Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Elk Grove Toyota-Scion?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Elk Grove Toyota-Scion meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Elk Grove Toyota-Scion include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Elk Grove Toyota-Scion
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 22, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1971 Business started locally: 01/01/1971 Business incorporated: 08/14/1970 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV Occupational Licensing
2415 First Ave., Mail Station F101 , Sacramento CA 95818-2606
http://www.dmv.ca.gov/olinq2/welcome.do
Phone Number: (800) 777-0133
The number is 04793.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Blake Snider, Owner Ms. Patty Fitzgerald, Admin. Assistant Mr. Mark Fusselman, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Mark Fusselman, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Blake Snider, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

Elk Grove Toyota-Scion is a new & used car dealership, auto & service repair.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair - Road Signs of Good Business Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Additional Locations

  • 9640 W Stockton Blvd

    Elk Grove, CA 95757 (800) 952-5335

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Minivan from Elk Grove Toyota on 5/2012. During financing, I agreed to purchase the 50,000 miles maintenance package. It was explain to me that the 50,000 miles will be added on top of the 25,000 miles manufacture warranty, total 75,000 miles.Last week I took the Minivan in the services shop for 30,000 maintenance and found out that my extended maintenance only go up to 55,000 miles, Not 75,000 miles as I thought purchased. I contacted the Finance officer, manager, and the dealer manager complained about the mistake. They all said this is the package I purchased and nothing they can do.If I knew I was purchase the 55,000 miles maintenance plan, I would not have complain about. But I did not. I was lie to and being cheated by this dealership. This is the last time I will purchase from this dealership

Desired Settlement: Honor the 75,000 miles plan that I paid for.

Business Response:

Good day, we are in receipt of Mr. **** ****’s complaint. We apologize for any confusion and it is our goal that we don’t have any confusion about what was offered or purchased by our customers.

We realize that when purchasing a car the customer has a lot of information to absorb and retain. The finance process can also add to that.  It is our sincere desire that our customer understands everything about the financial obligation they have agreed to and what other options are available to them. Any offers that we make to the customer are written out and discussed. That way it minimizes any confusion for the customer as they not only hear what we are offering but also can see it in writing.  Any of these forms shown to a customer are kept as part of our record. Because of this we have developed several steps to help the customer see what is being offered to them and then to see exactly what the costs for those services are.

The 1st step in the Finance Office is done by utilizing a form called the “Financial Services Overview”.  In this case you can see that the Financial Services Overview (attached and below) shows that the customer was offered a vehicle service agreement (mechanical breakdown) for 7 years or 100,000 miles and after discussion was changed to and offered an 8 years or 75,000 miles. Mr. **** was also offered other items including a prepaid maintenance program for 5 years or 55,000 miles. In all cases the expiration of the programs is whichever comes first, either the time elapsed from the date of purchase or the miles on the odometer. Mr. **** then opted to only purchase the Prepaid Maintenance Program for 5 years or 55,000 miles.


The 2nd step in our process is what we call a Pre-Contract Disclosure Statement (attached and below). This form is not only a good idea but is a legal requirement in the State of California. As you can see the form shows the customer that they have opted for additional items (if any), what the term is and also the cost. It also shows the payment with and without the items added. In this case Mr. **** was shown the optional item purchased, (prepaid maintenance program) with a term of 60 months or 55,000 miles. The monthly payment of $351.86 is also shown. Mr. **** acknowledged this form by his signature at the bottom.

 

The 3rd step in the process is to print the applications for any optional items purchased. In this case we printed the Prepaid Maintenance Program Application (attached) also showing the term and miles and was again signed by Mr. ****.

 

The last step in the process is having the customer sign the actual Sales Contract (attached). As you can see once again the customer was shown the prepaid maintenance program for 5 years or 55,000 miles and acknowledged it with his signature.

 

In conclusion Mr. **** states that we told him the program was 50,000 miles plus the 25,000 miles that the cars comes with making it 75,000 miles. First of all, no programs from any manufacture work that way.  They all start from the original sale date with 0 miles and extend (if you will) the factory warranty to whatever mileage you purchase, not on top of.  Secondly 50,000 miles was never mentioned anywhere nor do we even have a program with that mileage.  I do want to say that we are sad that Mr. **** believes that we misled him. I really believe after the discussion on the available service contract (mechanical breakdown) that was offered first at 100,000 miles and then at 75,000 miles is possibly where he remembered that from. I hope this clears it up for Mr. **** and we do wish that Mr. **** would remain one of our valued customers. If I can be of any further assistance please don’t hesitate to call.

 

**** *********

General Manager.

************

 

 

7/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In short,I have a special internet price for a truck by my email. The price was not honored. And they told me it would not be honored. Dear ******, On 7/11/13 Thank you for your email request on the 2013 Toyota Tacoma Model # **** Stock # XXXXXX MSRP:$ 23,135 + tax & Lic E-price : $21,989 + tax & lic ( around 10% of the purchase price ) As this moment I confirm that vehicle is available . From a ***** ***** Dear ******, 7/12/13 Thank you for your email ,,, After I Talk my Boss ( **** ******** ) .. He confirm is will be $24,700.95 OTD..He cant go lower than that .. Because this truck is order for another customer .. and I'm mistake sent you the Quote after all is still a Great Deal ..I hope you understand and if you still interesting please let me know I'm looking forward to hearing back from you soon ! Sincerely , ***** , The above are the 2 emails from *****. We also spoke on the phone where I was told again that the quote would not be honored. I was never given a real concrete reason other than "we can't go lower." It seems that they know that this particular truck is a rare find and they want to capitalize on it as much as possible. I was even told by a sales rep by the name of Saad that this truck is the only one like it in 200 miles so if you want it come and get it. That doesn't seem very professional. So it seems ***** the internet lady who gave me the quote didn't realize how hard the truck is to find and gave me a better deal than the sales manager would allow. Supply and demand. When I first spoke to ***** she too was confused as to why the sales rep didn't want to honor the price. They spoke together then got back to me quoting me a higher price. I asked if they could make it up to me somehow someway. They said no. I told them that if they don't honor the quote I would not feel comfortable doing business with them. So I did not buy based on their way of handling business.

Desired Settlement: I want that truck as quoted to me in the email given to me by *****. That is all. I want them to honor the price they quoted me in writing and verbally. I want the E-price : $21,989 + tax & lic

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
He returned to the dealership and purchased the vehicle and told our sales and finance staff that he was very happy.

Consumer's Final Response
They have contacted me and made good on the deal. Thank you for your help!

10/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Consumer states, I turned on the car and it does not move. I had it towed to the dealer. I paid $397.50 and all they did was change the battery. The car is still under warranty and they can not find out what the problem is. They do not know why the car does not work.

Desired Settlement: To find the problem.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *****, Svc Director Contact Phone: XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@elkgrovetoyota.com According to our Service Director, ***** *****, we serviced Ms. ******'s vehicle on March 6, 2012, when his vehicle was towed in because it would not start. When the technician checked, he found the auxiliary battery in his 2008 Prius was low. The technician replaced the battery. The total bill included the $80 tow fee paid to the tow company, $183 for the battery and $120 labor. The battery replacement was not covered under factory warranty. We have not heard from Mr.****** since his visit in March 2012. ***** ***** called Ms. ****** today and left him a message saying we would be happy to do a recheck at no charge. I will be faxing a copy of this complaint, response, and Ms. ******'s invoice to further clarify this information.

10/1/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tried to require a credit application for a cash sale. Misrepresented the credit application and tried to convince us it was not really a credit appli My wife and I negotiated a cash price for a Prius C 3 with this dealer. We agreed on the price and the method of payment a cashiers check for $17399.20 and $5000.00 on a credit card. The amounts and method of payment were confirmed via email and verbally via phone. After travelling 2 hours to the dealership with the cashiers check in hand we were told we had to fill out the "application" to start the transaction. My wife was presented with a form that clearly was labelled "Credit Application". We stated that we did not wish credit and wanted to proceed with the cash transaction agreed upon. We were then told that the form clearly labelled "Credit Application" was not really a credit application, and everyone who buys a car at any dealership needs to fill out the form, even on cash deals. They stated that the form was necessary to complete the transaction. We knew that they were lying to us and wanted to run a credit check and then try to convince us to use dealer financing, and left the dealership. However, we feel that the way they presented the form is fraudulent and subjects many unsuspecting customers to unnecessary reduction in their credit scores caused by multiple inquiries. We also wasted our time and money traveling over 2 hours (twice) to the dealership for a cash deal that the dealer did not intend to honor. On cash deals this dealership should not require a credit check, and should not misrepresent their intentions to do so. We appreciate your attention to this matter.

Desired Settlement: Honor the original cash deal without a credit check. Written promise to not misrepresent their credit application and intention to run credit checks on future customers after a cash deal has been agreed upon.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@elkgrovetoyota.com *** ******** in our Fleet department had spoken with Mr. ****** on the phone a week or so prior to Mr. ****** arriving at the dealership. A price was set and Mr. ****** was told he could bring a certified check for the deal. *** also told Mr. ****** that even though we would not run a credit check, he would have to fill out all his personal information so that we could run his information through OFAC (Office of Foreign Assets Control). We are required by the Patriot Act and Homeland Security to check a a customer's personal information with OFAC for any vehicle purchase. We use our "Credit Application" form to obtain the information however, In Mr. ******'s case, we would not have checked any of the credit check boxes at the top of the form and would not have obtained he and his wife's initials at the top of the form. All we were going to do was use the information on the form to check it against the OFAC SDN (Specially Designated Nationals) list and their blocked persons list. Basically OFAC is set up to find terrorists and associates of terrorists. In addition to OFAC we are also required to report to the IRS any purchase over $10,000 using a cashier's check and/or cash. The report sent to the IRS includes, but is not limited to the customer's SSN. If a customer refuses to give us their SSN, it is so noted on our report to the IRS. . When Mr. ****** walked into *** ********'s office and saw the Credit App form he became extremely agitated and refused to fill out anything. Even though *** tried to explain the credit check boxes at the top were not checked and it was just for the OFAC check, not a credit check. *** told him we were not going to obtain his SSN, but Mr. ****** said that we were deceiving him. Two of ***'s associates, Linda Dang and Jeremy Coffelt, also attempted to explain and calm Mr. ****** down, however he refused all their efforts and got in his car and left. As he was leaving he yelled that "all you car dealers are the same". We regret that we were unable to convince Mr. ****** that we were only following the law and in no way trying to deceive him. We hope this response will serve to assuage his doubts and fears and we would be happy to hear from him if he would like to pursue his vehicle purchase with our dealership. Please note: We wish to attach a copy of the credit app form and the IRS report form so we will be faxing this report with the attachmments to the BBB.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We do not feel that the dealer's response is satisfactory. On 8/31/2012, sometime after we visited the dealership, we received a phone message from a Steve Moroz a Sales Manager at Elk Grove Toyota that clearly states their intention to obtain a credit application prior to allowing us to purchase a vehicle from Elk Grove Toyota. We have placed the message online here: http://184.175.99.121/elkgrovetoyotaydts.wma This voicemail clearly contradicts the information stated in the response sent to the BBB (copied below). As stated in the voicemail: -It is company policy to obtain a filled out credit application on all customers not paying with "actual green cash" -"Standard practice is we do have that credit application on every single customer so that in the event that occurred we could back up the deal with financing" -It is something a credit application we do require on every transaction. As stated in the voicemail they wanted to obtain a credit application for "backup financing" to protect the dealership. We were never informed of this at the time we were presented with the credit application. It is this practice we object to. I have also responded to their written reply to the BBB in-line below: *** ******** in our Fleet department had spoken with Mr. ****** on the phone a week or so prior to Mr. ****** arriving at the dealership. ***For the record we were not dealing with *** ******** our correspondences were by email and phone and in person with Linda Dang. A price was set and Mr. ****** was told he could bring a certified check for the deal. *** also told Mr. ****** that even though we would not run a credit check, he would have to fill out all his personal information so that we could run his information through OFAC (Office of Foreign Assets Control). ***There was no mention of OFAC we were only presented with the Credit Application and told they needed information from us. We refused to fill out the form as it clearly was labeled "Credit Application". When they stated we needed to only fill the form out partially, we offered to write the information they requested down on a separate piece of paper and not on something labeled "Credit Application". We are required by the Patriot Act and Homeland Security to check a a customer's personal information with OFAC for any vehicle purchase. We use our "Credit Application" form to obtain the information however, In Mr. ******'s case, we would not have checked any of the credit check boxes at the top of the form and would not have obtained he and his wife's initials at the top of the form. All we were going to do was use the information on the form to check it against the OFAC SDN (Specially Designated Nationals) list and their blocked persons list. Basically OFAC is set up to find terrorists and associates of terrorists. ***A "Credit Application" is not required to search the SDN found here http://sdnsearch.ofac.treas.gov/ . Only a name, address, city and state are needed to search the SDN. We offered to provide my wifes name and address information on a separate piece of paper, one not designated as a "Credit Application". They stated that the "Credit Application" form was necessary to purchase a vehicle. We would have been willing to provide state issued id for verification of name and our current address information for the SDN. In addition to OFAC we are also required to report to the IRS any purchase over $10,000 using a cashier's check and/or cash. The report sent to the IRS includes, but is not limited to the customer's SSN. If a customer refuses to give us their SSN, it is so noted on our report to the IRS. . ***This statement is simply untrue. According to the IRS website www.irs.gov/Businesses/Small-Businesses-&-Self-Employed/Report-of-Cash-Payments-Over-$10,000-Received-in-a-Trade-or-Business---Motor-Vehicle-Dealership-Q&As : If a customer purchased a cashier's check at the bank for over $10,000, would the bank report the transaction? Does the seller of a vehicle need to report the transaction if the same cashier's check is subsequently used to purchase a vehicle? If the cashier's check was purchased with cash exceeding $10,000, the bank would file a Currency Transaction Report (not a Form 8300). The purchase of a vehicle with a cashier's check, bank draft, traveler's check or money order with a face amount of more than $10,000 is not treated as cash and a business does not have to file Form 8300 when it receives them. ***Our check was for $17399.20. The dealer was not required to report the transaction. Any reporting requirements are the responsibility of the bank When Mr. ****** walked into *** ********'s office and saw the Credit App form he became extremely agitated and refused to fill out anything. Even though *** tried to explain the credit check boxes at the top were not checked and it was just for the OFAC check, not a credit check. *** told him we were not going to obtain his SSN, but Mr. ****** said that we were deceiving him. Two of ***'s associates, Linda Dang and Jeremy Coffelt, also attempted to explain and calm Mr. ****** down, however he refused all their efforts and got in his car and left. ***We saw no reason to fill out any form labeled "Credit Application" we were paying with a credit card and a cashier's check, as agreed. OFAC was never mentioned. We expected the dealer to honor the arrangement as we had no intention of applying for a loan. As he was leaving he yelled that "all you car dealers are the same". We regret that we were unable to convince Mr. ****** that we were only following the law and in no way trying to deceive him. We hope this response will serve to assuage his doubts and fears and we would be happy to hear from him if he would like to pursue his vehicle purchase with our dealership. Please note: We wish to attach a copy of the credit app form and the IRS report form so we will be faxing this report with the attachments to the BBB. *** I think we have shown clearly above that contrary to the dealers reply a "Credit Application" was not needed for either OFAC reporting or for an IRS form 8300. Furthermore, the voicemail left by Mr. Moroz clearly shows the dealer intended to obtain the credit application for "backup financing" in order to protect the dealership. We were never informed of their intent. In our opinion Elk Grove Toyota's practice of having customers fill out a "Credit Application" form when they do not wish to apply for a loan is deceptive. If the dealer has a legitimate business need to collect any other information that would not appear on a sales contract, it should be requested from the customer on a separate form, not a credit application, which clearly describes how the information is to be used. We do not wish to purchase a vehicle from Elk Grove Toyota. We only wish that they stop what we feel is a deceptive practice in the future.

Business' Final Response
We sincerely are sorry that Mr. ****** is not happy with our policies in regards to credit applications for car purchases. The dealership policy is to obtain a credit application from all of our customers who are purchasing a vehicle. The credit application is a tool we use to obtain customers' personal information. We use the information for credit purposes, registering the vehicles, clearing the OFAC requirements, clearing address discrepancies and for reporting to the IRS in relation to cash transactions. However, each transaction is different and there are times we may make an exception and don't run credit. Paying with a cashier's check is one of those occasions. Although we may not be explaining our purposes adequately to Mr. ******, we simply obtain a credit application to be in compliance with the requirements requested from government agencies, as well as using the information to back up financing should there be a problem with a check, cashier's check, money order or any other instrument used to pay for a vehicle. Yes the application states Credit Application, and we understand that this has made Mr. ****** uncomfortable. We know that we cannot please all customers that come to our dealership, however, that being said, our intention above all is to protect our customers and abide by the regulations that pertain to the automotive business. I will say that these may not be perfect policies, and I believe we did not do the best job explaining the reasoning of our policies to Mr. ******. We sincerely believe the policies in place are appropriate for the consumer and company. Although we respect Mr. ******'s concern and appreciate that he chose not to believe we would not pull a credit report on his transaction, we are not willing to change company policy for any single transaction. The company is committed to preventing identity theft and fraud. We feel that the policies and procedures at the dealership do just that. When there are many employees involved in transactions at a dealership, these policies actually protect the consumer. Because of the sensitive nature when dealing with personal information we need our employees to follow policy so that we may manage the information in a manner that is appropriate. Mr. ****** is obviously very concerned about his private information and we understand that consumers need to be diligent in protecting their information. We are sorry that Mr. ****** was not comfortable with our procedures and we respect that he chose to not do business with us. Whether the process was a good fit for Mr. ****** or not, we do feel these are the best procedures for our company in regards to Red Flags compliance and Safe Guards compliance. Sincerely, ***** **** Finance Director, Elk Grove Toyota Red Flags Compliance Officer, ****** Automotive Group