BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Downtown Ford Sales, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Downtown Ford Sales, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Downtown Ford Sales, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 20, 1990 Business started: 11/04/1960 Business started locally: 11/04/1960 Business incorporated: 12/11/1964 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing
2120 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818
http://dmv.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 657-8056

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Raymond Enos, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Raymond Enos, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car at a Dealership

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Downtown Ford Sales, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The tint on the back window had a big hole in it I took it in to have the tint remove, the air conditioner check, the alignment check and the oil changed because the oil light came on after only 1800 miles. I got the tint remove but accidentially or on purpose they put another big hole and 3 scrapes in the side passenger's window in the back that was not there when I brought it in. They said they changed the oil. The oil is low and black. They did not check the air and they did not check the alignment because the alignment person called in sick. They are all suppose to be certified mechanics but they do not know how to do an alignment. The car is a lemmon and I called within 3 days and they told me there was no lemmon law for used cars in California. They have been extremely rude and have hung up on me and have lied which I know is not against the law but damage to a car is and they damaged my car. The hood on the car is also very crooked but the car fax says no accidents. There is patched paint on the back bumper. I have tried to call them to fix and remove the remaining tint because they damaged it but no response. They were coming out of the woodwork to sell it to me. I paid cash.

Desired Settlement: Fix the car or refund my money in full and I will go elsewhere.

Business Response: The vehicle in questions was brought in to us on July 23 for a removal of the tint and to have the oil change light reset. No other work was scheduled. Before delivery an oil change was done on the vehicle, but the oil change light was not reset. This is the first we are hearing of the damage to the tint on a separate window. We would be happy to either replace or remove the tint for the window in question.

Business Response: The vehicle in questions was brought in to us on July 23 for a removal of the tint and to have the oil change light reset. No other work was scheduled. Before delivery an oil change was done on the vehicle, but the oil change light was not reset. This is the first we are hearing of the damage to the tint on a separate window. We would be happy to either replace or remove the tint for the window in question.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   I would like the window tint remove and put back on without damage.  As to the oil change I reject there response I would like a full oil change and the meter reset.  I do not trust this institution so I would like it to be done elsewhere and present them with the receipt.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had my car towed in for a hard shifting problem, was quoted over the phone by **** **** service advisor $100.00 to diagnose the problem, they charged me $125.00 to diagnose the problem and mis-diagnosed the problem to a tune of $3113.63. Told me I needed a new transmision and after installing it, problem still there (back and forth with the car for over a month, with no loaner provided even after requesting one.) and now they want another $400.00 to $700.00 dollars for a PCM, which had they run an onbord diagnostic in the begining they would have known at the very least to start there. I know this as I am a retired Certified Ford Tech.I feel Downtown Ford has failed to correct the problem with my car after taking me to the cleaners for over 3K. Product_Or_Service: Auto repair Account_Number: Customer#XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement Replace the PCM @ their cost due to their inability to properly diagnose the problem from the beginning.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Mr. ******'s 1996 Taurus (ID#1FALP52U7TGXXXXXX) was towed in to our shop on February, 6, 2013 as it did not move forward or backward. The original estimate on the repair order when it was written was $125.00 and approved by Mr. ******. The technician verified that the vehicle would not move in forward or reverse. The transmission was smoking from the dipstick tube. The transmission was 6 quarts low on fluid and smelled burnt. Fluid was added and the vehicle would move but it was evident that there was internal damage. It was recommended to the customer to tear it down and inspect it but Mr. ****** elected to have the transmission replaced with a remanufactured unit citing that the tear down and inspect would only add cost to the inevitable outcome. The transmission was quoted at $2,990.00 and approved by Mr. ****** on February 11, 2013 at 2:40PM. The technician replaced the transmission and flushed the cooler lines. During the road test it was also noticed that there was a clunk in the engine compartment from bad motor mounts. The transmission repair came in at $2,956.32 plus tax. The vehicle came back March 6, 2013 stating after hot and on hard acceleration transmission shifts hard and jerks. The technician verified the **** and clunk and noted that the motor mounts still needed replacing as stated on the previous repair order and that there was a DTC code P0741 for the torque converter. We removed the transmission and found scoring on the torque converter bushing and control valve sticking. The torque converter and control valve were replaced at no charge to Mr. ******. It was also noted at this time that the harsh shift was caused by the PCM but that repair was declined by Mr. ******. The vehicle came back on April 4, 2013 for the transmission shifting harsh. Mr. ****** was told that it still needed the PCM that was stated on the previous repair order and was quoted $495.00 for the repair. Mr. ****** declined the repair and there were no charges assessed to him. On April 18, 2013 we were visited by a representative from the Bureau of Automotive Repair concerning Mr. ******'s 1996 Taurus and after reviewing all three repair orders it was determined that we did nothing wrong and there were no violations. We gave copies of all three repair orders, including the fronts and backs of the hard copies with the technician notes to the representative and it was decided we would offer to replace the PCM with a used PCM at our internal cost of $200.00 as a gesture of customer good will. The BAR representative was to convey this to Mr. ******. We would still make good on this offer if Mr. ****** choses to do so.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/1/2012 I bought a used 2012 Mercury Mariner. On 8/22/12 I took it in due to oil spraying on left side of car. A left axle seal leak was fixed. On 12/27/12 I had oil sprayed on left side again along with bucking, leaking on garage floor, no acceleration. I took it back to dealership and was told it was a left axle seal leak. I told hem that had been fixed in August and was told the wrong side had been fixed. Although the problem had stopped after the first repair when I picked it up on 12/27/12 I was asked why I hadn't brought it in when the warning light came on because the transmission well was dry. There was no warning light.

Desired Settlement: An across the board trade for a certified vehicle, same year or newer, with a carfax report if used. No extra down payment or increase in my current monthly payment.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** P&S Dir Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@downtownfordsales.com Ms. ****** purchased the 2010 Mercury Mariner (ID#*****************) on February 28, 2012 with 30,717 miles on it. On August 22, 2012 she brought the vehicle in at 39,299 miles with an oil leak. It was determined that the left front axle seal was leaking and that was replaced at no cost to her. On December 27, 2012 she brought the vehicle back with 43,386 miles on it for an oil leak again and stated that the car also jerks when driving. It was determined that the left front halfshaft had play in it and the bushing was worn. Technical Service Bulletins were checked and TSB XX-XX-X was performed replacing the inboard halfshaft & boot, halfshaft bushing and seal. The vehicle was road tested and was fine. The vehicle exhibited no unusual characteristics when driving. This repair also was at no cost to Ms. ******. As far as we know the vehicle is operating correctly and we would be happy to check it for Ms. ****** if there is any other concern but giving her another vehicle is not a possibility.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/26/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues