repairs, and have been informed by John L Sullivn that the warranty expired 48 months after I purcahsed it. When I asked why the warranty expired early, I was told that the warranty date went back to the date the truck was "in service", not the purchase date. I was mislead in the terms of the warranty by John L Sullivan staff at the time I purchased my vehicle. Had I known I was purchasing a warranty for 48 months (at the cost of 60 months) I would not have purchased this warranty.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the refund of the amount paid for a warranty that did not cover the promised warranty terms.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
This letter is in response to a complaint about a Service Contract sale on 10/18/2008. This is a new car Service Contract sale that starts on teh original manufactures warranty date. I have provided copies of the service contract which shows the customers signature on the contract along with all the contract items and conditions. The warranty was for 60 months or 100,000 from original in service date. Please call if there is any more confusion or questions about this case as I can help explain more.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have not received a copy of the document as alleged by the company. Further, the company has not responded to the fact that I was told the warranty was a 60 month warranty from the date I bought the vehicle, not a 48 month warranty. It is nonensical to assume someone would pay the cost of 60 months of coverage while only receiving 48.

Final Business Response
We will remain our position as the dealer on the response to ***** ******. ***** did sign the contract stating the warranty began at the original manufacture date. Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

6/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charged 8.5 sales tax and only should of charged 8.0. On April 5, 2013, I purchased a vehicle and was overcharged sales tax. I live in Sacramento County and it should of been 8.0 not the 8.5.

Desired Settlement: Refund of overcharged sales tax plus interest that I am going to be charged on my loan.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
******* has been in contact with several employees here at the dealership. We have been communicating through email for the past week in regards to her concern. We have gone by our forms, which was given to us by Board of Equalization to charge the sales tax of 8.5. We made a call to BOE and they clarified the confusion with the county she resides. We are refunding her the amount of the added sales tax.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They refuse to admit their wrong doing and once again I have to pay interest on the over charged amount.

Business' Final Response
I would to provide you with the details of this complaint. We have refunded the difference in the sales tax that was collected. We refunded the overage on 4/30/2013, check #XXXXXX.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 13, 2012 - I went to pick up my 2005 Chevy Tahoe after being serviced at ****** L. ****** - Chevorlet . During the time i was waiting for my car I found a car that I was interested in purchasing a 2004 Mercedes Benz E.320.The car was in good condition, but there was a service light on and allignment issue that I was advised would be checked out. My boyfriend and I wanted to purchase the car together but our second home was closing so I needed to purchased the car solely. On June 14th, 2012 I purchased a 2004 Mercedes Benz from JLS. ******** the salesman worked the car deal with mechanical issues and considering my credit situation. ******** called me and said to come down before noon with $2000 and loan was approved through ************. ******** said there would be no problem in refinancing the car with ************ once our second home closed to lower the car payment. I was very excited since I loved the car. Once I took the car home the service light kept coming on and I notified the salesman. ******** said he would have ***** the service technician call me to arrange the car to come in to be seen. After three/four visits the issue was repaired at the Rocklin Mercedes Benz dealership. Following this issues was the issue of not being able to refinance the car through ************ WHICH DOES NOT REFINANCE CAR loans. After several calls to JLS Management I asked to return the vehicle. The only option after speaking with the GM was to trade in the car. Unfortunately, this was not an option because I would have to put down more money and my car payment would be the same due to the negative value in the Mercedes Benz after purchase per **** *****. I'm asking for compensation of the loss of funds due to having to trade the car in for a new vehicle and having a negative equity of $6000.00 plus. I have been a faithful customer of JLS since 1995 and they just lost a valuable customer. ******** the interenet salesman did not tell us the truth concerning the loan and car issues. Product_Or_Service: 2004 Mercedes Benz Order_Number: XXXXXXXX Account_Number: NAD#

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like to be compensated for the at least half of the negative equity of trading the car in and down payment of $2000.00. Total compensation request is $4500.00

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
On September 10th ****** ****** received a text from Ms ****** who inquired about two cars that she saw on line, she asked him to work a deal on a used camrey and trade in the mercedes and she wanted to do it quick because she had not made the payment on the mercedes. She told him that she was going to put her boyfriend on first because his credit was better.****** worked a deal over the phone.She then called one of the managers and said she was not happy with ****** and that he would not help her.She then called me and I told her I would try to make her happy so we set an appointment for Sunday September 22 nd but she never showed.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response does not validate the original problem concerning the refinancing and maintenance issue.****** failed to advise me that a 2004 Mercedes Benz could not be refinanced by ******. Also, the maitenance issues started on June 14, 2012 and ****** said that everything would be taken cared of with a rental car. After several visits immediate maintenance issues were resolved with the help of ***** in Repair. Due to the misinformation of ****** I had to trade the 2004 Mercedes in for a new car within two months with a monetary lost of $7000.00. Please settle this with a refund of $4500.00. Thank you, ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dealer sold me a car with expired licence/registration.I never rec'd the 2012 sticker. I purchased a 2010 Dodge Caliber,Lic# ******* on April 13, 2012, $12,600.00. The licence and registration expired August 2011. I asked the sales person ***** ******* and ******* ******** about this. ******* said don't worry the registration would be fixed and good until 2013. He went and got a paper ****** L ****** plate and cover the expired license plate up. I purchased the car thinking I registration was included in the price of the car. All ****** L ****** did was transferred the title into my name, and now I have to pay the renewal $174.00 fee by August 22, 2012.

Desired Settlement: I feel that ****** L ****** should have disclosed to me that the registration fee was not included in the sale of the car. I feel ****** L ****** should pay the $174.00, 2012 renewal registration fee as stated. If I would have known that the fee was due 4 months from the date of purchase, I would not have purchased the car. Where is the honority?

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
I am in the process of trying to get a hold of Ms ******, the reg. on the vehicle she purchased from us was current and not due till August 22nd she was charged a 15 dollar transfer fee, I will try to make her happy as best I can. ****** ****** General Sales Manager ****** L. ****** Chevrolet

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have spoken to Mr ****** about three times on the phone, about the expired registration and the no 2011 to 2012 sticker on the licence plate. The last phone conversation, Mr ***** stated he would check with his DMV person and get back to me.I have not hear from Mr ****** since that day. Also I recieved a fixed ticket July 10, 2012, for not having the 2012 sticker/tag on the licence plate. The CHP officer stated the temporary window sticker/registration was no good, it did not mean anything. ****** L ****** asured me this sticker/registration was good for 6 months, until I could pay the due August 22, 2012 to 2013 registration fee. I problem has not resolved, this ticket only added fuel to the fire.

Business' Final Response
Company states that they have reached a settlement with the customer and sent her $87.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved